Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

See Also:

Theses Canada

For Universities


How to Join the Program

To participate in the Theses Canada program, your university or college must belong to the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada (AUCC) [www.aucc.ca/index_e.html]. If your university is interested in joining the program, contact Theses Canada for more information.

Benefits of Participation

The main benefit is that theses and dissertations submitted by a university are more visible and accessible to researchers and scholars around the world. The Theses Canada Portal contains bibliographic records for all the theses and dissertations in its extensive collection.

In cases where Library and Archives Canada (LAC) holds the electronic version of a thesis, the full text is freely accessible from a URL in the corresponding bibliographic record. Fiche versions are available from LAC through interlibrary loan.

LAC preserves theses and dissertations in fiche and/or electronic formats in its collection.

Legal Deposit

The regulations for Legal Deposit do not require that print theses be submitted to LAC as they are considered to be unpublished. Universities are considered to be the publishers of their students' electronic theses.

How to Submit a Thesis to the Program

There are two ways to submit theses to the program: electronically and in paper.

Electronic Theses

If you have implemented an electronic theses and dissertations (ETD) submission program for your students, LAC will harvest your metadata and ETDs and make them available on the Theses Canada Portal. For more information, see About Electronic Theses or contact Theses Canada.

Electronic theses can also be submitted to LAC via ProQuest (see Submit Electronic Theses to ProQuest).

Paper Theses. Paper theses are processed by ProQuest. For more information see, Submit Paper Theses to ProQuest.

Older theses. Universities can submit older theses to LAC as long as they are accompanied by a signed Theses Non-Exclusive License and the theses are in good condition. For more information contact Theses Canada.

Completion of the Theses Non-Exclusive License

Universities should ensure that students complete and sign the Theses Non-Exclusive License when they submit the approved version of their theses.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Voir également :

Thèses Canada

Pour les universités


Comment prendre part au programme

Pour participer au programme Thèses Canada, l'université ou le collège intéressé doit appartenir à l'Association des universités et collèges du Canada (AUCC) [www.aucc.ca]. Si une université désire se joindre au programme, contactez Thèses Canada.

Avantages de la participation

L'avantage principal est que les thèses et les mémoires soumis par une université jouissent d'une plus grande accessibilité et d'un rayonnement indubitable auprès des chercheurs et des universitaires du monde entier. Le Portail de Thèses Canada présente les notices bibliographiques de toutes les thèses et mémoires de son importante collection.

Dans les cas où Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC) possède la version électronique d'une thèse, le texte intégral est accessible gratuitement à partir d'une adresse URL présente dans la notice bibliographique correspondante. Les versions sur microfiche sont accessibles par le truchement du service de prêt entre bibliothèque de BAC.

BAC préserve les thèses et les mémoires sur microfiche et/ou en format électronique dans sa collection.

Dépôt legal

Les règlements sur le dépôt légal ne requièrent pas que les thèses sur papier soient soumises à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada car on les considère inédites. Les universités sont considérées comme étant les éditeurs des thèses électroniques provenant de leurs étudiant(e)s.

Comment soumettre une thèse au programme

Il existe deux façons de soumettre des thèses au programme de Thèses Canada : électroniquement ou sur papier.

Thèses électroniques

Si vous avez mis en application un programme de soumission de thèses et mémoires électroniques (TME) pour vos étudiant(e)s, BAC recueillera vos métadonnées ainsi que vos TME afin de les rendre accessibles dans le Portail de Thèses Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, voir À propos des thèses électroniques ou contacter Thèses Canada.

Il est possible de soumettre les thèses en format électronique à ProQuest (voir Soumettez les thèses électroniques à ProQuest).

Thèses sur papier. Des thèses en version papier sont traitées par ProQuest. Pour de plus amples renseignements voir, Soumettez les thèses sur papier à ProQuest.

Thèses plus anciennes. Il est possible d'envoyer des thèses plus anciennes à Thèses Canada. Vous devez inclure le formulaire intitulé Licence non exclusive des thèses signée par l'auteur de la thèse. De plus, la thèse doit être en bon état. Pour de plus amples renseignements contacter Thèses Canada.

Exécution de la Licence non exclusive des thèses

Les universités devraient s'assurer que les étudiant(e)s remplissent et signent la Licence non-exclusive des thèses quand ils soumettent la version approuvée de leurs thèses.