Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canada, by Train

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Tracking Time

Royal Tours

In Canada, British royals had conducted their tours by train since the Prince of Wales's highly touted visit in 1860. Even after Confederation, the royals still intrigued many Canadians. The visits of the Duke of York in 1901, and the Duke of Connaught in 1906, were popular with the public. But the Royal Tour of 1939, by King George VI and Queen Elizabeth, took Canada by storm.

Brochure of the Grand Trunk Railway, 1906, reading TOUR OF HIS ROYAL HIGHNESS PRINCE ARTHUR OF CONNAUGHT Title page of brochure of the Grand Trunk Railway, 1906, talking about the royal tour, with a Canadian coat-of-arms

Source

Grand Trunk Railway, 1906, cover and title page

Video

Excerpt of a silent film showing the visit of King George VI and Queen Elizabeth to Toronto, May 22, 1939
(running time: 1 m, 8 s)

[RM 2,072 KB] Download Freeware

Source

Brochure of the Canadian Pacific Railway, 1939, reading WELCOME TO THEIR GRACIOUS MAJESTIES, with the British royal coat-of-arms Frontispiece of brochure of the Canadian Pacific Railway, 1939, with an illustration of the locomotive used on the 1939 royal tour

Source

Canadian Pacific Railway, 1939, cover and frontispiece

It was the first visit to Canada by a reigning monarch. Even though the country was still in the throes of the Depression, town and cities all over Canada decorated their buildings, issued souvenirs and wrote speeches to mark the occasion. Thousands of people, from miles away, came to see the couple as the royal train passed through their region. The timing of the tour was no accident. War was becoming imminent in Europe and the visit served as a gentle reminder to English-speaking Canadians of their ties to the motherland and imperial duty. The trip took 44 days and was conducted almost exclusively by train: on the CPR heading west and on the CNR returning east.

Previous | Next


Visit the website ARCHIVED - The Kids' Site of Canadian Trains

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Le Canada par le train

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Ligne chronologique

Les voyages royaux

Au Canada, la famille royale britannique effectuait ses visites en train depuis le célèbre voyage du prince de Galles, en 1860. Même après la Confédération, la royauté fascinait de nombreux Canadiens. Les visites du duc de York, en 1901, et du duc de Connaught, en 1906, étaient très appréciées du public. Mais la visite du roi George VI et de la reine Elizabeth, en 1939, a soulevé un enthousiasme délirant.

Brochure du Grand Trunk sur laquelle on peut lire TOUR OF HIS ROYAL HIGHNESS PRINCE ARTHUR OF CONNAUGHT Page de titre d'une brochure du Grand Trunk Railway (1906) parlant du voyage royal et montrant les armoiries du Canada

Source

Grand Trunk Railway, 1906, couverture et page de titre

Vidéo

Extrait d'un film muet montrant la visite du roi George VI et la reine Elizabeth à Toronto, le 22 mai 1939 (durée : 1 min, 8 s)

[RM 2 072 Ko] Logiciels gratuits téléchargeables

Source

Brochure du chemin de fer du Canadien Pacifique, 1939, sur laquelle on peut lire WELCOME TO THEIR GRACIOUS MAJESTIES, et qui montre les armoiries du roi d'Angleterre Frontispice de la brochure du chemin de fer du Canadien Pacifique, 1939, illustré de la locomotive utilisée lors du voyage royal de 1939

Source

Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique, 1939, couverture et frontispice

Pour la première fois, un monarque visitait le Canada pendant son règne. Bien que le pays ait été aux prises avec la crise économique, on décorait les édifices, distribuait des souvenirs et rédigeait des discours dans les villes et villages un peu partout au Canada pour souligner l'occasion. Des milliers de personnes franchissaient des distances de plusieurs milles pour venir voir le couple royal lorsque le train royal traversait leur région. Le moment était choisi : la guerre menaçait d'éclater en Europe, et la visite rappelait discrètement aux Canadiens anglais leurs liens avec la mère-patrie et leurs devoirs envers l'Empire. Le voyage de 44 jours s'est déroulé presque exclusivement en train, sur le chemin de fer du CFCP vers l'ouest, et sur celui du CN vers l'est.

Précédent | Suivant


Visitez le site Web ARCHIVÉE - Les trains du Canada : un site pour les enfants