Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - ARTISTS' BOOKS
BOUND IN ART

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Gallery of Artists

Tara Bryan and Walking Bird Press

I am a voyeur in the original sense of the word: one who watches. Intrigued by things unexpected, I try to incorporate this sense of quiet observation in my paintings as well as my bookworks.

I have always loved books. As a child, I made weekly visits with my mother to the Bookmobile, a cramped but magical bus that brought library books to the neighbourhood every week. I loved the packed shelves, and getting to browse for treasures to borrow.

I make books to create objects the viewer can touch and to use parts of my brain unexercised in painting. I love the tactile experience of holding and reading a book—the intimacy inherent in exploring the object. The creative process in making books is one of multi-faceted problem-solving that combines writing, engineering, research and exploration in the endeavour to create objects in which the materials and content support and enhance one another. I like to include surprises for the intrepid viewer, hidden images and unexpected moments to reward a person who really looks.

—Tara Bryan

Tara Bryan invites readers to share in these early memories of a magical, wonderful introduction to books. Through its exceptional publications, Walking Bird Press brings to life the childhood images and pop-up books of yesteryear.

A native of Texas, Tara Bryan completed her musical training in 1975 at the University of New Mexico and began a master's degree in visual arts at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, which she finished in 1987. During that time, she began to experiment with bookbinding and typography in addition to studying painting. Her early works were published by Pterodactyl Press, a name Bryan changed to Walking Bird Press in 1987 when she moved to New York to hone her skills and work at the Center for Book Arts. In 1992, she moved to Newfoundland, bringing along a Vandercook press and six cabinets full of type. And that is where Walking Bird Press really took off.

Unfolded accordion book is standing upright. On the left, blue slipcase with a bright green ribbon. On the right, a single fanned out accordion-folded white page and green covers with black print at either end. A black and white depiction of an arctic landscape is spanning the entire page.

Bonne Bay

Source

Unfolded book in front of the box

Gros Morne Time Lines, by Anne Meredith Barry.

Source

The distinctive contours of the Newfoundland countryside are an integral part of Bryan's paintings, and as a publisher, she has evoked this landscape for some of her most beautiful artists' books, including Bonne Bay, Tablelands and Gros Morne Time Lines. Created in the purest tradition of the illustrated book, these fold-out books depict the full majesty of the landscape. In Gros Morne Time Lines, the meticulous typography is juxtaposed by images of local flora and fauna, and linocuts showing the countryside and topography.

A is for Accordion takes both a humorous and literal approach. The book's "bellows" use the 26 letters of the alphabet to express the author's desire to play the accordion, a traditional Newfoundland instrument. The new millennium is the pretext for World Without End, a tunnel book that takes a thoughtful look back over some of the major events in history.

Unfolded tunnel-book is standing upright in a progression of colours from yellow, to orange, red, and black. Each page has a large slightly tilted square hole in the middle of it, with black print on the top and bottom sides, and is attached to the following one on both sides with a folded piece of paper. Brown paper front cover shows black print on the top and bottom of the tilted square cutout. Hanging on at the left and right sides is a thick brown string-like handle, with yellow string trim at either end and a tan nametag attached in the middle showing black print.

Down the Rabbit Hole

Source

Another tunnel book, Down the Rabbit Hole, leads readers down the same path that Alice took at the beginning of the Lewis Carroll book. In the opening lines of Alice in Wonderland, Alice wonders about this strange book "without pictures or conversation" that her sister is reading. Perhaps readers will find the answer as they explore a book by Walking Bird Press and go through the looking glass.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - LIVRES D'ARTISTES
UNE LECTURE RÉINVENTÉE

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Galerie des artistes

Tara Bryan et Walking Bird Press

« Je suis une voyeuse dans le sens originel du terme : je regarde. Intriguée par l'inattendu, j'essaie, dans mes peintures et dans mes livres, d'intégrer ce sentiment inhérent à une observation silencieuse.

J'ai toujours aimé les livres. Enfant, j'accompagnais ma mère au bibliobus. Un bus rempli à craquer, mais oh combien magique, qui, chaque semaine dans le quartier, nous approvisionnait en livres de bibliothèque. J'adorais ses rayons encombrés, que je parcourais à la recherche de ces trésors que je pourrais emprunter.

Je produis des livres pour créer des objets que les gens pourront toucher, et aussi pour me servir de cette partie de mon cerveau que je ne rejoins pas par la peinture. J'adore l'expérience tactile que me procure, à sa lecture, le livre que je tiens — cette intimité inhérente à l'exploration de l'objet. La démarche créatrice menant à la fabrication de livres s'assimile à un exercice de résolution de problèmes à facettes multiples, où l'écriture, l'ingénierie, la recherche et l'exploration se conjuguent en vue de créer des objets dont le matériau et le contenu s'appuient mutuellement et se renforcent l'un l'autre. Dans mes œuvres, j'aime incorporer des surprises, destinées aux spectateurs plus audacieux, des images cachées et des imprévus pour récompenser les personnes qui regardent vraiment. [Traduction libre] »

Énoncé de Tara Bryan

Il existe une communauté d'esprit entre le lecteur et Tara Bryan : réminiscence de l'enfance, ce contact magique, émerveillé, devant nos premiers livres. L'imagerie enfantine et les livres à découper d'hier renaissent dans les remarquables éditions que publie Walking Bird Press.

Native du Texas, Tara Bryan termine en 1975 une formation en musique à l'Université du Nouveau-Mexique pour entreprendre par la suite une maîtrise en arts visuels à l'Université du Wisconsin-Madison, qu'elle obtiendra en 1987. C'est aussi à cette occasion que, concurremment à l'apprentissage de la peinture, elle se familiarise avec la reliure et la typographie. Ses premiers livres paraissent chez Pterodactyl Press mais en 1987, elle en change le nom pour celui de Walking Bird Press alors qu'elle emménage à New York pour parfaire ses connaissances et travailler au Center for Book Arts. En 1992, elle s'installe à Terre-Neuve avec une presse Vandercook et six cabinets remplis de caractères typographiques. Et c'est là que Walking Bird Press prend véritablement son envol.

Livre accordéon déplié, debout. À gauche, coffret bleu garni d'un ruban vert vif. À droite, une seule et même page blanche, pliée en accordéon, ouverte en éventail, avec, aux deux extrémités, des plats de couverture verts portant de la typographie noire. Sur la page entièrement déployée, représentation d'un paysage arctique en noir et blanc.

Bonne Bay

Source

Livre accordéon déplié devant le coffret

Gros Morne Time Lines, par Anne Meredith Barry.

Source

Le paysage terre-neuvien, avec sa morphologie particulière, imprègne alors la peinture de Tara Bryan et lui inspire, en tant qu'éditrice, certains de ses plus beaux titres de livres d'artistes, dont Bonne Bay, Tablelands et Gros Morne Time Lines. Ces ouvrages, réalisés dans la plus pure tradition du livre illustré, se déploient en panoramique, afin de bien rendre toute la majesté du paysage. Avec Gros Morne Time Lines, la typographie soignée se juxtapose aux vignettes illustrant la flore et la faune de la région, et accompagne les linogravures de ses paysages et topographies.

Ludique dans sa facture, A is for Accordeon est pris au sens littéral. Les soufflets du livre tirent parti des vingt-six lettres de l'alphabet pour énoncer le désir de l'auteur de jouer de l'accordéon, un instrument de musique traditionnel local. Le changement de millénaire est le prétexte de World Without End, un livre-tunnel qui offre une forme de synthèse réflexive des grands événements de l'histoire.

Livre-tunnel ouvert, debout, aux couleurs évoluant, du jaune, vers l'orange, le rouge et le noir. Les pages, attachées des deux côtés à la suivante par une pièce de papier pliée, comportent de grands trous carrés légèrement inclinés avec de la typographie noire en haut et en bas qui, superposés, forment un tunnel circulaire. Vue du tunnel depuis le premier carré découpé dans le plat recto. Plat recto en papier d'emballage avec de la typographie noire en haut et en bas du carré découpé, légèrement incliné. Poignée brune épaisse, semblable à de la corde, qui, pendant des côtés gauche et droit, est garnie de corde jaune aux deux extrémités et porte, attachée au milieu, une étiquette volante brun clair avec de la typographie noire.

Down the Rabbit Hole

Source

Autre livre-tunnel, Down the Rabbit Hole entraîne le lecteur dans la chute initiatrice du récit de Lewis Caroll Alice au pays des merveilles. Dès les premières lignes du chapitre premier, Alice s'interroge sur ce drôle d'ouvrage « sans images ni dialogue » que lit sa sœur. Ici, se pourrait-il que le lecteur trouve réponse à cette question dès l'instant où il ouvre et manipule un livre de Walking Bird Press, et franchit le miroir?