Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - ARTISTS' BOOKS
BOUND IN ART

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Gallery of Artists

Louis-Pierre Bougie

The only freedom that art offers is the freedom to never stop creating it.
[Translation]

—Louis-Pierre Bougie

Artists' books produced in Quebec are often referred to as "engravers' books," and the works of Louis-Pierre Bougie are an eloquent illustration of this practice. His highly focused career in painting, drawing and printmaking began in 1967, when Bougie was a student at the École des beaux-arts in Montréal. It was there that he discovered the tools of his craft, which he would refine throughout his career.

In the 1970s, engraving was experiencing an upsurge in Quebec, taught by artists who had worked in the major European studios. By forming collective studios—a structure specific to Quebec—they were able to acquire the costly equipment needed for printing.

This was where Bougie learned his craft before travelling to Paris for the first time in 1979, a trip that would influence his career a great deal. He studied at the renowned Lacourière and Frélaut studio, which specialized in intaglio, and at the Champfleury studio, with its focus on lithography. Back in Montréal, Bougie established the Atelier Circulaire in 1983 with other artist-engravers, but continued to make regular visits to Paris studios. His exposure to European studios, where some of the most outstanding artists' books had been produced, sparked his interest in publishing.

Illustration [1], the prince

Le prince sans rire

Source

Who better to publish his own creations than an artist so closely associated with such established craftspeople? Le prince sans rire, published in 1983 by Éditions Lui-même, was crafted in the traditional style, but heralded Bougie's editorial intentions for his later books and marked the beginning of a collaboration with such outstanding writers as Michel Butor, Michaël La Chance, Geneviève Letarte, Gaston Miron and Michel van Schendel. Poetic and philosophical, the writings developed in collaboration with Bougie were in perfect harmony with the sombre, existentialist iconography characteristic of his work.

Fanned out irregularly shaped and painted white pages. There are several scrambled coloured pictures of human body parts on every page. Title is cut through the front cover and the inner back cover is coloured blue and orange.

Fracas

Source

Fracas, a one-off book, marked a divergence along this editorial path. Composed of collages of drawings, this work stands out more for its three-dimensional presentation of the familiar world of the artist than for its reading path interpretation. Around 1987, Bougie began self-publishing his works under the company name La Griffe d'acier, including such publications as Forger l'effroi, Entre deux eaux and Les derniers outrages du ciel. These books had all the hallmarks of Bougie's work, such as the care the artist took in choosing meaningful texts that reflected the images of the tormented people in his world.

Book in the case

Le jardinier

Source

In his most recent artist's book, Le jardinier, the standard plate mark of the engraved plates is freed from its formal shape to embrace the shape of the subjects. Taking the form of flowers, samaras and treelike characters, these shapes enliven the typeset text and energize the blank page. This remarkably cohesive work received the 2006 international Saint-Denys-Garneau award for artist's book (poetry and visual arts), and Bougie was a most deserving winner of the 2005 Monique and Robert Parizeau Foundation award for artist-engravers, highlighting his contribution to the artist's book.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - LIVRES D'ARTISTES
UNE LECTURE RÉINVENTÉE

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Galerie des artistes

Louis-Pierre Bougie

« La seule liberté de l'art, c'est de ne pas arrêter d'en faire. »

Énoncé de Louis-Pierre Bougie

Le livre d'artiste québécois est fréquemment qualifié de livre de graveur. Et les livres d'artistes de Louis-Pierre Bougie en sont la parfaite illustration. Entièrement axé sur la peinture, le dessin et les arts d'impression, le parcours de cet artiste s'est déroulé sous le signe de la concentration. Dès ses débuts, en 1967, à titre d'étudiant libre de l'École des beaux-arts de Montréal, il trouvera les outils de son art et travaillera constamment par la suite à les raffiner.

Durant les années 1970, la gravure est en pleine effervescence au Québec. L'enseignement est prodigué par des artistes qui ont travaillé dans les grands ateliers européens et l'on regroupe le matériel onéreux nécessaire à l'impression en créant des ateliers collectifs, une formule propre au Québec.

C'est donc dans un tel contexte que Bougie fait son apprentissage avant de partir en 1979 pour Paris, où ce premier séjour sera fort déterminant pour la suite de sa carrière. Il y fréquentera alors le réputé atelier Lacourière et Frélaut, spécialisé dans la a taille-douce, ainsi que l'atelier Champfleury, où l'on pratique la lithographie. De retour à Montréal, il fonde en 1983, avec d'autres artistes-graveurs, l'Atelier Circulaire, mais il n'en continue pas moins d'effectuer des visites régulières dans les ateliers parisiens. Sa proximité avec les ateliers européens éveille son intérêt pour l'édition, car c'est aussi en ces lieux qu'ont été publiés certains des livres d'artistes les plus remarquables.

Illustration [1], le prince

Le prince sans rire

Source

Qui dès lors eût été le mieux placé que l'artiste en contact assidu avec ces artisans de longue date pour se faire le maître-d'œuvre de ses propres éditions ? Publié en 1983 aux « Éditions Lui-même », Le prince sans rire, un livre de facture classique, annonce les intentions éditoriales de ses livres ultérieurs et marque le début d'une collaboration avec des écrivains aussi exceptionnels que Michel Butor, Michaël La Chance, Geneviève Letarte, Gaston Miron et Michel van Schendel. Poétiques et philosophiques, les textes élaborés en complicité avec l'artiste entrent en juste concordance avec l'iconographie, sombre et existentialiste, qui prévaut dans l'œuvre de Bougie.

Pages de forme irrégulière peintes en blanc, en éventail. Sur chaque page, plusieurs images en couleurs, brouillées, figurant des parties du corps humain. Le titre est découpé dans le plat recto et le contreplat verso de couleur bleue et orange.

Fracas

Source

Le livre, à exemplaire unique, Fracas fait figure d'hiatus dans cette trame éditoriale. Composé de collages de dessins, il s'impose en effet davantage par la tridimensionnalité de l'univers familier de l'artiste que par le parcours intimiste de sa lecture. À compter de 1987 environ, ce sera sous l'appellation « La Griffe d'acier » qu'il autoéditera ses livres d'artistes : Forger l'effroi, Entre deux eaux et Les derniers outrages du ciel. La signature qualitative de ces ouvrages est toujours au rendez-vous, et on y reconnaît l'attention que l'artiste accorde au choix de textes signifiants, en affinité avec la représentation des personnages tourmentés propres à son univers.

Livre dans le coffret

Le jardinier

Source

Avec Le jardinier, son plus récent livre d'artiste, le conventionnel coup de plaque des planches gravées se libère, sur le plan formel, pour embrasser la silhouette même des sujets. Se faisant fleurs, samares, personnages arborescents, les formes éclosent, dynamisent la présence du texte typographié dans l'espace blanc, désormais animé, de la page. Cet ouvrage, d'une remarquable cohésion, a remporté le Prix international Saint-Denys-Garneau 2006 pour le livre d'artiste (poésie et arts visuels), et c'est certes à juste titre que Bougie a obtenu le Prix de la Fondation Monique et Robert Parizeau 2005 qui, destiné aux artistes-graveurs, est venu souligner sa contribution dans le domaine du livre d'artiste.