Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > Browse Selected Topics > SOS! Canadian Disasters Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: SOS! Canadian Disasters
IntroductionDisaster Media ReportsSearchHelpWaterEarthAirFireIceTrans-Canada Airlines CrashHurricane HazelRegina Tornado

Air

In the preface of her book Hurricane Hazel, Betty Kennedy (1979, vii-viii) refers to the importance of remembering and retelling of disasters as a way of reaffirming life:

For a time it puzzled me that so many individuals who had personally met disaster should be able to go back and relive it. Gradually I came to feel that in a curious and complex way, their retelling did many things: it was at once a way of saying, "Yes, I remember," and "We have been able to survive." And it was also a way of expressing a never-ending wonderment at the life force that is in us all. The remembering is a reaffirmation of life.

The disaster stories remembered in this section are similar in that they tell of horrific damage and loss of life. They also tell however, of the determined spirit of those who survived to rebuild their lives. This rebuilding was often with the help of strangers, in addition to family and friends.

Photograph of a city street showing several damaged homes and piles of rubble, Regina, 1912

Source

Regina after the tornado, June 30, 1912

Regina's tornado occurred in 1912, when the city (and the Province of Saskatchewan for that matter) was quite new and perhaps less equipped to deal with a disaster of this magnitude. There were fewer conveniences such as telephones, flashlights and vehicles -- conveniences that were taken for granted by mid-century.

Photograph showing a close-up of debris from the plane crash at Ste-Thérèse-de-Blainville, Quebec, November 1963

Source

Debris at the airplane crash site, Ste-Thérèse-de-Blainville, Quebec, November 1963

When Hurricane Hazel hit Toronto in 1954, the rarity of a hurricane wreaking havoc in the interior of Canada took both the authorities and the population at large by surprise, and left a high death toll in its wake.

The Trans-Canada Airlines crash of 1963, in Montréal, was not exactly related to bad weather but instead had more to do with faulty equipment. The heavy rainfall that preceded the crash, and the snowfall afterwards, however, did play an important role in the inability to come to a definite conclusion regarding the cause of the crash.

These three events are certainly not the only Canadian disasters pertaining to "air" that have occurred over the years. A powerful and devastating tornado hit Edmonton on July 31, 1987, killing 27 people, injuring 600 and leaving 1,700 homeless, with an estimated total cost of over $665 million. While tornadoes are not unusual events on the prairies, the magnitude of the loss of life and damage of this tornado were particularly severe; over a 100-year span beginning in 1879, seven tornadoes have hit the Edmonton region, killing a total of 22 people.

Likewise, hurricanes are not rare on the east coast of Canada. In 2003, Hurricane Juan left behind devastating damage and multi-day electrical blackouts in Halifax and other areas of Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island. At least seven people were killed. Another hurricane that struck the Maritimes in June 1959 left 33 people dead.

And, of course, there have been other accidental Canadian plane crashes. An Air Ontario F-28 passenger plane crashed near Dryden, Ontario in 1989, killing 24 people and injuring 45. In December 1956 a Trans-Canada Airlines North Star disappeared outside Vancouver, en route to Calgary, with 62 people on board. That plane was not found until May 1957, when it was discovered on Mount Slesse, B.C.

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Explorer les thèmes choisis > SOS! Les catastrophes au Canada English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière : SOS! Les catastrophes au Canada
IntroductionReportages sur les catastrophesRechercheAideEauTerreAirFeuGlaceL'écrasement du DC-8 des Lignes aériennes Trans-CanadaL'ouragan HazelLa tornade de Regina

L'air

Dans la préface de son livre intitulé Hurricane Hazel, Betty Kennedy écrit qu'il est important de se souvenir des catastrophes et de continuer à les raconter, car c'est une façon de réaffirmer la vie.

Pendant un certain temps, j'avais de la difficulté à comprendre que tellement de gens qui avaient vécu une catastrophe soient capables de retourner en arrière et de revivre leur expérience. Petit à petit, j'ai eu l'impression que pour eux, de façon étrange et inexplicable, le fait de raconter ce qui s'était passé représentait bien des choses. C'était une façon de dire « Oui, je m'en souviens » et « Oui, nous sommes passés à travers ». Mais c'était aussi une façon d'exprimer un émerveillement constant devant la force vitale qui nous habite tous. En se souvenant, on réaffirme la vie. [traduction libre] (1979, vii-viii)

Les histoires de catastrophes racontées dans cette section se ressemblent, car elles relatent des dommages épouvantables et des pertes de vie. Mais elles décrivent aussi la détermination et le courage de ceux qui ont survécu et qui ont rebâti leur vie, avec l'aide de leurs parents et de leurs amis, mais aussi souvent avec celle d'étrangers.

Photo d'une rue à Regina montrant des maisons détruites et des débris laissés par la tornade, 1912

Source

Regina après la tornade, le 30 juin 1912

Une violente tornade s'est abattue sur Regina, en 1912, alors que la ville (et la province de la Saskatchewan, en fait) était tout à fait nouvelle et peut-être moins prête à gérer une catastrophe de cette envergure. Elle ne disposait pas de l'équipement, des outils et des moyens de transport et de communication, tels le téléphone, les lampes de poche et les véhicules de secours, que l'on tenait pour acquis au milieu du siècle.

Photo montrant un gros plan des débris de l'avion qui s'est écrasé à Sainte-Thérèse de Blainville, au Québec, en novembre 1963

Source

Débris de l'avion sur les lieux de l'écrasement, à Sainte-Thérèse de Blainville, au Québec, en novembre 1963

Lorsque l'ouragan Hazel a frappé Toronto, en 1954, il a pris les autorités et la population par surprise, car on ne se doutait pas qu'un ouragan puisse dévaster ainsi les régions intérieures du Canada. C'est pour cette raison qu'il y a eu un grand nombre de morts.

En 1963, un avion des Lignes aériennes Trans-Canada s'est écrasé à Montréal. L'accident n'était pas directement relié au mauvais temps, mais plutôt à de l'équipement défectueux. Les pluies abondantes qui avaient précédé l'écrasement et la chute de neige qui l'a suivi, toutefois, ont été parmi les principales raisons qui ont empêché les enquêteurs de déterminer la cause exacte de l'accident.

Il n'y a certes pas que ces trois événements rattachés à l'air qui se soient produits au cours des années. Le 31 juillet 1987, une tornade puissante et dévastatrice s'est abattue sur Edmonton, faisant 27 morts et 600 blessés, et laissant 1 700 personnes sans foyer; on a estimé le coût des dommages à plus de 665 millions de dollars. Bien que les tornades ne soient pas inusitées dans les Prairies, celle-ci a causé des pertes de vie et des dommages particulièrement importants. Entre 1879 et 1979, sept tornades se sont abattues sur la région d'Edmonton, causant 22 morts.

Les ouragans ne sont pas rares non plus sur la côte est du Canada. En 2003, l'ouragan Juan a causé des dommages terribles et des pannes de courant qui ont duré plusieurs jours à Halifax et dans d'autres régions de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Au moins sept personnes ont perdu la vie. En juin 1959, un autre ouragan s'était abattu sur les Maritimes, faisant 33 morts.

Et, bien sûr, il y a eu d'autres accidents d'avion au Canada : en 1989, un avion à passagers F-28 d'Air Ontario s'est écrasé près de Dryden, en Ontario, faisant 24 morts et 45 blessés; en décembre 1956, le North Star des Lignes aériennes Trans-Canada, en route vers Calgary avec 62 passagers à bord, a disparu près de Vancouver et l'on n'a retrouvé l'avion qu'en mai 1957, sur le mont Slesse, en Colombie-Britannique.