Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

IntroductionBanner: Susanna Moodie and Catharine Parr Traill
BiographiesBanner: Susanna Moodie and Catharine Parr TraillManuscripts and JournalsLettersBanner: Susanna Moodie and Catharine Parr Traill
Life in EnglandAbout the Collections
Emigration and Bush Life
Town Life
Writing and Publications
Natural Environment
Religion and Spiritualism
Matriarchs
Glossary

Lesson Plans
Resources
About This Site
Comments

Life in England

Life at Reydon Hall in the 1820s
Suffolk Literary Connections
London Connections
Marriages


Life at Reydon Hall in the 1820s

Reydon Hall

After their father's death in 1818, the Strickland family remained in their Suffolk manor house, Reydon Hall. The two eldest sisters, Eliza and Agnes, soon moved to London to seek a living as writers and editors in the growing world of magazine and annual publishing. The two youngest members of the family, Samuel and Thomas, also set off to seek their fortune in the early 1820s: Samuel emigrated to Canada and worked as a surveyor for the Canada Land Company before settling in the Peterborough area, while Thomas joined the East India Company as a merchant seaman (see Susanna's letter to James and Emma Bird, January 1831).

Agnes Strickland

Left with little money to support the family, the sisters turned to one of the few outlets available to genteel but poor young women of their day. They began to write stories and poems for publication. Initially, Catharine and Susanna concentrated on the children's market, but Susanna also tried her hand at the more ambitious writing of poetry and sketches for adult readers (see Susanna Moodie – Bibliography of Major Works). They made connections with the London literary world through their older sisters and with the help of Suffolk writers, editors and publishers like Thomas Harral, the Childs family of Bungay and James Bird.

Top of Page


Suffolk Literary Connections

The Harral family were close friends of the young Stricklands: Susanna and Laura Harral were bosom companions until Laura's early death, and Catharine was for a time engaged to Laura's brother Francis (see Susanna's letter to James Bird, April 9, 1831). Thomas Harral, after working on the East Anglian and the Suffolk Chronicle, moved to London with his family and became the editor of La Belle Assemblée, a court and fashion magazine. For a time Susanna and Catharine sent manuscripts through him for placement in the popular giftbooks and annuals of the time. However, their friendship with the Harrals cooled considerably in 1831 as a result of Mrs. Harral's strange behaviour (see Susanna's letter to James Bird, April 9, 1831).

The Childs family were East Anglian, Nonconformist printers. They were responsible for printing Enthusiasm, Susanna's volume of poetry, in 1831. Sarah Strickland, one of Susanna and Catharine's older sisters, married Robert Childs in 1835.

Other close friends of the young Stricklands were James and Emma Bird of the nearby village of Yoxford. Many of Susanna's and Catharine's letters written in England are addressed to them. James was a stationer, bookseller and published poet, who encouraged the sisters' literary endeavours. He and his wife had a large family, and one of their sons, James, would emigrate to Canada with the Moodies.

Top of Page


London Connections

Thomas Cheesman

Through relatives, the young Stricklands were able to spend time in London and thus broaden their professional and personal acquaintances. Their elderly cousin Thomas Cheesman, an engraver of some distinction, resided near the British Museum, not far from their aunt Rebecca Leverton's home in Bedford Square. It was Cheesman who made the miniature engravings of the young Strickland sisters on one of his holidays at Reydon Hall (see Susanna's letter to Catharine, January 1872). Their aunt, Rebecca Leverton, the wealthy widow of the architect of Bedford Square, was a generous hostess to her young nieces on numerous occasions. She even invited Catharine to accompany her to Bath and the Leverton country home near Waltham Abbey in Essex.

An important London influence on Susanna was Thomas Pringle, the secretary of the Anti-Slavery League and an active and vocal reformer. A Scot by birth, he was an editor, journalist and poet, and he and his family had recently returned from South Africa when Susanna met them. At their London home, where she was a welcome guest, Susanna transcribed the stories of Mary Prince and Ashton Warner, two former slaves who sought Pringle's assistance (see Susanna's letters to James and Emma Bird, January 1831, and April 9, 1831). Susanna also worked with her sister Agnes that year to produce Patriotic Songs, a collection of their poems set to music.

Top of Page


Marriages

It was at the Pringles' that Susanna met John Wedderburn Dunbar Moodie, a retired (Half-pay) officer of the 21st Northern Fusileers, who had arrived in London in 1830 seeking both a publisher for his manuscript and a wife to share his distant and lonely farm in South Africa. (John's book, Ten Years in South Africa, Including a Particular Description of the Wild Sports was published by Richard Bentley in 1835.)

The courtship of John and Susanna was brief and tempestuous to judge by their letters during this period (see John's letters to Susanna, August 19, 1830, and September 7, 1830, as well as Susanna's letter to James and Emma Bird, January 1831). They were married from the Pringles' home in London on April 4, 1831 (see Susanna's letter to James Bird, April 9, 1831) and shortly afterwards moved to Southwold to await the birth of their first child. That winter they began to make plans for emigration to the Canadas (see John's letters to Susanna, Friday morning, 1832 and May 24, 1832. Susanna's novel Flora Lyndsay begins with the story of these months of preparation for their departure.

Thomas Traill, like his friend, John Moodie, came from the Orkney Islands and had served as an officer in the Napoleonic Wars. While visiting an uncle in London in 1830, he reconnected with John (see John's letter to Susanna, March 1832), and through him met Catharine Parr Strickland. The couple were married, somewhat hastily and in the face of family resistance, on May 13, 1832. Catharine and Thomas immediately set sail to meet Traill's Scottish relatives and finalize their plans to join the Moodies in emigrating to Upper Canada (see Catharine's letter to James Bird, May 13, 1832).

Top of Page



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

IntroductionBannière : Susanna Moodie et Catharine Parr Traill
BiographiesBannière : Susanna Moodie et Catharine Parr TraillManuscrits et journaux intimesLettresBannière : Susanna Moodie et Catharine Parr Traill
Vie en AngleterreÀ propos des collections
Émigration et vie dans les bois
Vie dans les villes
Écrits et publications
Milieu naturel
Religion et spiritisme
Matriarches
Glossaire

Plans de leçons
Ressources
À propos de ce site
Commentaires

Vie en Angleterre

Vie à « Reydon Hall » dans les années 1820
Relations littéraires dans le Suffolk
Relations à Londres
Mariages


Vie à « Reydon Hall » dans les années 1820

« Reydon Hall »

Après la mort du père en 1818, la famille Strickland a continué à vivre à « Reydon Hall », le manoir dans le Suffolk. Peu de temps après, les deux sï¿œurs aînées, Eliza et Agnes, se sont rendues à Londres pour tenter de gagner leur vie comme rédactrices ou réviseures dans le monde de l'édition (revues, publications annuelles), alors en pleine expansion. Au début des années 1820, les deux cadets, Samuel et Thomas, se sont également mis en route pour faire fortune : Samuel, qui a émigré au Canada, a travaillé comme arpenteur à la Société immobilière du Canada (Canada Land Company) avant de se fixer dans la région de Peterborough. Thomas est entré au service de la société East India Company en tant que marin marchand (voir la lettre de Susanna à James et Emma Bird de janvier 1831).

Agnes Strickland

Se trouvant avec peu d'argent pour nourrir leur famille, les sï¿œurs se sont tournées vers l'un des créneaux accessibles à leur époque aux jeunes femmes de bonne naissance, mais pauvres. Elles ont commencé à écrire des récits et des poèmes pour être publiés. Au départ, Catharine et Susanna ont privilégié les livres pour enfants, mais Susanna s'est aussi essayée dans les genres plus exigeants que sont la poésie et les croquis pour adultes (voir Susanna Moodie : ï¿œuvres complètes). Elles se sont créé des relations dans les milieux littéraires londoniens grâce à leurs sï¿œurs aînées et aux éditeurs dans le Suffolk tels que Thomas Harral et la famille Childs, de Bungay.

Haut de la page


Relations littéraires dans le Suffolk

Les Harral étaient des amis proches des jeunes sï¿œurs Strickland : Susanna et Laura Harral ont été des amies intimes jusqu'à la mort précoce de Laura, et Catharine a été fiancée quelque temps à Francis, le frère de Laura (voir la lettre de Susanna à James Bird du 9 avril 1831). Thomas Harral, après avoir travaillé pour l'East Anglian et le Suffolk Chronicle, a déménagé avec sa famille à Londres, où il est devenu rédacteur en chef de La Belle Assemblée, revue de mode et de spectacles. Pendant un certain temps, Susanna et Catharine se servaient de son entremise pour faire publier leurs écrits dans les livres-cadeaux et les publications annuelles très populaires à l'époque. Toutefois, en 1831, cette amitié s'est considérablement affaiblie en raison du comportement étrange de Mme Harral (voir la lettre de Susanna à James Bird du 9 avril 1831).

Les Childs, imprimeurs non conformistes de l'est de l'Angleterre, ont fait imprimer Enthusiasm, le recueil de poèmes de Susanna, en 1831. Sarah Strickland, une des sï¿œurs aînées de Susanna et de Catharine, a épousé Robert Childs en 1835.

Parmi les autres amis des jeunes auteures figuraient James et Emma Bird, originaires du village voisin d'Yoxford et destinataires d'un grand nombre de lettres que Susanna et Catharine ont écrites en Angleterre. James, papetier, libraire et poète, a favorisé les activités littéraires des sï¿œurs. Lui et sa femme avaient une famille nombreuse et l'un de leurs fils, James, émigrera au Canada en compagnie des Moodie.

Haut de la page


Relations à Londres

Thomas Cheesman

Grâce à leurs relations, les deux jeunes sï¿œurs ont pu passer du temps à Londres et élargir leur horizon professionnel et personnel. Thomas Cheesman, un vieux cousin et graveur assez réputé, habitait près du British Museum, non loin de leur tante Rebecca Leverton, à Bedford Square. Cheesman avait fait les gravures miniaturisées des jeunes sï¿œurs Strickland au cours d'un de ses séjours à " Reydon Hall " (voir la lettre de Susanna à Catharine de janvier 1872). Leur tante, Rebecca Leverton, riche veuve de l'architecte de Bedford Square, a accueilli généreusement ses jeunes nièces à de nombreuses occasions. Elle a même invité Catharine à l'accompagner à Bath et à sa maison de campagne près de Waltham Abbey dans l'Essex.

Thomas Pringle, secrétaire de la Ligue anti-esclavagiste et réformiste actif et franc, a eu une influence décisive sur Susanna à Londres. Écossais de naissance, rédacteur en chef, journaliste et poète, il venait de rentrer d'Afrique du Sud avec sa famille lorsque Susanna a fait sa connaissance. Chez eux, à Londres, où elle était toujours la bienvenue, Susanna a transcrit les récits de deux anciens esclaves, Mary Prince et Ashton Warner, qui demandaient le soutien de Pringle (voir les lettres de Susanna à James et Emma Bird de janvier 1831 et du 9 avril 1831). Susanna a également travaillé de concert avec sa sï¿œur Agnes cette même année pour créer Patriotic Songs, collection de leurs poèmes sur fond musical.

Haut de la page


Mariages

Susanna a rencontré, chez les Pringle, John Wedderburn Dunbar Moodie, officier retraité (à demi-solde) du 21e régiment des fusiliers du Nord qui, depuis son arrivée à Londres en 1830, était à la recherche à la fois d'un éditeur pour son manuscrit et d'une femme pour partager sa ferme éloignée et isolée en Afrique du Sud. (Le livre de John, Ten Years in South Africa, Including a Particular Description of the Wild Sports, a été publié par Richard Bentley en 1835.)

John et Susanna se sont fréquentés brièvement et cette période a été orageuse à en juger par les lettres qu'ils se sont écrites pendant cette période (voir les lettres de John à Susanna du 19 août 1830 et du 7 septembre 1830, et la lettre de Susanna à James et Emma Bird de janvier 1831). Ils se sont mariés à Londres le 4 avril 1831 chez les Pringle (voir la lettre de Susanna à James Bird du 9 avril 1831) et ont déménagé à Southwold pour attendre la naissance de leur premier enfant. Dès l'hiver, ils ont commencé à faire des projets pour émigrer au Canada (voir les lettres de John à Susanna du vendredi matin 1832 et du 24 mai 1832). Le roman de Susanna Flora Lyndsay commence en relatant les détails de ces mois de préparation en vue de leur départ.

Thomas Traill, comme son ami John Moodie, est originaire des îles Orcades et ancien officier au cours des guerres napoléoniennes. En 1830, alors en visite chez un oncle à Londres, il a repris contact avec John (voir la lettre de John à Susanna de mars 1832) et, par son entremise, a rencontré Catharine Parr Strickland. Le 13 mai 1832, les deux se sont mariés quelque peu hâtivement et ont dû faire face à l'opposition familiale. Sans tarder, Catharine et Thomas sont partis en bateau pour rencontrer les relations écossaises de Traill et mettre la main finale à leur projet d'émigrer au Haut-Canada avec les Moodie (voir la lettre de Catharine à James Bird du 13 mai 1832).

Haut de la page



Divulgation proactive