Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

A Real Companion and Friend:
The diary of William Lyon Mackenzie King

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Behind the Diary

A King's Who's Who Biographies

Walter James Turnbull (1896-1987)

Walter James Turnbull, ca. 1945-1957

Source

Walter James Turnbull, ca. 1945-1957

Walter Turnbull worked in the Post Office, in the area of public relations. In the late 1930s, he was seconded to the Prime Minister's staff. During the Royal Tour of 1939, he served as liaison between the Royal Train and the press train. He was King's Private Secretary from 1940 to 1945, administering the office and arranging appointments for King.

Walter Turnbull was born in Oxford Mills, Ontario. At age 19 he joined the Post Office, where he worked in the area of public relations. In the late 1930s, he was seconded to work on the Prime Minister's staff. King was impressed by his work. "Called in Turnbull who had been working steadily all day, told him I had appreciated the way he had worked throughout the year, and had decided to take him along on the Royal Train during ... the King's visit. He was quite pleased...." (Diary, April 6, 1939) During the royal tour, Turnbull served as liaison between the press train and the royal train.

He became King's Principal Secretary in 1940 and held this position through the war years. He administered the office and arranged appointments for King. He went with King to the conference in Quebec City, where Winston Churchill and Franklin D. Roosevelt met in August 1943. King's diary contains many references to Turnbull working with him.

In 1945, Turnbull was appointed Deputy Postmaster General.

Library and Archives Canada holds the Walter J. Turnbull Papers (MG30-E543).

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Un vrai compagnon et ami :
Le journal de William Lyon Mackenzie King

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Au cœur du journal

Bottin mondain de King : archives biographiques

Walter James Turnbull (1896-1987)

Walter James Turnbull, v. 1945-1957

Source

Walter James Turnbull, v. 1945-1957

Walter Turnbull travaille aux Postes, dans le domaine des relations publiques. À la fin des années 1930, il est détaché auprès de l'équipe du premier ministre. Durant la Visite royale de 1939, il sert d'agent de liaison entre le Train royal et le Train de presse. Il est secrétaire particulier de King, de 1940 à 1945, administrant le bureau et prenant les rendez-vous de King.

Walter Turnbull naît à Oxford Mills (Ontario). À l'âge de 19 ans, il se joint aux Postes, où il travaille dans le secteur des relations publiques. À la fin des années 1930, il est détaché à un poste dans l'équipe du premier ministre. King se dit impressionné par son travail. « Ai appelé Turnbull qui avait travaillé assidûment toute la journée, et lui ai dit que j'avais apprécié la façon dont il avait travaillé tout au long de l'année, et que j'avais décidé de l'emmener avec moi dans le train royal durant [...] la visite du roi. Il en a été plutôt ravi [...]. » [Traduction] (Journal, 6 avril 1939) Pendant la visite royale, Turnbull sert d'agent de liaison entre le train de la presse et le train de la royauté.

Il devient secrétaire principal de King en 1940, poste qu'il occupe pendant toutes les années de la guerre. Il administre le bureau et organise les rendez-vous de King. Il accompagne King à la conférence de Québec, au cours de laquelle Winston Churchill et Franklin D. Roosevelt se rencontrent en août 1943. Le journal de King contient de nombreuses mentions de Turnbull et de son travail avec lui.

En 1945, Turnbull est nommé sous-ministre des Postes.

Les documents sur Walter J. Turnbull sont conservés à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (MG30-E543).