Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > Politics and Government > Made in Canada Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

"Snow Plough." Patent no. 18506, filed by Orange Jull, 1884. Left side view

 

Patent no. 18506. Filing year 1884.

"Snow Plough," Orange Jull.

It makes perfect sense that the rotary snowplough is a Canadian invention. The spinning fan-like contraption, first used on the railroad, eventually inspired the modern snow blower. The story of this snowplough is also the story of two inventors: one with the original vision, the other with the determination and clout to make it a reality.

J.W. Elliot, a dentist from Toronto, first conceived of a spinning snow shovel, which he patented in 1870 (no. 399). It consisted of a rotary engine driving a wheel mounted on the front of a train. A shaped steel collector on the tracks fed the snow to fan plates on the edge of the wheel, which threw the snow out of the top of the wheel casing. Elliot, however, was unable to interest the railways or any manufacturer in the concept, and returned to his dentistry practice.

The lack of interest is surprising, since there was in fact a demand for such a device. At the time, trains used a wedge plough to remove snow, but though fast, the plough tended to jump the tracks when faced with deep snowdrifts or avalanches. A few years after Elliot's patent, in 1884, an inventor named Orange Jull, from Orangeville, Ontario, patented an update to Elliot's invention. His main contribution was a cutting-blade positioned in front of the fan, mounted on the same shaft but spinning in the opposite direction, which chopped up the incoming snow for easier removal.

Jull convinced local manufacturers the Leslie Brothers to build a working model of the plough. After tests and modifications, the plough was installed on trains of the Chicago and North Western Railway in Iowa for the winter of 1883-84. The two-wheel system was criticized, however, since snow could get clogged between the cutting-blade and the fan. In response, Jull and the Leslie Brothers came up with a single-wheel version of the plough that eventually became standard for railways in the United States.

The harsh conditions of Canadian winters, however, demanded further modifications. In 1888 the Canadian Pacific Railway mounted rotary ploughs with ten-foot diameters on the front of eight locomotives. The fan wheel was given scoop-shaped flanges to improve its performance against the wet, packed snow of the Canadian Rockies. But the plough's progress could be slow, moving foot by foot through avalanche deposits, and was easily damaged by rocks and trees mixed in with the snow. Finally, a plough with a twelve-ton blade that could cut through trees four inches in diameter was developed in 1911, versions of which are still used by Canadian railways today.

References

Brown, J.J. Ideas in Exile: A History of Canadian Invention. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1967.

Nader, Ralph, Nadia Milleron, and Duff Conacher. Canada Firsts. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1992.

Nostbakken, Janis, and Jack Humphrey. The Canadian Inventions Book: Innovations, Discoveries and Firsts. Toronto: Greey de Pencier Books, 1976.

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Politique et gouvernement > Fait au Canada English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

« Charrue à neige ». Brevet no 18506, déposé par Orange Jull en 1884. Vue du côté gauche


Brevet no 18506. Date de dépôt : 1884.

« Charrue à neige » [Le chasse-neige], Orange Jull.

Il est logique que le chasse-neige rotatif soit une invention canadienne. L'engin semblable à un ventilateur, d'abord utilisé dans les trains, a inspiré les souffleuses modernes. L'histoire de ce chasse-neige est aussi celle de deux inventeurs : le premier en a eu l'idée originale, et le second, la détermination et le poids nécessaire pour lui donner vie.

Dentiste à Toronto, J.W. Elliot conçoit une pelle à neige tournante, et la fait breveter en 1869 (no 399). Il la munit d'un moteur rotatif qui dirige une roue montée à l'avant du train. Un collecteur en acier façonné, installé sur la voie, envoie la neige vers des ventilateurs fixés à l'extrémité de la roue, lesquels évacuent la neige amassée sur le dessus de l'enveloppe de la roue. Cependant, Elliott ne réussit à intéresser à son concept ni la compagnie des chemins de fer, ni aucun fabricant, et il retourne à sa pratique de dentiste.

Ce manque d'intérêt a de quoi étonner, car le besoin d'un tel dispositif existe. À l'époque, on déblaie la neige à l'aide de charrues. Cependant, même si la tâche est vite faite, la charrue tend à dérailler en cas de poudrerie ou d'avalanche. En 1884, quelques années après qu'Elliott ait obtenu son brevet, un inventeur du nom d'Orange Jull, originaire d'Orangeville (Ontario), fait breveter une amélioration à l'invention d'Elliott. Il conçoit -- et c'est là sa principale contribution -- une lame à racler installée à l'avant du ventilateur, montée sur le même manche mais tournant en direction inverse, qui défait la neige pour en faciliter le ramassage.

Jull convainc une entreprise locale, la Leslie Brothers, de construire un prototype de l'engin. Après maints essais et rectificatifs, la charrue est installée sur les trains de la Chicago and North Western Railway, à Iowa, au cours de l'hiver 1883-1884. On critique cependant le système à deux roues, car la neige se coince entre la lame et le ventilateur. Jull et la Leslie Brothers mettent donc au point un système à roue unique qui devient alors la norme dans les chemins de fer américains.

Les rudes hivers canadiens exigent cependant qu'on y apporte quelques modifications. En 1888, la Canadian Pacific Railway monte, à l'avant de huit locomotives, des charrues rotatives de 10 pieds de diamètre. On installe sur la roue du ventilateur des rebords en forme de pelle qui améliorent le rendement, compte tenu de la neige compacte et mouillée des Rocheuses canadiennes. Mais la charrue progresse lentement, avançant pied par pied dans la neige accumulée par l'avalanche; de plus, les pierres et les arbres charriés par la neige l'endommage aisément. Finalement, on met au point en 1911 une charrue dotée d'une lame de 12 tonnes qui peut couper des branches de quatre pouces de diamètre. Les compagnies ferroviaires canadiennes utilisent encore aujourd'hui certains de ces modèles.

Références

Brown, J.J. Ideas in Exile: A History of Canadian Invention, Toronto, McClelland & Stewart, 1967.

Nader, Ralph, Nadia Milleron, et Duff Conacher. Canada Firsts, Toronto, McClelland & Stewart, 1992.

Nostbakken, Janis, et Jack Humphrey. The Canadian Inventions Book: Innovations, Discoveries and Firsts, Toronto, Greey de Pencier Books, 1976.