Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
FrançaisHomeContact UsHelpSearchCanada Site

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Canadian Writers
Cultural ContextManuscript GalleryResources

IntroductionSelect a writer

Educational Resources

About This Site

Jacques Brault

  Jacques Brault

Jacques Brault, poet, novelist and essayist, was born in Montréal in 1933. He studied at Collège Sainte-Marie, the Université de Montréal and in France. His professional career was spent mainly at the Université de Montréal, where he was a professor and researcher with the Département d'études françaises and the Institut des sciences médiévales. In addition to his teaching and research, Brault took part in many Radio-Canada cultural broadcasts.

Jacques Brault's extensive body of writings includes work of outstanding merit in most literary genres. He is the author of plays (Trois partitions, 1972), novels and works of short fiction (Agonie, 1984), translations (E.D. Blodgett's Transfiguration, 1998) and several seminal works of Canadian literary criticism, including Miron le magnifique (1966), Chemin faisant (1975), La poussière du chemin (1989), and Ô saisons, ô châteaux (1991). However, it is primarily for his work as a poet that Jacques Brault is admired by readers and known outside of Canada. Among some twenty of his published poetry collections are, most notably, Mémoire (1965), Suite fraternelle (1969), L'en dessous l'admirable (1975), Poèmes des quatre côtés (1975), Moments fragiles (1984) and Il n'y a plus de chemin (1990).

Over the course of his career, Jacques Brault has received most of the major literary distinctions awarded in Quebec and Canada: the Québec-Paris award, for Mémoire, in 1968; the Governor General's Award three times -- for Quand nous serons heureux, in 1970, for Agonie, in 1985, and for his translation of the novel Transfiguration by E.D Blodgett, in 1999; as well as the Alain-Grandbois award, for Il n'y a plus de chemin, in 1991. He also won the Ludger-Duvernay award (1978), the Athanase-David award (1986) and the Gilles-Corbeil award (1996), all for the body of his work.

Proactive Disclosure