Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > War and Military > From Colony to Country Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

IntroductionAbout This SiteCommentsImage Gallery
Banner: From Colony to Country: A Reader's Guide to Canadian Military History


Canadian Military History: An Overview
War of 1812
Rebellions of 1837 and 1838
Northwest Campaign
South African War
First World War
Second World War


General References

Government and the Military

Personal Stories

Women

Art, Music and Literature

Web Research







South African War
Personal Stories

Participation

"Only the very best of the men who present themselves, and not necessarily the first-comers, will be selected. The points to be attended to in the selection are : - That the men should be of the very best possible spirit and physique; of good character and temperate habits; should possess a knowledge of drill, and be fairly good shots". - Order no. 212.

Canada. Parliament. - Return: copies of orders in council, general orders, appointments to office, and militia orders affecting the Contingents, in connection with the despatch of the Colonial Military Force to South Africa. - Sessional paper, no. 49 (1900). - P. 16

There were many volunteers to serve; the number of publications emanating from this war, many written by soldiers themselves, attest to the backgrounds of the soldiers, and the high degree of public interest in the topic.

"In intelligence the average was high. All classes of the Canadian people were represented, the professional and business classes being fully as well represented as any others."

W. Sanford Evans on the First Contingent.The Canadian Contingents and Canadian imperialism: a story and a study (1901). - P. 96

However, not everyone could participate, as explained in The Times history of the War in South Africa 1899-1902, Vol. III (1905). - P. 44.

"The Indian tribes of Canada and the Maoris of New Zealand wished to send volunteers to take part in England's war. But in none of these cases could the Imperial Government see its way to accepting the offers made."

Private George McLean, Head of the Lake Band, British Columbia, did serve with the Canadian Mounted Rifles.

"A veteran of two wars". - Native soldiers: foreign battlefields. - Ottawa: Veterans Affairs, 1993. - P. 14


  Previous Next

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Guerre et armée > De colonie à pays English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

IntroductionÀ propos du siteCommentairesGalerie d’images
Bannière : De colonie à pays : Guide de recherche sur l'histoire militaire du Canada


L'histoire militaire du Canada : un survol
Guerre de 1812
Les rébellions de 1837 et de 1838
Campagne du Nord-Ouest
Guerre des Boers
Première Guerre mondiale
Deuxième Guerre mondiale


Références sur la guerre

Gouvernement et armée

Histoires personnelles

Femmes

Art, musique et littérature

Recherche sur le Web







Guerre des Boers
Les histoires personnelles

Participation

« Seront choisis seulement les meilleurs des hommes qui se présenteront, et pas nécessairement ceux qui s'offriront les premiers. Les points auxquels faire attention dans le choix sont que les hommes soient du meilleur caractère et du meilleur physique possible ; qu'ils jouissent d'une bonne réputation et soient tempérants ; qu'ils aient quelque connaissance de l'exercice militaire et sachent passablement bien tirer. » Ordre no 212 (e).

Canada. Parlement. - Réponse : copies d'ordres en conseil, ordres généraux, nominations et ordres de la milice relatifs aux contingents et se rapportant à l'envoi de la force militaire coloniale dans le Sud africain. - Document de la session, no 49 (1900). - P. 17

Plusieurs volontaires se sont présentés; le nombre de publications qui ont fait suite à cette guerre, dont plusieurs ont été écrites par les soldats eux-mêmes, témoigne des antécédents de ceux-ci et de l'intérêt important qu'a suscité ce sujet dans le public.

« Sur le plan de l'intelligence, la moyenne était élevée. Toutes les classes de Canadiens étaient représentées, les professionnels et les gens d'affaires l'étant tout autant que les autres catégories de citoyens. » [traduction]

W. Sanford Evans, à propos du premier contingent The Canadian Contingents and Canadian imperialism : a story and a study (1901). - P. 96

Toutefois, ce n'est pas tout le monde qui a pu y participer, comme l'explique l'ouvrage intitulé The Times history of the War in South Africa 1899-1902, Vol. III (1905). - P. 44

« Les tribus amérindiennes du Canada et les Maoris de la Nouvelle-Zélande ont manifesté le désir de dépêcher des volontaires à la guerre d'Angleterre. Dans aucun de ces cas, cependant, le gouvernement impérial n'a pu trouver le moyen d'accepter les offres présentées. » [traduction]

Le soldat George McLean, chef de la Lake Band, en Colombie-Britannique, a servi dans le bataillon canadien de fusiliers à cheval.

« A veteran of two wars ». - Native soldiers : foreign battlefields. - Ottawa : Veterans Affairs, 1993. - P. 14


  Précédent Suivant