Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional websitecanada.gc.ca - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

BACHMAN, RANDY, 1943-
MUS 219


Randy Bachman fonds.  - 1945-1995.  - 10.28 m of textual records.  - 880 photographs.  - 198 negatives.  - 71 audio discs.  - 296 audio tape reels.  - 2 audio tape cassettes.  - 34 videocassettes.  - 181 film reels. 

Biographical sketch
A guitarist originally from Winnipeg, Randy Bachman has played in a number of popular music groups.  In 1965 he formed The Guess Who, with singer, pianist and guitarist Chad Allan, bass guitarist Jim Kale and drummer Garry Peterson.  The same year, just before the departure of Chad Allan, singer and pianist Burton Cummings joined the group.  The Guess Who had many hits, and in the late 1960s toured England and the United States.  In 1969, sales of the ballad These Eyes exceeded one million.  Randy Bachman left The Guess Who in 1970 and formed the group Brave Belt with Chad Allan and Bob Bachman (drums).  In 1971, singer and bass guitarist Fred Turner joined, and the group produced its second album, Brave Belt II.  With the arrival of guitarist Tim Bachman in 1972 and the departure of Chad Allan, the group chose a new name, Bachman-Turner Overdrive (BTO), and an aggressive hard-rock style.  The group became famous, performing in Canada, the United States, Europe and Japan.  Its hits included Blue Collar, Let It Ride, Takin' Care of Business, You Ain't Seen Nothin' Yet, Hey You, and My Wheels Won't Turn.  In 1977 Randy Bachman resumed his career as a solo guitarist and cut his second solo album, Survivor.  The artist returned to the group format in 1979 with the formation of Ironhorse.  In 1983, Randy Bachman resumed his musical activities with the group BachmanTurner Overdrive.  Throughout his career, Bachman has also worked as a record producer and artistic director. 

Scope and content
The records in the fonds pertain primarily to the musical activities of Randy Bachman and a number of musical groups such as The Guess Who, Brave Belt, BTO, Ironhorse, Union, Trooper, Noah, Hammersmith, BMX and Original Crayons (Carmel).  The fonds also contains numerous records pertaining to Bachman's activities in companies such as R.C.B.  Ltd., Legend Records Ltd., Legend Records Inc., Survivor Music Ltd., Brave Belt Ltd.  and R.B.  Music Ltd.  The Randy Bachman archives therefore offer many research opportunities, since they deal simultaneously with the activities of an individual, musical groups and companies.  Through the numerous records in the fonds, researchers may access a significant portion of the history of popular music in Canada. 

The fonds contains, among other items, biographical and historical sketches; correspondence; contracts; minutes; scores and lyrics; copyright material; press releases; hit lists; awards and honourable mentions; legal documents; annotated schedules; tour itineraries; logos; posters; passes; concert tickets; financial material (ledgers; account books; accounting sheets; accounting records; royalties; account analyses; financial reports; bank statements; payment registration forms; salaries and wages; etc.); concert programmes; promotional material; record jackets; press clippings; photographs, mainly of Randy Bachman and musical groups; sound and video recordings of a number of artists and musical groups including Randy Bachman, Frank Ludwig, Denise McCann, The Guess Who, Brave Belt, BTO, Ironhorse, Union, Carmel, Trooper, Noah, Cowboys International, BMX and The Beach Boys. 

The fonds contains the following series:  MUS 219/A Personal Records; MUS 219/B Correspondence and Contracts; MUS 219/C Financial Records; MUS 219/D Songs; MUS 219/E Solo Career; MUS 219/F Musical Groups; MUS 219/G Production; MUS 219/H Companies; MUS 219/I Artist Files; MUS 219/J Photographs; MUS 219/K Audio and Audio-visual Recordings; MUS 219/L Miscellaneous. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Randy Bachman, in several accessions, between 1992 and 1995. 

Restrictions:  written permission is required for access to the financial records. 

Finding aids:  Stéphane Jean.  Numerical List of the Randy Bachman fonds.  Ottawa:  National Library of Canada.  1995.  168 p.  (www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/music/index-e.html#fonds)

Accruals:  further accessions expected. 



Proactive Disclosure

Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Library and Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
English - English version of this Web pageAccueil - Page principale du site Web institutionnelContactez-nous - Communiquez avec l'institutionAide - Renseignements sur la façon d'utiliser le site Web institutionnelRecherche - Recherche dans le site Web institutionnelecanada.gc.ca - Site Web du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.


Les Archives de Musique à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

BACHMAN, RANDY, 1943-
MUS 219


Fonds Randy-Bachman.  - 1945-1995. - 10,28 m de documents textuels.  - 880 photographies.  - 198 négatifs.  - 71 disques sonores.  - 296 bandes sonores.  - 2 cassettes sonores.  - 34 vidéocassettes.  - 181 bobines de film. 

Notice biographique
Guitariste originaire de Winnipeg, Randy Bachman joue dans plusieurs groupes rocks.  En 1965, il forme le groupe The Guess Who avec le chanteur, pianiste et guitariste Chad Allan, le guitariste basse Jim Kale et le batteur Garry Peterson.  Cette même année, juste avant le départ de Chad Allan, le chanteur et pianiste Burton Cummings se joint au groupe.  La formation rock obtient de nombreux succès et entreprend à la fin des années 1960 une tournée en Angleterre et aux États-Unis.  En 1969, la vente de la ballade These Eyes dépasse le million d'exemplaires.  Randy Bachman quitte The Guess Who en 1970 et forme l'ensemble Brave Belt avec Chad Allan et Bob Bachman (batterie).  En 1971, le chanteur et guitariste basse Fred Turner s'unit à la formation et le groupe produit son second album :  Brave Belt II.  Avec l'arrivée, en 1972, du guitariste Tim Bachman et le départ de Chad Allan, le groupe choisit un nouveau nom (Bachman-Turner Overdrive) et opte pour un style musical hard-rock agressif.  Groupe célèbre, il se produit au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Europe et au Japon.  Parmi les pièces à succès figurent Blue Collar, Let It Ride, Takin' Care of Business, You Ain't Seen Nothin' Yet, Hey You et My Wheels Won't Turn.  En 1977, Randy Bachman reprend sa carrière individuelle de guitariste et grave son second album solo Survivor.  L'année 1979 marque le retour de l'artiste dans un ensemble musical avec la création du groupe Ironhorse.  En 1983, Randy Bachman reprend ses activités musicales avec l'ensemble Bachman-Turner Overdrive (BTO).  Au cours de sa carrière, Bachman travaille également comme producteur de disques et conseiller artistique. 

Portée et contenu
Les documents du fonds témoignent principalement des activités musicales de Randy Bachman et de plusieurs groupes musicaux tels que Guess Who, Brave Belt, BTO, Ironhorse, Union, Trooper, Noah, Hammersmith, BMX et Original Crayons (Carmel). De plus, le fonds est composé de nombreux documents qui illustrent les activités de Bachman au sein de compagnies comme R.C.B. Ltd., Legend Records Ltd., Legend Records Inc., Survivor Music Ltd., Brave Belt Ltd. et R.B. Music Ltd. Les archives Randy Bachman offrent donc plusieurs possibilités de recherches puisqu'elles portent à la fois sur les activités d'un particulier, de groupes musicaux et de compagnies. À travers les multiples documents du fonds, le chercheur accède à une partie importante de l'histoire de la musique rock au Canada.

Le fonds contient, entre autres, des notices biographiques et historiques; de la correspondance; des contrats; des procès-verbaux; des partitions et des paroles de chanson; des documents relatifs aux droits d'auteur; des communiqués; des listes de succès; des prix et des mentions honorables; des documents légaux; des calendriers annotés; des itinéraires de tournées; des logos; des affiches; des laissez-passer; des billets de spectacles; des documents financiers (grands livres; livres de comptes; feuilles comptables; registres de pièces comptables; redevances; analyses de comptes; rapports financiers; états bancaires; formulaires d'enregistrement de paiement; salaires; etc.); des programmes de concerts; de la publicité; des couvertures de pochettes de disques; des coupures de presse; des photographies principalement de Randy Bachman et de groupes musicaux; des enregistrements sonores et vidéos de plusieurs artistes et groupes musicaux dont Randy Bachman, Frank Ludwig, Denise McCann, The Guess Who, Brave Belt, BTO, Ironhorse, Union, Carmel, Trooper, Noah, Cowboys International, BMX et The Beach Boys. 

Le fonds comprend les séries suivantes :  MUS 219/A Documents personnels; MUS 219/B Correspondance et contrats; MUS 219/C Documents financiers; MUS 219/D Chansons; MUS 219/E Carrière de soliste; MUS 219/F Groupes musicaux; MUS 219/G Production; MUS 219/H Compagnies; MUS 219/I Dossiers d'artistes; MUS 219/J Photographies; MUS 219/K Enregistrements sonores et audiovisuels; MUS 219/L Varia. 

Source immédiate d'acquisition :  acquis de Randy Bachman, en plusieurs versements, entre les années 1992 et 1995. 

Restrictions :  une permission écrite est requise pour avoir accès aux documents financiers. 

Instruments de recherche :  Stéphane Jean.  Répertoire numérique du Fonds Randy-Bachman.  Ottawa :  Bibliothèque nationale du Canada.  1995.  169 p.  (http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/musique/index-f.html#fonds)

Versements complémentaires :  autres versements attendus.



Divulgation proactive