Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - William James Topley:
Reflections on a Capital Photographer

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Search Topley Records

Topley records may currently be searched using either the Archives' Basic Search or the Advanced Search. A more direct search mechanism for Topley records will appear here in the future. The following paragraphs provide added information and tips on searching for Topley records.

Searching for Topley Records:

The Topley Studio collection (accession number 1936-270) contains approximately 150,000 negatives (almost exclusively glass plates), as well as tens of thousands of prints in albums and counter books. There are just over 107,000 online caption entries for the Topley Studio collection. Approximately 11,000 of these records have digitized images, the rest have yet to be copied (this means that there is no copy negative and the only available image is the original item, which is usually the glass plate negative or the counter book).

The majority of the Topley records refer to the names of portrait sitters. Because many prominent politicians and civil servants were photographed at the Topley Studio, examples of the work produced and sold by the studio can also be found in almost 200 different archival fonds or collections.

In order to perform a Basic Search of the Topley Studio collection, researchers must type the following accession number into the keyword box: 1936-270. Searches can be limited by combining the aforementioned accession number with one or more keywords, such as the portrait sitter's name, the location or year (this search will sort through all item level records that contain the desired keywords). It is not necessary to include quotation marks around the search terms. Topley records found in other fonds or collections can be searched by combining the name "Topley" with one or more keywords (note: this search will also include the Topley Studio collection).

Advanced Search allows researchers to search for Topley records in the Topley Studio collection as well as in other fonds or collections, with added options to further refine searches.

When searching for images with both the Basic and Advanced Search, researchers may look for both digitized and non-digitized images, or they may narrow their search in the "Online" box by selecting "yes" or "no".

Most records include a title (caption), a date, the name of the place where the photograph was taken, and the original catalogue number assigned by Topley.
LAC has plans to make available an interactive feature that will allow members of the public to add information pertaining to photographic records. Until this application is ready, please send information you have regarding any images taken by Topley to LAC using this form. Your information will be added to the online record and made available to other researchers.

Should you want to see an image that has not yet been digitized, you must request the photographic material from Reference Services, and make an appointment through them for a viewing.

With the exception of some albums which can be transported to the media research rooms at 395 Wellington Street, research in the Topley collection must be carried out at the Gatineau Preservation Centre (GPC) while accompanied by archival personnel. (Research in the counter books is restricted to those few which have been conserved.)

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - William James Topley : 
Réflexions sur un photographe de la Capitale

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Consultation des documents Topley

Les dossiers Topley peuvent être consultés en utilisant les options de Recherche élémentaire ou de Recherche élaborée de documents d'archives. Un mécanisme de recherche plus efficace sera disponible pour cette exposition dans l'avenir. Les paragraphes suivants offrent de l'information et des conseils supplémentaires en ce qui concerne la consultation de la collection du studio Topley.

Pour consulter les documents Topley :

La collection du studio Topley (numéro d'entrée 1936-270) contient approximativement 150 000 négatifs (presque exclusivement des plaques de verre), ainsi que des dizaines de milliers de tirages en albums et livres de comptoir. On dénombre un peu plus de 107 000 légendes en ligne pour cette collection. Environ 11 000 de ces registres comportent des images numérisées, le reste n'étant pas copié jusqu'à présent (ceci signifie qu'il n'y a pas de copie négative et la seule image disponible est l'objet original, habituellement le négatif en plaque de verre ou le livre au comptoir).

La plupart des registres sur Topley font référence aux noms des modèles. Puisque plusieurs éminents politiciens et fonctionnaires ont été photographiés au studio Topley, des exemples du travail produit et vendu par le studio peuvent également être rencontrés dans près de 200 fonds ou collections d'archives différents.

Pour effectuer une Recherche élémentaire dans la collection du studio Topley, les chercheurs doivent taper le numéro d'accession suivant dans la boîte à mots clés : 1936 270. Les recherches peuvent être limitées en combinant le numéro d'accession mentionné ci dessus avec un ou plusieurs mots clés, tels le nom du modèle, l'endroit ou l'année (cette recherche triera tous les dossiers contenant les mots clés désirés). Il n'est pas nécessaire de mettre les termes de la recherche entre guillemets. Les dossiers Topley trouvés dans les fonds ou les collections peuvent être recherchés en combinant le nom « Topley » avec un ou plusieurs mots clés (note : la recherche inclura également la collection du studio Topley).

La Recherche élaborée permet de rechercher des dossiers Topley dans la collection du studio Topley ainsi que dans d'autres fonds ou collections, à l'aide d'options supplémentaires pour préciser davantage les résultats de recherche.

En se servant des options de Recherche élémentaire et de Recherche élaborée durant la recherche d'images, les chercheurs peuvent rechercher des images numérisées et non numérisées ou cibler leur recherche dans la boîte de recherche « en ligne » en choisissant l'option « oui » ou « non ».

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC) planifie de rendre accessible une fonction interactive qui permettra aux membres du public d'ajouter de l'information pertinente aux registres photographiés. En attendant que celle-ci soit prête, veuillez envoyer toutes les informations en votre possession sur les images prises par Topley à BAC par l'entremise de ce formulaire. Vos informations seront ajoutées au registre en ligne et seront accessibles à d'autres chercheurs.

Si vous désirez voir une photo qui n'a pas encore été numérisée, vous devez demander le matériel photographique au Service de référence et prendre rendez-vous pour une représentation.

À l'exception de quelques albums pouvant être acheminés aux salles de recherche sur les médias au 395, rue Wellington, la recherche dans la collection Topley doit être effectuée au Centre de préservation de Gatineau (CPG) sous la supervision du personnel d'archives (la recherche au comptoir est limitée aux livres ayant été conservés).