Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

What's New

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

What's New

For Government of Canada Departments:

Changes to the Montréal Regional Service Centre

OTTAWA, April 1, 2010 - On June 1, 2009, the Treasury Board Secretariat's Directive on Recordkeeping came into effect with the objective of enabling departments to create, acquire, capture, manage and protect the integrity of information resources of business value in the delivery of Government of Canada programs and services.

Library and Archives Canada (LAC) is developing a number of initiatives related to the Directive on Recordkeeping. The New Storage and Service Model (NSSM), proposes a Government of Canada enterprise solution where only records of an archival, secure/classified, long-term business value would be maintained in LAC's Regional Service Centres (RSC).

The Montréal Regional Service Centre is located in an older building that does not meet minimun storage and information management requirements and standards. These inadequate storage conditions are placing the records stored in Montréal in a situation of vulnerability.

Therefore, as of September 1, 2010, Library and Archives Canada will no longer accept records at its Montréal Regional Service Centre. Services supporting disposition and reference activities for existing accessions at the Montréal RSC will be maintained.

As part of the continuing work on recordkeeping for government, LAC is developing a new model for the record storage and services it offers to government departments. Solutions for the Montréal RSC will be included in the New-Storage-and-Service-Model-4-Year-Plan, which will be announced during 2010-11.

Although, this notification is related to LAC's New Storage and Service Model, it is not a follow-up to the September 4, 2009 notification Service Improvements to the Prairies-Northwest Regional Service Centre. Clients can rest assured that any future changes to the other Regional Service Centres will be announced within the context of the NSSM 4-Year plan.

LAC will contact each federal department affected by this change to discuss alternative measures for storing records. These discussions will evaluate other options for storage, such as the use of the Regional Service Centres Ottawa and the City of Québec, or the National Master Standing Offer for record storage services now in place to offer an interim storage solution for government records.

For more information, please contact:
Recordkeeping Liaison Centre
Government Records Branch
Library and Archives Canada
Telephone (Toll-free): 1-866-578-7777
Telephone (NCR): 819-934-7519
Fax: 819-934-7534
Email: centre.liaison.centre@bac-lac.gc.ca

Backgrounder

New Entrance Criteria
On April 1, 2009, LAC implemented 10 new entrance criteria for accepting records at the Regional Service Centres. If departments are unable to meet these criteria within the required timelines, they may negotiate a Memorandum of Understanding with LAC; otherwise, no additional records may be transferred. For more information on the new entrance criteria, please visit www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/government/products-services/index-e.html or go to www.collectionscanada.gc.ca and click on the following menu headings: What We Do for Government, Products and Services, Guidelines.

National Master Standing Offer
A new Standing Offer for records storage has been released by Public Works and Government Services Canada, with Canada divided into three service regions: Atlantic, Central and Western. Please go to http://soi.pwgsc.gc.ca/app/index.cfm?Fuseaction=sim.search&altlang=-e and search for Standing Offer 5Z011-090278 for more information and prices.

The New Storage and Service Model
The NSSM is an enterprise-wide solution that will result in a more modern and efficient operating model for storage, maintenance of government records, as well as related services. It is also related to the Treasury Board Secretariat's Directive on Recordkeeping, which came into effect on June 1, 2009, with an objective of enabling departments to create, acquire, capture, manage and protect the integrity of information resources of business value so that they are authentic, reliable and usable.

Through this new model, Regional Services Centres will return to their true mandate of managing long-term business value and archival records. This means that RSCs will eventually stop managing active and short-term business value records on behalf of other departments. This will be done through a four-year phased implementation plan, whose ideal end state is that only Archival, Secure/Classified, long-term business value records be maintained in RSCs, and that the remainder of the records be moved to the private sector, or the P3 over time. Under this model, LAC will act as the portal for transfer of records from the departments to the private sector record management firms.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Quoi de neuf?

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Quoi de neuf?

À l'intention des ministères du gouvernement du Canada

Changements au Centre de services régional de Montréal

Ottawa, le 1er avril 2010 - La Directive sur la tenue de documents émise par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor est entrée en vigueur le 1er juin 2009. Cette directive a pour objectif d'aider les ministères à créer, acquérir, saisir et gérer les ressources documentaires ayant une valeur opérationnelle du point de vue des programmes et de la prestation des services du gouvernement du Canada.

Dans le cadre de la Directive, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC) va présentement de l'avant avec un certain nombre d'initiatives, comme le nouveau modèle d'entreposage et de services (NMES). Le NMES est une solution d'entreprise pangouvernementale, qui consiste à limiter le nombre de documents conservés dans les Centres de services régionaux (CSR) de BAC, en y acceptant seulement des documents protégés ou classifiés, des documents ayant une valeur archivistique et des documents ayant une valeur opérationnelle à long terme.

Le Centre de services régional de Montréal est logé dans un vieil édifice, qui ne respecte pas les exigences et les normes en matière d'entreposage et de gestion des documents. Les conditions d'entreposage inadéquates du CSR de Montréal placent donc les documents qui y sont entreposés dans une situation précaire.

Par conséquent, à compter du 1 er septembre 2010, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada n'acceptera plus de transferts de documents à son Centre de services régional de Montréal. Néanmoins, les activités de référence et de disposition se poursuivront pour ce qui est des documents présentement entreposés au CSR de Montréal.

BAC élabore actuellement un nouveau modèle d'entreposage et de services destiné aux ministères, dans le cadre de ses travaux en matière de tenue de documents gouvernementaux. Des solutions destinées au CSR de Montréal figureront dans le plan quadriennal du NMES, qui sera dévoilé au cours de l'exercice financier de 2010-2011.

Bien que cet avis soit lié au nouveau modèle d'entreposage et de services de BAC, il ne représente pas un suivi de l'avis intitulé Amélioration du service au Centre de services régional des Prairies et du Nord-Ouest du 4 septembre 2009. Les clients peuvent être assurés que tout nouveau changement pouvant affecter les autres centres de services régionaux sera annoncé dans le cadre du plan quadriennal du NMES.

BAC communiquera avec l'ensemble des ministères fédéraux touchés par ce changement, afin de se pencher avec eux sur des solutions de rechange pour l'entreposage des documents (p.ex. faire appel aux Centres de services régionaux d'Ottawa et de Québec ou se prévaloir de l'Offre à commandes principale et nationale, qui offre une solution temporaire pour l'entreposage des documents gouvernementaux).

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements à ce sujet, veuillez communiquer avec le :
Centre de liaison en tenue de documents
Direction des documents gouvernementaux
Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-866-578-7777
Téléphone (RCN) : 819-934-7519
Télécopieur : 819-934-7534
Courriel : centre.liaison.centre@bac-lac.gc.ca

Fiche d'information

Nouveaux critères d'acceptation
Le 1er avril 2009, BAC adoptait dix nouveaux critères d'acceptation pour l'entreposage des documents dans les Centres de services régionaux. Les ministères qui ne sont pas en mesure de se conformer à ces critères dans les délais accordés devront négocier un protocole d'entente avec BAC, sans quoi aucun autre transfert ne sera accepté de leur part. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur ces nouveaux critères, veuillez consulter le www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/government/products-services/index-f.html ou le www.collectionscanada.gc.ca et cliquer sur les rubriques suivantes : « Nos services pour le gouvernement », « Produits et services », « Lignes directrices » et « Lignes directrices pour le transfert de documents dans les Centres de services régionaux ».

Offre à commandes principale et nationale
Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada a émis une nouvelle offre à commandes principale et nationale pour l'entreposage des documents dans les trois régions - atlantique, centrale et de l'Ouest- de service du pays. Si vous désirez obtenir des prix ou des renseignements supplémentaires, veuillez vous rendre au http://soi.pwgsc.gc.ca/app/index.cfm?Fuseaction=sim.search&altlang=-f et lancer une recherche pour l'Offre à commandes 5Z011-090278.

Le nouveau modèle d'entreposage et de services Le NMES est une solution d'entreprise qui permettra d'établir un modèle de fonctionnement moderne et efficace pour l'entreposage et la conservation des documents gouvernementaux, de même que pour les services connexes. Ce modèle est également associé à la Directive sur la tenue de documents émise par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, qui est entrée en vigueur le 1er juin 2009 et dont l'objectif est d'aider les ministères à créer, acquérir, saisir et gérer les ressources documentaires ayant une valeur opérationnelle, de même qu'à en protéger l'intégrité pour qu'elles soient authentiques, fiables et utilisables.

Grâce à ce nouveau modèle, les centres de services régionaux pourront se consacrer à leur véritable mandat, soit la gestion des documents d'archives et des documents ayant une valeur opérationnelle à long terme. Cela signifie que les CSR cesseront, éventuellement, de gérer les documents actifs et les documents ayant une valeur opérationnelle à court terme pour d'autres ministères. L'intégration du nouveau modèle suivra un plan de mise en œuvre graduelle de quatre ans, d'après lequel les CSR ne doivent conserver, si l'on parvient au résultat escompté, que les documents protégés ou classifiés et les documents ayant une valeur archivistique ou opérationnelle à long terme. Avec le temps, tous les autres documents seront confiés au secteur privé ou feront l'objet de partenariats public-privé. Suivant ce modèle, BAC agira en tant que portail pour le transfert des documents ministériels à des firmes de gestion de documents privées.