Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > War and Military > The Men of the North West Mounted Police Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

ARCHIVED - " Without Fear, Favour or Affection:" The Men of the North West Mounted Police

Fighting Crime

Biography: Alick Pennycuick

Previous

Described by one writer as the Sherlock Holmes of the North West Mounted Police (NWMP), Alick Pennycuick had what can only be described as a mixed career with the police. Born in India in December 1867 and educated in England, he immigrated to Canada and engaged with the NWMP on February 22, 1893, regimental number 2868. He served in Depot Division until volunteering for the Yukon in March 1898.

On Christmas Day, 1899, George O'Brien and an accomplice murdered three men, Fred Clayson, Lawrence Olsen and Lynn Relfe near Minto, Yukon. O'Brien was known to police, but it was Constable Pennycuick who scoured the killer's camp for several days in search of evidence. From January until May 1900, Pennycuick was relentless in his determination to collect as much evidence as he could to ensure that O'Brien was convicted of his crime. As a result, O'Brien was convicted of murder and hanged at Dawson on August 23, 1900.

By this time, Pennycuick had taken his discharge from the Mounted Police. He returned to the Prairies and was re-engaged at Regina on July 21. With his reputation for hard work and success, he was often assigned detective duties. He was promoted to corporal on November 13, 1903, at Calgary, Alberta.

Pennycuick was instrumental in the arrest of murderer Ernest Cashel in 1903. Promoted to the rank of sergeant in October 1904, he later served at Fort Saskatchewan, Lethbridge, and Little Bow. He took his discharge on August 15, 1907, and assumed the position of Chief of Police at Fernie, B.C. With a change of mind, he resigned and tried to re-engage with the Mounted Police, but was turned down.

Alick Pennycuick, the "Sherlock Holmes" of the NWMP, died of pneumonia at Cranbrook, B.C., on September 25, 1908.

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Guerre et armée > Les hommes de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

ARCHIVÉE - « Sans craindre ni favoriser qui que ce soit » : les hommes de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest

Combattre le crime

Biographie : Alick Pennycuick

Précédent

Dépeint par un écrivain comme étant le Sherlock Holmes de la PCN-O, Alick Pennycuick connaît au sein de la force une carrière pour le moins diversifiée. Né en Inde en décembre 1867 et éduqué en Angleterre, il immigre au Canada et s'enrôle dans la PCN-O le 22 février 1893, sous le numéro de matricule 2868. Il sert dans la Division dépôt pendant un certain temps, jusqu'à ce qu'il se porte volontaire pour être muté au Yukon en mars 1898.

Le jour de Noël de 1899, George O'Brien et un complice tuent trois hommes, Fred Clayson, Lawrence Olsen et Lynn Relfe, près de Minto, au Yukon. O'Brien est bien connu de la police, mais gendarme Pennycuick passe au peigne fin le campement du présumé tueur pendant plusieurs jours à la recherche de preuves. De janvier à mai 1901, il ne ménage aucun effort pour recueillir le plus d'éléments de preuve possible afin de pouvoir inculper O'Brien du crime qu'il a commis. Ses efforts portent fruit puisque O'Brien est reconnu coupable de meurtre et pendu à Dawson, le 23 août 1901.

Entre-temps, l'agent Pennycuick décide de quitter le corps policier. Toutefois, de retour dans les Prairies, il réintègre les rangs de la force à Regina le 21 juillet. Reconnu pour son travail acharné et ses succès, il est souvent affecté à des enquêtes. Il reçoit le grade de caporal le 13 novembre 1903, à Calgary, en Alberta.

Le caporal Pennycuick joue un rôle déterminant dans l'arrestation du meurtrier Ernest Cashel en 1903. Promu sergent en octobre 1904, il sert ensuite à Fort Saskatchewan, à Lethbridge et à Little Bow, en Alberta. Il quitte à nouveau la PCN-O le 15 août 1907 et devient chef de police à Fernie, en Colombie-Britannique. Il change cependant d'idée et démissionne de son poste de chef de police dans le but d'être réengagé dans la Police à cheval, mais on le lui refuse.

Alick Pennycuick, le « Sherlock Holmes » de la PCN-O, meurt d'une pneumonie le 25 septembre 1908 à Cranbrook, en Colombie-Britannique.