Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - The Archivist

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

no. 16
The Proclamation of 1763
A model for the establishment of Treaties

Although treaties between the Indians and the colonial officials were reached prior to the Royal Proclamation of 1763, the latter served as a model for the establishment of such arrangements. When an agreement is reached between two nations, it is signed and sealed, giving rise to a contractual obligation to fulfil it. Early treaties between Indian nations and colonial governors were usually resolutions of "peace and friendship." From approximately the nineteenth century, these arrangements typically involved an Indian tribe ceding land to the Crown and, in return, the Crown promising the Indians reserves of land as well as special rights in areas such as hunting and fishing.

In the Proclamation of 1763, King George III of England declared a British system of governing in the areas that had been surrendered by France, and pronounced that the Indians and their lands would be treated with respect. In practice, the British Crown negotiated with the Indians and arrived at mutually agreeable treaties.

This notion of acquisition of Indian land by consent was not new to North America, and so for existing British colonies the Proclamation of 1763 merely confirmed an established practice. In the territories formerly held by the French, however, much was to change. Prior to 1763, the French maintained that once they discovered and occupied a region, they became absolute sovereigns. According to this approach, the Indians had no title or other rights and hence no position from which to negotiate. French officials left the responsibility of any dealings with the Indians with the Catholic Church, whose role was, through religious instruction, to assimilate them into the European culture. The Proclamation of 1763 clearly marked a new beginning for these Indians, but also established the foundation for future Indian/government relations. Canadian jurisprudence on the Proclamation has held that the principle of treaty negotiations extends not only to the old and new British colonies referred to in the document itself, but to present-day Canada as a whole. In this way it remains a very significant and useful instrument in Indian affairs.

The British promise to reach a consensus peacefully rested on the belief that Indians held rights in North America. Contained within these was the right to land. Any regions found to be essential to the Indians’ way of life were not to be disturbed. Indian land could be settled only after a formal agreement between Indian leaders and the government had been reached. By negotiating treaties like this, the Crown ensured stability in these territories. After many years of war with Indian tribes that sided with the French, the British realized that if they wished to settle North America, peace with the Indians was essential. The Proclamation of 1763 was the Crown’s first expression of good faith.

It appeared that the Proclamation of 1763 had nothing but the most noble intentions. In fact there were some flaws in it at the time, and other ones that have developed recently. For example, it declared that the Crown was best suited to alienate Indian lands. This meant that all leases and sales of Indian lands would be forever conducted through the Crown as an intermediary. Responsibility and control thus lay with the governing officials and the Indians, conveying a hierarchical relationship rather than an equal partnership. This inequality was also evident in the Proclamation’s implicit preference for written treaties. Unlike the Europeans, who had recognized written agreements for several centuries, North American Indians believed in an oral tradition. Indians formed treaties among themselves by conducting ceremonies marked by the exchange of "wampum"or traditional beadwork. The actual treaty was oral and would be passed on through the generations in this way. In the agreements between the Indians and government officials, attempts were made to combine the two traditions, but over time it became apparent that the written word held greater legal weight than the oral tradition.

C-130523a C-130523b

Capitulations and extracts of treaties relating to Canada: with His Majesty’s Proclamation of 1763 …
Quebec: P.E. Desbarats, 1800, pp. 26-27.
(C-130523)

Another weakness in the Proclamation of 1763 lies in the nature of the document. Unlike other pronouncements of its stature, it does not have Constitutional status. The Constitutional Act of 1982 contains a schedule of all our constitutional documents, and no materials prior to Confederation in 1867 are included. There is, however, reference to the Proclamation of 1763 in section 25.a of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. It states that the rights and freedoms recognized by the Proclamation fall under the Charter’s protection. Given these conflicting interpretations, the strength of the Proclamation remains unclear.

Treaties created as a consequence of the Proclamation are also in a rather nebulous position. In effect, Indian treaties are only as strong as the respect accorded to them by the various provincial or federal governments in power. This is because treaties are only equal to any other piece of legislation and can be overridden by new enactments. Indeed, laws have been passed that limit the extent of the rights originally granted to certain treaty Indians. This is of particular concern in light of section 25 of the Charter, which states that it will grant protection only to "existing" native rights or freedoms. Modifications to the treaties by way of legislation could mean that former Indian rights would be forever extinguished.

Despite its curious status vis-à-vis our Constitution and some of its other deficiencies, the Proclamation of 1763 is still considered a very important document for understanding Indian/government relations and for interpreting the treaties that were born from and guided by it. Its enormous value to our documentary history is also supported by the fact that it has been referred to as the "Indian Bill of Rights" or equivalent to the "Magna Carta" for Indian affairs.

In the face of these positive qualities, it is curious to report that the National Archives holds no surviving originals. There are several transcribed copies of both the October 7, 1763, document proclaimed by the King in England and the one later pronounced by the Superintendent of Indian Affairs, Sir William Johnson, in North America on December 24, 1763; the National Archives also has a negative photostat of this latter document. For its part, the Canadian Institute for Historical Microreproductions (CIHM) has determined that there are five known originals. One is held by the Society of Antiquarians in England, another by the Privy Council Library in London, England, a third by the Massachusetts Archives in Boston (CIHM has obtained a microfilmed copy of this one), a fourth by Brown University in Providence, Rhode Island, and the last by McGill University in Montreal in the Lande Room. Individuals interested in conducting research on the Royal Proclamation of 1763 can also consult numerous published versions of the document and contact the National Archives to read correspondence of various people associated with this historical event.

Jackie Henry
Government Archives Division

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - L’Archiviste

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

numéro 16
La Proclamation royale de 1763
Le principe des négociations pour les traités

Bien que des traités entre les Amérindiens et les agents des colonies aient été conclus avant la Proclamation royale de 1763, celle-ci a servi de modèle à la conclusion de tels accords. Une fois les négociations terminées, il ne reste plus qu’à ratifier l’entente en y apposant signature et sceau, ce qui crée une obligation contractuelle de la respecter. Les premiers traités entre les Amérindiens et les gouverneurs des colonies étaient habituellement des résolutions «de paix et d’amitié». À compter du XIXe siècle environ, ces accords prévoyaient généralement la cession de terres par une tribu amérindienne à la Couronne, laquelle, en contrepartie, s’engageait à lui créer des réserves foncières et à lui garantir des droits particuliers, par exemple pour la chasse et la pêche.

Dans la Proclamation de 1763, le roi George III d’Angleterre exposait le régime d’administration britannique des territoires cédés par la France et déclarait que les Amérindiens et leurs terres seraient traités avec respect. En pratique, la Couronne britannique s’engagea à négocier avec les Autochtones pour conclure des traités mutuellement acceptables.

Cette façon d’agir n’était pas nouvelle en Amérique du Nord; pour les colonies britanniques existantes, la Proclamation de 1763 ne faisait donc que confirmer une pratique établie. Ce n’était pas le cas des anciens territoires français, puisque, avant 1763, les Français se posaient en maîtres absolus sur toute région découverte et occupée par eux. Les Amérindiens se trouvaient donc dépourvus de tout titre ou de tout droit et n’étaient aucunement en position de négocier. Les dirigeants français laissaient aux missionnaires le soin de traiter avec les Amérindiens. Leur rôle consistait surtout à les évangéliser. En plus de signifier un nouveau départ pour les Amérindiens, la Proclamation de 1763 jetait les bases des relations futures entre eux et le gouvernement. Selon les décisions judiciaires rendues au Canada qui s’en inspirent, le principe des négociations sur les traités s’étend non seulement aux colonies britanniques anciennes et nouvelles, dont il est explicitement fait mention dans ce document, mais aussi à l’ensemble du territoire canadien d’aujourd’hui. Dans ce sens, elle demeure un outil très important et très utile en ce qui a trait aux affaires indiennes.

La promesse britannique d’en venir à un consensus de façon pacifique avait comme postulat que les Amérindiens détenaient des droits en Amérique du Nord, y compris le droit à un territoire. Toutes régions jugées essentielles au mode de vie amérindien devaient être laissées intactes. Ce territoire ne pouvait être colonisé qu’après ratification d’une entente en bonne et due forme entre les chefs amérindiens et le gouvernement. En négociant de tels traités, la Couronne était assurée d’un certain niveau de stabilité dans ces territoires. Après avoir longtemps guerroyé contre les tribus amérindiennes amies des Français, les Britanniques ont compris que la colonisation de l’Amérique du Nord passait immanquablement par la paix avec ses protagonistes. La Proclamation de 1763 constituait la première expression de bonne foi de la Couronne britannique.

Au départ, ce document semblait procéder d’intentions absolument nobles. En fait, dès l’origine il comportait des lacunes, et d’autres se sont fait jour récemment. Par exemple, il y était stipulé que la Couronne représentait la partie la plus apte à céder des terres appartenant aux Autochtones, ce qui signifiait que toute location ou toute vente de terres amérindiennes devait passer par l’intermédiaire de la Couronne. La responsabilité et le contrôle en la matière reposaient entre les mains de fonctionnaires de la Couronne et non entre celles des Amérindiens, ce qui impliquait une relation hiérarchique plutôt qu’un rapport d’égalité. La préférence implicite pour des traités écrits qu’on retrouve dans la Proclamation ne fait que renforcer cette inégalité. En effet, contrairement aux Européens qui reconnaissaient depuis plusieurs siècles les accords écrits, les Amérindiens avaient foi en la tradition orale et concluaient entre eux des traités au moyen de cérémonies marquées par l’échange de wampums (broderies de perles traditionnelles). Oral, le traité était transmis sous cette forme de génération en génération. On a tenté de combiner les deux traditions dans les ententes entre les Amérindiens et la Couronne, mais au fil des ans il est devenu évident que, juridiquement, le document écrit avait plus de poids que la tradition orale.

C-130523a C-130523b

Capitulations et extraits des traités concernant le Canada; avec la Proclamation de sa Majesté, de 1763.
Québec, P.E. Desbarats, 1800, p. 26-27. Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.
(C-130523)

Une autre lacune de la Proclamation de 1763 réside dans la nature du document. À la différence des autres textes officiels de cette importance, elle n’a pas de statut constitutionnel. La Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 contient une annexe énumérant tous les documents constitutionnels; on n’y trouve aucun document d’avant la Confédération (1867). L’article 25a de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés fait toutefois mention de la Proclamation de 1763, en indiquant que la Charte garantit les droits et libertés reconnus par la Proclamation. Étant donné ces divergences d’interprétation, le poids réel de la Proclamation demeure incertain.

Le statut des traités issus de la Proclamation est aussi nébuleux. Dans les faits, le poids des traités autochtones équivaut essentiellement au respect qui leur est accordé par les divers gouvernements provinciaux ou fédéral en place, puisque les traités ont le même statut qu’une loi et peuvent donc être contournés par de nouvelles lois, ce dont on ne s’est d’ailleurs pas privé pour limiter la portée de droits initialement accordés par traité. Ce point devient tout particulièrement préoccupant à la lumière de l’article 25 de la Charte, qui indique que seuls sont garantis les droits et libertés «existants». Une modification des traités par voie législative pourrait signifier l’extinction permanente de droits amérindiens reconnus.

Malgré la précarité de son statut constitutionnel et ses autres carences, la Proclamation de 1763 demeure un document très important pour quiconque souhaite comprendre les relations entre les Autochtones et le gouvernement et interpréter les traités issus de la Proclamation ou orientés par celle-ci. La preuve de son énorme valeur pour notre histoire documentaire vient du fait qu’on l’a surnommée la «Déclaration des droits indiens» ou la «Magna Carta» des affaires autochtones.

Compte tenu de ces qualités, il est surprenant que les Archives nationales n’en possèdent aucun original. La Division des manuscrits a en main plusieurs transcriptions du document proclamé le 7 octobre 1763 par le roi d’Angleterre et du document ultérieurement édicté en Amérique du Nord le 24 décembre 1763 par le surintendant aux Affaires indiennes, sir William Johnson; la Division des archives gouvernementales a un photostat négatif de ce dernier document. De son côté, l’Institut canadien des microreproductions historiques (ICMH) a recensé cinq originaux connus : l’un est détenu par la Society of Antiquarians d’Angleterre; un autre par la Privy Council Library à Londres; un troisième se trouve aux Massachusetts Archives à Boston (l’ICMH s’est procuré un microfilm); un quatrième à l’Université Brown, à Providence (Rhode Island); et enfin un dernier à la salle Lande de l’Université McGill à Montréal. Par ailleurs, quiconque mène des recherches sur la Proclamation de 1763 peut aussi consulter diverses versions publiées du document et contacter les Archives nationales pour lire la correspondance des personnes associées à cet événement historique.

Jackie Henry
Division des Archives gouvernementales