Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

A Real Companion and Friend:
The diary of William Lyon Mackenzie King

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Educational Resources

Facts

Mackenzie King and spiritualism...mysterious!

Rt. Hon. W.L. Mackenzie King sitting in front of the J.W.L. Forster painting of his mother, Isabel King, in the library at Laurier House

Source

The Rt. Hon. W.L. Mackenzie King sitting in front of the J.W.L. Forster painting of his mother, Isabel King, in the library at Laurier House

Believe It Or Not... Mackenzie King was a spiritualist. He held séances and believed he communicated with the dead on many occasions throughout his life. The fact is that Mackenzie King and some of his friends, with the help of a medium, tried to communicate with his mother's spirit, his grandfather (William Lyon Mackenzie, leader of the 1837 Rebellion), his predecessor (Sir Wilfrid Laurier), and many others. He believed that these spirits could confirm his decisions. While Mackenzie King was alive, few people knew this strange aspect of his life. He recorded his spiritualist activities in the diaries and that's how we found out!

October 30, 1925, pages 191 and 194.

"...before going to the office received in the morning mail, (mailed Kingston 28) from Mrs. Bleaney a very remarkable letter  --  the interpretation of the dream I sent her. It is simply astounding how it spoke of the present elections, of seeming defeat, of the party being in a stronger position a little later on, of a clear way ahead after these troublous times, of the time it would take for people to understand, of great spiritual power to come later on, of the nearness of dear Mother, it was all like a great revelation.... My nature & reason revolt against "spiritualism" & all the ilk.  --  but not against the things of the spirit,  --  the belief in spiritual guidance,  --  thro' intuitions."

Mackenzie King and his dogs: Pat I, Pat II, Pat III...three of a kind!!

The Rt. Hon. W.L. Mackenzie King with his dog Pat I at Moorside Cottage

Source

The Rt. Hon. W.L. Mackenzie King with his dog Pat I at Moorside Cottage

Believe It Or Not... Mackenzie King had a special relationship with his dogs. Throughout his life, he owned three Irish Terriers and they were all named Pat. Needless to say, the little creatures played a very important role in Mackenzie King's life and he loved them dearly. In 1931, Mackenzie King recorded this about Pat I: "... dear little soul, he is almost human. I sometimes think he is a comforter dear mother has sent to me, he is filled with her spirit of patience, and tenderness and love." Check out what was on the Prime Minister's mind in 1941. Canada was engaged in a desperate war and he had important decisions to make with the Cabinet War Committee.

July 14, 1941, page 577.

"At 8:45 (two hands together) I took Pat down stairs, after he had made a little whine. He seemed to want to make water, but drank quite a little with a relish  --  I then brought him in, went for walk to Bethel stone. The other Pat rushed out & ran in a circle around me and on up the path."

Mackenzie King and numbers...a counting affair

Chief Justice Thibaudeau Rinfret presenting a citizenship certificate to Rt. Hon. W.L. Mackenzie King, Prime Minister of Canada, during the first citizenship ceremony to take place following the enactment of the Canadian Citizenship Act

Source

Chief Justice Thibaudeau Rinfret presenting a citizenship certificate to the Rt. Hon. W.L. Mackenzie King, Prime Minister of Canada, during the first citizenship ceremony to take place following the enactment of the Canadian Citizenship Act

Believe It Or Not... Mackenzie King had a special interest in numbers. In his diaries he often wrote about his fascination with numbers. Some might think that he was in fact quite interested by the science of numerology, the study of the hidden, magical significance of numbers.

Speaking of numbers... Notice on the same page of the diaries that Mackenzie King talks about the number "1." Because he was Prime Minister when the new citizenship law was enacted, he became the "first citizen." That means that the number on his Canadian Citizenship Certificate was..."1." Cool!

January 2, 1947, page 1.

"... I had thought yesterday of '47' being the figures '74' reversed which was the year of my birth. Curiously enough someone remarked this to me. I had another rather odd thought related to numerals which was that in thinking of the Rebellion of 1837-38, thought of my age  --  73rd year --  which is '37' reversed. Were one to live to a very old age, 83 would be reverse of 38. What the future may be, be it short or long, no one can tell... My name and that of those who have gone before me will hold their own in the history of Canada."

Mackenzie King and his grandfather...rebel pride?

William Lyon Mackenzie, 1831

Source

William Lyon Mackenzie, 1831

Believe It Or Not... Mackenzie King's maternal grandfather, William Lyon Mackenzie, was once a wanted rebel. He was a Scottish immigrant, radical newspaperman, the first mayor of Toronto, and the leader of the Upper Canada Rebellion of 1837. After two unsuccessful attempts to overthrow the colonial government in Upper Canada, Mackenzie evaded capture and fled to the United States. Two of his lieutenants did not have such luck. They were captured and hanged. Mackenzie is a controversial figure in Canadian history. Find out what prompted Mackenzie King's pride in his grandfather.

April 10, 1939, page 2.

"As I write, I recall the circumstance of my grandfather having been imprisoned and exiled in the U.S. and my mother being born while he was there in exile, a political prisoner. He was pardoned and permitted to return to Canada. I am now being invited by the great grandson of Queen Victoria in whose name a bounty of £1, 000 was placed on my grandfather's head to accompany him as his Minister when he was to visit the U.S. There is something of poetic justice in this."

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Un vrai compagnon et ami :
Le journal de William Lyon Mackenzie King

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Ressources pédagogiques

Faits

Le très honorable W.L. Mackenzie King assit devant la peinture de sa mère, Isabel King, peinte par J.W.L. Forster, dans la bibliothèque de la maison Laurier

Source

Le très honorable W.L. Mackenzie King assit devant la peinture de sa mère, Isabel King, peinte par J.W.L. Forster, dans la bibliothèque de la maison Laurier

Mackenzie King et le spiritisme... un mystère!

Croyez-le ou non ... Mackenzie King était un spirite. Il tenait des séances de spiritisme et il croyait avoir communiqué avec les morts à plusieurs reprises durant sa vie. Mackenzie King et quelques-uns de ses amis ont effectivement tenté, avec l'aide d'un médium, d'entrer en communication avec l'esprit de sa mère, de son grand-père (William Lyon Mackenzie, chef de la Rébellion de 1837), de son prédécesseur (sir Wilfrid Laurier), et de bien d'autres. Mackenzie King croyait que ces esprits pouvaient le conforter dans ses décisions. Cette facette de la personnalité de Mackenzie King était peu connue de son vivant. Il a décrit ses activités reliées au spiritisme dans son journal et c'est ainsi que nous en avons fait la découverte!

30 octobre 1925, p. 191 et p. 194.

« [...] avant d'aller au bureau, ai reçu de Mme Bleaney, dans le courrier de ce matin, une lettre (postée le 28 à Kingston) très remarquable — l'interprétation du rêve que je lui ai communiqué. C'est tout simplement ahurissant à quel point il évoquait les élections actuelles, une apparente défaite, l'amélioration de la situation du parti sous peu, le fait que la voie serait libre après ces temps troublés, le temps que les gens mettraient à comprendre, le grand pouvoir spirituel qui viendrait plus tard, la proximité de ma chère mère, c'était comme une grande révélation [...] Ma nature et ma raison se révoltent contre le « spiritisme » et tout ce qui est du même acabit — mais non contre les choses de l'esprit, — la croyance dans la direction spirituelle, — par l'intuition. » [Traduction]

Mackenzie King et ses chiens : Pat I, Pat II et Pat III ... trois de la même race !

Le très honorable W.L. Mackenzie King avec son chien Pat I au chalet Moorside

Source

Le très honorable W.L. Mackenzie King avec son chien Pat I au chalet Moorside

Croyez-le ou non ... Mackenzie King avait une relation très spéciale avec ses chiens. Il a possédé trois terriers irlandais au cours de sa vie, et les trois ont porté le nom de Pat. Il va sans dire que ces petites bêtes ont joué un rôle très important dans l'existence de Mackenzie King et qu'il leur était très attaché. En 1931, Mackenzie King écrivait à propos de Pat I : « …cher petit, il est presque humain. Il m'arrive parfois de penser qu'il m'a été envoyé par ma chère maman pour me consoler, il est tout rempli de sa patience, de sa tendresse et de son amour. » Voyez ce que le premier ministre avait en tête en 1941. Le Canada était engagé dans une guerre et Mackenzie King avait d'importantes décisions à prendre avec son Comité de guerre du Cabinet.

14 juillet 1941, p. 577.

« À 8 h 45 (les deux aiguilles ensemble), je suis descendu avec Pat après l'avoir entendu émettre un petit gémissement. Il semblait vouloir uriner, mais il a bu pendant assez longtemps avec avidité — ensuite, je l'ai fait rentrer, ai marché en direction de la pierre de Bethel. L'autre Pat est sorti à toute vitesse, a tourné autour de moi en courant, puis s'est élancé le long du sentier. » [Traduction]

Mackenzie King et les nombres... une affaire de calcul.

Le juge en chef Thibaudeau Rinfret présentant un certificat de citoyenneté au très honorable W.L. Mackenzie King, premier ministre du Canada, durant la première cérémonie de citoyenneté à avoir lieu après la promulgation de la Loi sur la citoyenneté canadienne

Source

Le juge en chef Thibaudeau Rinfret présentant un certificat de citoyenneté au très honorable W.L. Mackenzie King, premier ministre du Canada, durant la première cérémonie de citoyenneté à avoir lieu après la promulgation de la Loi sur la citoyenneté canadienne

Croyez-le ou non ... Mackenzie King s'intéressait particulièrement aux nombres. Dans son journal, il a souvent fait référence à la fascination qu'il éprouvait pour les nombres. On pourrait penser qu'il s'intéressait à la numérologie, l'étude du sens caché, magique, des nombres.

Parlant de nombres ... Notez que dans la même page du journal, Mackenzie King parle du nombre « 1 ». Parce qu'il était premier ministre lorsque la nouvelle loi sur la citoyenneté a été promulguée, il est devenu le « premier citoyen » du Canada. C'est donc le numéro 1 qui apparaissait sur son certificat de citoyenneté canadienne. Génial!

janvier 1947, p. 1.

« [...] je me disais hier que, si l'on inverse les chiffres du nombre 47, on obtient 74, qui est l'année de ma naissance. Chose assez curieuse, quelqu'un me l'a fait remarquer. J'ai eu une autre pensée plutôt étrange au sujet des nombres; en songeant à la Rébellion de 1837-1838, j'ai pensé à mon âge — 73 ans — qui est 37 inversé. Si l'on devait vivre très vieux, 83 serait 38 inversé. Ce que nous réserve l'avenir, qu'il soit de courte ou de longue durée, personne ne le sait [...] Mon nom et ceux de mes prédécesseurs conserveront une place dans l'histoire du Canada. » [Traduction]

Mackenzie King et son grand-père... une fierté d'un rebelle?

William Lyon Mackenzie, 1831

Source

William Lyon Mackenzie, 1831

Croyez-le ou non ...le grand-père maternel de Mackenzie King, William Lyon Mackenzie, fut à une certaine période de sa vie un rebelle recherché. Ce grand-père, immigrant écossais, journaliste aux idées radicales et premier maire de Toronto, a été le chef de la Rébellion du Haut-Canada en 1837. Après deux tentatives infructueuses pour renverser le gouvernement colonial du Haut-Canada, Mackenzie échappa à ses poursuivants et se réfugia aux États-Unis. Deux de ses lieutenants n'eurent pas cette chance. Ils furent capturés et pendus. Mackenzie demeure un personnage controversé dans l'histoire canadienne. Découvrez ce que Mackenzie King admirait chez son grand-père.

10 avril 1939, p. 2.

« Tandis que j'écris, je songe au fait que mon grand-père a été emprisonné et exilé aux É-U. et que ma mère est née pendant qu'il était un prisonnier politique en exil. Il a été gracié et autorisé à rentrer au Canada. Maintenant, je suis invité par l'arrière-petit-fils de la reine Victoria, au nom de qui la tête de mon grand-père avait été mise à prix pour 1 000 £, à l'accompagner à titre de ministre lorsqu'il visitera les É-U. Il y a en cela une certaine justice immanente. » [Traduction]