Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Sir John A. Macdonald
Canada's Patriot Statesman

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Art

Painting of Sir John A. Macdonald, by Thomas Horsburgh, ca. 1883 - 1884
Source

Sir John A. Macdonald, by Thomas Horsburgh, ca. 1883 - 1884

At Library and Archives Canada (LAC), the documentary art related to Sir John A. Macdonald ranges from stately oil portraits to political cartoons and campaign posters. These works of art are all the more valuable to LAC because photography was a new technology during Macdonald's lifetime and its use was limited. As well as depicting people and events, these various art forms and illustrations reveal the attitudes of artists and the general public to history in the making.

A political cartoon, for example, uses exaggeration and distortion to show the point of view of the artist in relation to public figures and political events. Among the most prominent cartoonists of Macdonald's time was John Wilson Bengough, who founded the satirical magazine Grip. Bengough created a lighthearted image of Macdonald as a misbehaving and gangly figure. Much as they still do today, Bengough's cartoons provided editorial comment on current events with images that were amusing and informative to every level of reader-even the illiterate. This art form was especially important during Macdonald's day, when literacy rates were much lower. People who could not read about the Pacific Scandal could still learn from Bengough's illustrations that Macdonald had been involved in grand political mischief.

Watercolour, THE WATER LILY AT ANCHOR IN SUNSET, RIVIÈRE DU LOUP, by Lady Agnes Macdonald, July 1880
Source

The Water Lily at Anchor in Sunset, Rivière du Loup, by Lady Agnes Macdonald, July 1880

Among its collection of more than four million paintings, prints, drawings, sculptures, photographs, films and caricatures, LAC holds a number of the most famous works of art featuring Macdonald. The earliest painting of John A. Macdonald, by an unknown artist, dates back to the 1840s and depicts the future prime minister as a dapper young redhead. Two other paintings, of his first wife Isabella and their son, Hugh John, were reproduced and set into the reverse side of a gold locket that also contains the first known photographic image of Macdonald. Etchings of Macdonald are featured on postage stamps to mark special anniversaries. One such stamp reproduces Robert Harris's famous painting of the 1864 Québec Conference, where Macdonald and his colleagues urged the Maritime provinces to join Confederation.

Every artistic medium presents unique challenges to LAC conservators. Like photographs, art is stored or displayed away from direct light, in climate-controlled environments. These precautions ensure that colours do not fade and that heat and cold do not cause the materials to expand or contract. To prevent damage from oil or salt carried on hands, cotton gloves are worn by anyone who handles works of art.

Painting depicting Prime Ministers Wilfrid Laurier and John A. Macdonald as saints watching over Vincent Massey, who was appointed in 1926 as Canada's first High Commissioner to Washington, by James Edward Hervey Macdonald, 1927
Source

Vincent Massey appointed first Canadian High Commissioner to the United States, by James Edward Hervey
 Macdonald, 1927

In addition to the works depicting Sir John and his family, a surprising and lovely feature of the Macdonald collection are the watercolours painted by Agnes, Macdonald's second wife. Whether of wooded walkways around Ottawa or water scenes at the family's summer home near Rivière-du-Loup in Quebec, these paintings offer a glimpse of Macdonald's private world, which was as fascinating as his public life.

Visit the Gallery of Art to see more from the LAC collection.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Sir John A. Macdonald
homme d'État canadien et patriote

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Œuvres d'art

Tableau représentant Sir John A. Macdonald, par Thomas Horsburgh, vers 1883 - 1884
Source

Sir John A. Macdonald, par Thomas Horsburgh, vers 1883 - 1884

Dans la collection de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC), les œuvres d'art se rattachant à sir John A. Macdonald vont des majestueux portraits à l'huile aux caricatures politiques et affiches de campagne. Ces œuvres d'art revêtent d'autant plus d'importance pour BAC que, à l'époque de Macdonald, la photographie n'était encore qu'une technique naissante, et que peu de gens y avaient recours. Sans compter que ces autres formes d'art et d'illustration offrent l'avantage de révéler l'attitude des artistes et des gens en général face à l'histoire qui se façonnait devant eux.

Dans les caricatures politiques, par exemple, l'artiste exagère, déforme la réalité pour mieux exprimer ses vues sur les personnages publics et sur les événements politiques. John Wilson Bengough, le fondateur du magazine satirique Grip, demeure l'un des caricaturistes les plus importants de l'époque de Macdonald. On lui doit la joyeuse image d'un Macdonald dégingandé et vilain. Un peu à la manière des caricaturistes d'aujourd'hui, Bengough commente les événements de l'actualité en créant des images qui, à la fois amusantes et informatives, arrivent à rejoindre les lecteurs de tous les niveaux. Même les analphabètes. C'est dire toute l'importance de cette forme d'art à l'époque de Macdonald, alors que l'analphabétisme était beaucoup plus répandu qu'aujourd'hui. Et que les gens incapables de lire les articles sur l'affaire du Pacifique dans les journaux ont sans doute appris que Macdonald était impliqué dans un grand scandale politique grâce aux illustrations de Bengough.

Aquarelle intitulée THE WATER LILY AT ANCHOR IN SUNSET, RIVIÈRE DU LOUP, par Lady Agnes Macdonald, juillet 1880
Source

The Water Lily at Anchor in Sunset, Rivière du Loup, par Lady Agnes Macdonald, juillet 1880

Il se trouve, dans la collection de BAC de plus de quatre millions de tableaux, de gravures, de dessins, de sculptures, de photographies, de films et de caricatures, certaines des plus célèbres œuvres d'art représentant Macdonald. Le portrait le plus ancien de John A. Macdonald, d'un peintre inconnu, date des années 1840 et montre le futur premier ministre sous les traits d'un jeune roux soigné de sa personne. Deux autres toiles, de sa première épouse Isabella et de leur fils, Hugh John, ont été reproduites afin d'orner le revers d'un médaillon en or contenant la première image photographique connue de Macdonald. Des eaux-fortes de Macdonald figurent sur des timbres-poste commémorant des événements spéciaux. L'un de ces timbres représente la célèbre toile de Robert Harris dépeignant la Conférence de Québec de 1864, durant laquelle Macdonald et ses collègues presseront les provinces maritimes d'entrer dans la Confédération.

Chaque moyen d'expression pose un défi particulier pour le personnel de BAC responsable de la conservation des œuvres. Tout comme les photographies, les œuvres d'art sont entreposées et exposées à l'abri de la lumière directe du soleil, dans une chambre spéciale où la température et l'humidité sont contrôlées. Ces précautions permettent d'éviter que les couleurs s'affadissent et que la chaleur ou le froid provoquent l'expansion ou la contraction des matériaux. Puisque l'huile et le sel présents sur les mains pourrait causer une détérioration des œuvres d'art, quiconque les manipule doit le faire en portant des gants de coton.

Tableau représentant les premiers ministres Wilfrid Laurier et John A. Macdonald comme des saints surveillant Vincent Massey, nommé premier haut-commissaire du Canada à Washington en 1926, peint par James Edward Hervey Macdonald, 1927
Source

Vincent Massey, premier haut-commissaire du Canada aux États-Unis, par James Edward Hervey Macdonald, 1927

Au-delà des œuvres représentant sir John et sa famille, l'un des éléments particulièrement intéressants du fonds Macdonald est une série d'aquarelles, tout aussi étonnantes que charmantes, peintes par lady Agnes, la seconde épouse de sir John. Qu'elles figurent des allées boisées des environs d'Ottawa ou encore des cours d'eau aux alentours de la maison d'été familiale située près de Rivière-du-Loup au Québec, ces aquarelles lèvent un peu le voile sur la vie privée de Macdonald, aussi passionnante que le fut sa vie publique.

Venez découvrir, dans notre Galerie d'œuvres d'art, d'autres pièces de la collection de BAC.