Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > Politics and Government > Made in Canada Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

"Electric Light." Patent no. 3738, filed by Henry Woodward and Mathew Evans, 1874

 

Patent no. 3738. Filing year 1874.

"Electric Light," Henry Woodward and Mathew Evans.

It is commonly believed that the great American inventor Thomas Edison invented the light bulb, which he patented in the United States in 1879. Edison's bulb, however, was predated by several electric light prototypes, one of which was patented in 1874 by two Canadians.

Henry Woodward was a medical student in Toronto when he and Mathew Evans (a hotel keeper described in the patent only as "gentleman") devised their electric lamp. It consisted of a pure carbon rod attached to electrodes and placed in a glass tube. Woodward and Evans pumped out the air in the tube and replaced it with a "rarified gas that [would] not unite chemically with the carbon when hot." (This gas was nitrogen.) The carbon glowed when an electric current passed through it.

Unfortunately, Woodward and Evans were unable to interest investors in their idea. In 1876, Woodward applied for a patent in the United States. Edison saw the concept's potential and in 1879 bought the patent rights from Woodward. Later, he also bought a share of the original Canadian patent. Over the next few years, Edison developed the incandescent light bulb, first using a carbon filament and then switching to bamboo. He also wanted to invent a complete electrical system, and so, in addition to the light bulb, he developed switches, fuses, electric meters and other devices.

Edison's power network got off to a slow start. His initial bulbs lasted less than 14 hours, and by 1889 his power station in New York had just 710 customers. In 1906, the General Electric Company patented the tungsten filament light bulb, which became the standard. Edison's development of a complete electrical system, however, proved to be his stroke of genius, and by 1910 more than 3 million people in the United States had electric lighting. As such, Edison's name is the one most people remember, while Henry Woodward and Mathew Evans of Toronto have become a footnote in the history of the electric light bulb.

References

Levy, Joel. Really Useful: The Origins of Everyday Things. Willowdale, Ont.: Firefly Books, 2002.

Nader, Ralph, Nadia Milleron, and Duff Conacher. Canada Firsts. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1992.

Van Dulken, Stephen. Inventing the 19th Century: 100 Inventions That Shaped the Victorian Age From Aspirin to the Zeppelin. New York: New York University Press, 2001.

"Incandescent light bulb." Wikipedia.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Incandescent_light_bulb
(accessed November 9, 2005).

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Politique et gouvernement > Fait au Canada English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

« Lumière électrique ». Brevet no 3738, déposé par Henry Woodward et Mathew Evans en 1874

 

Brevet no 3738. Date de dépôt : 1874.

« Lumière électrique » [Lampe électrique], Henry Woodward et Mathew Evans.

La plupart croient que le grand inventeur américain Thomas Edison a le premier conçu l'ampoule électrique brevetée aux États-Unis en 1879, ignorant que plusieurs prototypes de lampes électriques ont précédé son invention -- dont un modèle breveté en 1874 par deux Canadiens.

Henry Woodward, alors étudiant en médecine à Toronto, conçoit sa lampe électrique avec Mathew Evans, hôtelier simplement désigné comme « gentleman » sur le brevet. Cette lampe se compose d'une tige de carbone pur rattachée à des électrodes; le tout est ensuite inséré dans un tube de verre. Woodward et Evans expulsent l'air hors du tube pour le remplacer par un gaz raréfié (de l'azote) qui ne se combine pas au carbone sous l'effet de la chaleur. Traversé par un courant électrique, le carbone s'illumine.

Malheureusement, Woodward et Evans ne réussissent pas à intéresser les investisseurs à leur invention, et en 1876, Woodward dépose une demande de brevet aux États-Unis. Thomas Edison, trouvant l'idée riche de potentiel, achète le droit de brevet de Woodward en 1879 et peu après, acquiert également une part du droit du brevet canadien original. Au cours des années qui suivent, Edison met au point la lampe à incandescence, utilisant d'abord une tige de carbone, puis une de bambou. Il travaille également à un système électrique complet, qui comprend des interrupteurs, des fusibles, des compteurs d'électricité et autres dispositifs.

Le réseau d'électricité conçu par M. Edison démarre lentement. Ses premières lampes électriques fonctionnent seulement 14 heures, et sa centrale électrique à New York ne compte que 710 clients en 1889. En 1906, la compagnie General Electric fait breveter la lampe électrique avec un filament de tungstène qui devient ensuite la norme. Mais l'idée la plus brillante, c'est sans doute celle d'avoir mis sur pied un système électrique complet, car dès 1910, plus de trois millions d'Américains utilisent l'éclairage électrique. Voilà pourquoi le nom de Thomas Edison demeure le plus connu, alors que Henry Woodward et Mathew Evans, de Toronto, ne sont plus qu'une note en bas de page dans l'histoire de la lampe électrique.

Références

Levy, Joel. Really Useful: The Origins of Everyday Things, Willowdale (Ont.), Firefly Books, 2002.

Nader, Ralph, Nadia Milleron, et Duff Conacher. Canada Firsts, Toronto, McClelland & Stewart, 1992.

Van Dulken, Stephen. Inventing the 19th Century: 100 Inventions That Shaped the Victorian Age From Aspirin to the Zeppelin, New York, New York University Press, 2001.

« Incandescent light bulb », Wikipedia,
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Incandescent_light_bulb
(consulté le 9 novembre 2005).