Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > Exploration and Settlement > Written in Stone Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Written in Stone: William E. Logan and the Geological Survey of Canada
Introduction
Interpreting the Collections
The Digital Collections
Partner Institutions

The Logan Collections

About This Site

Credits

Introduction

The Logan Collections

William E. Logan, Canada's first great scientist, was the founder and first director of the Geological Survey of Canada (GSC). During his career he travelled across Wales and North America, recording his scientific observations, mapping the geological resources, publishing his conclusions, and wearing out his boots. Now, a century and a half later, Written in Stone allows researchers the opportunity to retrace his steps and mine his documentary legacy without having to leave the comfort of their desks.

While the number of websites in Canada offering researchers access to digital collections on social and political history is growing exponentially every year, the number of sites dedicated to disseminating significant scientific collections are increasing at a slower pace. Acknowledging this imbalance, a number of institutions have come together to create Written in Stone. Brought to you by Library and Archives Canada, McGill University Archives, the National Library of Wales, Natural Resources Canada and the Toronto Public Library, this collaborative site offers researchers access to a large, significant sampling of the scattered William E. Logan collections. These include his notebooks, in which he recorded his in-the-field observations; his daily journals written in camp at the end of the day; and a wide selection of the official maps and publications he produced back in the office.

Top of page

About This Site

How to Use Written in Stone

Researchers accessing the Logan records on this site have three options. Those wishing to learn more about Logan and his collections should choose Interpreting the Collections, which features an essay by historian and William Logan expert Brian Shipley. Those desiring direct access to the collections, organized by media, can go straight to The Digital Collections. Researchers who want to visit the various institutions that have contributed to this project, or who wish to access those institutions' sections of the online collection -- as well as additional GSC resources in their holdings -- should select Partner Institutions.

To learn more about the Geological Survey of Canada, this site's collaborators also invite you to visit Life of a Rock Star. This educational site is designed for students in grades seven and eight, but will be of interest to any non-expert who wants to learn more about the GSC and its work in the nineteenth century.

Top of page

Acknowledgments

The Written in Stone website was produced collaboratively by Library and Archives Canada, McGill University Archives, the National Library of Wales, Natural Resources Canada and the Toronto Public Library, and was made possible thanks to the expertise, commitment and enthusiasm of numerous contributors.

Special thanks goes to historian Brian Shipley, author of "Interpreting the Collections," who provided expert guidance throughout the research and development phases of the site. Barb Cloutier, subject specialist from the Earth Sciences Information Centre at Natural Resources Canada, also acted as an expert consultant and key team member from start to finish.

We gratefully acknowledge the contribution of the Department of Canadian Heritage, whose financial assistance through Canadian Culture Online (CCO) made this work possible.

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Exploration et colonisation > Pierre à pierre English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière: William E. Logan et la Commission géologique du Canada. Pierre à pierre
Introduction
Interprétation des collections
Collections numériques
Institutions partenaires

Les collections William Logan

À propos du site

Remerciements

Introduction

Les collections William Logan

William E. Logan, le premier scientifique éminent du Canada, a été le fondateur et premier directeur de la Commission géologique du Canada (CGC). Durant sa carrière, il a traversé le pays de Galles et l'Amérique du Nord. Il enregistrait ses observations scientifiques, dessinait des cartes des ressources géologiques, publiait ses conclusions et usait ses bottes jusqu'à la semelle. Tout cela s'est passé il y a un siècle et demi; aujourd'hui, le site Web William E. Logan et la Commission géologique du Canada. Pierre à pierre donne aux chercheurs la chance de retracer les pas de Logan et de fouiller dans son héritage documentaire, et ce, en restant assis confortablement devant leur ordinateur.

Chaque année, au Canada, on voit augmenter exponentiellement le nombre de sites Web qui offrent aux chercheurs l'accès à des collections numérisées sur notre histoire politique et sociale. Toutefois, le nombre de sites voués à la diffusion d'importantes collections scientifiques augmente moins rapidement. Pour remédier à cet écart, quelques institutions ont uni leurs efforts pour produire William E. Logan et la Commission géologique du Canada. Pierre à pierre. Le site est le fruit d'une collaboration entre Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, le Service des archives de l'Université McGill, la National Library of Wales, Ressources naturelles Canada et la Bibliothèque publique de Toronto. Il offre aux chercheurs l'accès à un échantillon vaste et intéressant des documents de William E. Logan, dont les originaux sont éparpillés dans plusieurs endroits. On retrouve parmi les documents numérisés ses carnets de campagne, dans lesquels il inscrivait ses observations au cours d'expéditions sur le terrain; ses journaux personnels, dans lesquels il écrivait chaque soir, au campement; et aussi une vaste sélection de cartes et de publications officielles que Logan produisait une fois de retour à son bureau.

Haut de la page

À propos du site William E. Logan et la Commission géologique du Canada. Pierre à pierre

Trois choix s'offrent aux chercheurs qui souhaitent consulter les documents de Logan présentés sur ce site. Si vous désirez en savoir plus long sur Logan et ses collections, choisissez L'interprétation des collections, où vous pourrez lire une dissertation de Brian Shipley, un historien et expert qui a étudié en profondeur la vie et l'œuvre de William Logan. Si vous préférez accéder directement aux collections, classées par supports, allez directement à Les collections numériques. Quant aux chercheurs intéressés aux institutions qui ont contribué à ce projet, ou aux volets de la collection produits par ces institutions, ainsi qu'à des ressources additionnelles sur la CGC conservées par ces institutions dans leurs fonds et collections, ils choisiront Les institutions partenaires.

Si vous voulez en savoir plus long sur la Commission géologique du Canada, les institutions qui ont collaboré à la production de ce site vous invitent cordialement à visiter Les vedettes du roc. Cette expositione virtuelle s'adresse aux élèves de septième et huitième années, mais son contenu se révélera intéressant pour tous les non-experts qui veulent en apprendre davantage sur la CGC et ses travaux au dix-neuvième siècle.

Haut de la page

Remerciements

Le site Web William E. Logan et la Commission géologique du Canada. Pierre à pierre a été produit conjointement par Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, Ressources naturelles Canada, le Service des archives de l'Université McGill, la National Library of Wales et la Bibliothèque publique de Toronto. De nombreux collaborateurs ont contribué, par leur expertise, leur engagement et leur enthousiasme, à la concrétisation de ce projet.

Nous tenons à remercier tout particulièrement l'historien Brian Shipley, auteur de la section « L'interprétation des collections », qui nous a fourni ses conseils d'expert tout au long des étapes de recherche et d'élaboration du site. Dans son rôle d'expert-conseil, Barb Cloutier, spécialiste du sujet du Centre d'information sur les sciences de la Terre, Ressources naturelles Canada, a été une participante clé du début à la fin.

Nous désirons aussi exprimer notre vive reconnaissance au ministère du Patrimoine canadien qui, par l'intermédiaire d'un de ses programmes de Culture canadienne en ligne, a accordé le financement nécessaire à la concrétisation de ce projet.