Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Topley Studio stamp on the reverse of a printed photograph showing the Governor General’s patronage of Topley, Ottawa, January 1884

The Topley Studio stamp on the reverse of a photograph of Ida Burpee advertising the Governor General’s patronage of Topley
January 1884
e008316102

Source

ARCHIVED - William James Topley:
Reflections on a Capital Photographer

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

The Studio

By Andrew Rodger, Library and Archives Canada

Photograph of the Notman Studio stamp, W.J. Topley, Proprietor. Printed on the reverse side of a card with a published  photograph, Ottawa, before 18755

The Notman Studio stamp on the reverse of a printed photograph
Before 1875
e008316100

Source

In the mid-1860s, Montréal photographer William Notman decided to expand his business to other cities. His first branch studio was established in Ottawa, which had become the nation's capital when the Dominion of Canada was formed in 1867. Perhaps Notman chose Ottawa because it was to be the seat of the country's federal government-the branch office was built directly across the street from the Parliament Buildings.

The man Notman chose to manage his Ottawa branch was William James Topley, who was only 22 years old when the studio opened in January 1868. Topley had already worked at least two years as a professional photographer in Aylmer, Quebec, before moving to Montréal in 1864, where he worked at apprentice wages for the Notman studio. Not only was Topley a good photographer, but he also had a keen entrepreneurial spirit. In 1872 he bought Notman's Ottawa branch and operated it as a franchise. Then, in 1875, he opened a studio under his own name-a name that would be known on the Ottawa scene until September 1923, when the studio closed.

Photograph of the public reception area of the Notman Studio, Wellington Street, Ottawa, between 1868 and 1872

The Notman Studio, Wellington Street
Between 1868 and 1872
PA-009273

Source

During a half-century of operation, the Topley Studio produced hundreds of thousands of images-of the famous and unknown, royalty as well as commoners, of Ottawa as it developed, and of much of the rest of Canada. That half-century saw radical changes in the way photographs were produced. At the beginning of William Topley's career, the process was sufficiently complicated that only a professional photographer could make photographs. The controlled environment of a studio was required to carry out the laborious coating, sensitizing and developing of each glass plate negative in the photographic process. By the time the Topley Studio closed in 1923, it was catering largely to the amateur photographer who took "snapshots" by simply pressing the button on a camera-which was likely purchased at Topley's-and then returned the film to the studio to have it developed and prints made.

Photograph of the public reception area of the Topley Studio, probably 104 Sparks Street, Ottawa, between 1878 and 1888

The public reception area of the Topley Studio, probably 104 Sparks Street
Between 1878 and 1888
PA-009278

Source

When the Topley Studio first opened, photographs printed in books, magazines and newspapers were unknown. Black and white photographic materials had difficulty in accurately capturing the entire spectrum of light. When the studio closed in 1923, television was in an experimental stage, and colour products had been commercially available for almost two decades.

Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Estampille du studio Topley au verso d’une photographie de Ida Burpee, annonçant que le gouverneur général est un client de Topley, Ottawa, janvier 1884

Estampille du studio Topley au verso d’une photographie de Ida Burpee, annonçant que le gouverneur général est un client de Topley
Janvier 1884
e008316102

Source

ARCHIVÉE - William James Topley : 
Réflexions sur un photographe de la Capitale

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Le studio

Par Andrew Rodger, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Photographie de l'estampille du studio Notman, propriétaire, W. J. Topley. Imprimée au verso d'une carte illustrée d'une photo publiée, Ottawa, avant 1875

Estampille du studio Notman au verso d'une épreuve photographique
Avant 1875
e008316100

Source

Au milieu des années 1860, le photographe montréalais William Notman décida d'étendre ses activités professionnelles à d'autres villes. Il ouvrit sa première succursale dans la ville Ottawa, qui deviendrait la capitale nationale lorsque le dominion du Canada serait constitué en 1867. Notman choisit peut-être de s'installer à Ottawa justement parce que cette ville allait devenir le siège du gouvernement fédéral – il fit construire son studio directement en face des édifices du Parlement.

Notman confia la direction de sa succursale d'Ottawa à William James Topley, qui avait à peine 22 ans lorsque le studio ouvrit ses portes en janvier 1868. Topley avait déjà travaillé au moins deux ans comme photographe professionnel à Aylmer, au Québec, avant de s'installer à Montréal en 1864, où il fut engagé comme apprenti au studio Notman. Topley était non seulement un excellent photographe, mais il avait aussi le sens des affaires. En 1872, il acheta le studio Notman d'Ottawa et l'administra comme une franchise. En 1875, il ouvrit un studio à son nom – un nom qui serait réputé à Ottawa jusqu'à la fermeture du studio en septembre 1923.

Photographie de l'aire d'accueil du studio Notman, rue Wellington, Ottawa, entre 1868 et 1872

Le studio Notman, rue Wellington
Entre 1868 et 1872
PA-009273

Source

Actif durant plus d'un demi-siècle, le studio Topley produisit des centaines de milliers de photographies – de célébrités autant que d'illustres inconnus, de membres de la royauté comme de simples citoyens, de la ville d'Ottawa au fil de son évolution, et d'une bonne partie du Canada. Ce demi-siècle fut témoin de changements considérables dans le domaine de la photographie. Lorsque Topley débuta sa carrière, le processus était à ce point complexe que seul un photographe professionnel pouvait faire de la photo. Les délicates opérations requises pour produire un négatif, soit recouvrir la plaque de verre d'une émulsion, l'exposer et la développer, devaient être effectuées dans l'environnement contrôlé d'un studio. Lorsqu'il ferma ses portes en 1923, le studio fournissait en matériel de toute sorte les photographes amateurs qui prenaient des « instantanés » en appuyant simplement sur le bouton de leur caméra – probablement achetée chez Topley – et qui rapportaient le film au studio pour le faire développer et en tirer des épreuves.

Photographie de l'aire d'accueil du studio Topley, probablement au 104 rue Sparks, Ottawa, entre 1878 et 1888

Aire d'accueil du studio Topley, probablement au 104 rue Sparks
Entre 1878 et 1888
PA-009278

Source

À l'époque où le studio Topley démarra ses activités, la photographie imprimée dans des livres, des magazines ou des journaux n'existait pas. Les appareils photo noir et blanc n'arrivaient pas à saisir correctement l'ensemble du spectre lumineux. Lorsque le studio ferma en 1923, la télévision en était déjà au stade expérimental et la photo couleur était disponible sur le marché depuis une vingtaine d'années.

Suivant