Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

A Real Companion and Friend:
The diary of William Lyon Mackenzie King

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Behind the Diary

A King's Who's Who Biographies

Edouard Handy (1910-?)

Edouard Handy with Mackenzie King, 1940

Source

Edouard Handy with Mackenzie King, 1940

Edouard Handy was King's Principal Secretary from 1936 to 1950. He became the most important person on his staff, and is mentioned often in the diary. He worked long hours, including weekends, and accompanied King on his travels. For many years, King dictated the diary to him. After King's death, the literary executors consulted Handy about how to handle the diary, and he assisted in preparing photostats relating to King's political career. Handy is shown to the right of Mackenzie King in this photograph.

Edouard Handy was King's Principal Secretary, from 1936 to 1950. King wrote: "I took on a young Fr. Cdn. Handy, of whom Skelton thinks well...." (Diary, January 8, 1936) Handy came from the Franchise Office, and was the only French-speaking member of King's close staff. He became the most important person on King's staff and in his official household.

Handy worked all hours of the day and night, including weekends, and accompanied King on his travels. They took meals, went for walks and attended movies together. The diary contains many complimentary references to Handy, such as: "Handy, faithful as ever, was on hand at 10, having been to mass...." (Diary, September 10, 1939) King trusted him implicitly, dictated the diary to him and did not proofread it after Handy transcribed it.

King sounded him out on political issues, even asking his opinion on the draft proclamation of war: "I read it aloud to Handy." (Diary, September 10, 1939) When required, Handy and his wife helped to entertain King's guests. For example, on one occasion they served tea to King's nephew Arthur and took him to a movie. (Diary, January 4, 1941)

Handy helped King with all manner of personal errands. In the course of the San Francisco conference which set up the United Nations, King noted: "... H. and I went in search of shirts and under-garments. We succeeded in getting some." (Diary, April 28, 1945) When King was in England and caught a bad cold, he took "some hot lemonade and a little Scotch which H. made up specially for me." (Diary, October 9, 1945)

Handy and his wife named one of their sons Lyon Marc, in honour of King's nephew and namesake, called Lyon, who was killed during the Second World War.

In 1945, Handy won a competition for the position of Assistant Secretary (bilingual) of the Air Transport Board. The next day King made arrangements so that Handy could stay with him for the time being, but would be sure not to lose out on anything, "either in the present or the future." (Diary, July 8, 1945)

When King went to Government House to resign as Prime Minister, Handy went with him. King wrote: "This being an historic occasion, I was anxious that it should have associations with Handy...." (Diary, November 15, 1948)

Handy continued to serve in a wide variety of tasks after King retired. In July 1950, Handy had left for three weeks' vacation with his family, but when King suffered a heart attack, Handy was notified and he hurried back. He was there, with other staff members and members of King's family, when Mackenzie King died, July 22, 1950.

King bequeathed $10,000 to Handy. The literary executors consulted him about how they should handle the diary, and he assisted in the preparation of photostats relating to King's political career.

Later, Handy became Secretary of the National Capital Commission.

Previous | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Un vrai compagnon et ami :
Le journal de William Lyon Mackenzie King

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Au cœur du journal

Bottin mondain de King : archives biographiques

Edouard Handy (1910-?)

Edouard Handy en compagnie de Mackenzie King, 1940

Source

Edouard Handy en compagnie de Mackenzie King, 1940

Edouard Handy est secrétaire principal de King, de 1936 à 1950. Il devient le plus important membre du personnel de King, et il est souvent mentionné dans le journal. Il travaille de longues heures durant, y compris les week-ends, et accompagne King en voyage. Pendant de nombreuses années, King lui dicte son journal. Après la mort de King, Handy se voit consulter par les exécuteurs littéraires au sujet de la façon de traiter le journal, et il participe à la préparation des photocopies touchant la carrière politique de King. Sur cette photo, Handy se trouve à la droite de Mackenzie King.

Edouard Handy est secrétaire principal de King de 1936 à 1950. King écrit de lui : « J'ai pris sous mon aile un jeune Canadien français du nom de Handy, de qui Skelton dit beaucoup de bien [...]. » [Traduction] (Journal, 8 janvier 1936) Handy vient du Bureau des franchises (Franchise Office), et il est le seul francophone parmi les proches collaborateurs de King. Il devient le plus important membre du personnel de King et de sa résidence officielle.

Handy travaille à toute heure du jour ou de la nuit, y compris le week-end, et il accompagne King dans ses déplacements. Il prend des repas avec King, se joint à lui pour des randonnées, et assiste à des projections de films en sa compagnie. Le journal contient de nombreuses mentions élogieuses au sujet de Handy, notamment : « Handy, fidèle comme toujours, était en service à 10 h, après avoir été à la messe [...]. » [Traduction] (Journal, 10 septembre 1939) King lui fait totalement, confiance, lui dicte son journal, et ne relit rien après la transcription de Handy.

King le consulte sur les questions de politique, sollicitant même son opinion à propos de l'ébauche de la proclamation de guerre : « Je l'ai lue à voix haute à Handy. » [Traduction] (Journal, 10 septembre 1939) Sur demande, Handy et sa femme aident King à accueillir ses invités. Par exemple, à une occasion, ils servent le thé à Arthur, le neveu de King, et l'amènent au cinéma. (Journal, 4 janvier 1941)

Handy aide King à faire toutes sortes de courses personnelles. Pendant la conférence de San Francisco qui a mené à la création des Nations Unies, King écrit : « [...] H. et moi sommes allés à la recherche de chemises et de sous-vêtements. Nous avons réussi à en trouver. » [Traduction] (Journal, 28 avril 1945) Lorsque King se trouve en Angleterre et attrape un vilain rhume, il se soigne au moyen d'« un peu de limonade chaude, mêlée d'une touche de Scotch, que H. a préparée expressément pour moi. » [Traduction] (Journal, 9 octobre 1945)

Handy et sa femme nomment un de leurs enfants Lyon Marc, en l'honneur du neveu de King (appelé Lyon), tué au cours de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale.

En 1945, Handy remporte un concours pour le poste de secrétaire adjoint (bilingue) de la Commission des transports aériens. Le lendemain, King s'organise pour que Handy demeure avec lui, mais qu'il n'en subisse aucun inconvénient pour sa carrière, « ni maintenant, ni plus tard. » [Traduction] (Journal, 8 juillet 1945)

Lorsque King se rend à la résidence du gouverneur général pour y remettre sa démission en tant que premier ministre, Handy l'accompagne. King écrit : « Ceci étant un événement historique, je tenais absolument à ce que Handy y soit associé [...]. » [Traduction] (Journal, 15 novembre 1948)

Handy continue d'assumer toute une gamme de fonctions après la retraite de King. En juillet 1950, Handy part trois semaines en vacances avec sa famille, lorsqu'il apprend que King vient d'avoir une crise cardiaque. Saisi de la nouvelle, Handy rentre à la hâte. Il est présent, ainsi que d'autres membres du personnel et de la famille de King, lorsque celui-ci décède le 22 juillet 1950.

Dans son testament, King lègue 10 000 $ à Handy. Les exécuteurs littéraires le consultent sur la manière de traiter le journal, et il participe à la préparation des photostats portant sur la carrière politique de King.

Par la suite, Handy devient secrétaire de la Commission de la capitale nationale (CCN).

Précédent | Suivant