Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

A Real Companion and Friend:
The diary of William Lyon Mackenzie King

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Behind the Diary

Introduction: Life Writing

"Dear Diary": Diary Writing as a Genre

"I never travel without my diary. One should always have something sensational to read in the train." - Oscar Wilde, The Importance of Being Earnest (1895)

Title Page of Histoire de ma vie by George Sand, 1854-1855

Source

Title Page of Histoire de ma vie by George Sand, 1854-1855

Title page from the first edition of the biographical work, Histoire de ma vie (1854-1855), by French writer Armandine Lucie Aurore Dupin, baronne Dudevant (1804-1876), who is better known by her pseudonym George Sand. Sand's book is a highly stylized work, based on her own diaries.

Mackenzie King's diary writing belongs to a long and established literary tradition. In fact, the diary is one of the most readily recognizable literary forms. A type of autobiographical writing, it is essentially a regularly kept record of the diarist's activities and reflections, ostensibly for the author's use alone, although some diaries are eventually published. Its name is derived from the Latin word dies, meaning "days," which suggests the "day-to-day" nature of the writing. Perhaps because it is viewed as non-fiction, the diary has largely been excluded from serious literary discussion. In fact, it has only recently begun to be recognized as a form of "life writing"or "self-writing," a literary genre that also encompasses autobiography, biography, memoir, correspondence and travel literature. But unlike these other forms, the diary is considered more intimate and immediate, often serving as the basis for more polished works. For instance, George Sand's memoirs, Histoire de ma vie (1855), and Bruce Chatwin's travel narrative, In Patagonia (1977), are highly crafted texts that draw heavily from the authors' diaries. Similarly, the diaries of Christopher Isherwood inspired his work The Berlin Stories (1939), which was adapted as Cabaret, the award-winning Broadway musical and the critically acclaimed film.

Samuel Pepys (1633-1703)

Source

Samuel Pepys (1633-1703)

The diary that British civil servant and diarist Samuel Pepys kept from 1659 to 1669 is a detailed account of events during the first decade of the Restoration. It has been considered a literary masterpiece since 1825, when a selection from the diary was first published. This portrait of Pepys is taken from the frontispiece of The Diary of Samuel Pepys, published in 1904.

The appeal of the diary form has even led some writers to produce fictional journals or narratives written in a diary style. Among the chief examples are Daniel Defoe's Journal of the Plague Year (1722), Bram Stoker's Dracula (1897) and Georges Bernanos's Journal d'un curé de campagne (1936). More recent works in this vein include Alice Walker's The Color Purple (1982), Fannie Flagg's Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café (1987), Helen Fielding's Bridget Jones's Diary (1997) and Olivier Larizza's Les Nénuphars de Belgrade (1999).

The diary form began to flourish in the late Renaissance, with the rise of humanism. In addition to providing a textual record of the diarist's personality, the diary also tends to chronicle social and political history. As such, the diary can significantly complement the "official" public record, by providing a personal perspective on socio-political events. For instance, the first diary of Samuel Pepys, the most celebrated diary of the English language, describes the Coronation of Charles II (1661), the Plague (1665) and the Great Fire of London (1666).

In times of acute social upheaval, where the public record may have been suppressed, altered or even destroyed, the diary can in fact provide a more reliable and powerful record of events. A striking example is the diary of Anne Frank, which chronicles the daily existence of a Jewish family in hiding in Nazi-occupied Holland.

Anne Frank, 1939

Source

Anne Frank, 1939

Anne Frank (1929-1945), is best remembered as the author of a diary that she kept while in hiding in Nazi-occupied Holland from 1942 to 1945. Her diary was first published in the Netherlands in 1947 as Het Achterhuis. An English translation, The Diary of a Young Girl, appeared in 1952. This portrait is taken from Anne Frank in the World, published in 1985.

Photograph attributed to her father, Otto Frank

Although the diary form has attracted people from all walks of life, many of the most revered diaries remain those of writers. These include the diaries of Jonathan Swift, Sir Walter Scott, Stendhal, Lord Byron, Charles Baudelaire, André Gide, Virginia Woolf, Franz Kafka and Katherine Mansfield. Diary writing today remains vastly popular, with the most exhibitionistic diarists choosing to post virtual diaries on the World Wide Web.

While Mackenzie King's massive narrative of his life could be regarded as the single greatest Canadian diary, many other noteworthy diarists have produced works that are nationally significant. These include the diaries of John Winslow, a Massachusetts colonel involved in the deportation of the Acadians; Simeon Perkins, a Nova Scotia Planter who became a prominent merchant and shipbuilder; Elizabeth Posthuma Simcoe née Gwillim, the wife of the first Lieutenant-Governor of Upper Canada; François-Maurice Lepailleur, a Patriote who was exiled to Australia following the Rebellions of 1837-1838; Lady Susan Agnes Macdonald née Bernard, the wife of the first Canadian Prime Minister; Louis Riel, a Métis leader and founder of the Province of Manitoba; Henriette Dessaules (pseudonym "Fadette"), a Quebec journalist; Joséphine Marchand, a Quebec journalist and feminist; Emily Carr, a British Columbia artist and author; Lucy Maud Montgomery, a novelist from Prince Edward Island; Lionel Groulx, a Quebec historian and nationalist; and Charles Ritchie, a diplomat and author.

Previous | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Un vrai compagnon et ami :
Le journal de William Lyon Mackenzie King

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Au cœur du journal

Introduction : Le journal d'une vie

« Cher journal » : le journal personnel en tant que forme littéraire

« Je ne voyage jamais sans mon journal intime. Toute personne devrait toujours avoir quelque chose de sensationnel à lire à bord du train. » – Oscar Wilde [Traduction d'un extrait de The Importance of Being Earnest (1895)].

Page de titre de Histoire de ma vie, par George Sand, 1854-1855

Source

Page de titre de Histoire de ma vie, par George Sand, 1854-1855

Il s'agit de la page de titre de l'édition inaugurale de l'œuvre biographique Histoire de ma vie (1854-1855), de la romancière française Armandine Lucie Aurore Dupin, baronne Dudevant (1804-1876), mieux connue sous son pseudonyme George Sand. Le livre de Sand est un ouvrage hautement stylisé, tiré de ses propres carnets intimes.

Le journal personnel de Mackenzie King relève d'une tradition littéraire de longue date et bien établie. En fait, le journal intime est l'une des formes littéraires les plus facilement reconnaissables. Sorte de récit autobiographique, le journal est essentiellement un registre scrupuleusement tenu des activités et réflexions de l'auteur, de toute évidence pour son utilisation exclusive, bien que certains carnets personnels soient éventuellement publiés. Le « journal personnel » tire son nom du terme latin dies, signifiant « jours », ce qui renvoie à la nature « au jour le jour » ou « quotidienne » de l'acte d'écrire. Peut-être parce qu'il est perçu comme une œuvre non romanesque, le journal a grandement été exclu du débat littéraire sérieux. En fait, il n'a que récemment commencé à gagner ses titres de noblesse comme forme de « récit de vie » ou d'« écrit personnel », une forme littéraire qui englobe également l'autobiographie, la biographie, le mémoire, la correspondance et le récit de voyage. Cependant, contrairement à ces autres formes littéraires, le journal est considéré plus intime et plus immédiat, et sert souvent de base à des œuvres plus polies. Par exemple, les mémoires de George Sand [Histoire de ma vie (1855)] et le récit de voyage de Bruce Chatwin [In Patagonia (1977)] sont des textes très profilés qui s'inspirent grandement des journaux personnels de ces auteurs. De même, les carnets intimes de Christopher Isherwood sont à la source de son ouvrage The Berlin Stories (1939), qui a été adapté pour Cabaret, comédie musicale primée de Broadway et film louangé par la critique.

Samuel Pepys (1633-1703), fonctionnaire britannique et auteur de journal

Source

Samuel Pepys (1633-1703), fonctionnaire britannique et auteur de journal

Le journal que Samuel Pepys rédige de 1659 à 1669 est un compte rendu détaillé des événements qui ont marqué la première décennie de la Restauration. Il est qualifié de véritable chef-d'œuvre littéraire en 1825 lorsqu'un extrait du journal a été publié pour la toute première fois. Ce portrait de Pepys provient de la page frontispice de : The Diary of Samuel Pepys publié en 1904.

L'attrait du journal personnel en tant que forme littéraire a même porté certains écrivains à produire des journaux fictifs ou des récits rédigés dans un style anecdotique. Parmi les exemples les plus notoires se trouvent les ouvrages de Daniel Defoe [Journal of the Plague Year (1722)], de Bram Stoker [Dracula (1897)] et de Georges Bernanos [Journal d'un curé de campagne (1936)]. Parmi les œuvres plus récentes dans la même catégorie, on retrouve celles d'Alice Walker [The Color Purple (1982)], de Fannie Flagg [Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café (1987)], d'Helen Fielding [Bridget Jones's Diary (1997)] et d'Olivier Larizza [Les Nénuphars de Belgrade (1999)].

Le journal personnel prend son essor à la fin de la Renaissance, avec la montée de l'humanisme. En plus de fournir un enregistrement textuel de la personnalité de l'auteur, le journal intime a également tendance à raconter le contexte social et politique. En tant que tel, le carnet intime peut compléter de manière importante le document public « officiel », en fournissant une perspective personnelle des événements sociopolitiques. Par exemple, le premier journal de Samuel Pepys, le plus célèbre journal intime écrit en anglais, décrit le couronnement de Charles II (1661), la peste (1665) et le grand incendie de Londres (1666).

Anne Frank, 1939

Source

Anne Frank, 1939

Anne Frank (1929-1945), est mieux connue comme l'auteure d'un journal qu'elle a rédigé à partir de sa cachette durant l'occupation nazie de la Hollande de 1942 à 1945. Son carnet intime a été d'abord publié aux Pays-Bas en 1947 sous le titre Het Achterhuis. Une version anglaise intitulée The Diary of a Young Girl a paru en 1952. Ce portrait extrait de Anne Frank in the World, a été publié en 1985.

Photographe : probablement son père, Otto Frank

En période de bouleversement social prononcé, où les archives publiques peuvent avoir été censurées, modifiées ou même détruites, le journal personnel peut en fait fournir une documentation plus fiable et plus percutante des événements. Un exemple frappant est le journal d'Anne Frank, qui relate la vie quotidienne d'une famille juive qui se cache dans une Hollande sous occupation nazie.

Même si le journal personnel retient l'attention de gens de tous les milieux, un grand nombre des journaux les plus vénérés demeurent ceux des écrivains. On n'a qu'à penser aux carnets intimes de Jonathan Swift, de sir Walter Scott, de Stendhal, de lord Byron, de Charles Baudelaire, d'André Gide, de Virginia Woolf, de Franz Kafka ou encore de Katherine Mansfield. Le journal personnel contemporain demeure très populaire, les auteurs les plus audacieux choisissant d'afficher leurs journaux virtuels sur le Web.

Bien que l'œuvre imposante de Mackenzie King en tant que récit de vie puisse être perçue comme le journal canadien par excellence, bien d'autres auteurs dignes de mention ont produit des ouvrages d'importance nationale. Il s'agit, notamment, des journaux de John Winslow, colonel du Massachusetts qui participe à la déportation des Acadiens; de Simeon Perkins, "un Planter" de la Nouvelle-Écosse qui devient un éminent marchand et constructeur de navires; d'Elizabeth Posthuma Simcoe, née Gwillim, femme du premier lieutenant-gouverneur du Haut-Canada; de François-Maurice Lepailleur, patriote exilé en Australie par suite des rébellions de 1837-1838; de lady Susan Agnes Macdonald, née Bernard, femme du premier ministre inaugural du Canada; de Louis Riel, leader métis et fondateur de la province du Manitoba; d'Henriette Dessaules (nom de plume « Fadette »), journaliste du Québec; de Joséphine Marchand, journaliste et féministe québécoise; d'Emily Carr, artiste et auteure de Colombie-Britannique; de Lucy Maud Montgomery, romancière de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard; de Lionel Groulx, historien et nationaliste québécois; et de Charles Ritchie, diplomate et auteur.

Précédent | Suivant