Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Public

Aboriginal Peoples—Guide to the Records of the Government of Canada

Archives Search and ArchiviaNet

Please note that MINISIS databases are no longer in use and ArchiviaNet databases do not provide access to all the digitized files available on the Library and Archives Canada website. Use Archives Search for up-to-date information.

New and Former Archival Reference Numbers

Explanations of the new archival reference numbers for the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development fonds, R216-formerly the Indian and Inuit Affairs Program sous-fonds, Record Group (RG) 10; and the Department of the Interior fonds, R190-formerly RG 15 are provided in the Record Group 10 Inventory and Métis Scrip Records sections of this guide.

Former archival references to series within RG 10 and RG 15 (e.g., RG 10-B-6 or RG 15-D-II-8-b) remain valid; you can view their descriptions using the Archives Search tool. See the Record Group 10 Inventory and Métis Scrip Records sections of this guide for instructions on how to search for records in Archives Search.

Resources (revised 2012)

Note: The section "An Overview of Aboriginal History in Canada" was removed.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le public

Peuples autochtones – Guide des archives du gouvernement du Canada

Recherche de fonds d'archives et ArchiviaNet

Veuillez prendre note que les bases de données MINISIS ne sont plus utilisées et que les bases de données ArchiviaNet ne permettent pas d'accéder à tous les fichiers numérisés sur le site Web de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada. Utilisez Recherche de fonds d'archives pour obtenir les informations les plus à jour.

Nouveaux et anciens numéros de référence archivistique

Vous trouverez dans les sections Inventaire du groupe d'archives (RG) 10 et Archives des certificats des Métis de ce guide les explications concernant les nouveaux numéros de référence archivistique pour le fonds du ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, R216 — autrefois le sous-fonds du programme des affaires indiennes et inuites, RG 10, et pour le fonds du ministère de l'Intérieur, R190 — autrefois RG 15.

Les anciennes références archivistiques aux séries comprises dans les groupes d'archives RG 10 et RG 15 (ex. : RG 10-B-6 ou RG 15-D-II-8-b) demeurent valides; vous pouvez consulter leur description à l'aide de l'outil Recherche de fonds d'archives. Dans les sections Inventaire du groupe d'archives (RG) 10 et Archives des certificats des Métis de ce guide, vous trouverez des instructions sur la façon de chercher des documents dans Recherche de fonds d'archives.

Ressources (revisées 2012)

Note : La section « L'histoire des amérindiens au Canada : un bref survol » a été enlevée.