Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > Exploration and Settlement > Written in Stone Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Written in Stone: William E. Logan and the Geological Survey of Canada
Introduction
Interpreting the Collections
The Digital Collections
Partner Institutions

Introduction

William Logan: Author

William Logan: Biography

William Logan: Documents

Journals

Notebooks

Publications

Geological Maps

Interpreting the Collections

Introduction

Photograph of William Logan commemorating his retirement in 1869

Sir William Logan, 1869
Source

Sir William Edmond Logan (1798-1875) has been recognized consistently, from his own day to ours, as Canada's first great scientist. He founded the Geological Survey of Canada, which has been of inestimable value to the country for over 160 years. He was knighted by Queen Victoria in 1856, causing national celebrations. His fame rests on the geological maps, publications, and exhibits that his Survey produced, but the original source materials that made these accomplishments possible have never received the attention they deserve. Logan's field notebooks and personal journals are dispersed over several archives; now, for the first time, they are reunited thanks to the collaboration of Library and Archives Canada and its partner institutions -- McGill University Archives, the National Library of Wales, Natural Resources Canada and the Toronto Public Library.

Photograph of William Logan's open notebook, showing text, a drawing and calculations

William Logan's notebook
Source

The documents available through this digital portal begin with Logan's first geological observations in North America -- made between 1840 and 1841 -- and go on to cover his early years of fieldwork for the Geological Survey of Canada, two decades of official reports, the thousand-page Geology of Canada (1863) and several important early geological maps. Together, these materials show how a small group of scientists were able to explore, measure, and map the Province of Canada (which was then limited to southern Ontario and Quebec). The way Logan and his colleagues presented their geological knowledge to Canadians, and to the world, changed perceptions of this land forever.

Next

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Exploration et colonisation > Pierre à pierre English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière: William E. Logan et la Commission géologique du Canada : Pierre à pierre
Introduction
Interprétation des collections
Collections numériques
Institutions partenaires

Introduction :

William Logan : l'auteur

William Logan : sa biographie

William Logan : ses documents

Ses journaux

Ses carnets

Ses publications

Ses cartes géologiques

L'interprétation des collections

Introduction

Photo de William Logan prise lors de sa retraite en 1869

Sir William Logan, en 1869
Source

Sir William Edmond Logan (1798-1875) a toujours été reconnu comme le premier grand scientifique du Canada, depuis son époque jusqu'à nos jours. Il a fondé la Commission géologique du Canada, qui joue un rôle indispensable au Canada depuis 160 ans. Logan a été fait chevalier par la reine Victoria en 1856, événement qui a donné lieu à des célébrations d'envergure nationale. Il est renommé grâce à ses cartes géologiques, à ses publications et aux expositions produites par la Commission géologique, mais les documents sources qui sont à l'origine de ces réalisations n'ont jamais reçu l'attention qu'ils méritent. Les carnets de terrain et les journaux personnels de Logan ont été dispersés dans divers dépôts d'archives. Aujourd'hui, pour la première fois, ils sont enfin réunis grâce à la collaboration de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada et de ses partenaires : Ressources naturelles Canada, le Service des archives de l'Université McGill, la National Library of Wales, et la Bibliothèque publique de Toronto.

Photo d'un carnet de William Logan, ouvert à une page sur laquelle se trouve du texte, un dessin et des calculs

Carnet de William Logan
Source

Les documents accessibles par ce portail numérique comprennent les premières observations géologiques de l'Amérique du Nord de Logan, qui datent de 1840 et de 1841, ses premiers travaux sur le terrain avec la Commission géologique du Canada, des rapports officiels couvrant deux décennies, le document de mille pages Géologie du Canada (1863), ainsi que plusieurs des premières cartes géologiques importantes. L'ensemble de ces documents montre comment une petite équipe de scientifiques a réussi à explorer et à mesurer la Province du Canada (qui n'englobait à l'époque que le sud de l'Ontario et du Québec), et à en produire des cartes. La façon dont Logan et ses collègues ont diffusé leurs connaissances géologiques aux Canadiens a changé à jamais leur perception de ce pays.

Suivant