Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Watercolour illustration of Lake of Killarney, Ireland, circa 1820

Source

Canadian Pacific Railway, 1920

ARCHIVED - Canada, by Train

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Ties that Bind: Essay

A Brief History of Railways in Canada

Photo of Cariboo stage, Fraser Canyon region, British Columbia, n.d.

Source

Cariboo stage, Fraser Canyon region, British Columbia, n.d.

Prior to the introduction of the first passenger train in British North America, land transportation was a difficult undertaking. Diaries and journals of the day recount long, arduous trips by foot, wagon, coach, sleigh, or some combination of each with water transport. Roads were few. Where they existed, the dirt became mud in the spring and the addition of planks and logs was treacherous to the wagon wheels traversing them. "Macadamized" roads — roads made with layers of small, broken stones mixed with tar or asphalt — were an improvement, but expensive to maintain. Before the Grand Trunk Railway bridged the distance between Montréal and Toronto, it took at least thirty-six hours to travel between the two cities by stagecoach. Remote destinations, like the interiors of Newfoundland and Labrador or British Columbia, the Klondike or the Arctic, were almost impossible to reach.

Railway mania gripped Canada at various periods, but not long after the inauguration of the first railway in 1836, people realized the advantages of having a line run through their town. Mass transportation unified regions and the easier exchange of goods, services and people yielded profit, progress and development. Construction of the railroads and trains provided work. Convinced of its promise for their town or region, eager politicians jumped on the railway bandwagon and into the favour of their constituents.

Despite their popularity, most railways were characterized by chronic financial problems and eventually went bankrupt or were absorbed by larger companies. Governments that helped fund the ventures were left holding the empty moneybag when companies could not generate enough profit or pay their debts. Sometimes this happened before the construction of a railroad was complete and in many instances, it had not even begun. Public benefits from a new line were real, but over-zealous promotions masked a combination of unrealistic hopes and lack of proper planning and financing. Fierce competition helped to cloud matters. No one wanted to be left out of the railway adventure — towns clashed over prospective lines and too many companies received charters for the same region.

Poster of the Canadian National Railways, 1930, with colour illustration of a train, a cowboy and mountains

Source

Canadian National Railways, 1930

By the beginning of the Great War, there were four dominant independents: the Canadian Pacific Railway (CPR), the Canadian Northern Railway (CNoR), the Grand Trunk Railway (GTR) and the Grand Trunk Pacific (GTP). Their frenzy of expansion left them over-extended. Heavy competition for dwindling resources, traffic and government assistance brought the latter three to the brink of bankruptcy. The advent of war brought the crisis to a head and the federal government had to act. By 1923, the CNoR, the GTP and GTR were amalgamated into the recently created Canadian National Railways (CNR). Railway services were thus combined into two transcontinentals.

By the 1930s, automobiles and buses had gained popularity and paved roads were becoming a familiar sight. This created a decline in railway passenger travel; in the 1940s and 1950s, airlines compounded the situation. The 1960s saw the close of an increasing number of branch lines and many railway companies folded. The CPR and the CN could not continue operations as they had in the past, and in 1978, the two companies combined their passenger services to form VIA Rail.

Importance of the Railways to Canada

Historically, the CPR is perhaps the best-known railway to Canadians. It was the CPR, unifying the country geographically and politically, that comprised John A. Macdonald's "national dream." Connection to the national railway was a promise made to both British Columbia and Prince Edward Island to ensure their entrance into Confederation.

Brochure of the Canadian Pacific Railway, 1922, showing routes in eastern Canada

Source

Canadian Pacific Railway, 1922

Although the CPR stands out, over 2 500 railway company charters have been issued since the mid-nineteenth century. Relatively few are operating today, but their cumulative output has had an enormous impact on the economic and social lives of Canadians.

A railway line was like the golden touch to a town or region. Real estate prices jumped. Employment was plentiful; labourers were in demand to construct roads and the trains needed crew members, technicians for maintenance and providers of cordwood (in the early days) for fuel. People became less isolated and communication was facilitated. Heavy industry grew in several towns and cities, and service industries followed. In the West, whole new towns were created around the site of railway stations and immigrants came in droves.

Little-known areas of the country were being revealed. People were able to travel more easily, and to previously remote destinations. In some areas, there was a choice of railway lines. This led to a boom in the fledging travel and tourism industry.

Railways Promoting Canada

Poster of the Canadian Pacific Railway, 1925, with a colour illustration of the Banff Springs Hotel.

Source

Canadian Pacific Railway, 1925

During the heyday of passenger travel, railway companies produced a barrage of advertising designed to lure people into their region and persuade them to travel on their line. By the early 1880s, the products consisted of broadsides or leaflets with plain or sometimes, tinted lettering. Soon, things grew more elaborate and colourful cards, posters, brochures and broadsides were exhibited and distributed all over Canada and, especially in the case of the CPR, abroad. Tourists were desirable but up to the 1940s, only the relatively wealthy could afford luxury travel. Advertising to local traffic took the form of "excursions" — short pleasure trips to interesting locales.

Poster of the Canadian Pacific Railway, 1955

Source

Canadian Pacific Railway, 1955

The CPR emerged as an advertising master. Understanding the value of effective marketing, they inundated the public with promotions even before their last spike was hammered. Not content with dominating railway travel, the CPR created a whole transportation and communications system that included steamships, hotels, telegraph services and later, an airline. Some of their ads boasted not only CPR as a means of transportation, but CPR destinations. The well-heeled traveller of the 1920s might not have appreciated the natural beauty of the Rockies and its lakes without the man-made pleasures of the Banff Springs Hotel and the Chateau Lake Louise. To support this promotional machine, the CPR created its own art department whose output some consider to be among the best commercial art ever produced.

Brochure of the Quebec & Lake St. John Railway, 1898, with a descriptive text, a route map and a drawing of a salmon

Source

Quebec & Lake St. John Railway, 1898

Smaller railway companies did not have such resources. But they too produced creative and interesting advertisements that focused on their own corner of the world. These works helped establish them within the larger Canadian railway network and allowed them to put their own unique mark on a region. "Britain's Oldest Colony" was the endorsement of Newfoundland by the Reid Newfoundland Company. The Quebec and Lake St. John Railway pushed their line as "The New Route to the Far-Famed Saguenay" and the Pacific Great Eastern proclaimed "Western Hospitality" with the greeting, "Hi There Pardner!"

The content of brochures and timetables included practical details like schedules and maps, but the imagery on the covers and on the posters, were often romanticized pictures of mountains, prairie and seashores that lent an exotic air to travel in Canada. In addition to using natural settings as promotional tools, railway companies used historical, literary and popular figures such as Frontenac in Quebec, Evangeline in Acadia, and Mounties in the Rockies. These practices helped to create stereotypes and solidified mythologies about Canada that still linger in today's popular imagination.


Visit the website ARCHIVED - The Kids' Site of Canadian Trains

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Affiche du chemin de fer du Canadien Pacifique, 1920

Source

Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique, 1920

ARCHIVÉE - Le Canada par le train

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Lignes qui unissent : essai

Bref historique des chemins de fer au Canada

Photo de la diligence de Cariboo, dans la région du canyon Fraser, en Colombie-Britannique, s.d.

Source

Diligence de Cariboo, dans la région du canyon Fraser, en Colombie-Britannique, s.d.

Avant l'arrivée des premiers trains de voyageurs en Amérique du Nord britannique, se déplacer par voie terrestre était une entreprise difficile. Les journaux personnels et les revues de l'époque font d'ailleurs état de voyages longs et ardus à pied, en chariot, en diligence, en carriole et par bateau. On comptait très peu de routes. Lorsqu'il y en avait, la terre battue se transformait en boue au printemps et l'ajout de planches et de rondins était dangereux pour les roues des voitures qui les traversaient. Les routes macadamisées — faites de couches de petites pierres concassées mêlées de goudron ou d'asphalte — ont amélioré la situation, mais leur entretien était coûteux. Avant que le Grand Trunk Railway relie Montréal et Toronto, il fallait compter au moins trente-six heures de diligence pour faire le trajet. Les destinations éloignées, comme l'intérieur des terres de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador ou de la Colombie-Britannique, le Klondike ou l'Arctique, étaient presque inaccessibles.

Le transport ferroviaire a été en vogue à diverses époques au Canada. Cependant, c'est peu après l'inauguration du premier chemin de fer, en 1836, que les gens se sont rendu compte que leur ville bénéficierait d'être desservie par une ligne. Le transport collectif a unifié les régions et contribué à leur prospérité en facilitant la circulation des biens, des services et des passagers. La construction des chemins de fer et des trains a créé de l'emploi. Convaincus du potentiel du chemin de fer pour leur ville ou leur région, les représentants se sont empressés de favoriser son implantation, s'attirant ainsi les faveurs de leurs électeurs.

Malgré leur popularité, la plupart des chemins de fer ont été aux prises avec des problèmes financiers chroniques, acculés à la faillite ou acquis par des entreprises plus grandes. Les gouvernements qui participaient au financement des projets étaient contraints de prendre les entreprises en mains lorsqu'elles ne pouvaient dégager suffisamment de bénéfices ou payer leurs dettes. Parfois, cette situation se produisait avant la fin des travaux de construction d'un chemin de fer, et souvent même avant qu'ils ne débutent. L'implantation d'une nouvelle ligne avait des avantages réels pour le public. Mais une promotion trop enthousiaste cachait souvent un processus de planification et de financement déficient et des espoirs irréalistes. La situation était d'autant plus compliquée que la concurrence faisait rage. Personne ne voulait être tenu à l'écart de l'aventure ferroviaire — les villes se querellaient pour être desservies par les lignes projetées, et trop d'entreprises se voyaient accorder une charte pour une même région.

Affiche des Chemins de fer nationaux du Canada, 1930, comportant une illustration en couleurs montrant un train, un cow-boy et des montagnes

Source

Chemins de fer nationaux du Canada, 1930

Avant le début de la Première Guerre mondiale, le marché était dominé par quatre grandes sociétés indépendantes : le Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique (CFCP), le Chemin de fer Canadien du Nord (CNoR), le Grand Trunk Railway (GTR) et le the Grand Trunk Pacific (GTP). Ces sociétés ont été poussées au-delà de leurs limites par leur frénésie d'expansion. La forte concurrence qui s'exerçait pour les ressources, le trafic et une aide gouvernementale en déclin ont poussé les trois dernières au bord de la faillite. L'éclatement de la guerre a exacerbé la crise et forcé le gouvernement fédéral à intervenir. Dès 1923, le CNoR, le GTP et le GTR ont été intégrés aux Chemins de fer nationaux du Canada (CN), nouvellement créés. Les services ferroviaires étaient par conséquent désormais assurés par deux sociétés transcontinentales.

Déjà, dans les années 1930, l'automobile et l'autocar avaient gagné en popularité et les routes pavées n'étaient pas rares. Un déclin des voyages en train s'en est suivi, et l'arrivée des lignes aériennes, dans les années 1940 et 1950, a empiré la situation. Durant les années 1960, on a assisté à la fermeture d'un nombre grandissant de lignes, et plusieurs sociétés ferroviaires ont fermé leurs portes. Le CFCP et le CN ne pouvaient plus poursuivre leurs activités au même rythme que dans le passé. En 1978, les deux entreprises fusionnaient leurs services voyageurs pour former VIA Rail.

L'importance des chemins de fer pour le Canada

D'un point de vue historique, le CFCP est peut-être le chemin de fer le plus connu des Canadiens. C'est sur le CFCP que reposait le « rêve national » de John A. Macdonald d'unifier géographiquement et politiquement le pays. C'est d'ailleurs sous la promesse d'intégrer les provinces de la Colombie-Britannique et de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard à ce réseau qu'il a obtenu leur adhésion à la Confédération.

Brochure du chemin de fer du Canadien Pacifique, 1922, montrant les itinéraires dans l'est du Canada

Source

Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique, 1922

Même si le CFCP est dans une classe à part, plus de 2 500 chartes de sociétés ferroviaires ont été émises depuis le milieu du XIXe siècle. Relativement peu de ces sociétés sont encore en activité, mais leur apport cumulatif a eu d'énormes répercussions sur la vie économique et sociale des Canadiens.

Une ligne de chemin de fer était une mine d'or pour les villes et les régions. Le prix des propriétés montait en flèche et les emplois abondaient. On avait besoin de travailleurs pour construire les routes, de personnel à bord des trains, de techniciens pour l'entretien du matériel et de fournisseurs de bois de corde (utilisé comme combustible au début). Le chemin de fer réduisait l'isolement et facilitait les communications. Dans plusieurs villes et villages, l'industrie lourde s'est développée, entraînant l'émergence d'industries de services. Dans l'Ouest, des villes entièrement nouvelles ont été créées près des gares. Les immigrants affluaient.

On découvrait des régions peu connues du pays. Les gens pouvaient voyager plus facilement et se rendre à des destinations trop éloignées auparavant. Pour certaines destinations, les voyageurs pouvaient choisir parmi plusieurs lignes de chemin de fer. L'industrie du voyage et du tourisme était en plein essor.

Les chemins de fer font la promotion du Canada

Affiche du chemin de fer du Canadien Pacifique, 1925, montrant une illustration en couleurs de l'hôtel Banff Springs

Source

Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique, 1925

Durant l'époque bénie du voyage en train, les compagnies de chemin de fer produisaient du matériel publicitaire en grande quantité afin d'attirer les voyageurs dans les régions qu'elles desservaient, et pour les persuader d'emprunter leurs lignes. Au début des années 1880, on produisait des dépliants, ainsi que des feuillets au lettrage ordinaire et parfois teinté. Mais ces produits se sont rapidement diversifiés et des cartes, des affiches, des brochures et des dépliants aux couleurs vives étaient exposés et distribués partout au Canada. Le CFCP les distribuait même à l'étranger. La publicité visait les touristes, mais jusqu'aux années 1940, seuls les gens aisés pouvaient se permettre des voyages de luxe. Elle visait aussi le trafic local à qui on offrait de courtes « excursions » de plaisance vers des endroits intéressants.

Affiche du chemin de fer du Canadien Pacifique, 1955

Source

Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique, 1955

Il se trouve que le CFCP était un maître de la publicité. Consciente de la valeur d'un marketing efficace, l'entreprise inondait le marché de promotions avant même d'avoir planté le dernier crampon de son chemin de fer. Non contente de dominer le marché du voyage en train, l'entreprise avait créé un réseau complet de transport et de communications comprenant des navires à vapeur, des hôtels, des services télégraphiques et, plus tard, une ligne aérienne. Certaines de ses publicités mettaient en valeur non seulement les services de transport du CFCP, mais aussi les destinations qu'ils desservaient. Le voyageur bien nanti des années 1920 n'aurait pu apprécier la beauté naturelle des Rocheuses et de leurs lacs sans les plaisirs que lui offraient l'hôtel Banff Springs et le Château Lac Louise. Pour soutenir cette machine promotionnelle, le CFCP avait créé son propre service artistique, dont plusieurs considèrent le travail comme faisant partie des meilleurs exemples de graphisme publicitaire jamais produit.

Brochure de chemin de fer de Québec et du Lac Saint-Jean, 1898, qui comporte un texte descriptif, une carte de l'itinéraire et le dessin d'un saumon

Source

Chemin de fer de Québec et du Lac Saint-Jean, 1898

Les petites compagnies de chemin de fer ne disposaient pas de tant de ressources. Mais elles produisaient, elles aussi, du matériel publicitaire intéressant qui mettait l'accent sur le coin de pays qu'elles desservaient. Cette production les a aidés à s'établir dans le réseau plus large des chemins de fer canadiens, et leur a permis d'apposer leur propre marque sur une région. « Britain's Oldest Colony » (La plus ancienne colonie britannique) était, par exemple, le slogan qu'utilisait la Reid Newfoundland Company pour faire connaître Terre-Neuve. La Compagnie du chemin de fer de Québec et du Lac St-Jean présentait quant à elle sa ligne comme « La nouvelle route du Saguenay » et le Pacific Great Eastern faisait valoir « Western Hospitality » (L'hospitalité de l'ouest) avec son « Hi There Pardner! » (Salut, l'ami!).

Les brochures contenaient des renseignements pratiques comme des horaires et des cartes, mais les images de leurs pages couvertures — photos de montagnes, de prairies et de bords de mer — visaient à donner un caractère exotique aux destinations du Canada. En plus d'utiliser des lieux naturels comme outils de promotion, les compagnies de chemin de fer se servaient de figures historiques, littéraires ou populaires comme Frontenac à Québec, Évangéline en Acadie et la police montée dans les Rocheuses. Ces pratiques contribuèrent à créer des stéréotypes et consolidèrent des mythes sur le Canada qui, encore aujourd'hui, peuplent l'imagination populaire.


Visitez le site Web ARCHIVÉE - Les trains du Canada : un site pour les enfants