Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > Politics and Government > Made in Canada Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

What Is a Patent?

To obtain a Canadian patent, submit an application with the appropriate fee to the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (http://strategis.gc.ca/sc_mrksv/cipo/).

1. A patent is a document that protects the rights of an inventor.

Patents protect inventors by preventing others from making, selling, or using their inventions from the day the patent is issued for a maximum of 20 years. Inventors may use their patents in various ways, such as selling or licensing them, or using them as leverage in negotiating funding.

Canadian patent rights extend throughout Canada, but not to foreign countries. You must apply for patent rights in other countries separately. Equally, foreign patents do not protect inventions in Canada.

2. A patent is a document that acts as a repository of useful technical information for the public.

A full description of the invention is filed with each patent application, and all Canadians can draw from this addition to the pool of technological knowledge.

People may read about, though not produce, use or sell, an invention without the inventor's permission. Once a patent has expired, or lapsed for non-payment of maintenance fees, anyone may freely produce, use or sell the invention. This promotes the sharing of technological information while giving the patent-holder a monopoly on his or her creation.

 

What Do Patents Cover?

Patents cover inventions of five types:

  1. process: a method for doing or making something
  2. apparatus: a mechanism or tool, such as a machine for doing specific tasks in the manufacture of a product
  3. product: an item that is manufactured or made
  4. composition: generally a chemical composition, such as a chemical compound for specific use
  5. improvement: a new and useful addition or alteration to an existing invention

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Politique et gouvernement > Fait au Canada English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Qu'est-ce qu'un brevet?

Pour obtenir un brevet canadien, vous devez soumettre une demande, accompagnée du montant requis, à l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (http://strategis.gc.ca/sc_mrksv/cipo/) (consulté le 10 mai 2005).

1. C'est un document qui protège les droits de l'inventeur.

Les brevets protègent les inventeurs dans la mesure où ils interdisent à quiconque de fabriquer, vendre ou faire usage de l'invention brevetée, durant au plus 20 ans à compter de la date de dépôt. Les inventeurs peuvent utiliser leur brevet de maintes façons, notamment en le vendant ou en accordant une licence, ou encore en s'en servant pour obtenir du financement.

Les brevets canadiens sont reconnus à travers le pays, mais non à l'étranger. Pour obtenir les droits de brevets d'autres pays, vous devez déposer une demande distincte. À l'inverse, les brevets émis hors Canada ne sont pas valides au pays.

2. C'est un document de référence qui offre au public une information technique utile.

Chaque demande de brevet comporte une description complète de l'invention. Tous les Canadiens peuvent puiser à cette source complémentaire du savoir technologique.

Tout un chacun peut lire la description d'une invention, sans toutefois la produire, l'utiliser ou la vendre sans la permission de l'inventeur. Une fois le brevet périmé, ou devenu caduc pour non-paiement des frais de maintien en état, n'importe qui peut produire, utiliser ou vendre librement cette invention. Cette règle favorise le partage de l'information technologique, tout en adjugeant à l'inventeur le monopole de sa création.

 

Les catégories de brevets

Les brevets couvrent cinq catégories d'inventions :

  1. Les procédés définissent comment faire ou fabriquer quelque chose.
  2. Les appareils englobent les outils et les mécanismes, telles les machines qui accomplissent une tâche particulière dans la fabrication d'un produit.
  3. Les produits regroupent les objets faits ou fabriqués.
  4. Les compositions, d'ordinaire chimiques, réfèrent par exemple à des composés chimiques destinés à des usages particuliers.
  5. Les améliorations sont les nouveaux ajustements utiles apportés à une invention déjà existante.