Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Watercolour illustration of Lake of Killarney, Ireland, circa 1820

Source

Canadian Pacific Railway, 1920

ARCHIVED - Canada, by Train

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

About Canada, by Train

Library and Archives Canada (LAC) preserves a unique collection of railway advertising dating from the 1880s to the 1950s. A large portion of the collection was compiled and donated to LAC by Andrew Merrilees. The Merrilees material on this website is supplemented by selected material from LAC's general holdings. Also included are published audio and visual items from LAC.

Christmas card featuring a model of the Toronto, Hamilton & Buffalo Railway No. 40 locomotive, signed by Andrew Merrilees Inside page of Christmas card, signed by Andrew Merrilees

Source

Christmas card featuring a model of the Toronto, Hamilton & Buffalo Railway No. 40 locomotive, signed by Andrew Merrilees

Acknowledgements

LAC would like to thank Monica MacDonald, a curatorial consultant whose former clients include the National Archives of Canada, the Canadian Museum of Civilization and the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) / Société Radio Canada (SRC).

We are also grateful to Gene Allen, associate professor of Journalism at Ryerson University in Toronto. His Ph.D. dissertation (University of Toronto, 1991) was entitled "The Origins of the Intercolonial Railway, 1835-1869." From 1997 to 2001, Allen was director of research for the CBC television series Canada: A People's History.

Michel Brisebois, curator of the Rare Book Collection at LAC, provided invaluable assistance in developing this site.

We also gratefully acknowledge the financial assistance of the Department of Canadian Heritage, whose ARCHIVED - Canadian Cultural Online Program (CCOP) made this work possible.


Visit the website ARCHIVED - The Kids' Site of Canadian Trains

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Affiche du chemin de fer du Canadien Pacifique, 1920

Source

Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique, 1920

ARCHIVÉE - Le Canada par le train

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

À propos de Le Canada par le train

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC) possède une collection unique de documents publicitaires sur les chemins de fer qui datent des années 1880 à 1950. Andrew Merrilees a compilé une grande partie de ces documents et les a offerts à BAC. Des articles sélectionnés à partir de la banque générale de BAC complètent la collection. Le site contient aussi des éléments sonores et visuels publiés et issus de la collection de BAC.

Carte de Noël montrant un modèle de la locomotive no 40 du Toronto, Hamilton and Buffalo Railway, signée par Andrew Merrilees Carte de Noël montrant un modèle de la locomotive no 40 du Toronto, Hamilton and Buffalo Railway, signée par Andrew Merrilees

Source

Carte de Noël montrant un modèle de la locomotive no 40 du Toronto, Hamilton and Buffalo Railway, signée par Andrew Merrilees

Remerciements

BAC tient à remercier Monica MacDonald, consultante en conservation, qui compte parmi ses anciens clients les Archives nationales du Canada, le Musée canadien des civilisations, la Société Radio-Canada (SRC) et la Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC).

BAC remercie aussi Gene Allen, professeur agrégé en journalisme de la Ryerson University à Toronto, pour sa thèse (soutenue à l'University of Toronto en 1991) intitulée The Origins of the Intercolonial Railway, 1835-1869 (Les origines du réseau ferroviaire Intercolonial, 1835-1869). De 1997 à 2001, Gene Allen était directeur de la recherche pour la série télévisée de Radio-Canada Le Canada : une histoire populaire.

Nous tenons aussi à exprimer notre reconnaissance à Michel Brisebois, conservateur de la Collection de livres rares, pour sa précieuse collaboration dans la conception de ce site.

C'est avec gratitude que nous soulignons l'aide du programme de financement de ARCHIVÉE - Culture canadienne en ligne (CCE) de Patrimoine canadien, grâce à laquelle ce travail s'est avéré possible.


Visitez le site Web ARCHIVÉE - Les trains du Canada : un site pour les enfants