Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - ARTISTS' BOOKS
BOUND IN ART

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Gallery of Artists

Roland Giguère and Éditions Erta

I enrolled in a graphic arts school in 1948. I was writing poetry, reading voraciously and exploring surrealism. Refus Global had just been issued. I remember there was a question on the application form, 'Why graphic arts?' I answered, 'For the love of books.' Already, I had a defined yet boundless desire: I wanted to publish, to print.
[Translation]

—Roland Giguère

These few words sum up Roland Giguère's passionate commitment to publishing. This visionary emerged as one of the driving forces in the development of the artists' books in Quebec. While studying at Montréal's École des arts graphiques, Giguère contributed on Impressions, a student-run publication that served as a testing ground for ideas and experimentation in images and design. At the school, he met bookbinders Pierre Ouvrard and Jean Larivière, who would become valued partners in his future publishing projects.

A red case with grey binding has black print in the top right corner, and a black and white illustration on a white circle in the centre of the cover. On top and to the right of the case is a white page with a black and white illustration. On top and to the left of both of these is a black page with white borders and a handwritten title and signature in white.

Faire naître

Source

Giguère established Éditions Erta and, in 1949, published Faire naître, a collection of 22 poems illustrated by four screen prints by Albert Dumouchel. Giguère was already smashing the conventions of the illustrated book: with a print run of 100 copies, and the use of standard offset paper and commercial screen printing techniques, this publication was a breach in the "deluxe" traditions of this type of work.

An unravelled brown paper scroll is upright in a circular pattern, showing brown print and some illustrations, and two dark brown wooden rollers (one in the centre and the other in the foreground) at either end of the scroll.

Abécédaire

Source

His most innovative works appeared between 1950 and 1954, the year Giguère went to Paris. These were 3 pas, Les nuits abat-jour, Midi perdu and Images apprivoisées. Giguère described these as "private publications" as only about 20 copies were printed and given to "friends and loved ones." In his words, these works were "made of bits of string, scraps of paper, remnants, mistakes and regrets." Each booklet was a prelude to approaches that Giguère would return to in later works. The text of 3 pas was accompanied by Conrad Tremblay's linocuts; Dumouchel printed Les nuits abat-jour from printing scraps; Midi perdu anticipated the arrival in 1975 of the volumen Abécédaire, which featured handwritten text and drawings by Gérard Tremblay printed on architectural blueprint paper. Images apprivoisées marked a turning point: the text was "inspired" by a collection of photoengravings found in a box, with no information about their origin or significance. Giguère immersed himself in all aspects of this book-concept and became the forerunner of a new approach to the artist's book.

White bordered page with a blue interior, covered by light blue, pink, and partly white text and two dark yellow illustrations.

Paroles visibles

Source

A multidisciplinary artist, Giguère identified with the Surrealist movement. During his time in Paris, he met Belgian poet and engineer Théodore Koenig, a friend of painter Pierre Alechinsky. Giguère also collaborated on the review Cobra—which would later become the Revue internationale de l'art experimental—and participated in the Phases movement that evolved out of the Cobra group in Paris. Toward 1957, Giguère returned to France, where he attended the École Estienne and worked in various Paris studios, including that of engraver Johnny Friedlaender. Enriched with this expertise, Giguère produced works during this period that had more in common with the elegant artists' books of the French tradition. The book Adorable femme des neiges1 reflects this influence, and in his final work, Paroles visibles, a kind of artist's book produced in 1983, Giguère returned to the idea of uniting text and images that he had begun in 1950 with 3 pas. This marked the end for Éditions Erta, born one night in 1949 under the failing neon lights of the Alberta Hotel, but not for Giguère. He would go on to publish many more works through Éditions de l'Hexagone and Éditions du Noroît.

1 The poem and prints in the artist's book Adorable femme des neiges were produced in 1959 in Châteaunoir, Aix-en-Provence.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - LIVRES D'ARTISTES
UNE LECTURE RÉINVENTÉE

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Galerie des artistes

Roland Giguère et les Éditions Erta

« Je m'inscrivis à l'école des arts graphiques en 1948. J'écrivais des poèmes, je lisais comme un forcené, je découvrais le surréalisme, Refus Global venait de paraître. Je me souviens qu'à la question du formulaire d'admission pourquoi les arts graphiques?, je répondis : pour l'amour du livre. Déjà le désir était défini et infini : je voulais faire de l'édition, imprimer. »

Énoncé de Roland Giguère

Ces mots résument bien, à eux seuls, l'engagement passionné de Roland Giguère envers le domaine de l'édition. Visionnaire, il s'imposera comme l'un des principaux agents de l'évolution du livre d'artiste au Québec. À l'École des arts graphiques, à Montréal, il collabore à la revue Impressions, qui, entièrement réalisée par les étudiants, servira de laboratoire d'idées et d'expériences sur les plans tant visuel que graphique. C'est pour lui l'occasion de rencontrer les relieurs Pierre Ouvrard et Jean Larivière, qui s'avéreront être des collaborateurs hors pair lorsque, plus tard, il réalisera ses projets d'édition.

Coffret rouge au dos gris avec, sur le plat recto, de la typographie noire en haut à droite et, au centre, une illustration en noir et blanc dans un cercle blanc. Sur le coffret, à droite, page blanche avec une illustration en noir et blanc et, à gauche, sur le coffet et sur cette page, une page noire aux bordures blanches  avec le titre et une signature manuscrites en blanc.

Faire naître

Source

En 1949, ayant fondé les Éditions Erta, il publie Faire naître, un recueil de 22 poèmes accompagné de quatre sérigraphies d'Albert Dumouchel. Il brise alors déjà les conventions du livre illustré puisque l'ouvrage, tiré à 100 exemplaires sur un banal papier offset et réalisé grâce au procédé commercial de la sérigraphie, rompt avec les traditions de « luxe » de ce genre d'ouvrage.

Volumen fait d'un rouleau de papier brun desserré en cercle, debout, laissant voir de la typographie brune et certaines illustrations, avec, aux extrémités, deux batonnets en bois brun foncé, l'un étant au centre et l'autre, à l'arrière-plan.

Abécédaire

Source

Ses projets les plus novateurs paraîtront entre 1950 et 1954, soit l'année de son départ pour Paris : ce sont 3 pas, Les nuits abat-jour, Midi perdu et Images apprivoisées. Ces ouvrages, qui, selon les dires mêmes de Giguère, relèvent de l'« édition confidentielle » puisqu'ils ont été tirés à une vingtaine d'exemplaires et offerts « aux amis et aux plus aimants », sont « faits de bouts de ficelle, de chutes de papier, de retailles, d'erreurs et de repentirs ». Chacune de ces plaquettes est le prélude d'une manière de faire qu'il reprendra dans ses projets ultérieurs. Le texte de 3 pas cohabite avec l'image gravée sur linoléum par Conrad Tremblay; pour Les nuits abat-jour, Dumouchel tire l'empreinte de rebus d'imprimerie; Midi perdu annonce la venue, en 1975, du volumen Abécédaire, où figurent, sur bleu d'architecte, des textes manuscrits et des dessins de Gérard Tremblay. Le livre Images apprivoisées marque, pour sa part, un tournant historique : les textes y sont « provoqués » par les images de clichés en photogravure qui ont été trouvés dans une boîte et dont il ignorait tout autant la provenance que la signification. Giguère assume donc la totalité de ce livre-concept, devenant ainsi un précurseur de la nouvelle approche du livre d'artiste.

Page bleue à bordures blanches avec du texte en bleu pâle, en rose et en nuances de blanc et deux illustrations en jaune foncé.

Paroles visibles

Source

Artiste multidisciplinaire, Giguère s'identifie au mouvement surréaliste. Durant son séjour à Paris, il rencontre le poète et ingénieur belge Théodore Kœnig, ami du peintre Pierre Alechinsky, et collabore à la revue Cobra — qui deviendra la Revue internationale de l'art expérimental— et au mouvement Phases, issu des membres du groupe Cobra établis à Paris. Vers 1957, il repart pour la France, où il fréquentera l'école Estienne et travaillera dans de nombreux ateliers parisiens, dont celui du graveur Johnny Friedlaender. Imprégnées de ce savoir-faire, les éditions de cette époque sont plus conformes au livre d'artiste de luxe de conception française. Le livre Adorable femme des neiges1 témoigne de cette influence et, avec l'ultime Paroles visibles, sorte de livre-affiche réalisé en 1983, Giguère renoue avec cette idée de faire cohabiter l'image et le texte, qu'il avait amorcée en 1950 avec 3 pas. C'est ainsi que l'aventure des Éditions Erta, née un soir de 1949 sous le néon à moitié grillé de l'hôtel Alberta, prend fin. Mais il n'en est guère de même pour l'œuvre de Giguère, dont les Éditions de l'Hexagone et les Éditions du Noroît publieront nombre de réalisations.

1 Le poème manuscrit et les sérigraphies du livre d'artiste Adorable femme des neiges ont été réalisés en 1959 à Châteaunoir, Aix-en-Provence.