Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

A Real Companion and Friend:
The diary of William Lyon Mackenzie King

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Behind the Diary

Mackenzie King Slept Here: The Residences of Mackenzie King

Newport, Rhode Island

In the summer of 1899, Mackenzie King was employed by the Elbridge T. Gerry family of Newport, Rhode Island, as a tutor to their sons, Peter and Robert. The Gerrys were a wealthy and well-connected family. The boys' great-grandfather, Elbridge Gerry, had been the Governor of Massachusetts, a signer of the Declaration of Independence, and fifth Vice-President of the United States, and had given his name to the political tactic known as "gerrymandering."

King spent six weeks with the family. Although he claimed to dislike the lifestyle of the very rich, he greatly enjoyed this summer. "I had my first swim in the ocean, enjoyed it very much found it refreshing & exhilarating, have felt like a lord all day." (Diary, August 16, 1899) He learned horse jumping, had one fall, but persevered and succeeded in jumping several walls. "I never enjoyed a sport more, & believe that nothing compares in its manliness with this sort of exercise." (Diary, September 12, 1899) He also enjoyed the social life on Newport and he tasted champagne for the first time.

One of the people he met that summer was Julia Grant, granddaughter of the former American President, Ulysses S. Grant. He maintained a friendship and a detailed correspondence with Julia Grant for the rest of his life.

The money King earned as a tutor to the Gerry boys made it possible for him to take a trip to Europe. This journey was in connection with his scholarship from Harvard. From Newport he travelled to Boston, sailed out of Boston on September 27, 1899, and arrived in Liverpool on October 5. He studied and travelled in England and Europe until the following summer.

King kept in touch with Peter and Robert Gerry. Years later, when, as Prime Minister, he visited Washington with the royal tour, he presented Peter Gerry and Mrs. Gerry to King George VI. (Diary, June 8, 1939)

Previous | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Un vrai compagnon et ami :
Le journal de William Lyon Mackenzie King

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Au cœur du journal

Mackenzie King dormit ici : les résidences de Mackenzie King

Newport (Rhode Island)

Durant l'été de 1899, Mackenzie King a travaillé à Newport (Rhode Island) à titre de tuteur de Peter et Robert, fils de M. et Mme Elbridge T. Gerry. La famille Gerry était fortunée et influente. En effet, l'arrière-grand-père des deux garçons, Elbridge Gerry, avait été gouverneur du Massachusetts, un des signataires de la Déclaration d'indépendance, cinquième vice-président des États-Unis ainsi que l'initiateur d'une manœuvre politique (« gerrymandering ») qui consiste à remanier arbitrairement des circonscriptions.

King a passé six semaines avec cette famille et bien qu'il ait prétendu ne pas aimer le mode de vie des gens très riches, il a bien profité de son été : « Je me suis baigné dans l'océan pour la première fois; cela m'a beaucoup plu; j'ai trouvé cela rafraîchissant et vivifiant; toute la journée, j'ai eu l'impression d'être un seigneur. » [Traduction] (Journal, 16 août 1899) Il s'est initié au saut à cheval et malgré une chute, il a persévéré et est parvenu à franchir plusieurs obstacles : « Je n'ai jamais autant goûté un sport et j'estime qu'aucun autre genre d'exercice ne soit aussi viril. » [Traduction] (Journal, 12 septembre 1899) Il aimait aussi la vie sociale à Newport, où il a bu son premier verre de champagne.

Julia Grant, la petite-fille de l'ex-président américain Ulysses S. Grant, est l'une des personnes que King a rencontrées durant cet été. Pendant le reste de sa vie, King a entretenu des relations amicales ainsi qu'une correspondance suivie avec Julia Grant.

L'argent gagné par King comme tuteur des fils de M. et Mme Gerry lui a permis de faire un voyage en Europe qui était lié à ses études à Harvard. Depuis Newport, King s'est rendu à Boston, où il a pris le bateau le 27 septembre 1899; il est arrivé à Liverpool le 5 octobre. Il a étudié et voyagé en Angleterre et ailleurs en Europe jusqu'à l'été suivant.

King est resté en contact avec Peter et Robert Gerry. Bien des années plus tard, lorsqu'il a accompagné le couple royal à Washington à titre de premier ministre du Canada, il a présenté Peter Gerry et Mme Gerry au roi George VI. (Journal, 8 juin 1939)

Précédent | Suivant