Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
FrançaisHomeContact UsHelpSearchCanada Site

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Canadian Writers

IntroductionSelect a writerEducational ResourcesAbout This Site
Comments
Copyright/Sources

Educational Resources

Writing Matters: Creative Writing Activities

Activity 2 - Inspiration

Without readers, archival documents such as literary manuscripts remain dormant and forgotten. Readers bring these documents to life by connecting them to their personal interests. The creative process is an organic development that requires imaginative connections with "neural and electrical messages rippling the whole into dynamic patterns." (R.W. Gerard, "The Biological Basis of Imagination," in The Creative Process: A Symposium, 1965, p. 246)

Students will be guided in this site search by activities centred on three basic principles of creativity: information, inspiration and invention.

Inspiration

"I do not believe that inspiration falls from heaven. I think it rather the result of a profound indolence and of our incapacity to put to work certain forces in ourselves. These unknown forces work deep within us, with the aid of the elements of daily life, its scenes and passions...."

- Jean Cocteau, "The Process of Inspiration,"
in The Creative Process: A Symposium, 1965 p. 81-82

Jean Cocteau suggests that inspiration forces itself upon us, even against our will. The creative work "makes itself in us and in spite of us demands to be born." (p. 82) Before the conscious act of writing takes place, we need to slumber in our "indolence." Inspiration is the stage before the conscious act: "To write, to conquer ink and paper, accumulate letters and paragraphs, divide them with periods and commas, is a different matter from carrying around the dream of a play or of a book." (Jean Cocteau, in The Creative Process: A Symposium, p. 82)

Process

  1. Ask students to click on the "Manuscript Gallery" of any writer. After they have viewed several items from the gallery, have students jot down in their writing journal, blog or log any ideas that come to mind. Instruct them to use their imagination to freely associate those ideas to their own daily lives. They should indulge their dreams and resist reality.

  2. Have students repeat this process for another writer of their choice. Since inspiration is often mutually induced (the discoveries of insulin and DNA were collaborative ventures), instruct students to share the Manuscript Gallery with a partner. Have them exchange ideas they are able to glean from the gallery. They should use a rehearsal strategy such as brainstorming or exploratory talk with their partner. Individually, students will choose a way to give shape to some of the ideas that they have gleaned by working with their partner. Provide suggestions to students as to the various forms they could use to express their ideas. For example, one student may wish to write a short story while another may prefer to create a poem.

  3. Ask students to answer the following questions:
    1. Which of the writers' manuscripts most resembles your works in progress? Explain.
    2. What similarities exist between your writing process and any of the writers featured on the Canadian Writers site?
    3. If you had to research the work of one of these writers, which would you be inspired to choose? Explain.

Optional Exercise: A Writer's Inspiration

The following passages are taken from works written by the writers introduced on the Canadian Writers website. By reading the following passages carefully for clues, students should be able to detect a source for the author's writing within the manuscript galleries. Ideas, like dreams, have many disguises, and they may not wish to reveal themselves. Besides content, students should look for clues of style and tone. Above all, students will learn to appreciate the writers' insights into the human condition.

  1. All hope of redistributing this incredible classification process lost, Maud sat on a low stool in the twilight of the closet and considered the possessions of drowned men; how they always carried similar objects in the pockets. Yet, it was the crack in the cuff-link that would allow some relative to identify a body the earth had already, mercifully, taken care of. But rarely did that relative appear. These wild, violent deaths were too grotesque, Maud imagined, to be faced. (Jane Urquhart, The Whirlpool, p. 192)

  2. And so, returning to Canada through the fall sunshine, I look homeward now and melt, for though I am crowned and anointed with love and have obtained from life all I asked, what am I as I enter my parents' house but another prodigal daughter? I see their faces at which I shall never be free to look dispassionately. They gaze out of the window with eyes harassed by what they continually fear they see, like premature ghosts, straggling homeward over the plain. (Elizabeth Smart, By Grand Central Station I Sat Down and Wept, in From Ink Lake, p. 458)

View quotations by French authors

Previous  Next


Proactive Disclosure

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives Canada
EnglishAccueilContactez-nousAideRechercheSite du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière : Écrivains et écrivaines du Canada
IntroductionÉcrivains et écrivainesRessources pédagogiquesÀ propos du siteCommentairesDroits d'auteur/Sources

Ressources pédagogiques

L'écriture inspirée : activités de création littéraire

Activité 2 - Inspiration

Sans lecteurs, les documents d'archives comme les manuscrits littéraires restent inutilisés et tombent dans l'oubli. Les lecteurs insufflent une nouvelle vie à ces documents en les jumelant à leurs intérêts personnels. Le processus créateur est un mouvement organique qui nécessite des connexions de l'imaginaire avec « des messages neuronaux et électriques qui organisent la réponse globale en des schémas dynamiques » [traduction libre] (R.W. Gerard, « The Biological Basis of Imagination », dans The Creative Process: A Symposium, 1965, p. 246).

Des activités axées sur trois principes fondamentaux de la créativité, à savoir l'information, l'inspiration et l'invention, guideront les élèves dans l'exploration du site Web.

Inspiration

« L'inspiration ne tombe pas du ciel. Je crois qu'elle est plutôt le résultat d'une profonde indolence et de notre incapacité à mettre en branle certaines forces qui nous animent. Ces forces inconnues sont à l'œuvre dans notre for intérieur, avec l'aide des éléments de la vie quotidienne, ses scènes et ses passions » [traduction libre].

- Jean Cocteau, « The Process of Inspiration », dans The Creative Process: A Symposium, 1965, p. 81-82

Selon Jean Cocteau, l'inspiration s'impose à nous, que nous le voulions ou non. Le travail créateur « s'insinue en nous et, malgré nous, cherche à naître » (p. 82). Avant que l'acte conscient d'écrire puisse prendre forme, nous devons nous complaire dans l'« indolence ». L'inspiration est le stade qui précède l'acte conscient : « Écrire, conquérir l'encre et le papier, aligner des lettres et des paragraphes, les ponctuer de points et de virgules, c'est tout autre chose que de mûrir le rêve d'une pièce de théâtre ou d'un roman. » [traduction libre] (Jean Cocteau, dans The Creative Process: A Symposium, p. 82)

Déroulement

  1. Demandez aux élèves de visiter la « Galerie des manuscrits » d'un écrivain ou d'une écrivaine. Une fois qu'ils auront examiné plusieurs éléments de la galerie, invitez-les à inscrire dans leur journal, leur blogue ou leur carnet de route les idées qui leur viennent à l'esprit. Dites-leur d'utiliser leur imagination pour faire des associations entre ces idées et leur vie quotidienne. Ils ne doivent pas laisser la réalité s'immiscer dans leurs rêves.

  2. Invitez les élèves à refaire l'exercice en changeant d'auteur(e). Comme l'inspiration est souvent stimulée au contact de l'autre (la découverte de l'insuline et celle de l'ADN sont issues de travaux conjoints), faites en sorte que les élèves se groupent deux par deux pour explorer la galerie des manuscrits de l'écrivain ou écrivaine. Demandez-leur d'échanger avec leur partenaire des idées glanées ici et là dans la galerie au moyen d'une stratégie comme le remue-méninges ou la conversation exploratoire. Individuellement, les élèves choisiront ensuite une façon de donner forme à certaines des idées recueillies en compagnie de leur partenaire. Suggérez aux élèves diverses formes de textes qu'ils pourraient utiliser pour exprimer leurs idées. Par exemple, un élève pourra écrire une nouvelle, un autre, créer un poème.

  3. Demandez aux élèves de répondre aux questions suivantes :
    1. Quels sont les manuscrits qui ressemblent le plus à votre texte en cours de rédaction? Expliquez.
    2. Quelles sont les similarités entre votre processus d'écriture et celui d'un écrivain ou d'une écrivaine figurant sur le site Web Écrivains et écrivaines du Canada?
    3. Si vous deviez faire une recherche sur les travaux d'un de ces écrivains, lequel ou laquelle choisiriez-vous? Expliquez.

Exercice facultatif : sources d'inspiration

Les extraits suivants sont tirés d'œuvres écrites par des écrivains présentés sur le site Web Écrivains et écrivaines du Canada. En lisant attentivement ces extraits, les élèves devraient être en mesure de déceler une source d'inspiration de l'auteur dans la galerie des manuscrits. Les idées, comme les rêves, revêtent de nombreux déguisements et ne se laissent pas percer facilement. Outre le contenu, le style et le ton recèleront autant d'indices pour les élèves. Par-dessus tout, les élèves apprendront à apprécier le point de vue des auteurs sur la condition humaine.

  1. Édouard entra dans la chambre de la grosse femme sur le bout des pieds. Elle était assoupie ou, plutôt, elle faisait semblant de l'être, ne voulant pas que Richard et Philippe viennent la voir avant que sa toilette ne soit terminée. Édouard prit doucement le plateau où traînaient les reliefs du repas de sa belle-sœur. « Dormez-vous? » Elle tourna vers lui une tête souriante où se lisait un certain soulagement. « Ah, c'est toé. » Reprenant son accent français, Édouard murmura sur un ton de conspirateur : « Vous crrroyiez que c'était la terrrible Alllberrtine? » [sic] (Michel Tremblay, La grosse femme d'à côté est enceinte, p. 48)

  2. Héloïse avait fermé les yeux. Elle priait, un peu à l'écart, loin de ses frères et des jeunes enfants. Les Ave mélancoliques coulaient de ses lèvres comme des plaintes. Seules y répondaient quelques jeunes filles toujours vaillantes -- celles que Jean Le Maigre appelait les Grandes A : Aurélia, Anita, Anna… Les voix d'hommes s'étaient tues, et Grand-Mère n'ouvrait plus la bouche que pour dire des « A…men, A…men » au milieu des bébés accroupis. (Marie-Claire Blais, Une saison dans la vie d'Emmanuel, p. 29)

Pour voir les citations d'auteurs anglais

Précédent  Suivant


Divulgation proactive