Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > Politics and Government > Made in Canada Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

"Portable Shield for Skirmishers." Patent no. 21726, filed by Robert Larmour, 1885

 

Patent no. 21726. Filing year 1885.

"Portable Shield for Skirmishers," Robert Larmour.

It is difficult to design innovative equipment for the military, which is a conservative institution notoriously slow to change. For example, it took William Silver Oliver 15 years of persistence and modifications to get his military accoutrements accepted by the Canadian Army. Robert Larmour's "Portable Shield for Skirmishers" (above), on the other hand, never stood a chance, as the patent betrayed a lack of understanding of where warfare was headed in the 19th century.

Larmour designed the light steel shield, which he termed a "portable rifle-pit," to be carried across battlefields and periodically set up on the ground while the soldier was shooting. Spiked poles propped it up at an angle to deflect bullets while the kneeling soldier took aim through a hole in the middle of the shield. As well, small holes near the top of the shield enabled the soldier to see where he was going when he was moving.

The invention's deficiencies are clear. Infantry in Larmour's day wanted equipment to be as light and as flexible as possible, and sometimes abandoned equipment to facilitate movement. Larmour's "light" steel shield, added to the rifles and other accoutrements bearing down on a soldier, would have achieved the opposite. The holes in the shield were another problem. Larmour claimed that carrying the shield at an angle would reduce the exposure from the holes, but this would have been awkward and slowed the soldier's progress even further.

Larmour seemed aware of the drawbacks, but brushed them off. "It is not necessary for the purposes of this specification to explain how the skirmishers carrying my portable shield may be manoeuvered," he wrote in his patent application. "It will be sufficient to say that each man carries with him a portable rifle-pit, and therefore can approach the enemy with as much impunity, and with quite as good a chance of escaping being shot, as the enemy, who may at the time be protected by an ordinary rifle-pit."

By 1885, the year Larmour applied for his patent, the only shield for infantry was the rifle-pit, or trench. The last remaining vestiges of medieval armour, breast and back-plates, were used by some European heavy cavalry until the start of the First World War, but quickly proved ineffective against high-powered rifles and machine guns. From that point on, armoured vehicles protected troops on the battlefield. But Larmour would have been pleased, surely, to learn that portable shields not unlike his own saw a renaissance of sorts, as tools for special tactical police teams in late-20th century America.

References

Summers, Jack L. Tangled Web: Canadian Infantry Accoutrements, 1855-1985. Bloomfield, Ont.: Museum Restoration Service, 1992.

"Armour." Wikipedia.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Armour
(accessed October 18, 2005).

"Trench Warfare." Wikipedia.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trench_warfare
(accessed October 18, 2005).

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Politique et gouvernement > Fait au Canada English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

« Bouclier pour tirailleur ». Brevet no 21726, déposé par Robert Larmour en 1885. Vue arrière

 

Brevet no 21726. Date de dépôt : 1885.

« Bouclier pour tirailleurs », Robert Larmour.

Créer un nouvel équipement militaire pour l'armée, cette institution conservatrice peu encline au changement, n'est pas chose simple. Ainsi William Silver Oliver a-t-il attendu quinze ans, redoublant de persévérance et proposant de nouvelles modifications, pour que l'armée canadienne approuve son équipement militaire. Par ailleurs, le « bouclier pour tirailleurs » de Robert Larmour (ci-dessus) ne risquait pas d'être accepté, car son invention trahit une profonde ignorance des nouvelles méthodes de guerre utilisées au XIXe siècle.

Larmour conçoit un bouclier en acier léger, appelé « trou de tirailleur portatif », qu'on peut transporter sur les champs de bataille et, périodiquement, installer au sol pendant que les soldats font feu. Des mâts en pointe le soutiennent dans un angle calculé pour faire dévier les balles, tandis que le soldat, agenouillé, vise à travers un trou incisé au milieu du bouclier. De petits trous pratiqués près du sommet du bouclier permettent aussi au soldat de se diriger lorsqu'il se déplace.

Les défauts de cette invention sautent aux yeux. À cette époque, l'infanterie souhaite un équipement très léger, abandonnant parfois des pièces pour se déplacer à l'aise. Le bouclier de Larmour, censé être « léger », s'ajoute aux fusils et autres équipements qui accablent au contraire le soldat. Par ailleurs, les trous du bouclier font problème. Larmour déclare que le port du bouclier incliné dans un angle adéquat réduit les risques d'exposition au tir ennemi, mais cette position, inhabituelle, aurait ralenti l'avancée des soldats.

Conscient, semble-t-il, des inconvénients, Larmour les balaie du revers de la main : « Nul besoin, dans ce document, d'expliquer les man�uvres des tirailleurs qui porteront mon bouclier portatif » [traduction] déclare-t-il dans sa demande de brevet. « Il suffit de préciser que chaque homme transporte son bouclier de tirailleur, et qu'il peut approcher l'ennemi impunément, avec de bonnes chances d'échapper au feu et à l'ennemi, lequel utilisera sans doute un bouclier ordinaire. » [traduction]

En 1885, année où Larmour dépose sa demande de brevet, le seul bouclier qu'utilise l'infanterie est le trou de mitrailleur, ou tranchée. Seule, la cavalerie lourde européenne porte encore, jusqu'au début de la Grande Guerre, les plastrons et plaquettes arrière, derniers vestiges des armures médiévales, mais celles-ci s'avèrent inefficaces contre les puissants fusils et mitraillettes. Dès lors, des véhicules blindés protègent les troupes sur le champ de bataille. Larmour aurait toutefois été heureux d'apprendre que des escouades de police tactiques ont réintroduit, dans l'Amérique de la fin du XXe siècle, l'utilisation de boucliers portatifs similaires au sien.

Références

Summers, Jack L. Tangled Web: Canadian Infantry Accoutrements, 1855-1985, Bloomfield (Ont.), Museum Restoration Service, 1992.

« Armour », Wikipedia,
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Armour
(consulté le 18 octobre 2005).

« Trench Warfare », Wikipedia,
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trench_warfare
(consulté le 18 octobre 2005).