Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

IntroductionBanner: Susanna Moodie and Catharine Parr Traill
BiographiesBanner: Susanna Moodie and Catharine Parr TraillManuscripts and JournalsLettersBanner: Susanna Moodie and Catharine Parr Traill
Life in EnglandAbout the Collections
Emigration and Bush Life
Town Life
Writing and Publications
Natural Environment
Religion and Spiritualism
Matriarchs
Glossary

Lesson Plans
Resources
About This Site
Comments

Emigration and Bush Life


First Settlement
Pioneer Life
Native People
Challenges of Emigration
Later Years in the Bush


First settlement

Log house illustration

Upon their arrival in Upper Canada in 1832, the Moodies and Traills disembarked at Cobourg. From 1832 to 1834 the Moodies attempted to farm a previously cleared property near Port Hope. Susanna bore two more children during those years. John's financial speculations, along with the need to hire help for the young family and the farm, were quickly reducing their savings. Moreover, they found their Yankee neighbours unfriendly and unhelpful. So they sold their first farm and moved to the bush near Lakefield, where the Traills had built their log home and cleared their first few acres with the help of Samuel Strickland.

Top of Page


Pioneer life

The life of a bush settler is described in their famous books: Susanna Moodie's Roughing It in the Bush (1852) and Catharine Parr Traill's The Backwoods of Canada (1836). The work "bees," burning the fallow, ploughing, harvesting, keeping warm, preparing food and numerous other realities of the early pioneers' harsh existence are vividly presented in these books, along with descriptions of climate, Native people, scenery and wildlife.

While the books emphasize the isolation and loneliness of the bush settler's experience, they also reveal both the self-sufficiency of the settler and the system of mutual dependence of community members. Neighbours shared work such as clearing land, building houses and numerous other large undertakings; they also shared skills as midwives, homeopathic healers, dentists, teachers and preachers. Without such a system, survival in the bush would have been precarious, given the backwoods farmer's distance from the nearest towns. In 1853 Traill collected and recorded many of the pioneers' skills and tips for survival in a handbook for women, called The Female Emigrant's Guide.

Top of Page


Challenges of Emigration

The introductions to their books, and Susanna's often-cited conclusion to Roughing It, echo the contents of John Moodie's long letter to James Traill, March 8, 1836 on the conditions and challenges of emigrants' lives, as well as possible solutions to these difficulties. Emigration in the 1830s was usually a matter of economic necessity. Whether one was of the educated or labouring classes, employment that could provide for a family was not available in Britain. But many who emigrated failed to prosper because they were unsuited to manual labour, and the colony offered few alternatives for making a living. In his letter John emphasizes the need for capital to develop the infrastructure of the young colony so that it can better support its settlers and the mother country. Private investments in transportation systems, dealing in land or providing the services such development would require could provide alternate sources of income for the new emigrant unsuited to backwoods farming, or for the investor back home in England.

Top of Page


Later Years in the Bush

The surviving correspondence from Susanna's and Catharine's experiences in the backwoods shows the importance of letters and parcels as links with the outside world. This was especially true when families were separated by emigration or, closer to home, by such events as the 1837 Rebellion, when John Moodie and Thomas Traill answered the call to leave their farms and join the militia.

For Moodie, this led to prolonged absences while he served in the militia. During this time, Susanna struggled on in the bush with the help of her neighbours (see Susanna and John's letters, from February 1838 to July 1839). In 1839 John Moodie was appointed Sheriff of Hastings County, and the Moodie family was able to escape from what Susanna referred to as "the prisonhouse [sic]" of the bush by moving to the town of Belleville (see John's letter to Susanna, November 24, 1839, and Susanna's introduction to her book Life in the Clearings).

Top of Page



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

IntroductionBannière : Susanna Moodie et Catharine Parr Traill
BiographiesBannière : Susanna Moodie et Catharine Parr TraillManuscrits et journaux intimesLettresBannière : Susanna Moodie et Catharine Parr Traill
Vie en AngleterreÀ propos des collections
Émigration et vie dans les bois
Vie dans les villes
Écrits et publications
Milieu naturel
Religion et spiritisme
Matriarches
Glossaire

Plans de leçons
Ressources
À propos de ce site
Commentaires

Émigration et vie dans les bois

Premier établissement
Vie pionnière
Les Autochtones
Défis de l'émigration
Dernières années dans les bois


Premier établissement

Illustration d'une cabane en rondins tirée

Les familles Moodie et Traill ont débarqué à Cobourg à leur arrivée dans le Haut-Canada en 1832. De 1832 à 1834, période au cours de laquelle Susanna a donné naissance à deux autres enfants, les Moodie ont tenté d'exploiter une ferme déjà défrichée près de Port Hope. Les spéculations financières de John ainsi que la nécessité d'employer une aide ménagère et des ouvriers agricoles réduisaient rapidement leurs économies. Et comme ils trouvaient leurs voisins yankees hostiles et peu serviables, ils ont vendu leur première ferme et déménagé dans les bois près de Lakefield où la famille Traill avait construit une maison de rondins et défriché les toutes premières acres avec le concours de Samuel Strickland.

Haut de la page


Vie pionnière

La vie d'un pionnier dans les bois est décrite dans deux ouvrages célèbres : Roughing It in the Bush (1852) de Susanna Moodie et Les forêts intérieures du Canada (1843) de Catharine Parr Trail. Les réunions de voisins pour des travaux en commun, l'essartement, le labourage, les récoltes, le chauffage des maisons et bien d'autres aspects de la vie rude des pionniers y sont évoqués de manière vivante; on y donne aussi des descriptions relatives au climat, aux Autochtones, au paysage et à la faune.

Ces deux livres mettent en relief à la fois l'isolement et la solitude des pionniers de même que leur autosuffisance et leur système d'entraide communautaire. Les voisins exécutent en commun des projets d'envergure tels que le défrichage de la terre et la construction de maisons. Ils partagent également leur savoir en tant que sages-femmes, homéopathes, dentistes, enseignants et pasteurs. Sans ce système d'entraide, la vie dans les bois aurait été précaire, vu la distance qui séparait les fermes des villes les plus proches. En 1853, Traill a collectionné et consigné dans un précis à l'intention des femmes intitulé The Female Emigrant's Guide de nombreuses techniques et astuces de survie des pionniers.

Haut de la page


Défis de l'émigration

Les introductions des deux ouvrages précités de même que la conclusion souvent citée de Roughing It rappellent la longue lettre que John Moodie a écrite à James Traill le 8 mars 1836 concernant les conditions et les difficultés qui caractérisaient la vie des immigrants et les solutions possibles. Dans les années 1830, les Britanniques émigraient généralement pour des raisons économiques. Que l'on soit de la classe ouvrière ou de l'élite, il était impossible de se trouver en Grande-Bretagne un emploi pouvant nourrir une famille. Mais beaucoup d'émigrés n'ont pas pu prospérer parce qu'ils ne savaient pas travailler manuellement et que la colonie offrait peu de possibilités de gagner sa vie. Dans sa lettre, John souligne le besoin de capitaux pour développer l'infrastructure de la nouvelle colonie afin qu'elle puisse mieux faire vivre les colons et la mère patrie. Des investissements privés sous forme de réseaux de transport ou de transactions foncières ainsi que les services qui en découleraient pourraient constituer une autre source de revenu pour le nouvel immigrant inapte à la vie agricole dans les bois ou pour l'investisseur anglais au pays.

Haut de la page


Dernières années dans les bois

La correspondance restante des deux sï¿œurs, celle qui traite de leur vie dans les bois, montre que lettres et colis leur ont servi de liens importants avec le monde extérieur. Cela était particulièrement vrai lorsque l'émigration avait séparé les familles ou, plus près de chez eux, lorsque des événements comme la Rébellion de 1837 avait fait en sorte que John Moodie et Thomas Traill avaient quitté leur ferme pour se joindre à la milice. Pour John Moodie, l'entrée dans la milice s'est traduite par des absences prolongées. Durant ce temps, Susanna a lutté avec l'aide de ses voisins (voir leurs lettres entre février 1838 et juillet 1839). En 1839, à la suite de la nomination de John au poste de shérif du comté de Hastings, la famille Moodie a pu déménager à Belleville, échappant ainsi à ce que Susanna appelait « l'univers carcéral » [traduction libre] de la maison dans les bois (voir la lettre de John à Susanna du 24 novembre 1839 et l'introduction du livre de Susanna Life in the Clearings).

Haut de la page



Divulgation proactive