Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

IntroductionBanner: Susanna Moodie and Catharine Parr Traill
BiographiesBanner: Susanna Moodie and Catharine Parr TraillManuscripts and JournalsLettersBanner: Susanna Moodie and Catharine Parr Traill
Life in EnglandAbout the Collections
Emigration and Bush Life
Town Life
Writing and Publications
Natural Environment
Religion and Spiritualism
Matriarchs
Glossary

Lesson Plans
Resources
About This Site
Comments

Religion and Spiritualism

Importance of Faith
Catharine's Unwavering Anglicanism
Susanna's Practical Faith
Spiritualism

Importance of Faith

Susanna Moodie and Catharine Parr Traill, like many women of their time and background, were sustained throughout their often challenging lives by a deep Christian belief in God's purpose and providence. No matter how difficult the struggle to survive, or how deep the pain of loss or illness, Victorians like Susanna and Catharine, brought up in the Church of England, never doubted that God would give them the strength to endure and overcome their trials.

Catharine's Unwavering Anglicanism

Of the two sisters, Catharine was the most consistent in her adherence to the Church of England. Throughout the family's years in the backwoods, with no clergy nearby, all the Traill children were baptized at St. John's Anglican Church in Peterborough. After 1838, when the Traills left the backwoods, the family name appears in the church registers of each small community they moved to. Traill's letters often refer to the local Anglican minister, to other parishioners and to church activities. They also quote frequently (if not always accurately) from the Bible. Faith was a life-long comfort to Catharine, who spent almost half of her 98 years as a relatively poor widow. During that time she mourned the deaths in adulthood of her two eldest sons and her youngest daughter, as well as the loss of all her sisters and brothers. In her later years we often see Catharine ponder God's purpose in keeping her alive to witness such sadness, but her faith in that purpose never wavered.

Susanna's Practical Faith

Susanna, though she never wavered in her belief in God, did from time to time explore other denominations of Protestantism. In her youth she was briefly and enthusiastically converted to the nonconformist Congregational Church in Wrentham, a village near Reydon Hall, much to the horror of her conservative and traditional family. However, she seems to have returned to the Church of England by the time of her marriage a year later at London's St. Pancras Church. Her first child, Katie, was baptized at St. Margaret's Anglican Church in the village of Reydon in February, 1832. Throughout her Canadian years in the bush and in Belleville, Susanna seems to have pursued a practical path with respect to public worship, choosing to attend services and churches as they presented themselves, rather than to adhere to one denomination that might only be able to meet infrequently. In Belleville, for a short time, she and her husband attended the Congregational chapel (see Town Life), but for the most part they divided their worship between Anglican and Presbyterian congregations.

Spiritualism

Closely allied to religion, and to the Victorian preoccupation with death and the hereafter, was the mid-century phenomenon of Spiritualism. Adherents to this movement believed that they might make contact with loved ones who had died and passed over to another dimension of existence. The usual means for making such contact was through the services of a medium at a séance or gathering of those who believed in Spiritualism. Both Susanna and John Moodie read a great deal about it; John, especially, sought to understand it "scientifcally" and wrote long letters to the Spiritual Telegraph and Fireside Preacher of New York in the late 1850s, discussing his own experiences and experiments with spiritualism.

The Moodies became interested in séances in the mid-1850s, at first as a way to contact deceased family members (see John Moodie's "Spiritualism Album," page 13, in which Moodie reports contact with Johnny, their drowned son) and old friends. They were visited in Belleville in the summer of 1855 by Kate, the youngest of the "Rochester Rappers," the celebrated Fox sisters. The Moodies' daughter, Agnes, served as an effective medium on many occasions (see "Spiritualism Album," July 1857), something which, in later years when Agnes had become an Ottawa society woman, worried the Album's custodian, Kate Vickers (see note by C.M.M.Vickers in "Spiritualism Album"). Catharine Parr Traill also acted as a medium when she visited the Moodies in Belleville, though Susanna reported to Richard Bentley in a letter dated May 2, 1858, "her spirits often abuse her and call her ugly names" (see "Spiritualism Album," December 1857 and March 1858). Susanna herself had become a medium that spring (see "Spiritualism Album," April 1858) and by the late summer had succeeded in communicating with her beloved drowned son (see "Spiritualism Album," September 1858).

The Moodies' obsession with Spiritualism began to wane in the late 1850s and seems to have completely disappeared by the mid 1860s when controversy surrounding the authenticity of unscrupulous mediums, including the Fox sisters, was raging.



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

IntroductionBannière : Susanna Moodie et Catharine Parr Traill
BiographiesBannière : Susanna Moodie et Catharine Parr TraillManuscrits et journaux intimesLettresBannière : Susanna Moodie et Catharine Parr Traill
Vie en AngleterreÀ propos des collections
Émigration et vie dans les bois
Vie dans les villes
Écrits et publications
Milieu naturel
Religion et spiritisme
Matriarches
Glossaire

Plans de leçons
Ressources
À propos de ce site
Commentaires

Religion et spiritisme

Importance de la foi
L'anglicanisme invétéré de Catharine
La foi pratique de Susanna
Spiritisme

Importance de la foi

Susanna Moodie et Catharine Parr Traill, comme de nombreuses femmes de leur époque et de leur niveau d'instruction, puisaient leur force au cours de leur vie, souvent difficile, dans une croyance chrétienne profonde dans les fins de Dieu et sa providence. Peu importent les épreuves à surmonter pour survivre ou l'intensité de la douleur après la perte d'un être cher ou une maladie, les Victoriens comme Susanna et Catharine, élevés dans l'Église anglicane, ne doutaient jamais que Dieu leur donnerait la force d'endurer et de surmonter les épreuves.

L'anglicanisme invétéré de Catharine

Des deux sï¿œurs, Catharine était la plus cohérente dans son adhésion aux principes de l'Église anglicane. Tout au long des années que la famille a passées dans l'arrière-pays, loin des membres du clergé, les enfants Traill ont été baptisés à l'église anglicane St. John, à Peterborough. Après 1838, lorsque les Traill ont quitté l'arrière-pays, le nom de la famille figurait dans les registres d'église de chacune des petites communautés où ils ont déménagé. Les lettres de Traill font souvent mention du ministre anglican de la région, des autres paroissiens et des activités qui se déroulaient à l'église. On y trouve fréquemment cités (mais pas toujours fidèlement) des passages de la Bible. Tout au long de sa vie, la foi a été source de réconfort pour Catharine, qui a été une veuve relativement pauvre durant près de la moitié de ses 98 ans de vie. Pendant ce temps, elle a pleuré la mort, à l'âge adulte, de ses deux fils aînés et de sa plus jeune fille, de même que la mort de tous ses frères et sï¿œurs. Au cours des dernières années de sa vie, Catharine s'interrogeait souvent sur ce qui pouvait pousser Dieu à la garder en vie pour être témoin de tels événements tristes, mais sa foi dans les fins de Dieu n'a jamais été ébranlée.

La foi pratique de Susanna

Bien que sa foi en Dieu n'ait jamais été ébranlée, Susanna a exploré à l'occasion d'autres confessions du protestantisme. Pendant ses jeunes années, elle s'est convertie brièvement et avec enthousiasme à l'Èglise non conformiste, Congregational Church, à Wrentham, village près de Reydon Hall, au grand désespoir de sa famille conservatrice et traditionnelle. Toutefois, il semble qu'elle soit revenue à l'Église anglicane avant son mariage, qui a eu lieu un an plus tard à l'église St. Pancras de Londres. Sa première enfant, Katie, a été baptisée à l'église anglicane St. Margaret dans le village de Reydon, au mois de février 1832. Tout au long des années qu'elle a passées au Canada dans les bois et à Belleville, Susanna semble avoir conservé une approche pratique de l'exercice public du culte en choisissant de fréquenter les services et l'église à leur disposition, au lieu d'adopter exclusivement une confession qui ne lui permettait peut-être pas de pratiquer fréquemment. À Belleville, pendant une courte période, elle et son mari se sont rendus à la chapelle Congregational (voir Vie dans les villes), mais la plupart du temps, ils se sont partagés entre les cultes anglicans et presbytériens.

Spiritisme

Phénomène associé au milieu du siècle, le spiritisme était étroitement lié à la religion et à la préoccupation de l'époque victorienne à l'égard de la mort et de l'après. Les adeptes de ce mouvement croyaient qu'ils pouvaient entrer en communication avec des êtres chers qui avaient rendu l'âme et étaient passés dans une autre dimension de l'existence. Le moyen habituel d'établir de telles communications consistait à faire appel aux services d'un médium à une séance de spiritisme ou à une rencontre réunissant les croyants du spiritisme. Susanna et John Moodie ont beaucoup lu sur le sujet; John, surtout, a tenté de comprendre ce phénomène d'un point de vue « scientifique ». Il a écrit des lettres au Spiritual Telegraph and Fireside Preacher de New York à la fin des années 1850 dans lesquelles il décrivait ses propres expériences et expérimentations avec le spiritisme.

Les Moodie se sont intéressés aux séances de spiritisme au milieu des années 1850, d'abord pour communiquer avec des membres défunts de la famille (voir « Spiritualism Album » de John Moodie, page 13, dans lequel Moodie mentionne qu'il a communiqué avec Jonny, leur fils mort noyé) et de vieux amis. En 1855, Kate, la plus jeune des « Rochester Rappers », les sï¿œurs Fox bien connues, a rendu visite à la famille à Belleville à l'été de 1855. La fille des Moodie, Agnes, a fait efficacement office de médium à plusieurs occasions (voir « Spiritualism Album », juillet 1857), ce qui, des années plus tard alors qu'Agnes était devenue une femme de la haute société à Ottawa, inquiétait parfois la dépositaire du « Spiritualism Album », Kate Vickers (voir note de C.M.M.Vickers dans « Spiritualism Album »). Catharine Parr Traill a également agi comme médium lorsqu'elle a visité les Moodie à Belleville, même si Susanna a mentionné à Richard Bentley, dans une lettre en date du 2 mai 1858, que « ses esprits l'injuriaient souvent et lui donnaient de vilains noms » (voir « Spiritualism Album », décembre 1857 et mars 1858). Susanna elle-même est devenue médium le printemps suivant (voir « Spiritualism Album », avril 1858) et, à la fin de l'été, elle avait réussi à communiquer avec son fils noyé qu'elle aimait tant (voir « Spiritualism Album », septembre 1858).

L'obsession des Moodie pour le spiritisme a commencé à fléchir à la fin des années 1850 et semble avoir complètement disparu dès le milieu des années 1860 lorsque la controverse entourant l'authenticité de médiums sans scrupules, y compris les sï¿œurs Fox, faisait rage.



Divulgation proactive