Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > War and Military > From Colony to Country Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

IntroductionAbout This SiteCommentsImage Gallery
Banner: From Colony to Country: A Reader's Guide to Canadian Military History


Canadian Military History: An Overview
War of 1812
Rebellions of 1837 and 1838
Northwest Campaign
South African War
First World War
Second World War


General References

Government and the Military

Troops and Traditions

Personal Stories

Aboriginal Peoples

Women

Art, Music and Literature

Commemorations

Web Research

First World War

Those who lived through the First World War referred to it as the Great War for the rest of their lives, even though another world war followed within a generation. For Canadians, there was a particular element of truth in this. Canada began the war as a British colony, and was at war by declaration of the mother country. Peace returned with Canada as a separate signatory to the Treaty of Versailles, an independent country confident in its ability to manage its own affairs. The war marked the transition of Canada's armed forces from a militia of questionable value to what was probably the most powerful army corps on either side in the conflict; a force capable of planning and executing independent operations, beginning with the Easter Monday, 1917, assault on Vimy Ridge. Maintenance of the Canadian Corps through four years of attrition on the Western Front demanded a supply of personnel which a volunteer enlistment system could not provide and the subsequent imposition of conscription for overseas service, in August 1917, involved the country in an intense political convulsion. Thus, the young nation was being split at home even as war overseas brought the greatest expression of nationalism in its history to that time. This came at great cost.

From a population of some 8 million, over 600 000 served in the Canadian Expeditionary Force, and nearly 60 000 lost their lives, 87 percent of these as a direct result of enemy action in France and Flanders. More than 154 000 were wounded, some several times, and this does not include the mental and emotional casualties, which no one recorded. Soldiers and civilians alike, after four years of hard work and rationing, succumbed to the influenza epidemic that followed the war. Scarcely a community, large or small, in Canada had escaped the dreadful effects of the war without casualties and broken lives.

The scope of the conflict also caused profound changes in the economy and in society as a whole. Not only did Canada's armed forces need to be equipped on a heretofore unprecedented scale, but Canada became a major supplier to Britain through the Imperial Munitions Board. The war created a vast demand for Canadian agricultural production, which resulted in consolidation and permanence for the previous two decades' somewhat fragile expansion of farming and associated settlement into the Northwest. With a considerable portion of Canadian men overseas, women came into business and industry in unprecedented numbers and, as in other countries, their enhanced economic role led increasingly to demands for voting rights as a means to political power.

What follows here are only examples, drawn from the very large literature concerning Canada and the First World War. A reader seeking the complete published record on any individual topic listed below should start by consulting the more detailed published bibliographies.

Notes

The authors have included the English edition of works if they are available in both French and English. Items marked with an asterisk (*) are known to be available in French. Most titles included in this guide are held by Library and Archives Canada, and many are available for interlibrary loan, both within Canada and abroad.


    Next

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Guerre et armée > De colonie à pays English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

IntroductionÀ propos du siteCommentairesGalerie d’images
Bannière : De colonie à pays : Guide de recherche sur l'histoire militaire du Canada


L'histoire militaire du Canada : un survol
Guerre de 1812
Les rébellions de 1837 et de 1838
Campagne du Nord-Ouest
Guerre des Boers
Première Guerre mondiale
Deuxième Guerre mondiale


Références sur la guerre

Gouvernement et armée

Soldats et traditions

Histoires personnelles

Peuples autochtones

Femmes

Art, musique et littérature

Commémorations

Recherche sur le Web

Première Guerre mondiale

Ceux et celles qui ont vécu la Première Guerre mondiale n'en ont jamais parlé autrement que comme la Grande Guerre pendant le reste de leur vie, même si une autre guerre mondiale devait suivre moins d'une génération plus tard. Pour les Canadiens et les Canadiennes, il y a là un élément particulier de vérité. En effet, le Canada avait commencé la guerre en tant que colonie britannique et s'est retrouvé en guerre par déclaration de la mère patrie. Lorsque la paix est revenue, le Canada était un signataire séparé du traité de Versailles, un pays indépendant et confiant dans sa capacité de gérer ses propres affaires. La guerre a marqué la transition des Forces armées du Canada d'un statut de milice dont la valeur restait à démontrer à celui de ce qui a probablement été le corps d'armée le plus puissant des deux camps qui s'opposaient dans le conflit. Elles constituaient une force capable de planifier et d'exécuter des opérations indépendantes, en commençant par l'assaut sur la crête de Vimy, le lundi de Pâques 1917. Maintenir le corps canadien tout au long de quatre ans de combat sur le front occidental avait exigé un apport en ressources humaines qu'un simple système d'engagement volontaire ne pouvait assurer. L'imposition ultérieure de la conscription pour le service outre-mer, en août 1917, a fait entrer le pays dans un bouleversement politique intense. Ainsi, la jeune nation se retrouvait divisée chez elle, alors que la guerre outre-mer avait suscité la plus grande expression de nationalisme de son histoire jusqu'à ce jour. Le coût en a été très élevé.

Sur une population de quelque huit millions d'habitants, plus de 600 000 ont servi dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien et près de 60 000 ont perdu la vie, dont 87 % ont été des victimes directes des actions ennemies en France et dans les Flandres. Plus de 154 000 soldats ont été blessés, dont certains plusieurs fois, et personne n'a dénombré les pertes attribuées à des problèmes mentaux et émotionnels. Après quatre ans de dur labeur et de rationnement, des soldats et des civils ont succombé à l'épidémie de grippe qui a suivi la guerre. Au Canada, très peu de collectivités, peu importe leur taille, ont pu traverser cette guerre sans y perdre un ou plusieurs de leurs membres.

L'envergure du conflit a aussi profondément modifié l'économie et la société dans son ensemble. Non seulement les Forces armées du Canada ont dû être équipées à une échelle encore jamais atteinte jusque-là, mais le Canada est devenu un fournisseur majeur du Royaume-Uni à travers la Commission impériale des munitions. La guerre a créé une demande énorme touchant l'agriculture canadienne, ce qui a eu pour effet de consolider et de rendre durable l'expansion quelque peu fragile de l'agriculture et des peuplements associés dans le Nord-Ouest. Une proportion considérable d'hommes se trouvant outre-mer, les femmes canadiennes ont commencé à travailler dans les affaires et dans l'industrie en nombre sans cesse croissant. Comme dans d'autres pays, leur rôle et leur poids économiques accrus les ont poussées à élever de plus en plus la voix pour exiger le droit de voter, comme un moyen de pouvoir politique.

Suivent des exemples tirés d'une documentation très abondante sur le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale. Le lecteur ou la lectrice à la recherche de toute la documentation publiée sur l'un des sujets énumérés ci-dessous devrait commencer par consulter les bibliographies plus détaillées qui ont déjà été publiées.

Notes

Les ouvrages marqués d'un astérisque (*) sont disponibles en français et en anglais. La plupart des titres que comprend ce guide se trouvent dans la collection de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada. Il est aussi possible de s'en procurer plusieurs par prêt entre bibliothèques, tant au Canada qu'à l'étranger.


    Suivant