Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Theses Canada

About Electronic Theses

Harvesting Program


How to Participate in LAC's ETD Harvesting Program

Presently, universities can choose whether or not to submit their electronic theses to LAC via ProQuest as well as participating in LAC's harvesting program. For information on how to submit electronic theses to ProQuest, see Submit Electronic Theses to ProQuest.

1. General Requirements

1.1 Signing the Theses Non-Exclusive License

Because LAC is harvesting theses as well as metadata, the Copyright Act (http://laws.justice.gc.ca/en/C-42/index.html) requires that graduate students sign the Theses Non-Exclusive License.

If you are submitting your electronic theses via ProQuest as well as through LAC's harvesting program, send the Theses Non-Exclusive License by mail along with the ProQuest Subject Code Form and any copyright permission letters, if required. When ProQuest has processed the theses, it will forward the licenses to Theses Canada.

If your university has chosen not to send its electronic theses to ProQuest, send the licenses to Theses Canada. Copyright permission letters should be kept at the university. The licenses should be sent to LAC close to the time your e-theses are available to be harvested from the data repository.

1.2. Restricted Content

LAC does not harvest electronic theses where either all or part of the theses are restricted. Ensure that restricted theses are put in a separate set on the server.

1.3. Record Deletion

LAC anticipates that metadata records for electronic theses will only be deleted on rare occasions and in exceptional circumstances. If it becomes necessary to delete a record from the data repository, contact Theses Canada so that all references to it can be removed from LAC's databases.

2. Technical Requirements

2.1 OAI Guidelines

For LAC to harvest your university's ETD metadata, you must set up an Open Archives Initiative (OAI) data repository. LAC requires that you use version 2.0 of the OAI Protocol for Metadata Harvesting for OAI-identifier namespace in the "Identify" response.

Guidelines on how to implement an OAI data repository are available at the Open Archives Initiative website:

2.2 Sets

It is important that you create one set that includes all and only unrestricted electronic theses. The ETD set can then be split into hierarchical subsets to organize your ETD collection. Please ensure that there are no PDFs from ProQuest that are already in LAC's collection in the set.

2.3 Metadata

LAC requires metadata in two formats: Dublin Core and ETD-ms. ETD-ms is the metadata standard that has been endorsed by the NDLTD. It is based on Dublin Core with several additional fields specific to theses. The standard is available on the NDLTD website (www.ndltd.org/standards/metadata/etd-ms-v1.00-rev2.html).

ETD-ms metadata is converted to MARC 21 and uploaded to the Theses Canada Portal and to AMICUS. On conversion to MARC 21, the loss of some special characters, formulae and math coding is unavoidable. As a result, the titles and abstracts in AMICUS may vary from the original. Once the metadata is available on the Theses Canada Portal and in AMICUS Web, the electronic theses can be accessed by the URL in the metadata.

2.4 (Theses Canada) Number

Each record in the oai_etdms metadata format needs an element containing a TC number which includes a library symbol and a unique number. The TC number can be added immediately after the other identifiers. The TC number is not required in the Dublin Core metadata.

The TC number is created using the following format:

<identifier>TC-[Library Symbol] - [Unique Number]</identifier>

2.4.1 Library Symbol. Each library in Canada is assigned a symbol for use in bibliographic records, interlibrary loan, etc., (e.g. Library and Archives Canada is OONL). If you do not know your university's library symbol, contact Theses Canada.

2.4.2 Unique Number. Any internal unique number that does not exceed 15 characters.

2.5 OAI Identifier Element

LAC requires a specific description element which contains the <oai-identifier> element. These elements must be present in the metadata returned during an "Identify" response from a university. The <oai-identifier> element and its metadata are needed to properly harvest and identify the university's electronic theses records. An example is shown below:

<description>
    <oai-identifier
    xmlns="http://www.openarchives.org/OAI/2.0/oai-identifier"
    xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance"
    xsi:schemaLocation="http://www.openarchives.org/OAI/2.0/oai-identifier
    http://www.openarchives.org/OAI/2.0/oai-identifier.xsd
    http://www.openarchives.org/OAI/2.0/oai-identifier.xsd">
       <scheme> oai </scheme>
       <repositoryIdentifier> REPOSITORY URL </repositoryIdentifier>
       <delimiter> : </delimiter>
     <sampleIdentifier>oai:REPOSITORY URL:1993/94</sampleIdentifier>
  </oai-identifier>
</description> 

2.6 Repository URL

The repository URL should be replaced with the valid URL. LAC's Repository URL in its "Identify" responses is http://oai.collectionscanada.gc.ca/oai/oai.php.

2.7 URL Identifier Element

For the URL identifier element, i.e. <identifier>URL</identifier>, LAC requires a direct link to PDFs that ends with a ".pdf" extension.

2.8 Date Granularity

You must use the UTC date granularity of: YYYY-MM-DDThh:mm:ssZ for the following OAI elements:

<responseDate>
<earliestDatestamp>
<datestamp>

2.9 OAI ETD-ms Validation

To facilitate the harvesting process it is important that you validate your oai_ETDms records against this xsd before arranging to be harvested: www.ndltd.org/standards/metadata/etdms/1.0/etdms.xsd

2.10 Institutional Repository Software Upgrades

The LAC harvesting program application is based on the stability of:

  • Record identifiers
  • Date ranges

If a university plans to change or update that information it is important to contact Thesis Canada ahead of time to ensure that the harvesting process does not fail. If something needs to be changed, Library and Archives Canada will coordinate efforts with the university to assure the continuity of services.

2.11 PDF Format

At present, LAC is only harvesting electronic theses in PDF-text format as LAC's harvester is only able to harvest single file PDFs. PDF theses must be compatible with Adobe Acrobat version 5.0 or higher. LAC is able to harvest documents in PDF (A) format.

2.12 Validation of Metadata and Test Harvest

Once you have completed the technical requirements, validate your XML metadata using the E-Theses Validator. After fixing any resulting problems contact Theses Canada to arrange for a test harvest of your university's metadata and ETDs.

2.13 Requirement Checklist

To insure that your repository is ready to be harvested, review each one of these requirements.

General Requirements

Completed

Theses Non-Exclusive Licenses signed by authors have been submitted (See par 1.1)

 

All electronic theses for harvesting have been included in a single set (see par. 2.2)

 

A single PDF for each thesis was created and is compatible with Adobe Acrobat version 5.0 or higher (see par. 2.11)

 

Metadata Requirements

Completed

OAI-DC (Dublin Core) metadata is provided (see par. 2.3)

 

OAI-ETD-ms metadata is provided (see par. 2.3)

 

A valid Number is provided and contains your library symbol and a unique internal number not exceeding 15 characters (see par. 2.4)

 

The oai-identifier element in the ETD-ms metadata is provided (see par. 2.5)

 

A valid URL is provided giving direct access to the PDF file (see par. 2.7)

 

Date granularity is provided (see par. 2.8)

 

oai-etdms records have been validated against the xsd (see par. 2.9)

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Thèses Canada

À propos des thèses électroniques

Programme de cueillette


Comment participer au programme de collecte des TMÉ de BAC

Les universités peuvent choisir ou non d'envoyer leurs thèses électroniques à ProQuest aussi bien que participer au programme de collecte de BAC. Pour des renseignements sur la façon d'envoyer des thèses électroniques à ProQuest, voir Soumettez les thèses électroniques à ProQuest

1. Exigences générales

1.1 Signature de la Licence non exclusive des thèses

Puisque BAC recueille les thèses ainsi que les métadonnées, la Loi sur les droits d'auteur (http://laws.justice.gc.ca/fra/C-42/index.html) exige que les étudiants de 2e et 3e cycles signent la Licence non exclusive des thèses.

Si vous envoyez les thèses électroniques de votre université au moyen de ProQuest et également par le biais du programme de collecte de BAC, veuillez leur faire parvenir la Licence non exclusive des thèses par courrier accompagnée du formulaire des Codes de sujet de ProQuest et toute lettre d'autorisation de droit d'auteur, s'il y a lieu. Lorsque ProQuest aura traité les thèses, il acheminera les licences à Thèses Canada.

Si votre université a choisi de ne pas envoyer ses thèses électroniques à ProQuest, faites parvenir vos licences à Thèses Canada. Les lettres d'autorisation de droit d'auteur devraient être conservées à l'université. Les licences devraient être envoyées à BAC tout près de la date à laquelle vos thèses électroniques seront prêtes à être recueillies de votre dépôt de données.

1.2. Contenu restreint

BAC ne recueille pas les thèses électroniques pour lesquelles la totalité ou une partie de celles-ci est restreinte. Veuillez vous assurer que les thèses restreintes sont conservées dans un ensemble à part sur votre serveur.

1.3. Suppression des notices

BAC anticipe que les notices des métadonnées pour les thèses électroniques seront seulement supprimées en de rares occasions et dans des circonstances exceptionnelles. S'il devient nécessaire de supprimer une notice de votre dépôt de données, contactez Thèses Canada pour que toutes les références qui y sont reliées puissent être enlevées des bases de données de BAC.

2. Exigences techniques

2.1 Directives OAI

Afin que BAC puisse recueillir les métadonnées des TMÉ de votre université, vous devez mettre en place un dépôt de données de l'Open Archives Initiative (OAI). BAC exige que vous utilisiez la version 2.0 du OAI Protocol for Metadata Harvesting pour l'espace de noms dans la réponse à l'instruction « Identify ».

Les directives sur la façon de mettre en place un dépôt de données OAI sont disponibles sur le site Web Open Archives Initiative :

2.2 Ensembles

Il est important que vous créiez un ensemble (set) qui inclut toutes et seulement les thèses électroniques qui ne sont pas restreintes. L'ensemble des TMÉ peut alors être divisé en sous-ensembles hiérarchiques pour organiser votre collection de TMÉ. Assurez-vous qu'il n'y a pas de format PDF provenant de ProQuest qui se retrouve déjà dans l'ensemble de la collection de BAC.

2.3 Métadonnées

BAC exige les métadonnées en deux formats : Dublin Core et ETD-ms. ETD-ms est la norme que la NDLTD a adoptée. Elle est fondée sur Dublin Core avec l'ajout de plusieurs zones spécifiques aux thèses. La norme est disponible sur le site Web de la NDLTD à l'adresse : (www.ndltd.org/standards/metadata/etd-ms-v1.00-rev2.html en anglais seulement).

Les métadonnées ETD-ms sont converties au MARC 21 et téléchargées sur le Portail de Thèses Canada et sur AMICUS. Pour la conversion au MARC 21, la perte de certains caractères spéciaux, de formules et de codage mathématique est inévitable. En conséquence, les titres et les résumés dans AMICUS peuvent être différents de l'original. Lorsque la métadonnée est disponible sur le Portail de Thèses Canada et sur AMICUS Web, les thèses électroniques sont accessibles par l'URL dans les métadonnées.

2.4 Numéro TC (Thèses Canada)

Chaque notice dans le format de métadonnées oai_etdms nécessite un élément identificateur « <identifier> » contenant un numéro TC qui inclut un sigle de bibliothèque et un numéro unique. Le numéro TC peut être ajouté à la suite des autres identificateurs. Le numéro TC n'est pas requis dans la métadonnée de Dublin Core.

Le numéro TC est créé avec l'utilisation du format suivant :

<identifier>TC-[sigle de bibliothèque] - [Numéro unique]</identifier>

2.4.1 Sigle de bibliothèque. Il s'agit d'un sigle attribué à chaque bibliothèque au Canada pour être utilisé dans les notices bibliographiques, le prêt entre bibliothèques, etc. (p. ex., le sigle de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada est OONL). Si vous ne connaissez pas le sigle de bibliothèque de votre université, contactez Thèses Canada.

2.4.2 Numéro unique. Tout numéro unique interne qui ne dépasse pas 15 caractères.

2.5 Élément identificateur OAI

BAC exige un élément de description spécifique qui contient l'élément <oai-identifier>. Ces éléments doivent être inclus dans la métadonnée envoyée au cours d'une réponse à l'instruction « Identify » d'une université. L'élément <oai-identifier> et sa métadonnée sont nécessaires pour effectuer la collecte adéquatement et identifier les notices des thèses électroniques de l'université. En voici un exemple :

<description>
    <oai-identifier
    xmlns="http://www.openarchives.org/OAI/2.0/oai-identifier"
    xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance"
    xsi:schemaLocation="http://www.openarchives.org/OAI/2.0/oai-identifier
    http://www.openarchives.org/OAI/2.0/oai-identifier.xsd
    http://www.openarchives.org/OAI/2.0/oai-identifier.xsd">
       <scheme> oai </scheme>
       <repositoryIdentifier> REPOSITORY URL </repositoryIdentifier>
       <delimiter> : </delimiter>
     <sampleIdentifier>oai:REPOSITORY URL:1993/94</sampleIdentifier>
  </oai-identifier>
</description> 

2.6 URL du dépôt

L'URL du dépôt devrait être remplacé par l'URL valide. Dans les réponses à l'instruction « Identify », l'URL du dépôt de BAC est http://oai.collectionscanada.gc.ca/oai/oai.php.

2.7 Élément identificateur de l'URL

Pour l'élément identificateur d'URL, c.-à-d. <identifier>URL</identifier>, BAC exige un lien direct aux fichiers PDF qui se terminent par l'extension « .pdf ».

2.8 Granularité de la date

Vous devez utiliser la granularité de la date UTC qui est : AAAA-MM-JJThh:mm:ssZ (YYYY-MM-DDThh:mm:ssZ) pour les éléments OAI suivants :

<responseDate> (date de la réponse)
<earliestDatestamp> (horodateur le plus récent)
<datestamp> (horodateur)

2.9 Validation OAI ETD

Defaçon à facilité le processus de cueillette, il est important que vous validiez vos notices oai_ETD-ms avant d'organiser la collecte, à l'adresse suivante : www.ndltd.org/standards/metadata/etdms/1.0/etdms.xsd

2.10 Mises à niveau des logiciels de dépôt institutionnel

Veuillez noter que l'application du programme de collecte de BAC est basée sur la stabilité de :

  • identificateurs de notices
  • séries de dates

Si une université planifie de changer ou de mettre à jour cette information, il est important de communiquer avec Thèses Canada à l'avance pour assurer que le processus de collecte n'échoue pas. Si des changements doivent être effectués, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada coordonnera ses efforts avec l'université pour assurer la continuité des services.

2.11 Format PDF

Pour le moment, BAC ne recueille que les thèses électroniques en format texte PDF puisque BAC n'est en mesure que de recueillir des fichiers uniques en format PDF.

Les thèses en format PDF doivent être compatibles avec la version 5.0 ou supérieure d'Adobe Acrobat. BAC est en mesure de recueillir des documents en format PDF/A.

2.12 Validation des metadonnées et essai sur la collecte

Lorsque vous aurez complété les exigences techniques, validez vos metadonnées XML utilisant l'outil Valideur de thèses électroniques. Après avoir corriger toutes les erreurs contactez Thèses Canada pour prendre des dispositions quant à un essai sur la collecte des métadonnées et des TMÉ de votre université.

2.13 Liste de contrôle des exigences

Afin de vous assurer que votre dépôt est prêt pour la collecte, veuillez réviser chacune des exigences.

Exigences générales

Terminé

Les Licences non exclusives des thèses signées par les auteurs ont été soumises (consultez le paragr. 1.1)

 

Toutes les thèses électroniques pour la collecte ont été incluses dans un ensemble unique (consultez le paragr. 2.2)

 

Un PDF unique pour chaque thèse a été créé et il est compatible avec la version 5.0 ou supérieure d'Adobe Acrobat (consultez le paragr. 2.11)

 

Exigences relatives aux métadonnées

Terminé

Les métadonnées OAI-DC (Dublin Core) sont fournies (consultez le paragr. 2.3)

 

Les métadonnées OAI-ETD-ms sont fournies (consultez le paragr. 2.3)

 

Un numéro TC valide est fourni. Ce numéro contient votre sigle de bibliothèque et un numéro interne unique ne dépassant pas 15 caractères (consultez le paragr. 2.4)

 

L'élément identificateur-oai dans les métadonnées ETD-ms est fourni (consultez le paragr. 2.5)

 

Un URL valide est fourni offrant l'accès direct au fichier PDF (consultez le paragr. 2.7)

 

La granularité de la date est fournie (consultez le paragr. 2.8)

 

Les notices oai-etdms ont été validées selon le xsd (consultez le paragr. 2.9)