Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Photograph of Harold Innis, 1920s, by H. James

Source

Harold Innis, 1920s, photograph by H. James

Photograph of Marshall McLuhan posing at table with books, January 21, 1967, by Yousuf Karsh

Source

Marshall McLuhan, January 21, 1967, photograph by Yousuf Karsh

Photograph of exterior of Library and Archives Canada Gatineau Preservation Centre, by Denis Gagnon

Source

Library and Archives Canada Gatineau Preservation Centre, photograph by Denis Gagnon

ARCHIVED - Old Messengers, New Media: The Legacy of Innis and McLuhan

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Introduction

Welcome to Old Messengers, New Media. The main goal of this website is to introduce and discuss the ideas of two great Canadian thinkers in the field of communications -- Harold Innis and Marshall McLuhan -- both of whom had an enormous influence on the foundation and direction of the study of modern communications. To this end, Library and Archives Canada (LAC) has collaborated with two academics in the field -- Dr. Sandra Gabriele and JoAnne Stober, a doctoral candidate -- to give an overview of the works of Innis and McLuhan, and to comment on their legacies (see Innis, McLuhan, and Forum).

As with its other websites, LAC has endeavoured to illustrate the current theme with photographs, manuscripts, and audiovisual materials from its own collections, as well as from the University of Toronto, which holds a rich collection on Harold Innis, including his private papers. Given that both of the thinkers featured in Old Messengers, New Media were concerned with media's role in, and effects on, society and knowledge, it is interesting to consider what McLuhan and Innis would have thought about their ideas being presented through such a variety of media, including the World Wide Web.

The form of presentation on this site also raises an interesting question about the role of the archive itself as a communication medium: To what extent is historical knowledge not merely preserved, but shaped by the archive and its means of selecting, storing, and presenting information? LAC has invited several prominent academics in the field of communications to discuss this question (see Archives as Medium). The modern archive has, for some time, gone far beyond the popular stereotype of a repository for mainly paper documents. Archives now deal with an enormous range of media and media technologies, as well as the specific storage and retrieval problems that these technologies entail. In addition, archives have to address important questions about the transfer from one medium to another, in particular the transfer to digital media, which is often chosen as a means of optimizing storage space and increasing document longevity. There is also the problem of preserving technologies required to access obsolete media, a problem that increases with the pace of technological change. Is the archive an entirely neutral institution with regard to knowledge, or does it, in fact, mediate?

LAC hopes that the papers which address the question of the archives as a medium will elicit responses from the public. To this end, we have included an interactive component with this site (see Forum), where this question, and any issues that arise from this website, can be discussed. We hope that Old Messengers, New Media and its forum will be of use to students in the field of communications and to anyone with an interest in the ideas of two important Canadians, Harold Innis and Marshall McLuhan.

Visit the LAC Gatineau Preservation Centre website

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Photo de Harold Innis, années 1920, par H. James

Source

Harold Innis, années 1920, photo de H. James

Photo de Marshall McLuhan posant à une table avec des livres, 21 janvier 1967, par Yousuf Karsh

Source

Marshall McLuhan, 21 janvier 1967, photo de Yousuf Karsh

Photo de l'extérieur du Centre de préservation de Gatineau de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, par Denis Gagnon

Source

Photo de l'extérieur du Centre de préservation de Gatineau de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, par Denis Gagnon

ARCHIVÉE - Anciens messagers, nouveaux médias : l'héritage d'Innis et de McLuhan

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Introduction

Bienvenue à Anciens messagers, nouveaux médias. Nous espérons que ce site Internet vous fera découvrir deux éminents penseurs canadiens du domaine des communications, et que leurs théories susciteront un débat. Ces philosophes -- Harold Innis et Marshall McLuhan -- ont profondément marqué la fondation des études modernes en communication ainsi que leur orientation. Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC) a collaboré avec deux spécialistes -- Sandra Gabriele, titulaire d'un doctorat, et JoAnne Stober, étudiante au doctorat -- afin de vous offrir un aperçu des travaux d'Innis et de McLuhan, et de leur héritage (voir Innis, McLuhan et le forum).

Comme à l'accoutumée, BAC s'efforce d'illustrer son site Web avec des photographies, manuscrits et documents audiovisuels tirés de ses collections ainsi que de celles de l'Université de Toronto. Cette dernière institution possède en effet une riche collection qui témoigne des travaux d'Innis, dont ses documents privés. Les deux philosophes que présente Anciens messagers, nouveaux médias s'étant penchés sur le rôle des médias et leur influence sur le savoir et la société, il est intéressant d'imaginer comment auraient réagi Innis et McLuhan à une présentation de leurs théories à travers différents médias, dont le réseau Internet.

Le mode de présentation même de ce site soulève l'intéressante question du rôle des archives en tant que média de communication : dans quelle mesure le savoir historique est-il non pas simplement conservé, mais façonné par les archives et leurs moyens de sélection, d'entreposage et de présentation de l'information? BAC a invité plusieurs spécialistes du domaine des communications à débattre cette question (voir Les archives en tant que média). Les archives modernes ne ressemblent plus depuis longtemps à l'image stéréotypée du dépôt consacré essentiellement à des documents sur papier. Elles doivent aujourd'hui tenir compte d'un vaste éventail de médias et de technologies médiatiques, ainsi que des problèmes de conservation et de récupération qu'occasionnent ces technologies. De plus, les archives doivent régler les questions critiques du transfert de données d'une technologie à l'autre, notamment par la numérisation, technologie souvent utilisée pour tirer le meilleur parti de l'espace d'entreposage et accroître la durée de vie des documents. Il faut aussi considérer que les données conservées par des moyens technologiques requièrent, pour qu'on y accède, l'usage de médias désuets, problème qui grandit à la mesure de l'évolution technologique. Les archives sont-elles une institution entièrement neutre en ce qui concerne le savoir, ou le médiatisent-elles?

BAC espère que les documents qui traitent de la question des archives en tant que média susciteront les réactions du public. Nous avons inclus une composante interactive à ce site (voir le forum) dans laquelle cette question, et toutes celles que soulève ce site, peuvent être débattues. Nous espérons que Anciens messagers, nouveaux médias et son forum seront utiles aux étudiants en communication, et à quiconque s'intéresse aux théories des deux éminents penseurs canadiens, Harold Innis et Marshall McLuhan.

Visiter le site Web du Centre de préservation de Gatineau de BAC