Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

International Standard Numbers (ISNs)

Previous | Table of Contents | Next

Frequently Asked Questions

What is an ISSN?

The International Standard Serial Number (ISSN) is an internationally recognized identification number for serial publications. An ISSN is an eight-digit standard number that, once assigned, becomes a permanent attribute of the individual serial for as long as it is issued under a given title. Each time the title of a serial is changed, a new ISSN must be assigned. ISSN must never be reused for new or changed serial titles.

ISSN are assigned by national and regional centres of the international ISSN Network. This system of international coordination ensures that each ISSN is unique to one serial publication.

ISSN can be used wherever information on serials needs to be recorded or communicated.

Top of page


What is a serial publication?

A "serial" is a publication issued in successive parts and intended to be continued indefinitely. Each issue of a serial usually has a numerical and/or chronological designation (e.g. vol., no., and/or date) that distinguishes the individual issues of the serial from each other.

Serials include periodicals, newspapers, annuals (such as yearbooks, annual reports and directories, etc.), journals, memoirs, proceedings, transactions of societies and monographic series.

Serials can be published in any medium (e.g. print, CD-ROM, via Internet, etc.). If a serial is issued in more than one medium, a different ISSN is usually required for each format in which the serial is issued.

Top of page


How do publishers obtain an ISSN?

Publishers of Canadian serials should contact ISSN Canada to request an ISSN for each new serial title they plan to publish. Requests may be submitted by using the online application form or by contacting ISSN Canada at the following address:

ISSN Canada
Library and Archives Canada
395 Wellington Street
Ottawa, ON   K1A 0N4
Telephone: 819-994-6895 or 1-866-578-7777 (toll free in Canada and the US)
Fax: 819-997-6209
E-mail: issn@bac-lac.gc.ca

Publishers should contact ISSN Canada as soon as the title has been selected, to ensure that the correct ISSN appears on the first issue of a new or changed title.

ISSN are provided free of charge.

Top of page


Where does the ISSN appear?

Publishers should print the ISSN in a prominent position on every issue of a serial publication. For serials distributed on the Internet and World Wide Web, the ISSN should appear on the first screen of the item. For print serials, the preferred location for the ISSN is the top right-hand corner of the front cover. The eight-digit number must always be preceded by the letters ISSN to avoid any confusion with other numbering systems.

Example: ISSN 0027-9633
 

It is also useful to cite the ISSN in advertisements, trade literature, book reviews, etc. because ISSN are widely used to process and verify ordering information.

Top of page


What are the advantages of having an ISSN?

Publishers are not legally obliged to print ISSN but there are many advantages to having ISSN for serial publications.

Because the ISSN system is international and each ISSN is unique, an ISSN can identify a serial regardless of its language or country of origin and it will distinguish between serials with the same or similar titles.

ISSN are used wherever information on serials needs to be recorded and communicated with precision (e.g. purchase orders, database searching, etc.).

ISSN provide an efficient and economical method of communication between publishers, suppliers and purchasers of serial publications. They also provide a useful point of access to publishers' catalogues, trade directories, automated inventories, bibliographies, etc.

ISSN are widely used in computer databases for organizing, retrieving and transmitting data about serials. The ISSN is also an essential element of the SISAC and EAN bar codes [PDF 55 KB].

ISSN are widely used in libraries for identifying, ordering and processing serial titles.

Publications that have ISSN are entered into the international register of serial publications maintained by the ISSN International Centre in Paris. This international register lists over 1,000,000 serial titles and grows at an annual rate of about 50,000 new listings. www.issn.org

Top of page


What is the difference between ISSN and ISBN?

International Standard Serial Numbers (ISSN) are eight-digit standard numbers for the unique identification of serial publications.

Example: ISSN 0027-9633
 

International Standard Book Numbers (ISBN) are ten-digit standard numbers for the unique identification of each edition of a book or other monographic publication (e.g. pamphlets, educational kits, etc.).

Example: ISBN 0-7710-1234-5
 

Some types of publications, such as annuals or less frequently published serials, may be assigned both an ISSN and an ISBN. Monographs within a monographic series should have both an ISBN for the individual monograph and an ISSN for the entire series.

Previous | Table of Contents | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Numéros international normalisé (ISNs)

Précédent | Table des matières | Suivant

Foire aux questions

Qu'est ce que l'ISSN?

Le Numéro international normalisé des publications en série (ISSN) est un code reconnu à l'échelle internationale qui permet d'identifier les publications en série. Un ISSN est un code normalisé de huit chiffres qui, une fois établi, représente une publication en série particulière tant que celle-ci ne change pas de titre. Un nouvel ISSN doit être attribué chaque fois qu'une publication en série change de titre. Un ISSN ne doit jamais être réutilisé, ni pour un nouveau titre, ni pour un titre modifié.

Les ISSN sont attribués par des centres nationaux et régionaux du réseau ISSN international. Grâce à cette coordination internationale, chaque ISSN est unique et représente une seule publication en série.

Les ISSN servent à inscrire et à diffuser des renseignements au sujet des publications en série.

Haut de la page


Qu'est-ce qu'une publication en série?

Il s'agit d'une publication paraissant en livraisons successives pendant une durée non limitée à l'avance. Chaque livraison d'une publication en série comporte une désignation numérique ou chronologique (p. ex. vol., no, date) qui la distingue des autres livraisons de la publication en série.

Les publications en série englobent les périodiques, les journaux, les publications annuelles (annuaires, rapports annuels, répertoires, etc.), les revues, les mémoires, les comptes rendus de séances, les actes de sociétés et les collections de monographies.

Tous les supports sont possibles : imprimé, CD-ROM, Internet, etc. Lorsqu'une publication en série paraît sur plus d'un support, il faut normalement un ISSN distinct pour chaque support.

Haut de la page


Comment les éditeurs obtiennent-ils un ISSN?

Les éditeurs canadiens communiquent avec ISSN Canada afin d'obtenir un ISSN pour chacun de leurs nouveaux titres de publication en série. Pour soumettre des demandes, les éditeurs peuvent utiliser le formulaire de demande d'ISSN en ligne ou contacter ISSN Canada à l'adresse suivante:

ISSN Canada
Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
395, rue Wellington
Ottawa (Ontario)   K1A 0N4
CANADA
Téléphone :   819-994-6895 ou 1-866-578-7777 (sans frais au Canada et aux États-Unis)
Télécopieur :   819-997-6209
Courriel : issn@bac-lac.gc.ca

Il convient de communiquer avec ISSN Canada dès que le titre a été choisi, afin de s'assurer qu'un ISSN correct figure sur la première livraison d'un titre nouveau ou modifié.

Les ISSN sont attribués gratuitement.

Haut de la page


Emplacement de l'ISSN

L'ISSN doit être imprimé en évidence sur tous les numéros d'une publication en série, de préférence dans le coin supérieur droit de la page de couverture. Le code de huit chiffres doit toujours être précédé des lettres ISSN, ce qui empêche toute confusion relativement à d'autres systèmes de numérotation.

Exemple : ISSN 0027-9633
 

Il est également utile d'inscrire l'ISSN dans la publicité, la documentation commerciale, les recensions, etc., l'ISSN étant utilisé largement pour traiter l'information et vérifier les commandes.

Haut de la page


Avantages de l'ISSN

La loi n'exige pas que les éditeurs inscrivent l'ISSN, mais celui-ci offre de nombreux avantages pour les publications en série.

Puisque le système ISSN est international et que chaque code est unique, l'ISSN permet d'identifier une publication en série peu importe la langue ou le pays d'origine; il permet de distinguer des publications en série portant le même titre ou des titres semblables.

L'ISSN est utilisé chaque fois qu'il faut inscrire et diffuser des renseignements exacts sur les publications en série (commandes, consultation de bases de données, etc.).

L'ISSN est un moyen de communication efficace et bon marché entre les éditeurs, les fournisseurs et les acheteurs de publications en série. C'est également un repère utile pour la consultation des catalogues d'éditeur, des répertoires commerciaux, des inventaires automatisés, des bibliographies, etc.

Les ISSN sont largement utilisés dans les bases de données informatiques en vue de l'organisation, du repérage et de la transmission de données au sujet des publications en série.

L'ISSN est également un élément essentiel des codes à barres [PDF 55 Ko] SISAC et EAN.

Les bibliothèques se servent beaucoup de l'ISSN pour identifier, commander et traiter les titres de publications en série.

Les publications qui portent un ISSN sont inscrites dans le registre international des publications en série, qui relève du Centre international de l'ISSN à Paris. Ce registre international recense plus de 1 000 000 titres de publications en série et quelque 50 000 nouvelles notices sont ajoutées chaque année. www.issn.org/fr

Haut de la page


Quelle est la différence entre un ISSN et un ISBN?

Le Numéro international normalisé des publications en série (ISSN) est un code normalisé de huit chiffres qui permet d'identifier une publication en série de façon unique.

Exemple : ISSN 0027-9633
 

Le Numéro normalisé international du livre (ISBN) est un code normalisé de dix chiffres qui permet d'identifier de façon unique chaque édition d'un ouvrage ou autre publication monographique (brochure, trousse éducative, etc.).

Exemple : ISBN 0-7710-1234-5
 

Certaines publications comme les publications annuelles ou les publications en série paraissant moins fréquemment peuvent porter à la fois un ISSN et un ISBN. Les monographies qui relèvent d'une collection devraient porter à la fois un ISBN pour la monographie particulière et un ISSN pour l'ensemble de la collection.

Précédent | Table des matières | Suivant