Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - ARTISTS' BOOKS
BOUND IN ART

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Gallery of Artists

Julie Doucet

I am my life's work. I am the main character.

Here I am, alone in the foreground, day and night, all the time.

I offer myself up for your perusal, my white body, my black words: I exist thanks to you.

My life is a novel. I am just words and images put together; I exist only on paper, from my head to my feet, every day, to the very end.

I am a best-seller. My life is lived out on paper, to be folded, glued, cut, scribbled on, crumpled, shredded and addressed to everyone who loves beautiful printed things.

I am a writing project. First, there was the comic strip: I was many images, but few words. Then the words became images. The words are little masterpieces of abstract art that I use to fill books, and that you can use to share a wonderful intimacy with me. My retail price is very affordable.
[Translation]

—Julie Doucet

Julie Doucet's work is well known. Very well known. The speech balloons in her comic strips and fanzines call out to readers in many languages, while the humorous diary by her alter ego brings smiles to the faces of people far beyond our borders.

In contrast, Doucet's artists' books are less familiar. They represent the artist's hidden side, the poetic side that needs deciphering, reconstructed into new words with a snip of the scissors and given new meaning with an illustration.

Doucet's published works include her autobiography J comme je. Using words and letters clipped from magazines like an anonymous letter, the book recounts important events in her childhood. "I was born on the last day of 1965—An easy-going child—I read anything and everything" [Translation]. After studying plastic arts at the Vieux Montréal CEGEP, she continued her training at the Université du Québec à Montréal, earning a diploma in printing arts. She became interested in comic strips and focused solely on this art form. Republished as comic books, her fanzines were very well received and won the prestigious Harvey Award. Doucet left Quebec and lived in New York, Seattle and Berlin. Back in Montréal, she set aside comic strips and returned to printmaking, using techniques such as woodcutting, linocutting and silkscreen printing to produce a wide range of artists' books.

Julie Doucet also writes "anything and everything." Melek is the fictional account of a Turkish immigrant, inspired by the artist's discovery of a photo album in a garbage can in Tiergarten, Berlin. In this book, Doucet has altered each photo and reinterpreted it with a new print. Presented in the form of a diary with a lock and key, Chevalladar is a personal journal written in delicate handwriting. The language of the text becomes increasingly obscure and calls to mind the "exploréen" language invented by poet Claude Gauvreau. Autrinisme de règlohnette is an essential decoding tool and provides the key to the language, as it is no less than a "Doucet dictionary" and bears the motto "Tout plassoirer," meaning "to know, to be informed."

The book La création de l'univers is every bit as ambitious as the title indicates. A collection and collage of silkscreened oversheets, this series of coloured variations presents a surrealistic vision of the origin of the world. The five accordion-fold leaflets of Poèmes d'amour are a textual montage that cuts all the romantic ideas of love into pieces.

It is no exaggeration to say that Julie Doucet has created her own "universe" through her work, and one should devote as much attention to exploring it as she devotes to creating it.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - LIVRES D'ARTISTES
UNE LECTURE RÉINVENTÉE

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Galerie des artistes

Julie Doucet

« Je suis l'œuvre de ma vie. J'en suis le sujet principal.

Me voici en premier plan, toute seule, le jour et la nuit tout le temps.

Je m'offre à vos regards, mon corps blanc mon texte noir : grâce à vous j'existe.

Ma vie est un roman. Je ne suis qu'un assemblage de mots et d'images; je n'existe que sur papier, des pieds à la tête à tous les jours jusqu'à la fin.

Je suis un best-seller. Ma vie est en papier à plier à coller à découper à barbouiller à froisser à déchirer et à adresser à tous les amateurs de belles choses imprimées.

Je suis un projet d'écriture. Au début il y avait la bande dessinée : j'étais beaucoup d'images avec peu de mots. Puis, les mots sont devenus des images. Les mots sont de petits chefs-d'œuvre d'art abstrait avec lesquels je remplis les livres, avec lesquels vous pouvez partager avec moi une intimité sublime avec ma personne. Mon prix de détail est très abordable. »

Énoncé de Julie Doucet

L'œuvre de Julie Doucet est connue. Très connue. Les phylactères de ses bandes dessinées et fanzines interpellent les lecteurs en plusieurs langues, tandis que les chroniques d'humeur de son alter ego les font sourire, et ce, bien au-delà de nos frontières.

Les livres d'artistes de Julie Doucet sont, en revanche, moins connus. Ils représentent la part secrète de l'artiste, la part poétique à décrypter, qu'un coup de ciseau recompose en de nouveaux mots, dont le sens usuel est déjoué par une illustration.

Parmi ses ouvrages publiés, J comme je trace l'autobiographie de l'artiste. À la manière d'une lettre anonyme, les découpures de textes typographiques relatent les moments importants de son enfance. « Je suis née le dernier jour de 1965 — Une enfant facile — Je lis énormément, entièrement tout. » Après des études en arts plastiques au cégep du Vieux Montréal, elle poursuit sa formation à l'Université du Québec à Montréal, où elle complètera un certificat en arts d'impression. Elle s'intéresse alors à la bande dessinée, à laquelle elle se consacrera exclusivement par la suite. Fort bien reçus, ses fanzines réédités en « comic books » lui valent le prestigieux Harvey Award. Et elle quitte alors le Québec pour s'établir successivement à New York, à Seattle, puis à Berlin. De retour à Montréal, ayant laissé tomber la bande dessinée pour renouer avec la gravure, elle mise sur les techniques de la gravure sur bois, de la linogravure et de la sérigraphie pour réaliser une abondante production de livres d'artiste.

Julie Doucet écrit « énormément, entièrement tout ». Melek est l'histoire fictive d'un immigrant turc, née de la rencontre fortuite de l'artiste avec un album de photos, trouvé dans une poubelle au Tiergarten, à Berlin. Dans le récit, chaque photo, réinterprétée par l'artiste à la faveur d'une nouvelle gravure, trouve son vis-à-vis. Par ailleurs, présenté sous la forme de ces agendas qui peuvent être mis sous clef, Chevalladar est un journal personnel rédigé d'une fine écriture, dont la langue du texte se métamorphose pour devenir un langage de plus en plus hermétique, qui n'est pas sans rappeler l'« exploréen » du poète Claude Gauvreau. Essentiel au décodage, Autrinisme de règlohnette fournit la clef du discours de l'artiste, puisqu'il s'agit, ni plus ni moins, du « dictionnaire Doucet », dont la devise est « Tout plassoirer », i. e. « Tout connaître ».

Le livre La création de l'univers est aussi ambitieux que ce qu'en annonce le titre. Assemblage et collage de défets reproduits en sérigraphie, cette suite de variations colorées offre une vision surréaliste des origines du monde. Enfin, les cinq feuillets en accordéon de Poèmes d'amour sont des montages textuels qui taillent en pièces toutes les idées romantiques de l'amour.

Il n'est pas exagéré de qualifier l'œuvre de Julie Doucet d'« univers Doucet », qui mérite d'être scrutée avec une attention comparable à la concentration mise par sa créatrice pour le construire.