Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > Politics and Government > Made in Canada Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

"Commutator and Regulator for Dynamo-electric Machines." Patent no. 17319, filed by John J. Wright, 1883

 

Patent no. 17319. Filing year 1883.

"Commutator and Regulator for Dynamo-electric Machines," John J. Wright.

Often with claims of inventions -- particularly before the twentieth century -- the line between fact and fiction can be difficult to discern. John J. Wright's is a case in point.

Some sources claim that Wright, an English-born electrical engineer living in Toronto, made and installed the first electric motor in Canada at an Eaton's coffee and tea shop on Yonge Street, in Toronto, in 1883. The Canada Science and Technology Museum in Ottawa even has a motor from Wright's shop, marked with big, red letters saying, "Canada's first electric motor." In fact, by 1883, several electric motors had already been installed across Canada, some a decade earlier.

Also dubious is the claim made by some -- notably J. J. Brown in his history of Canadian invention, Ideas in Exile -- that Wright invented the elevated pole system used to power electric trolleys. Wright apparently attempted to install and operate the first electric railway in Canada at the Canadian National Exhibition (CNE) in 1883. This attempt, using an engine purchased from Thomas Edison, failed, the story goes, because the power source, a third rail in the ground, shorted out in heavy rains. Legend has it that Wright's solution was to convey the electricity through an overhead wire, connected to the trolley by an elevated pole; at the top of the pole, a spring-loaded wheel moved along the wire and conducted the electricity. This new electric railway system was demonstrated at the CNE in 1884, and this time it ran perfectly, carrying some 15,000 passengers on its two-week run.

However, the evidence does not bear this story out. Wright never patented a pole apparatus; he has three patents in Canada, one for a regulator for electric lights, and two for improvements to DC electric motors, including the one pictured above. Such "dynamo-electric machines," as they were then called, were the earliest type of electric motor and generator. (Another well-known Canadian inventor, Thomas Leopold Willson, patented and built his own electric dynamo in 1889, at the age of 20, but was better known for his contributions to chemistry.)

While Wright may have helped install electric railways at the CNE, and may even have used a pole system, there's no hard evidence to prove it. Official credit for the invention of an electric trolley pole has gone to an American, Frank J. Sprague, who installed a working system in Richmond, Virginia, in 1888. Trolley poles, of course, went on to power electric railways around the world, and are still used in Canada for Toronto's streetcars and Vancouver's electric bus system.

Regardless, Wright deserves credit as one of Canada's electrical pioneers. Between 1876 and 1881, he worked in Philadelphia for electrical engineers Elihu Thomson and Edwin James Houston, helping them install North America's first electric-arc street lamp in 1879. Upon returning to Toronto in 1881, Wright built a generator to power arc lights that he designed and installed in 15 Toronto businesses. In 1886, he became superintendent, and later manager, of the Toronto Electric Light Company, which that year installed Toronto's first electric street light system. In 1891, John J. Wright became the first president of the Canadian Electrical Association.

References

Thanks to Anna Adamek, assistant to the curator, Canada Science and Technology Museum, for her assistance with this profile.

Andreae, Christopher. "Wright, John Joseph." Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online.
www.biographi.ca/EN/ShowBio.asp?BioId=42016&query=Wright
(accessed October 7, 2005).

Armstrong, Christopher and H. V. Nelles. Monopoly's Moment: The Organization and Regulation of Canadian Utilities, 1830-1930. Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 1986.

Brown, J. J. Ideas in Exile: A History of Canadian Invention. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1967.

Carpenter, Thomas. Inventors: Profiles in Canadian Genius. Camden East, Ontario: Camden House Publishing, 1990.

Nostbakken, Janis and Jack Humphrey. The Canadian Inventions Book: Innovations, Discoveries and Firsts. Toronto: Greey de Pencier Books, 1976.

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Politique et gouvernement > Fait au Canada English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

« Commutateur et régulateur pour les machines électro-dynamiques ». Brevet no 17319, déposé par John J. Wright en 1883

 

Brevet no 17319. Date de dépôt : 1883.

« Commutateur et régulateur pour les machines électro-dynamiques », John J. Wright.

Souvent, surtout avant le XXe siècle, la frontière entre fiction et réalité -- en ce qui a trait aux revendications relatives aux inventions -- demeure floue, comme dans l'histoire de John J. Wright.

Selon certaines sources, c'est J.J. Wright, ingénieur en électricité né en Angleterre et résidant à Toronto, qui a fabriqué et installé, en 1883 au Canada, le premier moteur électrique dans une boutique de thé et de café du magasin Eaton, situé rue Yonge, à Toronto. C'est en tout cas ce qu'indique l'inscription écrite en grosses lettres rouges « premier moteur électrique canadien » sur le moteur provenant du magasin de Wright, maintenant conservé au Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada. De fait, en 1883, le Canada possède déjà plusieurs moteurs électriques, installés parfois jusqu'à 10 ans plus tôt.

Il est tout aussi douteux que Wright, comme l'affirme entre autres J.J. Brown dans Ideas in Exile, ouvrage qui traite de l'histoire des inventions canadiennes, ait inventé le système de poteau surélevé utilisé dans les tramways électriques. Il semble que Wright ait tenté en 1883 d'installer et de faire fonctionner le premier chemin de fer électrique au pays, à l'occasion de l'Exposition nationale canadienne (CNE). Pour cet essai, Wright aurait utilisé un moteur acheté à Thomas Edison, mais la tentative échoue, d'après ce qu'on en dit, parce que la source d'énergie, un troisième rail courant en terre, a souffert des pluies abondantes. Wright aurait eu pour solution de faire circuler l'électricité dans un fil suspendu connecté au tramway grâce à un poteau surélevé au sommet duquel une roue montée sur un ressort se déplace le long du fil conducteur d'électricité. La CNE présente en 1884 ce nouveau système de chemin de fer électrique qui, fonctionnant cette fois sans problème, transporte au cours de ses deux semaines de voyage près de 15 000 passagers.

Cependant, aucune preuve n'étaye cette version des faits. Wright n'a jamais demandé de brevet pour un appareil faisant usage de poteau; il détenait trois brevets au Canada -- un pour un régulateur destiné à l'éclairage électrique, et deux pour des améliorations apportées à des moteurs électrodynamiques, dont celui illustré ci-dessus. Ces « machines électrodynamiques », comme on les appelle alors, comptent parmi les premiers moteurs et les premières génératrices électriques. (Thomas Leopold Willson, autre inventeur canadien célèbre, fait breveter et construire sa propre dynamo en 1889; il a alors 20 ans. Mais on le connaît surtout pour son apport dans le domaine de la chimie).

Wrigth a peut-être participé à l'installation du chemin de fer à la CNE, et il a pu recourir à un système fonctionnant à l'aide d'un poteau, mais rien ne le confirme. C'est à l'Américain Frank J. Sprague, qui a installé en 1888 un système fonctionnel à Richmond, en Virginie, que revient le mérite d'avoir imaginé le poteau électrique utilisé pour actionner les tramways. Ces poteaux ont été bien sûr remplacés partout dans le monde par des chemins de fer électriques, et au Canada, le tramway de Toronto et les autobus électriques de Vancouver en utilisent encore.

Quoi qu'il en soit, Wright mérite d'être reconnu comme l'un des pionniers dans l'utilisation de l'électricité. Il travaille entre 1876 et 1881 à Philadelphie, pour les ingénieurs en électricité Elihu Thomson et Edwin James Houston, les aidant à installer en 1879 le premier lampadaire à arc électrique en Amérique du Nord. Lorsqu'il revient en 1881 à Toronto, Wright construit une génératrice qui alimente les éclairages à arc qu'il conçoit et installe dans 15 commerces de Toronto. En 1886, il est nommé surintendant, puis gérant de la compagnie d'électricité de Toronto, qui installe cette année-là dans la Ville reine le premier système d'éclairage de rues électrique. En 1891, John J. Wright devient le premier président de la Canadian Electrical Association.

Références

Nous souhaitons remercier pour son précieux concours Anna Adamek, conservatrice adjointe au Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada.

Andreae, Christopher. « Wright, John Joseph », Dictionnaire biographique du Canada en ligne,
www.biographi.ca/FR/ShowBio.asp?BioId=41897&query=wright
(consulté le 7 octobre 2005).

Armstrong, Christopher et H.V. Nelles. Monopoly's Moment: The Organization and Regulation of Canadian Utilities, 1830-1930, Philadelphie, Temple University Press, 1986.

Brown, J.J. Ideas in Exile: A History of Canadian Invention, Toronto, McClelland & Stewart, 1967.

Carpenter, Thomas. Inventors: Profiles in Canadian Genius, Camden East (Ont.), Camden House Publishing, 1990.

Nostbakken, Janis et Jack Humphrey. The Canadian Inventions Book: Innovations, Discoveries and Firsts, Toronto, Greey de Pencier Books, 1976.