Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Preservation

Preservation Activities

Library and Archives Canada Audiovisual Migration Strategy

September, 2009

8. Risk Management

Previous |Table of Contents | Next

The objective of this strategy is to ensure the preservation of audiovisual content stored on obsolete audio and video formats. Maintaining the status quo and non-implementation of the Audiovisual Migration Strategy will increase risk to that portion of the collection, eventually dooming that content to inaccessibility. Ultimately, LAC will risk not being able to fulfill its mandated responsibility to safeguard the documentary heritage of Canada.10

8.1 Key Risks (KR)

LAC's Initial Corporate Risk Profile (July, 2007) identified 8 key risks that could potentially have a major impact on achieving the institution's strategic objectives. The issues addressed by this strategy can be mapped to 4 of the 8 key risks.

Key Risk Number 3: Preservation of digital and analog documentary heritage. The risk, for LAC, of not being able to assume all of its responsibilities in terms of the preservation and access to documentary heritage in electronic and analog format, due to lack of the appropriate financial, human and technological resources, or a lack of trustworthy partners.

  • There is a risk that LAC will not be able to preserve audiovisual recordings in time due to the obsolescence issue facing each of the many audio and video formats in the collection. This risk will increase over time as the technological and human resources required to guarantee access will become more difficult and more costly to acquire and maintain.

Key Risk Number 4: Long-term accommodation and technological infrastructure. The risk, for LAC, of not being able to assume all of its long-term responsibilities in terms of the preservation and access to documentary heritage under its care, due to a lack of appropriate material and technological infrastructure.

  • There is a risk that a lack of appropriate technological infrastructure will render audiovisual recordings in LAC's collection inaccessible. A wide variety of increasingly obsolete equipment will have to be maintained for the foreseeable future in order to ensure collection usability.

Key Risk Number 6: Financial sustainability. The risk, for LAC, of a lack of resources or budget to ensure its core activities or the establishment of the necessary conditions to meet its growing obligations.

  • There is a risk that a lack of financial resources will prevent LAC from implementing a program of migration of the scale and duration necessary to successfully preserve access to the audio and video collection.

Key Risk Number 7: Availability and competency of human resources. The risk, for LAC, of not being up to ensuring the transition of its institutional knowledge to its new generations of employees or not being able to recruit or renew its human capital with staff that have the appropriate knowledge and skills.

  • There is a risk that a shortage of specialized expertise will endanger LAC's ability to preserve access to audio and video recordings. Already scarce expert knowledge will have to be continually transferred between employees as it is unlikely that LAC will be able to recruit staff with the ability to operate and repair the obsolete equipment required to access audiovisual recordings.

8.2 Risk Assessment

The 8 corporate key risks were assessed and plotted on a matrix, illustrated below, to indicate their likelihood of occurrence and their impact on business. All of the key risks associated with audiovisual migration are situated in the red zone which indicates management effort is required and essential to enact measures to mitigate risks to a tolerable level.

IMPACT

3 Significant

Yellow

Red

Red

KR #3: Preservation of digital documentary heritage (Loss of access to the AV Collection)

KR #4: Long-term accommodation and technological infrastructure (Lack of Technological Infrastructure)

KR #6: Financial sustainability (Lack of resources for implementation)

2 Moderate

Green

Yellow

Red

KR #7: Availability and competency of human resources (Expertise deficiency)

1 Low

Green

Green

Yellow

 

1 Low

2 Medium

3 High

LIKELIHOOD

8.3 Risk Mitigation

Mitigation of the risks associated with migrating a collection of audio and video documentary heritage, as outlined in this strategy and in the action plan, will rely on:

  • a strategic approach to considering the preservation and access requirements of the entire collection, within established institutional policies and approaches
  • implementing a format-priority approach to migration
  • identifying standard target preservation formats
  • applying technology to automate, wherever possible, migration and metadata capture
  • facilitating ingest and management of digital collection material by Trusted Digital Repository services
  • obtaining financial and human resources necessary to accomplish migration of the entire collection over time
  • establishing equipment and infrastructure acquisition and maintenance programs, and
  • project management and governance to ensure efficiency, economies of scale, alternate service delivery, and collaborative ventures.

10 LAC's mandate is elaborated in the Library and Archives of Canada Act (http://lois.justice.gc.ca/en/showtdm/cs/L-7.7//20091014).

Previous |Table of Contents | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Préservation

Des activités de préservation

Stratégie de migration des enregistrements audiovisuels de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Septembre, 2009

8. Gestion des risques

Précédent | Table des matières | Suivant

La présente stratégie vise à assurer la préservation du contenu audiovisuel dont les formats audio et vidéo sont présentement obsolètes. Le statu quo et la non-application de la stratégie de migration des enregistrements audiovisuels augmenteront les risques pour cette partie de la collection, jusqu'à en rendre le contenu inaccessible. En définitive, BAC risquera de ne plus être en mesure de s'acquitter de son obligation imposée par son mandat, laquelle consiste à protéger le patrimoine documentaire du Canada10.

8.1 Principaux risques (PR)

Dans son profil initial du risque (juillet 2007), BAC a déterminé huit (8) principaux risques qui pourraient avoir une incidence importante sur l'atteinte de ces objectifs stratégiques. Les questions qui sont abordées par la présente stratégie touchent quatre (4) de ces risques.

Risque principal (RP) 3 : Préservation du patrimoine documentaire en formats numérique et analogique. Le risque, pour BAC, de ne pas être à même d'assumer toutes ses responsabilités en regard de l'accès au patrimoine documentaire en formats électronique et analogique et de sa préservation par manque de ressources financières, humaines et technologiques adéquates ou en l'absence des partenariats dignes de confiance.

  • Il y a le risque que BAC ne soit pas en mesure de préserver les enregistrements audiovisuels en temps opportun en raison de l'obsolescence de nombreux formats audio et vidéo de la collection. Le risque augmentera au fil du temps, alors qu'il sera de plus en plus difficile de disposer des ressources techniques et humaines nécessaires pour assurer l'accès à ces enregistrements et qu'il en coûtera de plus en plus cher de les acquérir et d'en assurer leur maintenance.

Risque principal 4 : Infrastructures à long terme des aménagements et de la technologie. Le risque, pour BAC, de ne pas être à même d'assumer, à long terme, toutes ses responsabilités en regard de l'accès au patrimoine documentaire sous sa garde et de sa préservation par manque d'infrastructures matérielles et technologiques adéquates.

  • Il y a le risque qu'un manque d'infrastructures technologiques adéquates rende inaccessible les enregistrements audiovisuels de la collection de BAC. Pour veiller à ce que l'on puisse utiliser la collection, il faudra entretenir, dans un avenir prévisible, un large éventail d'appareils de plus en plus obsolètes.

Risque principal 6 : Viabilité financière. Le risque, pour BAC, d'un manque de ressources ou de budget pour assurer ses activités de base ou l'instauration des conditions nécessaires pour rencontrer ses obligations croissantes.

  • Il y a le risque qu'un manque de ressources financières empêche BAC de mettre en œuvre un programme de migration à l'échelle et de la durée nécessaires pour préserver l'accès à la collection audio et vidéo.

Risque principal 7 : Disponibilités et compétences des ressources humaines. Le risque, pour BAC, de ne pas être à même d'assurer la transmission de son savoir institutionnel à ses nouvelles générations d'employés ou de ne pouvoir recruter ou renouveler son capital humain avec du personnel possédant les connaissances et les compétences adéquates.

  • Il y a le risque qu'une pénurie de l'expertise spécialisée mette en danger la capacité de BAC de préserver l'accès aux enregistrements audio et vidéo. Les connaissances approfondies, déjà rares, devront être continuellement transférées entre les employés, car il est peu probable que BAC soit en mesure de recruter du personnel ayant la capacité de faire fonctionner et de réparer le matériel obsolète nécessaire pour avoir accès aux enregistrements audiovisuels.

8.2 Évaluation des risques

Les huit principaux risques ministériels ont été évalués et portés sur une matrice, illustrée ci-dessous, pour indiquer leur probabilité et leur incidence sur les activités. Tous les principaux risques associés à la migration des enregistrements audiovisuels se trouvent dans la zone rouge, ce qui indique la nécessité de déployer des efforts en matière de gestion et de prendre des mesures pour ramener les risques à un niveau tolérable.

INCIDENCE

3 Importante

Jaune

Rouge

Rouge

RP 3 : Préservation du patrimoine documentaire en format numérique (perte de l'accès à la collection audiovisuelle)

RP 4 : Infrastructures à long terme des aménagements et de la technologie (manque d'infrastructures technologiques)

RP 6 : Viabilité financière (manque de ressources pour la mise en oeuvre)

2 Modérée

Vert

Jaune

Rouge

RP 7 : Disponibilités et compétences des ressources humaines (lacune en matière d'expertise)

1 Faible

Vert

Vert

Jaune

 

1 Faible

2 Moyenne

3 Fort

PROBABILITÉ

8.3 Atténuation des risques

Tel qu'il est indiqué dans la présente stratégie et le plan d'action, l'atténuation des risques associée à la migration du patrimoine documentaire audio et vidéo d'une collection reposera sur ce qui suit :

  • Une approche stratégique pour tenir compte des exigences liées à la préservation de l'ensemble de la collection et à son accès, à l'intérieur des politiques et approches institutionnelles établies;
  • La mise en œuvre d'une approche pour la migration dont la priorité est accordée en fonction des formats;
  • La détermination de formats de préservation normalisés ciblés;
  • L'application de la technologie pour automatiser, dans la mesure du possible, la migration et la saisie des métadonnées;
  • La facilitation de l'intégration et de la gestion du contenu de la collection numérique par les services du dépôt numérique fiable;
  • L'obtention des ressources humaines et financières nécessaires pour réaliser, au fil du temps, la migration de tout le contenu de la collection;
  • L'établissement de programmes d'acquisition et d'entretien d'appareils et d'infrastructures;
  • La gestion et la gouvernance de projets pour assurer l'efficacité, des économies d'échelle, d'autres modes de prestation des services et des projets de collaboration.

10 Le mandat de BAC est articulé dans la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada. (http://lois.justice.gc.ca/fr/L-7.7/index.html).

Précédent | Table des matières | Suivant