Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Image of a magazine cover featuring a black and white photograph of and an article about The Guess Whos

Source

Front cover of R.P.M.: Records Promotion Music. Vol. 3, No. 2. Week of March 8th, 1965.

Image of a magazine cover featuring a black and white photograph of Mick Jagger on stage, holding a microphone

Source

Front cover of RPM Weekly. Vol. 23, No. 18. June 28, 1975.

Image of a magazine cover featuring a cartoon beaver on a background of red maple leaves

Source

Front cover of RPM Weekly. Vol. 32, No. 16. January 19, 1980.

Image of a magazine cover featuring a black and white photograph of Stan Klees and Shania Twain

Source

Front cover of RPM. Vol. 62, No. 8. September 25, 1995.

Image of a magazine cover featuring a colour photograph of Sky and their new album, "Travelling Infinity"

Source

Front cover of the last issue of RPM. Vol. 71, No. 7. November 13, 2000.

RPM  

About This Site

Database

The RPM database includes all charts represented in the full publication run of RPM Weekly, from 1964 to 2000. There are currently three ways to search the RPM database: simple keyword searching, advanced searching and browsing. The charts have been digitized in their entirety, and users can view full-page images or zoom in to take a closer look.

Technical Information

This site uses the LizardTech DjVu software plug-in for viewing RPM chart images. DjVu offers the ability to magnify, reduce and manipulate an RPM chart image. Without the plug-in, the page display appears in a standard image format that cannot be manipulated. We recommend that you download DjVu for enhanced viewing of the charts.

Acknowledgements

Library and Archives Canada gratefully acknowledges the contribution of the AV Preservation Trust in the development of this project. We thank Richard Green, Acting Director of the Music Division, Library and Archives Canada, for the conceptualization and supervision of the project.

Special thanks to Stan Klees for generously sharing his time, his memories and his personal photographs, and to the late Walt Grealis, for his boundless enthusiasm and unerring belief in Canadian music.

We also gratefully acknowledge the contribution of the Canadian Institute for Historical Microreproductions (CIHM). Established in 1978, CIHM is a nonprofit organization dedicated to preserving and providing access to early Canadian publications, first on microfiche and now online. CIHM provided quality control and optical character recognition (OCR) services for the RPM charts. For more information about CIHM, visit the CIHM Web site at www.canadiana.org/cihm/index.html.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Image de la page couverture d’un magazine comprenant une photographie et un article au sujet de The Guess Whos

Source

La page couverture du magazine R.P.M.: Records Promotion Music, vol. 3, no. 2, semaine du 8 mars 1965

Image de la page couverture d’un magazine comprenant une photographie de Mick Jagger sur scène, tenant un microphone

Source

La page couverture du magazine R.P.M. Weekly, vol. 23, no. 18, semaine du 28 juin 1975

Image de la page couverture d’un magazine comprenant une bande dessinée d’un castor, avec des feuilles d’érable rouges en arrière plan

Source

La page couverture du magazine R.P.M. Weekly, vol. 32, no. 16, semaine du 19 janvier 1980

Image de la page couverture d’un magazine comprenant une photographie en noir et blanc de Stan Klees et Shania Twain

Source

La page couverture du magazine R.P.M., vol. 62, no. 8, le 25 septembre 1995

Image de la page couverture d’un magazine comprenant une photographie de Sky et leur album, « Travelling Infinity »

Source

La dernière page couverture du magazine R.P.M. vol. 71, no. 7, semaine du 13 novembre 2000

RPM  

À propos du site

La base de données

Le site RPM donne accès à une base de données qui comprend tous les palmarès parus dans RPM Weekly, revue publiée entre 1964 et 2000. Il y a trois façons de mener une recherche dans la base de données du site RPM : en faisant une simple recherche par mot clé, en faisant une recherche avancée, ou encore en explorant. Les palmarès ont été numérisés en entier et les utilisateurs peuvent visualiser une image pleine page ou regarder de plus près par zoom.

Renseignements techniques

Ce site emploie le plugiciel DjVu de LizardTech pour afficher les images des palmarès. DjVu vous permet d'agrandir, de réduire et de manipuler une image de palmarès. Sans ce plugiciel, la page affichée apparaît dans un format standard qui ne permet pas de manipuler l'image. Nous vous recommandons de télécharger DjVu pour mieux voir les images des palmarès.

Remerciements

C'est avec gratitude que Bibliothèque et Archives Canada souligne la contribution du Trust pour la préservation de l'AV à la réalisation de ce projet. Nous remercions Richard Green, chef intérimaire de la Division de musique de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, pour la conceptualisation et la direction du projet.

Nous tenons surtout à remercier Stan Klees de nous avoir accordé son temps et de nous avoir partagé ses souvenirs et ses photographies personnels. Nous remercions aussi le défunt Walt Grealis pour son enthousiasme illimité et pour sa confiance catégorique dans la musique canadienne.

Nous sommes reconnaissants à la contribution de l'Institut canadien de microreproductions historiques (ICMH). Fondé en 1978, l'ICMH est un organisme à but non lucratif consacré à la préservation et à l'accessibilité des publications canadiennes anciennes, d'abord sur microfiche et maintenant en ligne. L'ICMH a fourni des services en matière de contrôle de qualité et en reconnaissance optique des caractères (ROC) des palmarès de RPM. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'ICMH veuillez visiter le site Web de l'ICMH à l'adresse suivante : www.canadiana.org/cihm/index.html.