Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > Exploration and Settlement > Written in Stone Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Written in Stone: William E. Logan and the Geological Survey of Canada
Introduction
Interpreting the Collections
The Digital Collections
Partner Institutions

Introduction

Notebooks

Journals

Annual Reports

Publications

Maps

Logan Biography

The Digital Collections

Introduction

Although the original documents are held by various institutions across Eastern Canada and Wales, the William Logan collections are now available to researchers online. Consult any one of the dozens of documents, trace Logan's steps through a particular region, or follow the development of his scientific work from raw data to publication.

Notebooks

Carried with him into the field, the notebooks contain Logan's original observations on, and preliminary interpretations of, the surface geology. They include sectional drawings and numerous landscape and specimen sketches. Eleven of his notebooks from Library and Archives Canada featuring his early work during the first half of the 1840s are available online.

Journals

Back in camp at the end of each day, Logan recorded his more personal thoughts and observations in his journals. The six journals provided online from McGill University Archives, the National Library of Wales and the Toronto Public Library cover the same period and expeditions as the notebooks above.

Annual Reports

Originally published as appendices in the Journals of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada, the Geological Survey of Canada's "Reports of Progress" have often been difficult to locate. It is now possible to access online versions of the reports published between 1842 and 1858, thanks to the collaboration of Early Canadiana Online.

Publications

The published Geology of Canada and its Atlas of Maps and Sections provide readers with an extensive summary of the Geological Survey's most important work and findings from the 1840s to the early 1860s. Available here as part of a collaborative initiative between Library and Archives Canada and Natural Resources Canada's Earth Sciences Information Centre, these publications are a valuable resource for research on specific places, geological formations and mineral resources.

Maps

Both Library and Archives Canada and Natural Resources Canada have extensive collections of maps created by the Geological Survey. Here researchers can access a number of the Survey's original manuscript maps, now in the holdings of Library and Archives Canada, as well as an extensive database of the Survey's published maps at the Earth Sciences Sector of Natural Resources Canada.

Logan Biography

More than 120 years later, B.J. Harrington's Life of Sir William E. Logan (Montréal, 1883), still remains the only book-length Logan biography. Illustrated with a number of Logan's sketches, this lively book is linked here in collaboration with Our Roots: Canada's Local Histories Online.

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Exploration et colonisation > Pierre à pierre English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière: William E. Logan et la Commission géologique du Canada : Pierre à pierre
Introduction
Interprétation des collections
Collections numériques
Institutions partenaires

Introduction :

Les carnets

Les journaux

Les rapports annuels

Les publications

Les cartes

La biographie de William Logan

Les collections numériques

Introduction

Même si les documents originaux sont conservés par différentes institutions dans l'est du Canada et au pays de Galles, les chercheurs peuvent maintenant consulter les collections de William Logan en ligne. Consultez n'importe lequel des douzaines de documents, retracez le parcours de Logan dans une région donnée, ou observez comment ses travaux scientifiques ont évolué à partir de données brutes jusqu'à l'étape de la publication.

Les carnets

Logan apportait ses carnets avec lui sur le terrain, et y inscrivait ses observations sur la géologie de la surface et une interprétation préliminaire. Les carnets renferment des dessins et de nombreux croquis de paysages et de spécimens. Onze de ses carnets, conservés à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, sont disponibles en ligne; ils se rapportent aux travaux de Logan durant la première moitié des années 1940.

Les journaux

Quand il revenait au campement après une journée de travail, Logan écrivait ses pensées et des observations plus personnelles dans son journal. Les six journaux rendus disponibles en ligne par le Service des archives de l'Université McGill, la National Library of Wales et la Bibliothèque publique de Toronto se rapportent à la même période et aux mêmes expéditions que les carnets décrits plus haut.

Les rapports annuels

Les rapports annuels de la Commission géologique du Canada avaient été publiés à l'origine sous forme d'appendices dans les Journaux de l'Assemblée législative de la Province du Canada. Ces rapports ont souvent été difficiles à retrouver. Il est maintenant possible de consulter en ligne les rapports publiés entre 1842 et 1858, grâce à la collaboration de Notre mémoire en ligne.

Les publications

Les publications Geologie du Canada et son Atlas de cartes et de coupes offrent aux lecteurs une vaste vue d'ensemble des plus importants travaux et découvertes de la Commission géologique du Canada depuis les années 1840 jusqu'au début des années 1860. Leur présence sur ce site résulte d'une collaboration entre Bibliothèque et Archives Canada et le Centre d'information sur les sciences de la Terre de Ressources naturelles Canada. Ces deux publications représentent une ressource précieuse pour les chercheurs qui s'intéressent à des endroits, à des formations géologiques et à des ressources minérales spécifiques.

Les cartes

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada et Ressources naturelles Canada possèdent tous les deux des collections impressionnantes de cartes produites par la Commission géologique du Canada. Sur ce site, les chercheurs peuvent accéder à un certain nombre des cartes manuscrites originales de la Commission, qui font partie de la collection de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada. Ils peuvent aussi consulter une base de données exhaustive des cartes publiées par la Commission et conservées par le Secteur des sciences de la Terre de Ressources naturelles Canada.

La biographie de William Logan

Plus de 120 ans après la mort de William Logan, il n'existe toujours qu'un seul livre dédié à sa biographie. Il s'agit de Life of Sir William E. Logan, écrit par B.J. Harrington (Montréal, 1883). Il contient des croquis dessinés par Logan. Le lien menant à cet intéressant ouvrage est fourni en collaboration avec Nos racines, les histoires locales du Canada en ligne.