Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

IntroductionBanner: Susanna Moodie and Catharine Parr Traill
BiographiesBanner: Susanna Moodie and Catharine Parr TraillManuscripts and JournalsLettersBanner: Susanna Moodie and Catharine Parr Traill
Life in EnglandAbout the Collections
Emigration and Bush Life
Town Life
Writing and Publications
Natural Environment
Religion and Spiritualism
Matriarchs
Glossary

Lesson Plans
Resources
About This Site
Comments

Glossary and Explanatory Notes

Agnes and Eliza Strickland as mid-century historians. Agnes and Eliza began writing short biographies of royal ladies for the Lady's Magazine during the 1830s. Out of that activity they proposed a series, Lives of the Queens of England, From the Norman Conquest. It was published in 12 volumes from 1840 to 1848 citing Agnes as the sole author. Although she wrote more biographies than did Agnes, Eliza demanded anonymity. The popularity of the series encouraged the sisters to collaborate on four more works including another series, Lives of the Queens of Scotland (eight volumes, published between 1850 and 59).

The Albion. The New York Albion was a weekly newspaper published in New York by Dr. John Sherran Bartlett (1790-1863). Barlett, a retired doctor from England, ran two papers that provided recent news from Britain to British emigrants living in the new world. The best known was the Albion, for which Susanna Moodie wrote her first Canadian poems, and the other was the Emigrant and Old Countryman. The Moodies were avid readers of Bartlett's papers and often corresponded with him.

Canada Land Company. This company was formed in England in 1824 to colonize Upper Canada and to develop the extensive holdings that it purchased there, especially the Huron Tract extending from Guelph to Goderich. The company founded these two towns as well as Galt, named after its first secretary, the Scottish novelist, John Galt. Scots were very influential in the company and another of them, William "Tiger" Dunlop, became a legendary Upper Canadian figure. Samuel Strickland was hired by Galt and he also knew the "Tiger."

Chamberlin, Brown. Lt. Col. Brown Chamberlin (1827-1897) was a Montreal newspaper owner and lawyer who rose to fame as a military leader during the Fenian raids in Canada East. A friend of John A. Macdonald, he was awarded the position of Queen's printer in Ottawa in 1870 and the same year married the widowed Agnes FitzGibbon, daughter of Susanna Moodie. They settled in Ottawa where they were among the social leaders of that fledgling city. Agnes helped her Aunt Traill to complete and publish her important work, Studies of Plant Life in Canada (1885).

The Depression of 1836-37. The most devastating factor underlying the failure of the Moodies and the Traills in the backwoods was the Depression of 1836-37. Felt powerfully in the cities of North America, the effects were perhaps even more crippling in the back townships of Upper Canada where the market for farming goods sagged, available capital shrank, and the number of new emigrants dwindled. In both Canada West and East the Rebellion of 1837 grew in part out of the prolonged effects of this depression.

Dunlop, Eleanor (nee Stewart), 1819-1907, was the second daughter of Thomas and Frances Stewart. In 1845, "Ellen," as her close friend Catharine Parr Traill called her, married Charles Dunlop (1817-1906), a successful Otonabee farmer. Ellen, with Catharine's assistance, edited Frances Stewart's letters for Our Forest Home (Toronto, 1902).

Fleming, Sir Sandford (1827-1915). Famous for several inventions and engineering successes, Sandford Fleming came as a young man to Canada in 1845. He lived in Peterborough for his first two years, and first met Catharine Parr Traill at that time. In later years he fondly remembered Traill and did what he could to raise funds to recognize her achievements in Canada and to help her overcome the financial losses that befell her. She called him her "valued friend."

Fox, Margaret (b. 1833) and Kate (b. 1834), "the Rochester Rappers," were celebrated Spiritualist mediums of the mid 19th century. The sisters pretended to interpret rapping noises, first encountered in 1847 in their old home near Rochester, New York, which were said to be communications from the spirits. Their interpretations were sought by clients such as Mary Lincoln and other prominent Americans. Susanna Moodie encountered Kate Fox in 1855 when the latter visited relatives near Belleville, Ontario.

Gwillym, Richard, was a well-to-do Church of England clergyman from the parish of Ulverstone, Lancashire. In 1844 he became the second husband of Sarah Childs (nee Strickland) and, hence, brother-in-law to Catharine, Susanna and Samuel. On his death in 1868, he left Catharine (who had been widowed in 1858) a legacy of an undetermined size.

The Literary Garland. The Literary Garland was published by John Lovell, an important Montreal publisher, starting in December 1838 and ending in December 1851, a run of 13 volumes. Its first and longest serving editor was John Gibson who, together with Lovell, produced the first notably successful literary periodical in either Upper or Lower Canada. Much of that success was attributable to the Garland's emphasis on original compositions and its appeal to readers beyond the boundaries of the Canadas. Susanna had contributions in every one of its volumes.

South African years of John Moodie. John Moodie went to South Africa in 1819 to join two older brothers. While there he did some farming, served for a time as a magistrate and pursued his love of outdoor adventure. He returned to England in 1829 to find a wife and to begin a writing career. He first wrote an account of an attack on Bergen op Zoom in the Netherlands; he had participated in it during the Napoleonic war. His second endeavour was a book, Ten Years in South Africa (1835). Moodie's South African experience was later recalled in pieces that he wrote for the Victoria Magazine and in another book, Scenes and Adventures of a Soldier and Settler (1866).

Stewart, Frances (nee Browne), 1794-1872, emigrated with her husband, Thomas Stewart (1876-1847), from Ireland to Upper Canada in 1823. The Stewarts became important early settlers of Douro Township, developing their home, "Auburn," on Lot 1, Concession 1, raising a family of 10 children to adulthood, and assisting settlers -- like the Traills -- who followed them to the area.

Thomas Strickland's business interests. Thomas Strickland, Susanna and Catharine's father, was a partner in Thomas Strickland and Company, Coach Manufactory of St. Giles Gates in Norwich. The urban experience that the Strickland children gained during occasional visits to Norwich is reflected in the plots of some of their books for children.

Wolf Tower was the octagonal wooden tower house built in 1837 near the south shore of Rice Lake by the Reverend George Wilson Bridges. When he returned to England in 1841, Bridges offered the Traills the use of his property, rent-free. They lived at Wolf Tower, the setting for Catharine's children's novel, Canadian Crusoes, from the spring of 1846 to mid 1847.




Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

IntroductionBannière : Susanna Moodie et Catharine Parr Traill
BiographiesBannière : Susanna Moodie et Catharine Parr TraillManuscrits et journaux intimesLettresBannière : Susanna Moodie et Catharine Parr Traill
Vie en AngleterreÀ propos des collections
Émigration et vie dans les bois
Vie dans les villes
Écrits et publications
Milieu naturel
Religion et spiritisme
Matriarches
Glossaire

Plans de leçons
Ressources
À propos de ce site
Commentaires

Glossaire et notes explicatives

Agnes et Eliza Strickland comme historiennes du milieu du siècle. Agnes et Eliza ont commencé à rédiger de courtes biographiques des dames royales pour la revue Lady's Magazine au cours des années 1830. En dehors de ce travail, elles ont proposé une série intitulée Lives of the Queens of England, From the Norman Conquest. La série a été publiée en douze volumes de 1840 à 1848 et ne mentionnait qu'une seule auteure, Agnes. Bien qu'elle ait rédigé plus de biographies qu'Agnes, Eliza demandait l'anonymat. La popularité de la série a incité les sï¿œurs à collaborer pour quatre autres ouvrages, y compris une autre série, Lives of the Queens of Scotland (huit volumes publiés entre 1850 et 1859).

L'Albion. L'Albion de New York était un hebdomadaire publié à New York par le Dr John Sherran Bartlett (1790-1863). Barlett, médecin à la retraite d'Angleterre, était à la tête de deux journaux qui présentaient les dernières nouvelles venant d'Angleterre aux émigrants britanniques qui vivaient dans le Nouveau Monde. Le journal le mieux connu était l'Albion, pour lequel Susanna Moodie a écrit ses premiers poèmes canadiens, et l'autre avait pour titre Emigrant and Old Countryman. Les Moodie lisaient avidement les journaux de Bartlett et correspondaient fréquemment avec ce dernier.

Canada Land Company. Cette entreprise a été fondée en Angleterre en 1824 dans le but de coloniser le Haut-Canada et de développer les immenses terres qu'elle achetait dans cette région, surtout le « Huron Tract » qui s'étendait de Guelph à Goderich. L'entreprise a fondé ces deux villes, de même que la ville de Galt, nommée ainsi en l'honneur de son premier secrétaire, le romancier écossais John Galt. Les Écossais ont joué un rôle important dans l'entreprise. Un autre Écossais, nommé William « Tiger » Dunlop, est devenu un personnage légendaire du Haut-Canada. Samuel Strickland a été embauché par Galt et a également connu le « Tiger ».

Chamberlin, Brown. Le lieutenant-colonel Brown Chamberlin (1827-1897), propriétaire d'un journal de Montréal et avocat, a atteint la renommée en tant que militaire durant les raids des Fenians au Canada-Est. Ami de John A. Macdonald, il a été promu au poste d'imprimeur de la Reine à Ottawa en 1870 et, la même année, il épousait Agnes FitzGibbon, veuve et fille de Susanna Moodie. Ils se sont installés à Ottawa et ont fait partie de l'élite de cette nouvelle ville. Agnes a aidé sa tante Traill à achever et à publier son important ouvrage, Studies of Plant Life in Canada (1885).

La dépression de 1836-1837. La dépression de 1836-1837 est le facteur qui a contribué le plus aux échecs qu'ont connus les Moodie et les Traill dans l'arrière-pays. Dévastateurs dans les villes de l'Amérique du Nord, les effets de la dépression étaient peut-être même plus écrasants dans les comtés reculés du Haut-Canada où le marché des biens agricoles a connu une baisse importante, le capital disponible s'est resserré et le nombre de nouveaux imigrants a chuté. Tant dans l'Ouest canadien que dans l'Est, la rébellion de 1837 a été causée, en partie du moins, par les effets prolongés de cette dépression.

Dunlop, Eleanor (née Stewart), 1819-1907, était la deuxième fille de Thomas et de Frances Stewart. En 1845, « Ellen », comme l'appelait sa bonne amie Catharine Parr Traill, a épousé Charles Dunlop (1817-1906), cultivateur prospère d'Otonabee. Ellen, avec l'aide de Catharine, a révisé les lettres de Frances Stewart pour Our Forest Home (Toronto, 1902).

Fleming, Sir Sandford (1827-1915). Connu pour ses nombreuses inventions et ses réussites dans le domaine du génie, Sandford Fleming est venu au Canada alors qu'il était encore un jeune homme, en 1845. Il a vécu à Peterborough les deux premières années et a rencontré Catharine Parr Traill pendant cette période. Plus tard, il s'est rappelé avec tendresse Catharine et a fait de son mieux pour recueillir des fonds afin de faire reconnaître ses réalisations au Canada et de l'aider à surmonter ses pertes financières écrasantes. Elle l'appelait son « cher ami ».

Fox, Margaret (née en 1833) et Kate (née en 1834), les « Rochester Rappers », étaient des médiums spirituels révérés au milieu du dix-neuvième siècle. Les sï¿œurs prétendaient pouvoir interpréter les coups secs et durs qu'elles ont entendus pour la première fois en 1847 dans leur vieille demeure près de Rochester (New York). Il s'agissait, selon elles, d'esprits qui tentaient de communiquer avec elles. Des clients comme Mary Lincoln et d'autres Américains importants les consultaient. Susanna Moodie a rencontré Kate Fox en 1855 lorsque cette dernière a visité sa parenté près de Belleville, en Ontario.

Gwillym, Richard, était membre du clergé de l'Église anglicane de la paroisse d'Ulverstone, dans le Lancashire, et appartenait à la classe bourgeoise. En 1844, il est devenu le deuxième mari de Sarah Childs (née Strickland) et, par le fait même, le beau-frère de Catharine, de Susanna et de Samuel. À sa mort, en 1868, il a laissé à Catharine (qui était devenue veuve en 1858) un legs d'une somme indéterminée.

Les années de John Moodie passées en Afrique du Sud. John Moodie s'est rendu en Afrique du Sud en 1819 pour se joindre à deux de ses frères aînés. Pendant son séjour, il a cultivé la terre, fait office de juge pendant quelque temps et a obéi à sa passion de l'aventure. Il est rentré en Angleterre en 1829 pour se marier et amorcer une carrière d'écrivain. Il a écrit d'abord le récit d'une attaque sur Bergen op Zoom, dans les Pays-Bas; il avait participé à ces affrontements pendant la guerre napoléonienne. Son deuxième projet a été la rédaction d'un livre, Ten Years in South Africa (1835). Moodie a plus tard relaté ses expérience en Afrique du Sud dans des articles qu'il a rédigés pour le Victoria Magazine et dans un autre livre, Scenes and Adventures of a Soldier and Settler (1866).

Les intérêts commerciaux de Thomas Strickland. Thomas Strickland, le père de Susanna et de Catharine, était partenaire dans la firme Thomas Strickland and Company, usine de voitures de St. Giles Gates, dans le Norwich. L'expérience en milieu urbain que les enfants Strickland ont acquise au cours de visites occasionnelles à Norwich se reflète dans l'intrigue de quelques-uns de leurs livres pour enfants.

Literary Garland. Le Literary Garland a été publié par John Lovell, important éditeur de Montréal, du mois de décembre 1838 à la fin de décembre 1851, une série de 13 volumes. Le premier rédacteur en chef et celui qui a été en poste le plus longtemps a été John Gibson qui, de concert avec Lovell, a produit le premier périodique littéraire à connaître un succès remarquable tant dans le Haut-Canada que dans le Bas-Canada. Une grande partie de ce succès était attribuable à l'importance qu'accordait le Literary Garland aux ï¿œuvres originales et l'intérêt que portaient au journal les lecteurs à l'extérieur des frontières des Canadas. Susanna a contribué à chacun des volumes.

Stewart, Frances (née Browne), 1794-1872, a émigré avec son mari, Thomas Stewart (1876-1847), d'Irlande au Haut-Canada en 1823. Les Stewart sont devenus d'importants colons du début du comté de Douro. Ils ont construit leur maison, « Auburn », sur le Lot 1, Concession 1, et y ont élevé leur famille de dix enfants jusqu'à l'âge adulte; en outre, ils ont aidé les colons-comme les Traill - qui les ont suivis dans la région.

Wolf Tower était la tour en bois de forme octogonale construite en 1837 près de la rive sud du lac Rice par le révérend George Wilson Bridges. Lorsqu'il est rentré en Angleterre, en 1841, Bridges a offert aux Traill de se servir de sa propriété, sans qu'ils aient à verser de loyer. La famille Traill a vécu à Wolf Tower, cadre du roman pour enfants de Catharine, Canadian Crusoes, du printemps 1846 au milieu de 1847.




Divulgation proactive