Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - ARTISTS' BOOKS
BOUND IN ART

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Gallery of Artists

Lucie Lambert

My books are born of many encounters between images and text, engraving and poetry, typography and paper, the hand press and the computer, bindings and jewellery, and traditional arts and modern communication techniques. The book as object constantly blends the near and the far, and gives me the opportunity to learn techniques, to travel and to meet a wide variety of extraordinary people: poets, typographers, printers, binders, dealers, private collectors, the heads of public collections, librarians, archivists, researchers and others.

I have been involved in limited edition publishing for 30 years. Once I reach the end of whatever path I may be on, I find myself at the studio of master binder Pierre Ouvrard. He is an outstanding craftsman who understands that the binding is a container, an envelope, a skin, an intermediary between the content and the reader. The cover and case conceal the text and images, but they also introduce and reveal their spirit.

To me, there is no process more creative than the many activities involved in producing an artists' books. It is my reason for being and the means by which I interact with the world.
[Translation]

—Lucie Lambert

An accordion book is upright, unfolded and arranged in a semicircular fashion. The left-most page is white and has a picture of a green crocodile with its mouth open set on a green background. The next page is also white and has a pink dragon set on a black background. On the right are two white pages with black print.

A Thousand Hooded Eyes

Source

The books produced by Éditions Lucie Lambert are part of the great tradition of craftsmanship that is characteristic of artists' books. Beautiful and harmonious in all respects, the work is meticulously arranged by an artist who has mastered every aspect of the craft. And whereas the visual elements are usually wed to an existing text, artist Lucie Lambert works with some of the great names of Canadian literature to develop her final pieces.

Lambert has grown in her art throughout her career, beginning with a bachelor of arts degree at the Université Laval in Sainte-Foy, in 1968. She furthered her artistic training, and her knowledge of printmaking in particular, in 1975, at the Université du Québec à Montréal, where she also discovered the tradition of the artist's book. Lambert went on to study in Europe, where she specialized in printmaking. While living in Paris from 1980 to 1983, Lambert was introduced to Chinese and Arabic calligraphy, which proved to be a turning point in her art. Upon returning to Canada in 1983, she settled in Vancouver and studied sculpture and jewellery making with Haida artist Bill Reid.

Each book reflects the new techniques and skills Lambert acquired as her career, an adventure in bookmaking, progressed. Her experiences in the studios of Paris are reflected in the classicism of Le prince et la ténèbre. This story by François Ricard provides the impetus for employing intaglio to explore the values of black that are characteristic of this technique. Arabic calligraphy breathes movement into La naissance des nuages and affirms the importance of nature as a principal theme in Lambert's work.

The artists' books Conversation with a Toad and Terre d'or demonstrate how Aboriginal and Asian cultures combined to influence Lambert after she moved to Vancouver. The illustrations, inspired by Chinese calligraphy, are given an airiness through the use of the Japanese method of woodblock printing. The bindings recall traditional Asian calligraphic works on silk.

With their engraved initial capitals and the use of the same printing method for both the text and the woodcut illustrations, the works Air, Les roses and Au cœur du bois / In the Heart of the Wood mark a return to the Western approach to the book in the style of blockbooks. For artist-publisher Lucie Lambert, the concept of the book is based on the fusion of written, visual and structural artistry.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - LIVRES D'ARTISTES
UNE LECTURE RÉINVENTÉE

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Galerie des artistes

Lucie Lambert

« Mes livres sont issus de multiples rencontres entre l'image et le texte, la gravure et la poésie, la typographie et le papier, la presse à bras et l'ordinateur, la reliure et le bijou, les métiers anciens et les moyens de communication modernes. L'objet-livre ne cesse de marier le proche et le lointain et de me fournir l'occasion d'apprentissages techniques, de séjours à l'étranger et de riches rencontres avec des personnes très diverses : poètes, typographes, imprimeurs, relieurs, courtiers, collectionneurs privés, chefs de collections publiques, bibliothécaires, archivistes, chercheurs, etc.

Je pratique l'édition à tirage limité depuis 30 ans. Chaque fois le chemin parcouru trouve finalement son aboutissement lorsque je viens frapper à la porte de l'atelier de Pierre Ouvrard, maître-relieur. Cet artisan sans pareil sait que la reliure est un contenant, une enveloppe, une peau, un moyen terme entre le contenu et le lecteur. Le coffret et l'emboîtage cachent le texte et les images, mais ils en annoncent et en révèlent aussi l'esprit.

Rien n'est pour moi plus fécond que l'activité multiple qu'exige la production de livres d'artiste. C'est là que j'accomplis ma raison et ma manière d'être au monde ».

Énoncé de Lucie Lambert

Livre accordéon, debout, déplié et disposé en demi-cercle. Sur le volet, blanc, à l'extrême gauche, illustration figurant un crocodile vert, bouche ouverte, sur un fond vert. Sur le volet suivant à droite, également blanc, illustration figurant un dragon rose sur un fond noir. À l'extrême droite, deux volets blancs avec de la typographie noire.

A Thousand Hooded Eyes

Source

Les livres des Éditions Lucie Lambert participent de la grande tradition artisanale du livre d'artiste. Tout y est impeccablement soigné et agencé dans l'harmonie réfléchie d'un métier maîtrisé dans ses moindres détails. Alors qu'il est d'usage de faire cohabiter le visuel avec un texte déjà existant, l'artiste Lucie Lambert s'associe aux grands noms de la littérature canadienne pour élaborer avec eux l'œuvre finale.

Ce métier, Lambert l'a assimilé tout au long de son parcours. Après avoir obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts à l'Université Laval, à Sainte-Foy, en 1968, elle ira, en 1975, compléter sa formation en arts, et tout spécialement dans les arts d'impression, à l'Université du Québec à Montréal. C'est d'ailleurs là qu'elle découvre la tradition du livre d'artiste. Par la suite, elle séjourne en Europe, où elle suit plusieurs stages de perfectionnement en gravure. De 1980 à 1983, établie à Paris, elle s'initie à la pratique des calligraphies chinoise et arabe. Cette découverte marque un point tournant dans son art. De retour au Canada en 1983, elle s'installe à Vancouver, où elle étudie la sculpture et l'art du bijou avec l'artiste haïda Bill Reid.

Au gré de cette aventure éditoriale, chaque livre illustre une évolution fondée sur les nouveaux acquis techniques de l'artiste. Sa fréquentation des ateliers parisiens explique le classicisme de l'ouvrage Le prince et la ténèbre. Le conte de François Ricard sert ici de prétexte à l'exploration, en taille-douce, des valeurs de noir si caractéristiques de ce médium. L'apprentissage de la calligraphie arabe donne un souffle à la gestualité de La naissance des nuages et consolide, par le choix du sujet, l'importance de la représentation de la nature comme thématique principale dans son œuvre.

Les livres d'artistes Conversation with a Toad et Terre d'or offrent une belle synthèse de l'influence des cultures autochtones et orientales chez cette nouvelle résidente de Vancouver. La calligraphie chinoise à l'origine des illustrations retrouve sa légèreté dans l'impression par la méthode japonaise des gravures sur bois. Les reliures rappellent les montages traditionnels sur soie des calligraphies orientales.

Avec l'inclusion de lettrines gravées et le partage du même mode d'impression pour la typographie et les gravures sur bois qui les illustrent, les éditions d'Air, Les roses et d'Au cœur du bois / In the Heart of the Wood renouent avec l'approche occidentale du livre, à la manière des incunables xylographiques. L'idée du livre, pour l'artiste-éditrice Lambert, repose sur la conjonction de tous les talents : ceux de l'écriture, du regard et du faire.