Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Celebrating Women's Achievements

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Themes - Activism

Marie Lacoste Gérin-Lajoie

Photograph of Marie Lacoste Gérin-Lajoie

(1867-1945)
Pioneer Quebec Feminist

Source


In 1907, Marie Lacoste Gérin-Lajoie founded the Fédération nationale Saint-Jean-Baptiste, an organization of francophone women from various professional and charitable organizations, dedicated to the promotion of civil and political rights for women.

In addition to teaching, and lecturing at l'Université de Montréal, Gérin-Lajoie, a self-taught legal expert, authored two treatises, Traité de droit usuel in 1902 and La femme et le code civil in 1929, as part of her efforts to reform the civil code, which attributed a married woman the inferior legal status of a minor.

She struggled to amend laws that had changed little since the 16th century, working to achieve the right of married women to control their own income, the right to limit the husband's freedom to unilaterally give away family assets, and the right to be guardians of minors. She also supported efforts to obtain simpler and cheaper separation procedures, the rights of separated women to manage their own property, and demands that a fixed proportion of a husband's estate go to the wife.

In 1922, she led a delegation of 400 suffragists to meet with the Quebec premier in an unsuccessful bid to obtain the vote for women. It would require 18 more years of hard work by feminists like Marie Lacoste Gérin-Lajoie before Quebec granted women the right to vote in 1940, the final province to do so.

Her daughter, Sister Marie-Joséphine Gérin-Lajoie, was Quebec's first francophone woman to receive a BA in 1911. She pursued her own style of women's suffrage, social work and education, through her foundation of a new religious order, les Soeurs Notre-Dame-du-Bon-Conseil in 1923.

Resources

Cleverdon, Catherine L. — The woman suffrage movement in Canada. — 2nd edition. — Toronto: University of Toronto Press, c1974. — 324 p. — ISBN 0802021085

Quebec women: a history. — By the Clio Collective, Micheline Dumont ... [et al]. ; translated by Roger Gannon and Rosalind Gill. — Toronto: Women's Press, c1987. — 396 p. — ISBN 0889611017

Prévost, Robert. — Québécoises d'hier et d'aujourd'hui: profils de 275 femmes hors du commun. — Montréal: Stanké, c1985. — 230 p. — ISBN 2760402614

Trifiro, Luigi. — "Une intervention à Rome dans la lutte pour le suffrage féminin au Québec (1922)". — Revue d'histoire de l'Amérique française — Vol. 32, no. 1 (juin 1978). — ISSN 00352357. — P. 3-18

Previous | Next

Copyright/Sources

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Femmes à l‘honneur: Leurs réalisations

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Thèmes - Militantisme

Marie Lacoste Gérin-Lajoie

Photo de Marie Lacoste Gérin-Lajoie

(1867-1945)
Pionnière du féminisme au Québec

Source


Marie Lacoste Gérin-Lajoie a fondé la Fédération nationale Saint-Jean-Baptiste en 1907, un organisme de femmes francophones provenant de divers secteurs professionnels et de bienfaisance, voué à la promotion des droits civiques et politiques des femmes.

En plus d'enseigner et de donner des conférences à l'Université de Montréal, Mme Gérin-Lajoie, une experte en droit autodidacte, est l'auteure de deux traités, soit le Traité de droit usuel en 1902 et La femme et le Code civil en 1929, dans le cadre de ses efforts pour réformer le Code civil, qui attribuait aux femmes mariées le statut légal inférieur de mineures.

Elle a lutté pour faire modifier des lois qui avaient changé très peu depuis le 16e siècle, notamment les droits des femmes mariées de contrôler leurs propres revenus, le droit de limiter la liberté du mari de se départir unilatéralement des biens de la famille, et le droit d'être les tutrices des mineurs. Elle a contribué en outre à obtenir des procédures de séparation plus simples et moins chères, le droit des femmes séparées de gérer leurs propres biens et exigé qu'une proportion fixe de la succession d'un mari soit versée à sa femme.

En 1922, elle a pris la tête d'une délégation de 400 suffragettes afin de rencontrer le premier ministre du Québec pour tenter, sans succès, d'obtenir le vote pour les femmes. Il faudra encore 18 ans de dur travail par des féministes comme Marie Lacoste Gérin-Lajoie avant que le Québec accorde le droit de vote aux femmes en 1940, la dernière province à le faire.

Sa fille, Soeur Marie-Joséphine Gérin-Lajoie, a été la première francophone du Québec à obtenir un B.A. en 1911. Elle a poursuivi son propre style du droit de suffrage pour les femmes, de travail social et d'éducation, par la fondation d'un nouvel ordre religieux, les Soeurs Notre-Dame-du-Bon-Conseil, en 1923.

Ressources

Cleverdon, Catherine L. — The woman suffrage movement in Canada. — 2nd edition. — Toronto : University of Toronto Press, c1974. — 324 p. — ISBN 0802021085

Dumont, Micheline. — L'histoire des femmes au Québec depuis quatre siècles. -- Montréal : Les Quinze, c1982. — 525 p. — ISBN 2890263096

Prévost, Robert. — Québécoises d'hier et d'aujourd'hui : profils de 275 femmes hors du commun. — Montréal : Stanké, c1985. — 230 p. — ISBN 2760402614

Trifiro, Luigi. — «Une intervention à Rome dans la lutte pour le suffrage féminin au Québec (1922)». — Revue d'histoire de l'Amérique française — Vol. 32, no 1 (juin 1978). — ISSN 00352357. — P. 3-18

Précédent | Suivant

Droits d'auteur/Sources