Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Framing Canada:
A Photographic Memory

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Essays

Photographic Collections

Photograph of the ruins of the Molson family brewery, Montréal, after the fire of 1858
Ruins of the Molson family brewery after the fire of 1858
Montréal, Quebec, July 1858
Photograph attributed to Thomas Coffin Doane
C-089689
Source

Next

Early Canadian Photography

Some 150 rare daguerreotypes (one of the earliest photographic formats) are preserved by Library and Archives Canada (LAC, previously the National Archives and National Library of Canada). Though most are by anonymous photographers, and have subjects that cannot be identified, there are also significant, well-documented portraits of prominent politicians and ordinary citizens alike. These "one of a kind" photographs are valued for their presentation of both famous and anonymous Canadians prior to Confederation. Included are an exquisite locket containing an 1840s portrait of Kingston lawyer and future prime minister, John A. Macdonald; a marriage portrait of Samuel Leonard Tilley and his wife; a portrait of Louis-Joseph Papineau; and a portrait of Ojibway Chief Maun-gua-daus (also known as George Henry). On rare occasions, photographers ventured beyond the studio to capture city or landscape views; the LAC's holdings include a daguerrotype of the aftermath of the disastrous fire at the Molson Brewery in Montréal in 1852 and another of Allan's Mill, in Guelph, Ontario.

By the time the Fathers of Confederation met in Charlottetown, advances in photographic technology permitted multiple paper prints to be made from a single glass-plate negative (a technique known as the collodion process). This led to an explosion of commercial photography in the 1860s as hundreds of people set up studios to create and sell a variety of photographic formats, such as ambrotypes, tintypes, albumen prints, cartes-de-visite, cabinet cards and stereoviews. One series of stereoviews was taken in Montréal by William Notman, of the 1860 construction of the Victoria Bridge, which was considered an engineering wonder of its time. LAC's holdings also include numerous impressive albums assembled by colonial officials, naval officers, successful businessmen and ordinary men and women; these offer further insight into the subjects and events deemed worthy of preservation by earlier generations of Canadians.

As the 19th century progressed, new developments in photographic processes liberated the photographer from the studio and revolutionized the practice and purpose of photography. In Canada, one of the most significant applications of this new photography was capturing the geographical character of the country. Albumen prints of Newfoundland taken by French photographer Paul-Émile Miot between 1857 and 1859 give us important early views of St. John's as well as various French fishing outports of the time and document the French presence on the island. A significant resource for the study of Canada's expanding frontiers during this period is the collection assembled by Sandford Fleming, the engineer and businessman who coordinated many official government expeditions. Fleming's collection includes photographs  --  by such pioneers as Humphrey Lloyd Hime, Benjamin Baltzly, Charles Horetzky and Alexander Henderson  --  that document exploration, surveying and railway construction. Also scattered throughout a large number of collections are more than 2,000 photographs by the renowned studio of William Notman, which was based in Montréal from 1856 until about 1935. Notman's photographic empire included more than 21 branches in Canada and the United States and typified the exuberance and ambition of the period. It was the Notman firm that produced the first photographic views from the newly opened Canadian Pacific Railway, promoting an image of Canada's abundant resources and natural beauty. Notman's studio operators in various cities often embarked on long and successful careers of their own  --  typical was the Topley Studio of Ottawa, whose collection would eventually become one of the first major private collections acquired by the National Archives.

Similarly, the collection of photography by Jules-Ernest Livernois, containing 1,500 glass negatives by the renowned Quebec photographer, includes many views of buildings, towns and the surrounding countryside of 19th-century Quebec, as well as the daily activities of citizens of that province.

Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Vision photographique du Canada :
La mémoire d'une nation

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Essais

Collections de photos

Photo des ruines de la brasserie de la famille Molson, à Montréal, après l'incendie de 1858
Ruines de la brasserie de la famille Molson
après l'incendie de 1858
Montréal (Québec), juillet 1858
Photo attribuée à Thomas Coffin Doane
C-089689
Source

Suivant

Premières photographies canadiennes

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada conserve dans ses chambres fortes quelque 150 daguerréotypes rares (un des premiers supports photographiques). Même si la plupart proviennent de photographes anonymes et qu'il est impossible d'identifier les sujets, certains d'entre eux sont des portraits marquants, bien documentés, de politiciens influents et de citoyens ordinaires. Ces photographies « uniques en leur genre » sont importantes parce qu'elles montrent des Canadiens célèbres et inconnus de l'époque précédant la Confédération. Elles comprennent, entre autres, un médaillon exquis qui contient un portrait datant des années 1840 d'un avocat de Kingston et futur premier ministre, John A. Macdonald, un portrait de mariage de Samuel Leonard Tilley et de sa femme, un portrait de Louis-Joseph Papineau et un portrait du chef ojibway Maun-gua-daus (aussi connu sous le nom de George Henry). En de rares occasions, les photographes s'aventuraient à l'extérieur du studio pour prendre des clichés de la ville ou de paysages; les fonds documentaires de BAC comportent un daguerréotype montrant les ruines de l'incendie qui a dévasté la brasserie Molson, à Montréal, en 1852, et un autre montrant le moulin Allan, à Guelph, en Ontario.

À l'époque où les Pères de la Confédération se sont rencontrés à Charlottetown, les découvertes en matière de technologie photographique permettaient d'obtenir de multiples épreuves sur papier d'après un seul négatif sur plaque de verre (technique appelée « procédé au collodion »). Ces progrès ont fait exploser la photographie commerciale dans les années 1860 : des centaines de personnes ouvraient des studios pour créer et vendre divers supports photographiques, comme des ambrotypes, des ferrotypes, des épreuves à l'albumine, des cartes de visite, des cartes cabinet et des stéréogrammes. En 1860, William Notman a pris à Montréal une série de stéréogrammes sur la construction du pont Victoria, structure considérée à l'époque comme une merveille de l'ingénierie. Les fonds documentaires de BAC comprennent aussi un grand nombre d'impressionnants albums rassemblés par des dirigeants coloniaux, des officiers de marine, des hommes d'affaires prospères et des hommes et des femmes ordinaires; ces albums permettent de mieux connaître les sujets et les événements que les générations précédentes de Canadiens et de Canadiennes jugeaient dignes d'être préservés.

Au cours du dix-neuvième siècle, le photographe devient de moins en moins prisonnier du studio grâce à de nouvelles découvertes en matière de techniques photographiques qui révolutionnent la pratique et l'objectif de la photographie. Au Canada, la représentation du caractère géographique du pays est l'une des utilisations les plus marquantes de ce nouveau type de photographie. Des épreuves à l'albumine prises à Terre-Neuve par le photographe français Paul-Émile Miot de 1857 à 1859 nous fournissent d'importantes premières images de St. John's, ainsi que de divers ports de pêche français de l'époque et montrent la présence française sur l'île. La collection réunie par Sandford Fleming, ingénieur et homme d'affaires qui a coordonné bien des expéditions officielles du gouvernement, constitue une ressource substantielle pour étudier l'élargissement des frontières du Canada au cours de cette période. La collection de Fleming comprend des photographies, prises par des pionniers comme Humphrey Lloyd Hime, Benjamin Baltzly, Charles Horetzky et Alexander Henderson, qui mettent en évidence des activités d'exploration et d'arpentage et des travaux de construction de voies ferrées. En outre, plus de 2 000 photographies attribuées au célèbre studio de William Notman, qui a eu pignon sur rue à Montréal de 1856 jusque vers 1935, sont disséminées dans un grand nombre de collections. L'empire photographique de Notman comptait plus de 21 succursales au Canada et aux États-Unis et symbolisait l'exubérance et l'ambition caractéristiques de cette époque. Les premières photos du chemin de fer du Canadien Pacifique, récemment inauguré, qui mettaient en valeur les ressources abondantes et la beauté de la nature au Canada, ont été réalisées par l'entreprise de Notman. Les exploitants des studios de Notman installés dans diverses villes ont souvent poursuivi une longue et prestigieuse carrière personnelle. Le Studio Topley d'Ottawa en est un exemple classique; sa collection est devenue plus tard l'une des plus importantes collections privées acquises par les Archives nationales.

De façon similaire, la collection de photographies prises par Jules-Ernest Livernois, dont font partie 1 500 négatifs sur verre de ce réputé photographe de Québec, comprend de nombreuses vues d'édifices, de villages et de la campagne du Québec du dix-neuvième siècle, ainsi que des images montrant les activités quotidiennes des citoyens de cette province.

Suivant