Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Medal bearing photo of Sir John A. Macdonald, prepared for his funeral in 1891

Source

Medal bearing photo of Sir John A. Macdonald, prepared for his funeral in 1891

ARCHIVED - Sir John A. Macdonald
Canada's Patriot Statesman

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

The Legacy

In the modest tradition that is associated with Canada, few monuments have been built to honour Sir John A. Macdonald. Unlike his nation-founding peers, Macdonald's role in building this country has left little physical evidence on the Canadian landscape.

Title page of a pamphlet entitled INAUGURATION OF MONTREAL'S MONUMENT TO THE LATE RIGHT HON. SIR JOHN MACDONALD, G.C.B., BY HIS EXCELLENCY THE EARL OF ABERDEEN, GOVERNOR-GENERAL OF CANADA, JUNE 6TH, 1895, Montréal: s.n., 1895
Reference

Title page of a pamphlet entitled Inauguration of Montreal's Monument to the Late Right Hon. Sir John Macdonald, G.C.B., by His Excellency the Earl of Aberdeen, Governor-General of Canada, June 6th, 1895, Montréal: s.n., 1895

George Washington, for example, is commemorated by coins and paper currency, a university, a 500-foot tall monument, a capital city, a state, a bridge and even a mountain with his likeness permanently carved into it, all in recognition of his efforts in building the United States of America. But Macdonald, although every bit as integral to the genesis of his country as Washington was to his, has seemed to slip from the Canadian consciousness. There are no cities or provinces named in his honour, no institutes of higher learning, no monumental landmarks.

Even the pieces of our country that do bear his name-such as the shared honour of the Macdonald-Cartier freeway (Highway 401 in Ontario) and the Macdonald-Cartier International Airport in Ottawa-are rarely called by their formal titles. His image also adorns the Canadian $10 bill, but it took 110 years for Canadian parliamentarians to commemorate Macdonald with a national day named for him-January 11, which is recognized as Macdonald's birthday. But the day usually comes and goes unnoticed, without so much as a mention in newspapers and on television.

Photograph of the Sir John A. Macdonald Monument, Parliament Hill, Ottawa, ca. 1900 - 1939
Source

Sir John A. Macdonald Monument, Parliament Hill, Ottawa, ca. 1900 - 1939

"Canadians . . . for all their becoming modesty, do not seem well equipped to deal with greatness, to praise famous men and women," said Liberal MP John Godfrey, the sponsor of the Sir John A. Macdonald Day bill, during debate in the House of Commons in 2001.

"It is regrettable that in Canada, with those examples before us . . . we lack that kind of robust celebration of our great historical figures and the great moments in our history," said Canadian Alliance (now Conservative) MP Jason Kenney, also during the debate.

Article, "Setting the record straight," in the newspaper THE KINGSTON WHIG-STANDARD, on the historical record of Sir John A. Macdonald, June 5, 1999
Source

"Setting the record straight," in The Kingston Whig-Standard, June 5, 1999

The high regard in which Ottawa's political class holds Macdonald is not always reflected in other regions. In Victoria, British Columbia, where Macdonald ran for a seat in Parliament in 1870 after Kingston voters rejected him, the Victoria Times-Colonist published a blistering editorial in 2000 criticizing Macdonald's legacy in its city and province. The editorial was published during a debate over whether to move the city's Macdonald statue from its location in a troubled neighbourhood to a more publicly acceptable spot. "It can be argued that Sir John A. is fine where he is," the editorial stated, "perfectly representative of government as he stares blindly at the drug dealing and prostitution on Broad Street without doing a damn thing about it."

Excerpt of speech, "Let's do more to honour Sir John A.," by the Right Honourable John Turner, in THE KINGSTON WHIG-STANDARD, on the historical record of Sir John A. Macdonald, January 11, 2001
Source

"Let's do more to honour Sir John A.," by the Right Honourable John Turner, in The Kingston Whig-Standard, January 11, 2001

Macdonald's policies on federalism shaped constitutional debates a century after his death. Former Progressive Conservative prime minister Brian Mulroney used Macdonald's own words to win support for his constitutional reforms package known as the Charlottetown Accord, which sought to recognize Quebec as a "distinct society."

"In choosing federalism, we put an end to the notion that the path to Canadian unity lay through submerging our diversity in a unitary state," Mulroney said at an address at Macdonald's grave in 1991. "Rather, we chose a system in which provinces are sovereign in their respective areas."

Article, "Canada's Father of Confederation Was True Son of Kingston," from THE KINGSTON WHIG-STANDARD, honouring Sir John A. Macdonald, January 9, 1965
Source

"Canada's Father of Confederation Was True Son of Kingston," in The Kingston Whig-Standard, January 9, 1965

Several of Macdonald's modern peers have said that his true legacy is the way he pieced Canada together-through patience, pragmatism and patriotism. "We don't put a value on coalition and consensus like he did," said Preston Manning, former aspirant to the Prime Minister's Office as the leader of the Reform Party of Canada. "When people look to cross party lines, it's almost looked on as a weakness rather than a strength. In a country that is as diverse as Canada, you can't hold it together unless you had those skills. And Macdonald had those skills."

Article, "Canada, Kingston Honor Sir John A.," in THE KINGSTON WHIG-STANDARD, January 10, 1967
Source

"Canada, Kingston Honor Sir John A.," in The Kingston Whig-Standard, January 10, 1967

According to Conservative Senator Hugh Segal, Macdonald's legacy to the country is the country itself. "Without Macdonald we'd be a country that begins somewhere at the Manitoba-Ontario border that probably goes throughout the east. Newfoundland would be like Alaska and I think that would also go for Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and B.C. We'd be buying our oil from the United States. It would diminish our quality of life and range of careers, and our role in the world would have been substantially reduced."

In 2004, a CBC television contest named Sir John A. Macdonald the eighth greatest Canadian of all time. Ahead of him were two other prime ministers, a provincial premier and a brash hockey commentator. The seven ahead of Macdonald have all achieved success, perhaps greatness, but without Macdonald, there may not have been a country where they could become great.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Médaille portant une photographie de sir John A. Macdonald, préparée pour ses funérailles en 1891

Source

Médaille portant une photographie de sir John A. Macdonald, préparée pour ses funérailles en 1891

ARCHIVÉE - Sir John A. Macdonald
homme d'État canadien et patriote

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Le legs

Fidèle à sa tradition de modestie, le Canada n'a érigé que bien peu de monuments pour honorer la mémoire de sir John A. Macdonald. Contrairement à ce qui s'est fait ailleurs pour les bâtisseurs de pays, il se trouve fort peu d'éléments tangibles dans le paysage canadien, fort peu d'éléments matériels, pour rappeler le rôle que Macdonald a joué dans la création du Canada.

Page titre d'une brochure intitulée INAUGURATION OF MONTREAL'S MONUMENT TO THE LATE RIGHT HON. SIR JOHN MACDONALD, G.C.B., BY HIS EXCELLENCY THE EARL OF ABERDEEN, GOVERNOR-GENERAL OF CANADA, JUNE 6TH, 1895, Montréal, s.l., 1895
Référence

Page titre d'une brochure intitulée Inauguration of Montreal's Monument to the Late Right Hon. Sir John Macdonald, G.C.B., by His Excellency the Earl of Aberdeen, Governor-General of Canada, June 6th, 1895, Montréal, s.l., 1895

Chez nos voisins du sud, par exemple, des billets de banque et de la monnaie, une université, un monument de 500 pieds de haut, la capitale du pays, un état, un pont et même une montagne, dans laquelle on a sculpté son portrait, sont là pour perpétuer le souvenir de George Washington, et pour reconnaître les efforts qu'il a déployés pour construire les États-Unis d'Amérique. Ici, même si Macdonald est lié d'aussi près à la genèse de son pays que Washington l'a été pour le sien, tout se passe comme s'il avait disparu de notre mémoire collective. Aucune ville, aucune province, aucun établissement d'enseignement supérieur ne porte son nom. Aucun point d'intérêt d'envergure ne lui est dédié.

Même les infrastructures de notre pays qui portent effectivement son nom — parfois en partage avec d'autres, comme l'autoroute Macdonald-Cartier (la 401 en Ontario) et l'Aéroport international Macdonald-Cartier d'Ottawa — sont rarement désignées par leur nom officiel. L'effigie de Macdonald figure bien sur notre billet de 10 $, mais il a fallu attendre 110 ans pour que les parlementaires canadiens instituent une journée nationale en son honneur — le 11 janvier, soit la date reconnue comme étant le jour d'anniversaire du politicien. Mais il faut dire que cette journée passe habituellement inaperçue, alors que ni la télévision, ni les journaux n'en font mention.

Photographie d'un monument en l'honneur de sir John A. Macdonald, sur la Colline du Parlement, Ottawa, entre 1909 et 1939?
Source

Monument en l'honneur de sir John A. Macdonald, sur la Colline du Parlement, Ottawa, entre 1909 et 1939?

« Les Canadiens […], en dépit de toute leur bienséante modestie, ne semblent pas bien armés pour réagir devant les grands personnages, pour faire l'éloge d'hommes et de femmes célèbres. », a déclaré en 2001, lors du débat à la Chambre des communes, le député libéral John Godfrey, parrain du projet de loi visant à instituer la Journée sir John A. Macdonald.

« Il est regrettable qu'au Canada, alors que nous avons ces exemples [les États-Unis et le Royaume-Uni] sous les yeux, […] nous ne célébrions pas avec autant d'enthousiasme nos grands personnages historiques et les grands moments de notre histoire. », a alors déploré, dans le cours du même débat, le député de l'Alliance canadienne (aujourd'hui membre du Parti conservateur du Canada) Jason Kenney.

Article, « Setting the record straight », tiré du journal THE KINGSTON WHIG-STANDARD, sur les archives concernant sir John A. Macdonald, le 5 juin 1999
Source

« Setting the record straight », article tiré du journal The Kingston Whig-Standard, le 5 juin 1999

La haute estime dans laquelle la classe politique à Ottawa tient Macdonald ne trouve pas toujours d'échos dans les autres régions du Canada. Ainsi en est-il, par exemple, du journal britanno-colombien Victoria Times-Colonist, de la ville même où Macdonald avait cherché à se faire élire au parlement en 1870, après avoir été rejeté par les électeurs de Kingston. En 2000, au moment où l'on envisageait la possibilité de déplacer la statue de Macdonald, d'un quartier malfamé de la ville, vers un lieu public plus paisible, le journal a publié un éditorial cinglant, critique du legs que le politicien a laissé à la ville et à la province : « On peut faire valoir que sir John A. se trouve bien là où il est, tout à fait représentatif du gouvernement, fixant, sans les voir, les trafiquants de drogue et les prostituées de Broad Street, sans rien y faire. »

Extrait du discours, « Let's do more to honour Sir John A. », du très honorable John Turner, dans le journal THE KINGSTON WHIG-STANDARD, sur les archives concernant sir John A. Macdonald, le 11 janvier 2001
Source

« Let's do more to honour Sir John A. », du très honorable John Turner, dans le journal The Kingston Whig-Standard, le 11 janvier 2001

Les politiques de Macdonald sur le fédéralisme façonneront les débats constitutionnels qui auront lieu un siècle après sa mort. C'est ainsi les mots mêmes de Macdonald que le très honorable Brian Mulroney, premier ministre progressiste-conservateur, reprendra alors pour chercher à obtenir le soutien nécessaire au train de réformes constitutionnelles qui, destinées à faire partie de l'Accord de Charlottetown, visaient à faire reconnaître le Québec comme « société distincte ».

« En choisissant le fédéralisme, nous mettons de côté la notion selon laquelle le chemin menant à l'unité canadienne passe par le sacrifice de notre diversité au profit d'un État unitaire », avait en effet déclaré Mulroney en 1991, lors d'une allocation prononcée sur la tombe de Macdonald. « Nous avons plutôt opté pour un régime qui permet aux provinces d'exercer leur souveraineté dans leurs domaines respectifs. »

Article, « Canada's Father of Confederation Was True Son of Kingston », tiré du journal THE KINGSTON WHIG-STANDARD, en l'honneur de sir John A. Macdonald, le 9 janvier 1965
Source

« Canada's Father of Confederation Was True Son of Kingston », tiré du journal The Kingston Whig-Standard, le 9 janvier 1965

Les pairs actuels de Macdonald sont nombreux à soutenir que son véritable legs est la façon — faite tout aussi bien de patience et de pragmatisme que de patriotisme — dont il a réussi à rassembler les éléments constitutifs du Canada. « Nous n'arrivons pas à valoriser autant que lui les notions de coalition et de consensus, d'estimer Preston Manning, l'ancien chef du Parti réformiste du Canada qui ambitionnait de devenir premier ministre du Canada. Lorsque quelqu'un envisage de déroger à la ligne de parti, on tend à y voir plutôt un signe de faiblesse qu'un signe de force. Dans un pays aussi diversifié que le Canada, on ne peut maintenir l'unité sans avoir ces qualités. Et Macdonald les possédait ces qualités. »

Article, « Canada, Kingston Honor Sir John A. », tiré du journal THE KINGSTON WHIG-STANDARD, le 10 janvier 1967
Source

« Canada, Kingston Honor Sir John A. », tiré du journal The Kingston Whig-Standard, le 10 janvier 1967

Selon le sénateur conservateur Hugh Segal, le legs de Macdonald au pays, c'est précisément le pays lui-même. « Sans Macdonald, nous formerions un pays qui commence à un point quelconque de la frontière entre le Manitoba et l'Ontario pour s'étendre vers l'est. Terre-Neuve serait comme l'Alaska, et je crois qu'il en irait de même pour le Manitoba, pour la Saskatchewan et pour la Colombie-Britannique. Nous achèterions notre pétrole aux Américains. Notre qualité de vie et nos possibilités de carrière seraient moindres, et le rôle que nous jouons dans le monde serait considérablement réduit. »

En 2004, les participants à un concours organisé par la chaîne CBC ont placé sir John A. Macdonald au huitième rang parmi les plus grandes personnalités canadiennes de tous les temps. Deux premiers ministres fédéraux, un premier ministre provincial et un pugnace commentateur de hockey ont obtenu un meilleur classement que lui. Mais il convient de souligner que, si les sept personnalités qui ont obtenu un vote supérieur ont connu du succès et acquis de la notoriété, il n'en demeure pas moins que, sans Macdonald, il n'y aurait peut-être pas eu de pays où ils auraient pu devenir célèbres.