Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > Exploration and Settlement > Written in Stone Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Written in Stone: William E. Logan and the Geological Survey of Canada
Introduction
Interpreting the Collections
The Digital Collections
Partner Institutions

Introduction

Library and Archives Canada

External link to McGill University Archives

External link to National Library of Wales

External link to Natural Resources Canada

External link to Toronto Public Library

Partner Institutions

Introduction

This site is the result of the collaborative efforts of five institutions that have come together to make the scattered William Logan resources accessible in one central online location. For those interested in conducting research on Logan and the Geological Survey of Canada (GSC), the links below provide access to the materials digitized by each institution for this project, as well as a more complete overview of other relevant holdings.

Library and Archives Canada

Library and Archives Canada holds the vast Department of Natural Resources Canada fonds, including the Geological Survey of Canada sous-fonds. On this site you can read Logan's field notebooks for the years 1840-46, his annual reports for the Legislative Assembly and his Geology of Canada, publications, all of which are available in Library and Archives Canada's collection.

McGill University Archives
www.archives.mcgill.ca/public/exhibits/logan/

The McGill University Archives holds significant collections related to three of Canada's pre-eminent GSC directors, Sir William E. Logan, George Mercer Dawson and Robert Bell. On this site you can read two of Logan's field journals from the 1840s. The McGill University Archives also holds more than 2,000 pieces of Logan correspondence and other personal manuscripts.

National Library of Wales
http://www.llgc.org.uk/drych/drych_s095.htm

The National Library of Wales' Digital Mirror website presents a wealth of digitized collections from Wales for a worldwide audience. On this site you can read two of Logan's field journals for 1843-4. In these compelling observations Logan describes his geological work in and around the Gaspé Peninsula of Quebec.

Natural Resources Canada, Earth Sciences Sector
http://ess.nrcan.gc.ca/hist_e.php

Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) retains William E. Logan's personal library, as well as Logan's and other surveyors' mineral and fossil specimens, tools, photographs and published reports and maps. On this site, you can read the Geological Survey Annual Reports and the Geology of Canada publications, also available in NRCan's Earth Sciences Information Centre (ESIC). You can also link to Natural Resources Canada's extensive online map collection and educational resources.

Toronto Public Library
http://williamlogan.torontopubliclibrary.ca/webWL/index.jsp

The William Logan papers at the Toronto Public Library include the following online resources: two journals of his travels in Canada and the United States (1840-41 and 1846), a scrapbook of Logan's newspaper clippings, and a series of 40 photographs by Benjamin Baltzly. The library also holds journals of his travels in Europe (1829 and 1834) as well as a collection of Logan's personal manuscript notes.

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Exploration et colonisation > Pierre à pierre English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière: William E. Logan et la Commission géologique du Canada : Pierre à pierre
Introduction
Interprétation des collections
Collections numériques
Institutions partenaires

Introduction

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Le Service des archives de l'Université McGill

La National Library of Wales

Ressources naturelles Canada

La Bibliothèque publique de Toronto

Les institutions partenaires

Introduction

Ce site a été créé grâce à la collaboration de cinq institutions. Elles ont uni leurs efforts pour rendre accessibles, en ligne et en un seul emplacement central, les documents de William Logan, qui étaient dispersés à différents endroits. Toute personne intéressée à faire des recherches sur Logan et la Commission géologique du Canada (CGC) peut utiliser les liens ci-dessous pour accéder aux documents que chacune des cinq institutions a fait numériser en vue de ce projet. Les liens donnent aussi un aperçu plus complet d'autres fonds et collections connexes.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada conserve le vaste fonds du ministère des Ressources naturelles du Canada, y compris le sous-fonds de la Commission géologique du Canada. Dans ce site, vous pouvez lire les carnets que Logan a tenus de 1840 à 1846, ses rapports annuels présentés à l'Assemblée législative et sa publication Géologie du Canada. Tous ces documents font partie de la collection de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

Le Service des archives de l'Université McGill
www.archives.mcgill.ca/public/exhibits/logan/

Les Service des archives de l'Université McGill détient d'importantes collections se rapportant à trois éminents directeurs de la CGC, sir William E. Logan, George Mercer Dawson et Robert Bell. Dans ce site, vous pouvez lire deux carnets de Logan créés durant les années 1840. Le Service des archives de l'Université McGill possède aussi plus de 2 000 pièces de correspondance et d'autres manuscrits personnels de Logan.

La National Library of Wales
www.llgc.org.uk/drych/drych_f095.htm

Le site Web Digital Mirror de la National Library of Wales offre une richesse de collections numériques du pays de Galles, qui s'adressent aux internautes du monde entier. Sur ce site, on peut lire deux journaux de terrain de Logan pour les années 1843 et 1844, dans lesquels il décrit ses travaux géologiques au Québec dans la péninsule gaspésienne et ses environs. Ses observations sont fascinantes.

Ressources naturelles Canada, Secteur des sciences de la Terre
http://ess.nrcan.gc.ca/hist_f.php

Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) détient des ouvrages qui ont fait partie de la bibliothèque personnelle de William E. Logan, des spécimens de fossiles et de minéraux collectés par Logan et ses collègues arpenteurs, des outils, des photographies, des rapports et des cartes publiés. Sur le site du ministère, on peut lire les rapports annuels de la Commission géologique du Canada et la publication Géologie du Canada, aussi disponibles au Centre d'information sur les sciences de la Terre (CIST) de RNCan. Vous pouvez aussi suivre les liens qui vous emmèneront à la vaste collection de cartes et aux ressources pédagogiques en ligne de Ressources naturelles Canada.

La Bibliothèque publique de Toronto
http://williamlogan.torontopubliclibrary.ca/webWL/index.jsp

Voici les documents de William Logan qui sont conservés à la Bibliothèque publique de Toronto et disponibles en ligne : deux journaux de ses voyages au Canada et aux États-Unis (1840-1841 et 1846), un album de coupures de journaux lui ayant appartenu, et une série de 40 photographies prises par Benjamin Baltzly. La Bibliothèque possède aussi des journaux de ses voyages en Europe (1829 et 1834) ainsi qu'une collection de notes personnelles qu'il a écrites à la main.