Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

IntroductionBanner: Susanna Moodie and Catharine Parr Traill
BiographiesBanner: Susanna Moodie and Catharine Parr TraillManuscripts and JournalsLettersBanner: Susanna Moodie and Catharine Parr Traill
Life in EnglandAbout the Collections
Emigration and Bush Life
Town Life
Writing and Publications
Natural Environment
Religion and Spiritualism
Matriarchs
Glossary

Lesson Plans
Resources
About This Site
Comments

Writing and Publications


English Writing
Catharine's Books for Children
Susanna's Creative Focus
Canadian Publications
Early Years
New Opportunities for Susanna
Catharine's Success


English Writing

Susanna and Catharine began writing while they were still in their teens. According to "A Slight Sketch of the Early Life of Mrs. Moodie," it was after Susanna's return home from a stay in London at the age of "about 16" that she produced Spartacus (1822), her first book, and another historical tale, "Jugurtha." Catharine, however, was the first of the Strickland sisters to have books published. Disobedience; or, Mind what Mama Says and Reformation; or The Cousins were both published in London in 1819. In autobiographical recollections Catharine mentions a first book appearing in 1818, but one has not been confirmed.

From their early starts each of the sisters maintained a steady output through their years in England. Catharine had more than a dozen books to her credit by the time she emigrated in 1832 and Susanna almost as many. Because authorship of these books was frequently indicated by citing earlier books published rather than by name, there are many incorrect attributions in the Strickland canon. Happy Because Good is an example. It and another book called Little Downey (1822) are attributed to Susanna, but both books were actually written by Catharine.

Catharine's Books for Children

Like most of Catharine's books, Happy Because Good weaves natural history with lessons in proper human conduct. In "The Tame Pheasant" information on the bird is linked to a story contrasting a bad and selfish boy with a good and generous one. Usually such contrast is also class-related in Strickland books. The advantaged child is selfish and inattentive to parents and elders, while the disadvantaged or peasant child is caring and generous. Such is the case in "The Blind Brother and the Kind Sister." A situation arises in which the haughty child needs and is given the assistance of the lowly child; the story is resolved when the former learns his lesson and the latter is rewarded.

Sketches from Nature; or, Hints to Juvenile Naturalists is an even better representation of Catharine's early writing and indicates the path her career later took. An autobiographical book, in it she renders her investigations of nature in a clear, descriptive style and backs up her observations with reference to secondary sources. Catharine's books for children can be seen as preparing her to give literary attention to a new landscape.

Susanna's Creative Focus

In addition to writing books for children, Susanna devoted much of her creative energy to poems and sketches. Her pieces appeared in the popular annual gift books and in various journals. The principal vehicle for Susanna's work was a periodical called La Belle Assemblee, edited by her friend Thomas Harral. There, she found a home for many of her poems, several of her historical tales and for a series of "Sketches from the Country." These sketches of eccentric characters, describing local lore and customs, eventually proved to be models for her representation of some of her new world experience.

Before she left Britain, Susanna was involved in three other important projects. She assisted two former West Indian slaves in telling their stories for the Anti-Slavery Society. The History of Mary Prince... and Negro Slavery Described By a Negro: Being the Narrative of Ashton Warner... were both published in 1831. In the same year, her poems were published in two separate volumes. Patriotic Songs, a collaboration with her sister Agnes, includes "Britannia's Wreath" and two other poems by Susanna. Enthusiasm and Other Poems, a volume of 214 pages, was published in London and sold by subscription.


Canadian Publications

Early Years

Clearly, Susanna and Catharine came to Upper Canada well-qualified and eager to write about new experiences. Indeed, Susanna claims in her novel Flora Lyndsay (1854) that she was busy writing during the voyage. At the time, there were few outlets for the publication of literary matter in Canada. Therefore, they sent items to American publishers with Canadian circulation, and Susanna had work published in the Canadian Literary Magazine (1833). Such works were occasionally picked up and republished in Canadian newspapers. When Catharine's manuscript for The Backwoods of Canada was ready in 1835, the lack of a Canadian publisher as well as its intended emigrant market determined that it should go to Britain. A French edition of The Backwoods of Canada, Les forêts intérieures du Canada, was published in Paris in 1843. Several of her later sketches of life in Douro Township appeared in Chambers's Edinburgh Journal, while two of Susanna's early Canadian poems were published in the Lady's Magazine.

Top of Page


New Opportunities for Susanna

In response to rebellion in Upper and Lower Canada Susanna wrote several patriotic poems. These and others written earlier in England were published in the Palladium of British America starting in December, 1837 (see John's letters to Susanna, December 25, 1838, January 24, 1839 and April 24, 1839). Another significant opportunity soon followed with the advent of Lovell's Literary Garland (Montreal) in December 1838. Susanna vividly describes her excitement at being asked to write for this magazine in "The Outbreak" chapter of Roughing It in the Bush. (See also Susanna's letters to John, February 14, 1839 and June 1, 1839). She was to be one of the Garland's major contributors, sending poems, stories and "Canadian Sketches" over the thirteen years of its existence. Susanna and her husband also published some of their own work as editors of the Victoria Magazine (Belleville, 1847–48). After the demise of the Garland and with the success of Roughing It in the Bush (1852), followed by Life in the Clearings (1853), Susanna sent most of her work to Richard Bentley, her British publisher. The first Canadian edition of Roughing It in the Bush appeared in 1871, and Susanna was involved in its preparation.

Top of Page


Catharine's Success

Catharine found a home in the Garland and the Victoria for some of her writings too, but her first Canadian publishing opportunity came in the 1850s. She found new outlets in Toronto. "Forest Gleanings," thirteen sketches about life in the bush and the clearings, appeared in the Anglo-American Magazine during 1852–53. The Maple Leaf published some of her stories for young readers; her most important contribution was serialized as "The Governor's Daughter: or, Rambles in the Canadian Forest" (1853). In 1856 it was published in England as a book, Lady Mary and Her Nurse: or, A Peep into the Canadian Forest. Catharine's next Toronto publication, the Female Emigrant's Guide, was issued in four installments by the publisher, Maclear, in 1854 and 1855. It was brought together in a single volume by the Old Countryman Office as The Canadian Settler's Guide (1855) and subsequently published in numerous Canadian and British editions.

Agnes Moodie FitzGibbon Chamberlin

For years Catharine sought a venue for her literary sketches of plant life. Her quest was partially fulfilled in a collaboration with her artistic niece, Agnes FitzGibbon, on Canadian Wild Flowers (Montreal, 1868). Eventually she was able to publish a much larger selection of her work by subscription in Studies of Plant Life in Canada (Ottawa, 1885). Her work, Pearls and Pebbles: Notes of an Old Naturalist (Toronto, 1894), also deals with her fascination with nature. In the last decade of the century a supportive relationship with Edward Caswell of the Methodist Book and Publishing House resulted in the publication of two more books and a new edition of Studies of Plant Life in Canada. It was not until 1929 that a Canadian edition of The Backwoods of Canada was published.

Top of Page



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

IntroductionBannière : Susanna Moodie et Catharine Parr Traill
BiographiesBannière : Susanna Moodie et Catharine Parr TraillManuscrits et journaux intimesLettresBannière : Susanna Moodie et Catharine Parr Traill
Vie en AngleterreÀ propos des collections
Émigration et vie dans les bois
Vie dans les villes
Écrits et publications
Milieu naturel
Religion et spiritisme
Matriarches
Glossaire

Plans de leçons
Ressources
À propos de ce site
Commentaires

Écrits et publications

Écrits anglais
Les livres pour enfants de Catharine
L'orientation créatrice de Susanna
Publications canadiennes
Premières années
Nouvelles possibilités pour Susanna
Succès de Catharine

Écrits anglais

Susanna et Catharine ont commencé à écrire à l'adolescence. Selon « A Slight Sketch of the Early Life of Mrs. Moodie », c'est à la suite du retour à la maison de Susanna après un séjour à Londres, vers l'âge de 16 ans, qu'elle a rédigé Spartacus (1822), son premier livre, et un autre récit historique, «  Jugurtha  ». Catharine, toutefois, a été la première des sï¿œurs Strickland à voir ses livres publiés. Disobedience; or Mind what Mama Says et Reformation; or The Cousins ont tous deux été publiés à Londres en 1819. Dans des souvenirs autobiographiques, Catharine mentionne un premier livre publié en 1818, mais rien n'a pu confirmer ce fait jusqu'ici.

Dès le début, les deux sï¿œurs ont maintenu une production constante au cours des années qu'elles ont passées en Angleterre. Catharine avait plus d'une douzaine de livres à son actif lorsqu'elle a émigré en 1832 et Susanna en avait presque autant. Parce qu'on indiquait fréquemment l'auteure de ces livres en citant des ouvrages publiés antérieurement au lieu d'inscrire le nom, on retrouve de nombreuses attributions fautives dans les ï¿œuvres des Strickland. Happy Because Good en est un exemple. Ce livre et un autre intitulé Little Downey (1822) sont attribués à Susanna, mais ils ont été rédigés en réalité par Catharine.

Les livres pour enfants de Catharine

Comme la plupart des livres de Catharine, Happy Because Good entremêle l'histoire naturelle à des leçons de comportement humain. Dans «  The Tame Pheasant  », l'information qu'elle donne sur l'oiseau est liée à une histoire faisant le contraste entre un enfant difficile et égoïste et un enfant bon et généreux. Habituellement, un tel contraste est lié à la classe sociale dans les livres de Strickland. L'enfant favorisé est égoïste et n'écoute pas ses parents ni ses aînés, alors que l'enfant défavorisé ou venant de la campagne se soucie des autres et est généreux. Il en est de même dans «  The Blind Brother and the Kind Sister  ». Dans ce récit, l'enfant arrogant a besoin de l'aide de l'enfant humble, et l'obtient; à la fin, l'enfant arrogant a reçu une leçon et l'autre est récompensé.

Sketches from Nature; or, Hints to Juvenile Naturalists représente encore plus fidèlement les premiers écrits de Catharine et laisse entrevoir la direction que prendra sa carrière plus tard. Dans cet ouvrage autobiographique, l'auteure rend ses recherches sur la nature dans un style clair et descriptif et appuie ses observations au moyen de références à des sources secondaires. On peut dire que les livres pour enfants de Catharine l'ont préparée à porter une attention toute littéraire à un nouveau paysage.

L'orientation créatrice de Susanna

Outre la rédaction de livres pour enfants, Susanna a consacré le plus clair de son énergie créatrice à écrire des poèmes et à faire des esquisses. Ses pièces ont paru dans des livres cadeaux populaires publiés annuellement et dans diverses revues. Le moyen principal pour Susanna de faire connaître ses ï¿œuvres consistait à les faire paraître dans un périodique appelé La Belle Assemblée, publié par son ami Thomas Harral. C'est dans ce périodique qu'elle a pu placer bon nombre de ses poèmes, plusieurs récits historiques et une série de «  Sketches from the Country  » (esquisses de la campagne). Ces esquisses de personnages excentriques, qui décrivaient des traditions et des coutumes locales, ont servi de modèles pour décrire certaines de ses expériences dans son nouveau milieu.

Avant de quitter la Grande-Bretagne, Susanna a participé à trois autres projets importants. Elle a aidé deux anciens esclaves des Antilles à relater leur histoire pour la Société anti-esclavagiste. Les volumes The History of Mary Prince... et Negro Slavery Described By a Negro: Being the Narrative of Ashton Warner ont tous deux été publiés en 1831. La même année, elle a publié ses poèmes en deux volumes. Patriotic Songs, rédigé en collaboration avec sa sï¿œur Agnes, comprend « Britannia's Wreath » et deux autres poèmes de Susanna. Enthusiasm and Other Poems, volume de 214 pages, a été publié à Londres et vendu par abonnement.


Publications canadiennes

Premières années

Il ne fait aucun doute que Susanna et Catharine étaient bien qualifiées et enthousiastes à l'idée de consigner sur papier leurs nouvelles expériences à leur arrivée au Haut-Canada. En effet, Susanna déclare, dans son roman Flora Lyndsay (1854), qu'elle s'était occupée à écrire tout au long du voyage. Et comme le Canada offrait à l'époque peu de débouchés pour les ï¿œuvres littéraires, elles envoyaient leurs manuscrits à des éditeurs américains ayant des tirages canadiens. Certaines ï¿œuvres de Susanna ont été publiées dans le Canadian Literary Magazine (1833) et reprises de temps à autre dans des journaux canadiens. En 1835, une fois achevée la rédaction de The Backwoods of Canada, Catharine, faute d'éditeur canadien et de marché cible, celui des émigrants, a décidé d'envoyer le manuscrit en Grande-Bretagne. Une édition française de The Backwoods of Canada, intitulée Les forêts intérieures du Canada, a été publiée à Paris en 1843. Plusieurs de ses descriptions ultérieures évoquant la vie dans le comté de Douro ont paru dans le Chambers's Edinburgh Journal, tandis que Susanna a vu deux de ses premiers poèmes composés au Canada être publiés dans le Lady's Magazine.

Haut de la page


Nouvelles possibilités pour Susanna

Devant la rébellion du Haut-Canada et du Bas-Canada, Susanna a réagi en faisant paraître plusieurs poèmes patriotiques qui, comme les autres écrits rédigés plus tôt en Angleterre, ont été publiés dans Palladium of British America à partir de décembre 1837 (voir les lettres de John à Susanna du 25 décembre 1838, du 24 janvier 1839 et du 24 avril 1839). Peu de temps après, le lancement du magazine montréalais Literary Garland par Lovell en décembre 1838 lui a ouvert une autre porte. Au chapitre intitulé « The Outbreak » de Roughing It in the Bush, tout comme dans certaines lettres à son mari (14 février 1839 et 1er juin 1839), Suzanne décrit avec éclat son enthousiasme de se voir invitée à écrire pour le compte du magazine. Livrant poèmes, récits et descriptions (« Canadian Sketches »), Susanna a été l'une des grandes collaboratrices du magazine durant ses treize années d'existence. Susanna et son mari ont également publié un certain nombre de leurs propres ï¿œuvres dans le Victoria Magazine qu'ils dirigeaient à Belleville (1847-1848). Après la fin du Literary Garland et compte tenu du succès de Roughing It in the Bush (1852), ouvrage suivi de Life in the Clearings (1853), Susanna a transmis la plus grande partie de son travail à Richard Bentley, son éditeur britannique. La première édition canadienne de Roughing It in the Bush a été publiée en 1871 avec son étroite collaboration.

Haut de la page


Succès de Catharine

Catharine a aussi trouvé dans le Literary Garland et le Victoria Magazine une vitrine pour quelques-unes de ses ï¿œuvres, mais elle a dû attendre les années 1850 pour voir s'ouvrir sa première porte dans le monde de l'édition canadienne, notamment à Toronto. « Forest Gleanings », série de treize descriptions évoquant la vie dans l'arrière-pays et les clairières, a paru dans l'Anglo-American Magazine (1852-1853). Le Maple Leaf a publié un certain nombre de ses récits pour les jeunes; « The Governor's Daughter: or, Rambles in the Canadian Forest » (1853), sa plus importante contribution, a été publié en feuilleton. En 1856, elle a paru en Angleterre sous forme d'un livre intitulé Lady Mary and Her Nurse: or, A Peep into the Canadian Forest. Sa publication torontoise suivante, Female Emigrant's Guide, a été livrée en quatre fascicules par l'éditeur Maclear en 1854 et en 1855. L'Old Countryman Office l'a réunie en un seul volume, The Canadian Settler's Guide (1855), lequel a connu de nombreuses éditions tant au Canada qu'en Grande-Bretagne.

Agnes Moodie FitzGibbon Chamberlin

Pendant des années, Catharine a cherché un débouché pour ses résumés littéraires au sujet de la flore. Elle a partiellement comblé cette attente en collaborant avec Agnes Fitzgibbon, sa nièce très douée pour les arts, à la mise au point de Canadian Wild Flowers (Montréal, 1868). Par la suite, elle a publié par abonnement une partie plus importante de son ï¿œuvre dans Studies of Plant Life in Canada (Ottawa, 1885). Catharine parle aussi de la fascination qu'exerce la nature sur elle dans son livre Pearls and Pebbles: Notes of an Old Naturalist (Toronto, 1894). Au cours de la dernière décennie du siècle, elle a pu, grâce à ses relations cordiales avec Edward Caswell de Methodist Book and Publishing House, faire paraître deux autres ouvrages et une nouvelle édition de Studies of Plant Life in Canada. Ce n'est qu'en 1929 qu'on a publié une édition canadienne de The Backwoods of Canada.

Haut de la page



Divulgation proactive