Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Watercolour illustration of Lake of Killarney, Ireland, circa 1820

Source

Canadian Pacific Railway, 1920

ARCHIVED - Canada, by Train

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Travelogues

The travelogues are gleaned from many different sources and are arranged alphabetically by railway company.


Crossing the Northumberland Strait to Prince Edward Island on the CN, by ferry:

"That evening things were running late due to heavy tourist traffic. One tourist got the wheels of his trailer caught in the rail recesses of the ferry deck holding us up for another twenty minutes.... We were getting so far behind schedule that the crew made arrangements with the station agents to drive some local passengers to their destinations. Those of us "from away" had to stick it out on the mixed train. Finally, around two o'clock Thursday morning, we arrived in Charlottetown."

Hardy, John. Canadian rail travel: a photographic record of passenger train journeys 1964-1991. Hanover, Ontario: Hardy, J.R., 2001. P. 36


Lorne Brisbin, on the workday of a fireman:

"The first thing you'd do after you stowed your lunch pail was to check your firebox to see there were no bad leaks and your water glass wasn't leaking and there was oil in your lubricators. Then you'd climb up on the tender and check your coal and water. It wasn't uncommon to put eighteen tons of coal through in a day or a night. You'd get a chance to get a cup of water, sit down for a minute or maybe eat half a sandwich....You would know when to put on more coal by the steam gauge- ... When your fire started to get oily and dirty looking you were firing too heavily."

Mackay, Donald. The people's railway: a history of Canadian National. Toronto: Douglas & McIntyre, 1992. P. 165


Frank Lapointe, part of a CNR train crew, on the situation during the Second World War:

"They'd brought out a lot of stuff that had been stored for years. Some of the engines were antiques. Breakdowns were pretty frequent, but we tried to do the best we could. It was real busy. The freight trains were running. Freight and passenger cars were coming all the time from the west. Everything was crowded."

Mackay, Donald. The people's railway: a history of Canadian National. Toronto: Douglas & McIntyre, 1992. P. 134


An excerpt from Frank Rowbottom's diary, about immigrating to Saskatchewan in 1907:

"May 3. Friday
Caught the 8:30 train for Marshall and prepared for the most trying part of the journey, for we could not get sleeping berths without paying a great deal for them, so had to extemporize a couch for the little ones at night as well we could, and sit up ourselves. The train was very crowded, which made it still more unpleasant."

Rowbottom, Frank. "The Rowbottom diaries". Edited by S.W. Jackman. Saskatchewan history. Vol. 21, no. 1. P. 61


"Dec. 13 [1906]
Boarded train at C.N. station [at Winnipeg] just after 8.30, but she did not move out until about 11.30.... The engines on this line are continually "drying" as they call it here, that is, the steam gives out and then the whole affair freezes up, causing a delay of something like 8 hours until fires are again lighted and everything thawed. Fortunately our engine did not die this journey, but the one in front had died two or three times in a 24 hour journey."

Rowbottom, Frank. "The Rowbottom diaries". Edited by S.W. Jackman. Saskatchewan history. Vol. 21, no. 1. P. 57-58


"At this time [sometime before the First World War] the settlers were arriving in droves. While some passenger trains arrived with many new settlers from Central Europe other freight trains were arriving with many cars of settlers and their effects from the United States destined to points in Western Canada. Whole families would be confined to one end of a boxcar with their livestock partitioned off with their personal effects in the rest of the car. The noise of these trains and the livestock as they passed through the town and through the necessary switching moves was terrific."

Bradford, Jack. Canadian Northern Railway and the men who made it work. Toronto: Initiative Publishing House, 1980. P. 9


George McElroy arriving in Regina to join the NWMP:

"On a blustery March day in 1898, I stepped down from a colonist car at the CPR station in Regina carrying all my wordly possessions. These consisted of a rolled blanket tied with a strap and a red gin box that had been filled with grub when I left home several days earlier.... My God, but Regina was a wind-swept desolate place! All I could see were a few wooden buildings around which the bone-chilling wind howled incessantly. At first the railway station seemed deserted but, after a few moments, I noticed an authoritative-looking figure headed in my direction... This was sergeant Bill Hefferman whose duty it was to meet all trains and intercept any suspicious or undesirable visitors."

"McElroy of the NWMP". Beaver. Vol. 69, no. 3 (1989). P. 17


Audio

Excerpt of an interview with G.H. Needler, about travelling to Saskatchewan to help quell the Northwest Rebellion of 1885, circa 1956
(running time: 5 m 49 s; in English)

[RM 4,152 B] Download Freeware

Source


Allen Gibson travelling by Dominion Atlantic Railway:

"The railway knew the train as Number 100. Passengers, who sometimes waited long chill hours on station platforms, knew it by other names among which 'The Fast Freight' possibly is to be preferred. Even that was a misnomer because it was neither fast nor a freight. To be sure, it hauled freight cars. But it also had a baggage car, a passenger coach (in which people slept soundly in all manner of uncomfortable positions) and a sleeping car (its passengers assuaging their feelings of guilt for having spent the night in comfort by insisting, 'never slept a wink, all that shunting and jolting...!'"

Gibson, Allen. Train time: nostalgic glimpses of a Wolfville boyhood. Lancelot Press Ltd.: Windsor, N.S., 1973. P. 23


An anonymous traveller describing the trip between Yarmouth and Halifax, by stagecoach:

". . . To be jolted and tossed about in an inferior vehicle, with lean horses, over a notoriously rough and sometimes dangerous road, for the distance of 200 miles; to be exposed during this journey, occasionally in an open conveyance, to the pelting storm, and to be compelled to vacate your seat over and over to help the poor horses drag the coach up the hills ... — and, besides all, to be asked to hand over for this rough usage a pretty good sum in hard cash — to endure all this requires no ordinary amount of nerve..."

Woodworth, Marguerite. History of the Dominion Atlantic Railway. Kentville, Nova Scotia: Kentville Publishing Company, 1936. P. 88


"The formal opening of the Sherbrooke Eastern Townships and Kennebec Railroad took place on Thursday, the 22nd ult. This road runs from the active and ambitious town of Sherbrooke ... in a north eastern direction towards Quebec. It will open up a large extent of fertile country, and is destined one day to become a great highway of travel and traffic between the New England States and the Lower St. Lawrence."

"The Cdn Illustrated News August 8 and Nov. 7, 1874". The Eastern Townships, a pictorial record. C.P. deVolpi and P.H. Scowen. Montréal: DevSco Publications Ltd., [s.d.]. Plates 70, 73


Teresa Girardi, travelling on the Coal Branch line of the Grand Trunk Pacific in 1917 or 1918:

"The train trip was really something to remember. From Blairmore to Edmonton where dad met us was not too bad, but from Edson to Mountain Park was terrible. It took one day and one night to go from Edson to Mountain Park. The train, it must be a museum coach now -- old wooden coach, wooden slat seats, coal oil lamps nailed to brackets on coach walls, and an old wood and coal stove for heat. If you wanted air in the coach, the brakeman would come along with a long handled stick with a hook on the end to open the vent in top of the coach. I won't forget that as I still have the scar from one of the vent windows which was jerked too hard, fell out and crashed down and the glass cut my arm."

Ross, Toni. Oh! The Coal Branch, a chronicle of the Alberta Coal Branch. Edmonton: T. Ross, 1974. P. 263


F. Hamilton going from Cacouna, Quebec to the Maritimes, circa 1876:

At 2 o'clock the train arrived in sight, and after many efforts stopped about five hundred yards (above) it the station, another illustration of the proverb "The more haste, the less speed." This, I afterwards ascertained from the conductor, was owing to an accident to the patent air brakes; two of the tubes of which had burst, thereby rendering the vacuums partly inoperative. The same official said he had patched them up as well as he could, but had some of the more nervous passengees [sic] been aware that they had travelled with broken air brakes below them, I fancy they would have been somewhat anxious. Of course the mishap was unforseen, but the incident should be mentioned. Trifles such as these sometimes give birth to 'Appalling Accidents' and 'Coroner's Inquests.'"

Hamilton, Frederick J. A trip over the Intercolonial including articles on the mining industries of Nova Scotia and New Brunswick: with a description of the cities of St. John and Halifax. [Montreal? : s.n.], 1876. P. 7


"Call it what you may. The PGE, Wacky Bennett's Folly, or the new name the government put on it a while back, the BCR... There was a train that went to Prince George in the 1960s. A local merchant was waiting on the platform with his brother at Quesnel. They were going hunting north of Prince George. The train pulled in and the merchant glanced at his watch and beamed. He saw the engineer coming towards him, and he said, 'Good job, fella. You're right on time. Two o'clock exactly.' The engineer could've kept his mouth shut but he didn't. 'Don't congratulate me, mister,' he said. 'This is yesterday's train. We're twenty-four hours late'."

Ferguson, Ted. Sentimental journey: an oral history of train travel in Canada. Toronto: Doubleday Canada, 1985. P. 164


Anonymous New England tourist reporting on the Quebec Central Railway, ca 1880s:

"In half-an-hour or less a bird's-eye view of Lennoxville is enjoyed, the train, by some mysterious doubling upon its course, having taken a horse-shoe bend while we were admiring the pluck of the farmers who have conquered the rough face of nature so well upon these upland slopes.
...The "habitants" who make short journeys by rail are accompanied to the stations by their friends and relatives. One hears but little English. A constant clatter of patois is kept up by the native passengers, who also show a strong desire to express themselves in song."

Car window glimpses en route to Quebec, by daylight, via Quebec Central Railway. New York: Leve & Alden, 1881? [Reprinted in Quebec by Page-Sangster Print Co., 1952.] P. 8, 15


"Woman's Work in Canada, 1913

'Colonist' cars are adaptable to sleeping in at night, free of charge. The cars are usually not upholstered. What is known as an 'outfit", consisting of mattress, curtains, pillow, etc., may be bought for about $3 from the railway agent at the landing port, before starting on the rail journey."

Bruce, Jean. The last best west. Toronto: Fitzhenry & Whiteside. P. 53


Hugh Keenleyside:

"We actually had two trains. The blue and silver Royal Train for the King and Queen and their entourage and a green and maroon train for the press and security people. Have you heard about the buzzer? The engineer of the Royal Train had a buzzer in his cab. If he saw a large crowd at a rural depot where the train wasn't stopping he pressed the buzzer and the Royal Couple hurried to the observation-car platform to wave.
Journeying to the West, I often joined the Royal couple in their dining-car. The table was beautifully set, of course, with gleaming silverware and crystal and the meals were superb."

Ferguson, Ted. Sentimental journey: an oral history of train travel in Canada. Toronto: Doubleday Canada, 1985. P. 226


E. McKenna travelling from Montréal to Chicago in 1881:

"...The train runs fast through a very interesting country, and the conductor is a daisy who gives us a pleasant time. We had a specimen of country people get on the train here [at Stratford]; a hardy lot of big lankey [sic] half American chaps, with plenty of backbone and muscle; a good stock for a new country. We had quite a chat with some of them and enjoyed ourselves immensely."

McKenna, Euguene. A railway trip to the sunny south from notes by a railroad conductor. [S.l. : s.n.], 1881. P. 6-7


Excerpt from a letter by an unknown English immigrant, circa 1930:

"The journey to Edmonton was devoid of excitement. We just stayed in an empty box-car and talked, smoked, ate, slept. Diamond behaved like a veteran the way he slept in that jumping, rattling car was envious.... Next morning we opened our bedrooms & observed mountains. We had jumped the wrong train & were headed for Vancouver. It was too late to turn back so we gave up any idea of more threshing.
There were about twenty other passengers on the train. We spent our days perched on top of the cars and nights inside the empty refrigerator. Only on top of a box-car can one enjoy the real thrill of constructing that line through the Rockies . . ."

"Experiences of a Depression hobo." Letter written to Violet McNaughton. Saskatchewan history. Vol. 22, no. 2. P. 63


Letter from J.E. Woodall, the Anglican Archdeacon of Temiskaming, quoting his predecessor, Bishop Holmes, on the proposed extension of the line to Hudson Bay:

"Woodall! What a country! When will that line reach Moose? Toronto needs to breathe sea air. Right here where we are now sitting there will be a magnificent hotel and on yonder sandy beach bathing houses and bathers galore. Coming and going from that little harbor where now there comes one ship a year there will be a daily packet steamer to and from Moose. Then think of fresh fish in Toronto and Winnipeg caught the previous day in the Bay."

Surtees, Robert. The northern connection: Ontario Northland since 1902. Toronto: Ontario Northland and Captus Press, 1992. P. 148


Visit the website ARCHIVED - The Kids' Site of Canadian Trains

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Affiche du chemin de fer du Canadien Pacifique, 1920

Source

Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique, 1920

ARCHIVÉE - Le Canada par le train

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Récits de voyage

Les récits de voyages proviennent de plusieurs sources différentes et sont présentés par ordre alphabétique de compagnie de chemin de fer.


Sur le traversier du CN, dans le détroit de Northumberland, en direction de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard :

« Ce soir-là, l'afflux de touristes avait provoqué du retard. Les roues de la remorque de l'un de ceux-ci étaient restées coincées dans les enfoncements des rails du pont du traversier, ce qui nous a retenus sur le bateau encore vingt minutes... Nous avions tellement de retard sur notre horaire que l'équipe de bord a pris des dispositions avec les responsables de la gare pour conduire certains passagers locaux à leur destination, tandis que ceux d'entre nous qui venions de loin, avons dû patienter dans le train mixte. Nous sommes enfin arrivés à Charlottetown à deux heures le jeudi matin. »

Hardy, John. Canadian rail travel : a photographic record of passenger train journeys 1964-1991. Hanover, Ontario : Hardy, J.R., 2001, p. 36 [Traduction libre]


Lorne Brisbin, sur la journée de travail d'un chauffeur :

« La première chose à faire après avoir rangé sa boîte à lunch était de vérifier le foyer pour s'assurer qu'il n'y avait pas de mauvaise fuite, que la jauge d'eau ne fuyait pas et qu'il y avait de l'huile dans les graisseurs. Puis, il fallait se hisser sur le ravitailleur et vérifier les niveaux de charbon et d'eau. Il n'était pas rare de brûler dix-huit tonnes de charbon en un jour ou en une nuit. Puis, on pouvait avaler une tasse d'eau, s'asseoir une minute et peut-être manger la moitié d'un sandwich... Le manomètre à vapeur indiquait quand ajouter du charbon... Lorsque le feu devenait huileux et avait l'air malpropre, c'est qu'il était trop fort. »

Mackay, Donald. The people's railway: a history of Canadian National. Toronto : Douglas & McIntyre, 1992. P. 165 [Traduction libre]


Frank Lapointe, membre de l'équipage d'un train du CN décrit la situation durant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale :

« Ils ont sorti beaucoup de matériel entreposé depuis des années. Certaines locomotives étaient de véritables antiquités. Les pannes étaient assez fréquentes, mais nous faisions de notre mieux. Nous étions très occupés. Les trains de marchandises roulaient. Des trains de marchandises et de passagers arrivaient constamment de l'Ouest. Il y avait beaucoup de monde partout. »

Mackay, Donald. The people's railway : a history of Canadian National. Toronto : Douglas & McIntyre, 1992. P. 134 [Traduction libre]


Extrait du journal de Frank Rowbottom immigrant en Saskatchewan en 1907 :

« le vendredi 3 mai
Pris le train de 8 h 30 pour Marshall, prêts pour la partie la plus éprouvante du voyage, puisque nous ne pouvions pas avoir de couchette sans verser un prix très élevé. Nous avons donc dû improviser un lit pour les petits, du mieux que nous pouvions et nous sommes restés assis. Le train était bondé, ce qui rendait les choses d'autant plus déplaisantes. »

Rowbottom, Frank. « The Rowbottom diaries ». Sous la direction de S.W. Jackman. Saskatchewan history. Vol. 21, no 1. P. 61 [Traduction libre]


« le 13 décembre [1906]
Montés à bord du train à la gare du CN [à Winnipeg] peu après 8 h 30, nous sommes restés immobiles jusqu'à environ 11 h 30... Sur cette ligne, les locomotives sont constamment "à sec" comme ils disent. Elles manquent de vapeur et toute la machine gèle, ce qui cause un retard d'environ 8 heures, jusqu'à ce que les feux soient rallumés et le tout dégelé. Heureusement, notre locomotive fonctionnait bien ce jour-là, mais celle qui la précédait a gelé deux ou trois fois pendant un voyage de 24 heures. »

Rowbottom, Frank. « The Rowbottom diaries ». Sous la direction de S.W. Jackman. Saskatchewan history. Vol. 21, no 1. P. 57-58 [Traduction libre]


« À cette époque [quelque temps avant le début de la Première Guerre mondiale], les colons arrivaient en foule. De nombreux trains de voyageurs amenaient plusieurs nouveaux colons en provenance de l'Europe centrale. D'autres trains de marchandises comptaient plusieurs wagons de colons avec leurs biens, en provenance des États-Unis et à destination de l'Ouest canadien. Des familles entières étaient confinées à une extrémité d'un wagon couvert, avec leur troupeau et leurs effets personnels dans l'autre extrémité. Le bruit que faisaient ces trains et les troupeaux qu'ils contenaient lorsqu'ils traversaient la ville et aux points d'aiguillage était affolant. »

Bradford, Jack. Canadian Northern Railway and the men who made it work. Toronto : Initiative Publishing House, 1980, p. 9 [Traduction libre]


George McElroy arrive à Regina pour joindre les rangs de la P.C.N.-O. :

« Un jour de tempête de mars 1898, je suis descendu du wagon des colons à la gare du CP de Regina. Je transportais tous ce que je possédais au monde : une couverture roulée retenue par une courroie et une boîte rouge que j'avais remplie de nourriture en partant de chez moi, quelques jours auparavant... Mon Dieu! Regina n'était qu'un endroit désolé, balayé par le vent! Tout ce que je pouvais voir, c'était quelques édifices entre lesquels sifflait sans répit un vent glacé. La gare paraissait déserte au premier abord, mais après quelques minutes, j'ai remarqué un personnage à l'air autoritaire qui regardait vers moi. C'était le sergent Bill Hefferman, qui était chargé d'accueillir les trains pour intercepter tout visiteur indésirable ou à l'air louche. »

« McElroy of the NWMP ». Beaver. Vol. 69, no 3 (1989). P. 17 [Traduction libre]


Audio

Extrait d'une entrevue avec G.H. Needler, au sujet de son voyage en Saskatchewan pour aider à réprimer la Rébellion du Nord-Ouest de 1885, vers 1956 (durée : 5 min, 49 s; en anglais)

[RM 4 152 Ko] Logiciels gratuits téléchargeables

Source


Allen Gibson en voyage dans un train du Dominion Atlantic Railway :

« Le train était connu sous le nom de "Numéro 100". Les voyageurs, qui devaient parfois attendre de longues heures au froid sur les quais des gares, le connaissaient également sous d'autres noms, dont celui de "Fast Freight", qui était peut-être davantage utilisé. Mais ce nom n'était pas très approprié, puisque le train en question était plutôt lent et qu'il n'était pas destiné au transport de marchandises. Certes, il tirait des wagons de marchandises, mais il tirait aussi un fourgon à bagages et une voiture voyageurs (dans laquelle les gens dormaient profondément dans des positions plus inconfortables les unes que les autres). Il tirait enfin un wagon-lit dont les passagers, qui avaient dormi dans le confort, apaisaient leurs sentiments de culpabilité en répétant ne pas avoir fermé l'œil de la nuit "avec toutes ces manœuvres et tout ce brassage"...! »

Gibson, Allen. Train time : nostalgic glimpses of a Wolfville boyhood. Lancelot Press Ltd. : Windsor, N.-É., 1973, p. 23 [Traduction libre]


Description, par un voyageur anonyme, du voyage en diligence entre Yarmouth et Halifax :

« ... se faire secouer, sur une distance de 200 milles, dans un véhicule de second ordre tiré par de maigres chevaux sur une route en mauvais état et parfois dangereuse; être exposé à la pluie battante pendant le voyage, parfois dans un transport à découvert, être contraint de quitter son siège à tout moment pour que les pauvres chevaux parviennent à monter les côtes... et se faire demander un montant élevé en argent sonnant pour une telle équipée. Il faut bien du courage pour accepter tout ça ... »

Woodworth, Marguerite. History of the Dominion Atlantic Railway. Kentville, Nouvelle-Écosse : Kentville Publishing Company, 1936, p. 88 [Traduction libre]


« L'ouverture officielle du Sherbrooke Eastern Townships and Kennebec Railroad a eu lieu le jeudi 22. Le chemin de fer s'étend de la ville active et ambitieuse de Sherbrooke ... en direction de Québec, vers le nord-est. Il ouvrira une vaste campagne fertile, et il est destiné à devenir une grande artère de voyage et de trafic entre les États de la Nouvelle-Angleterre et le Bas-Saint-Laurent. »

« The Cdn Illustrated News August 8 and Nov. 7, 1874 ». The Eastern Townships, a pictorial record. C.P. deVolpi et P.H. Scowen. Montréal : DevSco Publications Ltd., [S.d.]. Plates 70, 73 [Traduction libre]


Teresa Girardi, alors qu'elle voyageait sur la ligne Coal Branch du Grand Trunk Pacific en 1917 ou en 1918 :

« Ce voyage en train a vraiment été mémorable. De Blairmore à Edmonton, où nous avons rencontré notre père, ce n'était pas si mal. Mais d'Edson à Mountain Park, c'était terrible. Le trajet entre ces deux villes a duré une journée et une nuit. La voiture que nous occupions dans ce train doit maintenant être au musée. C'était une vieille voiture en bois avec des sièges en lattes, aux murs de laquelle étaient accrochées des lampes à huile, et qui était chauffée par un poêle à bois et à charbon. Si vous aviez besoin d'air, le serre-frein venait, avec un long bâton dont l'extrémité était munie d'un crochet, pour ouvrir un évent situé près du plafond de la voiture. Je n'oublierai jamais ce voyage puisque j'ai encore la cicatrice de la coupure que j'ai subie lorsque l'une des fenêtres de ventilation, qui avait été tirée trop brusquement, est tombée et qu'un morceau de verre a heurté mon bras. »

Ross, Toni. Oh! The Coal Branch, a chronicle of the Alberta Coal Branch. Edmonton : T. Ross, 1974, p. 263 [Traduction libre]


F. Hamilton, se rendant aux Maritimes à partir de Cacouna, au Québec, vers 1876 :

« À deux heures, le train est apparu. Après de maints efforts, il s'est arrêté à environ cinq cents verges de la gare, ce qui, une fois de plus, illustre bien la maxime "Hâtez-vous lentement". Selon les renseignements que j'ai obtenus du chef de train, il y aurait eu une défaillance des freins à air, dont deux des cylindres auraient éclaté, ce qui aurait rendu les dépressions partiellement inopérantes. Le chef affirmait les avoir réparés du mieux qu'il avait pu. Mais si certains des passagers les plus nerveux avaient su qu'ils avaient voyagé dans un train dont les freins étaient défectueux, j'imagine qu'ils auraient été passablement effrayés. Le contretemps était évidemment imprévu, mais l'incident mérite d'être mentionné. C'est le genre de bagatelle qui peut conduire à des "accidents effroyables" et à des "enquêtes du coroner". »

Hamilton, Frederick J. A trip over the Intercolonial, including articles on the mining industries of Nova Scotia and New Brunswick: with a description of the cities of St. John and Halifax. [Montréal? : S.n.], 1876. P. 7 [Traduction libre]


« Appelez-le comme vous le voulez, le PGE, la folie de Wacky Bennett ou le BCR, comme vient de le rebaptiser le gouvernement ... Il y avait un train qui se rendait à Prince George dans les années 1960. Un marchand local attendait sur le quai avec son frère à Quesnel. Les deux hommes se rendaient à la chasse, au nord de Prince George. Le train est entré en gare et le marchand a regardé sa montre avec un sourire radieux. En voyant le mécanicien se diriger vers lui, il lui a dit : 'Bon travail, mon ami. Vous êtes juste à temps. Il est exactement deux heures.' Le mécanicien aurait pu ne pas dire un mot, mais il a répondu : 'Ne me félicitez pas, monsieur. C'est le train d'hier : il a 24 heures de retard.'

Ferguson, Ted. Sentimental journey : an oral history of train travel in Canada. Toronto : Doubleday Canada, 1985, p. 164 [Traduction libre]


Touriste anonyme de Nouvelle-Angleterre qui raconte un voyage à bord d'un train de la compagnie du chemin de fer de Québec Central, vers 1880 :

« En une demi-heure ou moins, on profite d'une vue à vol d'oiseau de Lennoxville, puis, par une manœuvre mystérieuse, le train amorce un virage en demi-cercle alors qu'on admire le courage des fermiers qui ont si habilement conquis la nature sauvage sur ces pentes.
... Les "habitants" qui effectuent de brefs voyages en train sont accompagnés à la gare par leurs parents et amis. On n'y entend que peu d'anglais. Les échos constants du patois sont soutenus par les passagers locaux qui font aussi preuve d'un désir élevé de s'exprimer en chansons. »

Car window glimpses en route to Quebec, by daylight, via Quebec Central Railway. New York : Leve & Alden, 1881? [Réédité au Québec par Page-Sangster Print Co., 1952.] P. 8, 15 [Traduction libre]


« Le travail des femmes au Canada, 1913

Les wagons de "colons" peuvent être adaptés, sans frais, pour dormir la nuit. Les banquettes ne sont généralement pas rembourrées. Au quai, avant le départ, l'agent des chemins de fer vend, pour environ 3 dollars, ce que nous appelons un "attirail" : un matelas, des rideaux, des oreillers, etc. »

Bruce, Jean. The last best west. Toronto : Fitzhenry & Whiteside. P. 53 [Traduction libre]


Hugh Keenleyside :

« En fait, nous avions deux trains. Le train royal bleu et argent pour le roi, la reine et leur entourage, et un train vert et marron pour la presse et la sécurité. Avez-vous entendu parler de la sonnette? Le mécanicien du train royal avait une sonnette dans sa cabine. S'il voyait une foule importante à une gare rurale où le train ne s'arrêtait pas, il appuyait sur un bouton et le couple royal se hâtait de se rendre à la plate-forme du wagon panoramique pour saluer.
Durant le voyage vers l'Ouest, il m'est arrivé souvent de me joindre au couple royal dans son wagon salle à manger. Évidemment, la table était bien mise, avec de l'argenterie reluisante et du cristal, et les repas étaient superbes. »

Ferguson, Ted. Sentimental journey : an oral history of train travel in Canada. Toronto : Doubleday Canada, 1985. P. 226 [Traduction libre]


E. McKenna voyageant en train entre Montréal et Chicago en 1881 :

« ...La voie traverse une très belle région et le chef de train est un homme affable et de bonne compagnie. Un échantillon représentatif des habitants de cette région voyagent ici [à Stratford]; de nombreux types mi-américains costauds et musclés, bien adaptés à ce nouveau coin de pays. Nous avons bavardé avec quelques-uns d'entre eux et avons eu beaucoup de plaisir. »

McKenna, Euguene. A railway trip to the sunny south from notes by a railroad conductor. [S.l.: S.n.], 1881. P. 6-7 [Traduction libre]


Extrait d'une lettre d'un immigrant britannique inconnu, vers 1930 :

« Le voyage vers Edmonton se déroule sans incident. Nous sommes restés dans un wagon de marchandises vide. Nous y avons fumé, parlé, mangé et dormi. Diamond s'est comporté comme un brave. Nous étions envieux de sa capacité à dormir dans ce wagon branlant et tressautant... Le lendemain matin, nous avons ouvert nos rideaux et contemplé les montagnes. Nous avions sauté sur le mauvais train et nous étions en route pour Vancouver. Il était trop tard pour retourner. Nous avons donc renoncé à l'idée de battre davantage de céréales.
On comptait environ vingt passagers à bord du train. Nous passions nos journées perchés sur les wagons et les nuits à l'intérieur du réfrigérateur vide. On ne peut admirer convenablement l'ampleur réelle de la construction de cette ligne à travers les Rocheuses que perché sur un wagon... »

« Experiences of a Depression hobo » Lettre écrite à Violet McNaughton. Saskatchewan history. Vol. 22, no 2. P. 63 [Traduction libre]


Lettre de J.E. Woodall, archidiacre anglican de Temiskaming, citant son prédécesseur, l'évêque Holmes, à propos du prolongement de la ligne jusqu'à la baie d'Hudson :

« Woodall! Quel pays extraordinaire! Quand cette ligne se rendra-t-elle à Moose? Toronto a besoin de respirer l'air salin. À l'endroit même où nous sommes présentement assis se dressera un imposant hôtel et, là, sur cette plage sablonneuse, la foule des baigneurs s'ébattra. Dans ce petit port où il ne vient actuellement qu'un bateau par année, il y aura un vapeur quotidien qui quittera et gagnera Moose. Pensez à tout le poisson frais qui pourra être offert à Toronto et à Winnipeg, et qui aura été pris la veille dans la baie. »

Surtees, Robert. The northern connection : Ontario Northland since 1902. Toronto : Ontario Northland and Captus Press, 1992, p. 148 [Traduction libre]


Visitez le site Web ARCHIVÉE - Les trains du Canada : un site pour les enfants